$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2014 Check-out: Aug 29, 2014

Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

4 stars
1 Market Pl, SAN DIEGO, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
367 reviews
Great place to stay, great value

The staff were wonderful and very accommodating to all requests. The room was comfortable and clean... See full review

  • KathyEB
  • Jul 23, 2014
Padre Game Getaway

Great Hotel and room. Beautiful views of San Diego bay. Will definitely stay there again. Room rate... See full review

  • gsf200842
  • Jul 9, 2014
Elegance along the San Diego waterfront
Formerly known as the Grand Hyatt San Diego, the Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is under new ownership. It boasts a spectacular waterfront location right in the center of town along San Diego Bay. An inviting rooftop pool deck overlooks the city and the on-site Kin Spa provides a great place to unwind. The facility also has tennis courts that are complimentary for guests and bike rentals available for all ages (fees apply). Four on-site eateries offer a number of options for meal time.
Highlights
  • Rent bikes to ride along the waterfront
  • Located right in the heart of downtown San Diego
  • Inviting rooftop pool deck overlooks entire city
Rooms

The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego offers 1,625 rooms, including 95 suites that vary in size and configuration. Each room comes standard with a 46" flat-screen HDTV, Hyatt Grand bed, MP3 docking station and hair dryer. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available (fees apply), as well as nightly turndown service.

Features

The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego underwent extensive renovations in 2009 with many additions and upgrades. Today the hotel offers a number of Respire by Hyatt hypoallergenic rooms (fees apply).

All hotel guests receive complimentary access to the rooftop pool deck overlooking the city, a 24-hour StayFit fitness center with state-of-the-art Cybex equipment and public areas with high ceilings and exquisite furniture. The hotel also offers bicycle rentals (fees apply) and two tennis courts (fees apply). The Kin Spa boasts a variety of treatments (fees apply).

Dine at five different restaurants on-site: Sally's Seafood on the Water serves lunch, dinner and weekend breakfast along the waterfront, Lael's Restaurant serves decadent breakfast buffets, Ann Marie's Coffee House is a great place for light bites and Redfield's Deli is perfect for on-the-go meals. Redfield's Sports Bar also offers casual dining and a variety of appetizers

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (2 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (2 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (3 mi/4.5 km)
Attractions
  • San Diego Convention Center (3 blocks)
  • Gaslamp Quarter (6 blocks)
  • Petco Park (8 blocks)
  • San Diego Zoo (2 mi/3 km)
  • Old Town (3 mi/4.5 km)
  • Sea World (6 mi/10 km)
  • Point Loma (7 mi/11.5 km)
Business
  • 125,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 24-hour business center
  • Video conferencing capabilities
Policies and fees
  • The fitness centre is closed until 15 Feb 2014 due to some improvements. The concierge provides off-property options for guests wishing to inquire during this time.
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Rooms

Concierge
Rooms have either (1)King or (2)Doubles. Maximum of (4)Adults per room.
Deluxe
Description not provided
Standard
Rooms have either (1)King or (2)Doubles. Maximum of (4)Adults per room.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Play ground
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
Conference suite
Cellular telephone rental
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7109 -117.1683
Nearby airports
San Diego Intl Airport, (SAN), 3.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.7 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.8 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.9 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.7 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.8 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.9 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.2 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.8 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5 mi
  • Sea World: 5.1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 6.1 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.3 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.3 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.3 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.5 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.5 mi
  • Legoland: 30.1 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.8 mi

Dining

Top of the Hyatt
Top of the Hyatt sits high above the San Diego Bay with panoramic views of the city, Coronado Island and beyond. Located on the 40th floor of the Harbor Tower.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (367)

Ratings and reviews for Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
367 out of 367
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Martinez, CA
Apr 26, 2011

Great location

Stayed here three years ago for a conference. Great location right on the water. Nice area for jogging on the waterfront. Convenient to Gaslamp District. Great views from the hotel. Concierge had wrong bus information on taking the bus to Coronado.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Gaslamp District, Horton Plaza and water side attractions are all walking distance.

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SRNA Gordon
Business
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Aug 14, 2009

Meets Expectations and Beyond

I have stayed at the Hyatt in Minneapolis, so I know quality comes with this hotel chain. The beds were very comfortable, but the pillows were hard. They really do 'nickel and dime' the customers, as there is a fee for every service. I recommend you go on the Hyatt website and apply for the 'gold card membership'. It is free, no strings attached, and you can print your membership as soon as you complete the application. Then, bring that with you at check-in, and they will apply it to your account, so the gym is free. Without the membership, the fee is $5.00 / day. Expect to pay at least $10.00/day internet should you want this service. I have heard they have free wifi in the lobby, but I did not haul my laptop down there to figure it out. I even had a small box delivered via UPS, and the hotel charged me $5.00 to pick it up! If you are going to the conference center, know it is a few LONG BLOCKS away. All of my female friends had blisters on their feet due to all of the walking in heels. You can take a cab for about $5.00 if you want to pay for it. The staff is amazing. Very kind. The pool is kind of small, but the pool area is very nice and comfortable. The lobby is huge and beautiful, and the restaurant in the lobby serves wonderful drinks. They have breakfast items a'la cart for sale, and they serve a limited menu at lunch and dinner that tastes good and the cost is reasonable. The concierge could use some work... I was told incorrect info a few times, and I felt like I was bothering them when I asked them questions. Be very specific about what you want from them! I would definately stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Sea World costs $65.00, and although I love marine life, it was a little too commercial for my taste. It also cost $25.00 each way by taxi to get there from the Hyatt. Best to go with kids unless you absolutely must see a killer whale in your lifetime and this is your only shot.

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LisandEric
Pasadena, Ca
Apr 26, 2011

Awsome!!

The View was amazing..The staff was awesome always asking if there was anything else they could do for us.The champagane by the pool side was great.Just dont order the room serivce,a Cheeseburger was priced at $16.00 but the bill was $32 by the time I signed for it.The accommodation for the company car instead of a taxi was the cherry on top!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pipesman
Tinley Park, IL
Jan 4, 2011

Great Location, Helpful Friendly Staff

My wife and I were just in town for a few days to basically get away. We love the Seaport village right outside the hotel with all the shops. We were close to everywhere we wanted to go. We recommend Richard Walker's Pancake House for breakfast it is walking distance from the hotel. You will need to drive to this one but Casa Guadalajara for Mexican food was excellent. Go early to both though as they do get crowded

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Richard Walker Pancake House

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, Ca
Mar 6, 2011

Anniversary Getaway

San Diego was awesome, the food was exceptional. The Gaslamp is incrediable so much to do and see. We will go back to San Diego before we go to Las Vegas again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The rooms at the Grand Hyatt are so small for what you pay for. I felt I was staying at a standard motel. The service, cleanliness, friendliness was all good just a horrible room. To bad it is a beautiful hotel. I was unable to upgrade because I booked on [...]

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, OR
Dec 18, 2010

Great location

The hotel is in a great location, right in the middle of downtown and near to most of the attractions, restaurants and shopping. We got a room overlooking the bay and marina, and it had a great view with wall to wall windows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Nov 22, 2010

Manchester

This hotel is a good one, but not without the occasional problem. Location-wise, it can't be beat if you want to walk to plenty of restaurants, pubs or coffee-houses to wine and dine contacts. Everything is within 5-10 blocks of there. There is also a convenient trolley/streetcar right in front of the building. However, if you have to drive around a lot, stay further out of town where there isn't a traffic light on every street corner every 50 feet. Also, make sure the staff has left you more than one caffeinated coffee if you aren't staying alone--we had to call them repeatedly about that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Sea World is about 10-15 minutes away--the zoo about the same.

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 15, 2010

One of the nicest hotels in San Diego

The hotel is located along the water front and features beautiful views.I was here for business and the facilities were perfect.My reservation was lost and was blamed on the [...] system but it was handled with professionalism. You may want to call ahead to confirm your reservation is received.Self parking is $25 per night but parking in San Diego, in general, is pricier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Las Vegas family
San Diego gas lamp district
Apr 24, 2011

Great location and value

I must say this hotel was pretty nice. It's walking distance to gas lamp district. Employees were really nice and helpful. The only thing I would have to complain about is the water pressure in the room. The sink only gave off hot water, for both hot and cold. And it seems like the shower pressure would come on strong then not enough and the water kept getting really hot or really cold. Oh and don't valet it's pretty pricey $36.00 a night for valet or self parking for $26.00. You choose!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First time CA visitor
Philadelphia, PA
Nov 9, 2010

San Diego Trip

The hotel was very nice. Pleasant and prompt staff. Great bar and pool area. Awesome views of the bay. Large rooms. The only reason I gave it 4 stars was because we had a room with a connecting door to another room and sometimes it felt like the people next door were having a conversation in our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car and drive up the coast. You really just need a day and you get to see some pretty cool beach spots. On one beach, we were literally 10 feet away from seals.

Back to menu Return to top