$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2014 Check-out: Apr 22, 2014

Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

4 stars
1 Market Pl, SAN DIEGO, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
222 reviews
Excellent best place in sd

Best place ice stayed in San Diego Clean rooms and v convenient to everything Bed was a bit hard... See full review

  • Bobby bobblehead
  • Mar 10, 2014
Nice hotel in Great Area

close to the water. beautiful view. great location close to everything. Bathroom could have been... See full review

  • Ollie the traveler
  • Jan 27, 2014
Elegance along the San Diego waterfront
Formerly known as the Grand Hyatt San Diego, the Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is under new ownership. It boasts a spectacular waterfront location right in the center of town along San Diego Bay. An inviting rooftop pool deck overlooks the city and the on-site Kin Spa provides a great place to unwind. The facility also has tennis courts that are complimentary for guests and bike rentals available for all ages (fees apply). Four on-site eateries offer a number of options for meal time.
Highlights
  • Rent bikes to ride along the waterfront
  • Located right in the heart of downtown San Diego
  • Inviting rooftop pool deck overlooks entire city
Rooms

The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego offers 1,625 rooms, including 95 suites that vary in size and configuration. Each room comes standard with a 46" flat-screen HDTV, Hyatt Grand bed, MP3 docking station and hair dryer. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available (fees apply), as well as nightly turndown service.

Features

The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego underwent extensive renovations in 2009 with many additions and upgrades. Today the hotel offers a number of Respire by Hyatt hypoallergenic rooms (fees apply).

All hotel guests receive complimentary access to the rooftop pool deck overlooking the city, a 24-hour StayFit fitness center with state-of-the-art Cybex equipment and public areas with high ceilings and exquisite furniture. The hotel also offers bicycle rentals (fees apply) and two tennis courts (fees apply). The Kin Spa boasts a variety of treatments (fees apply).

Dine at five different restaurants on-site: Sally's Seafood on the Water serves lunch, dinner and weekend breakfast along the waterfront, Lael's Restaurant serves decadent breakfast buffets, Ann Marie's Coffee House is a great place for light bites and Redfield's Deli is perfect for on-the-go meals. Redfield's Sports Bar also offers casual dining and a variety of appetizers

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (2 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (2 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (3 mi/4.5 km)
Attractions
  • San Diego Convention Center (3 blocks)
  • Gaslamp Quarter (6 blocks)
  • Petco Park (8 blocks)
  • San Diego Zoo (2 mi/3 km)
  • Old Town (3 mi/4.5 km)
  • Sea World (6 mi/10 km)
  • Point Loma (7 mi/11.5 km)
Business
  • 125,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 24-hour business center
  • Video conferencing capabilities
Policies and fees
  • The fitness centre is closed until 15 Feb 2014 due to some improvements. The concierge provides off-property options for guests wishing to inquire during this time.
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Rooms

Concierge
Rooms have either (1)King or (2)Doubles. Maximum of (4)Adults per room.
Deluxe
Description not provided
Standard
Rooms have either (1)King or (2)Doubles. Maximum of (4)Adults per room.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Play ground
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
Conference suite
Cellular telephone rental
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7109 -117.1683
Nearby airports
San Diego Intl Airport, (SAN), 3.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.7 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.8 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.9 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.7 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.8 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.9 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.2 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.8 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5 mi
  • Sea World: 5.1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 6.1 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.3 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.3 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.3 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.5 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.5 mi
  • Legoland: 30.1 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.8 mi

Dining

Top of the Hyatt
Top of the Hyatt sits high above the San Diego Bay with panoramic views of the city, Coronado Island and beyond. Located on the 40th floor of the Harbor Tower.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (222)

Ratings and reviews for Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Overall score

4.1 / 5
222 out of 222
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

5
Zoo fan 858
Santa Monica
Dec 24, 2012

Christmas get away

As soon as we checked in we wanted to stay longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

5
ptcalifornian
scottsdale, arizona
Aug 13, 2012

hyatt never disappoints

I stay here everytime I come to san Diego. I just enjoy the hospitality of the hotel staff. Anything you want just ask, if you are on a budget I certainly would not recommend this hotel. Parking of course is additional as with most hotels in the area, it is however secure and convenient. Location is about a three dollar cab ride or .5 minute walk from gaslamp district lots of great restaurants. I recommend BiCe restaurant very nice Italian selections sea bass and veal chop were great. Always a nice experience here, I'm sure its not the only hotel that caiters to you but I don't need to find another one. =]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Coronado island is a great place to hang out for the day. Imperial beach and plenty of great food.

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

5
Dr. Lawrence
Business
New Haven, CT
May 27, 2013

Ideal location, beautiful views, perfect rooms.

You can't go wrong with the location. It is in walking distance of the gas lamp district, the convention center and historic attractions. The walk along the water is beautiful. I've been at the Top of the Hyatt twice now. It's the perfect place to have a cold beer and watch the sun set and the night lights come on. The rooms are modern, clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Go to the "Top of the Hyatt" half an hour before sunset, as it gets crowded with people vying for the best views of the sunset and the night skyline

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

5
Sarah507
San Diego
May 21, 2013

Blissed Out!

We couldn't have a had a better experience at this Hyatt. The staff is very attentive and seem happy to be at work (some what of a rarity these days). Our room was clean and ever so comfortable. The maid service came late in the afternoon which was great as we never felt pressured to make ourselves scarce in the morning. We loved the location, the pool and the surrounding restaurants. We can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Annie's was fabulous! Nice and quiet and the food was prepared to perfection!

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

5
xiomara
Business
hempstead NY
Jan 18, 2010

great job

excelente

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

5
Hannele K
Business
West Michigan
Feb 27, 2011

A Grand View

I was at a conference at the hotel and everything was done right. The view from my room was spectacular. When an issue arose with my presentation, they offered help immediately. As one would expect, there was a cost involved but they were upfront about it. The hotel is near a lot of great San Diego attractions. Although I was too busy to spend any time at them, I hope to return with my wife at some point. I would certainly consider staying at the Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the Trolley to Old Town. Be sure to take time to look at the Santa Fe Depot on the way.

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
USA
Aug 9, 2007

very friendly and helpful, but could improve on parking

The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is a very clean and friendly hotel. The pub next to the lobby is a great place to sit back and enjoy a cold drink after arriving in the evening. The rooms are clean. The beds, pillows and sheets together are so inviting plus extremely comfortable. The only place that i saw that needs improvement is with the parking. Not where you park because that is a parking garage attached to the Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, but having to pay $20 in order to park on their premises while staying in their hotel. Most places that you stay comp the parking. It's not the amount of money that bothered me. Just the feeling of not being a true guest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Gas Lamp District is a short walk away from the hotel. If you enjoy Italian Cuisine you must try Asti. It's an incredible, authentic and delicious Italian restaurant that specialises in rissotos and meats.

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

5
precious mom
Ensenada B.C
Jan 5, 2011

,marvelous,confortable and excellent .

it was an amazing experience, great hospitality, the hotel its very beautiful, excellent election, and if I had de oportunity to be there again i will be do it! the best hotel...hyatt

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

5
Delighted from NE
New England
Jan 10, 2012

Excellent!!!!

Outstanding hotel with exceptional service and attention to detail.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Tour of the Midway aircraft carrier is a must see!!!!!

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Santa Ana, CA
Aug 31, 2009

Great Experience, Great Price

The 'Manchester' is a great hotel. Last time I stayed was 4 years ago and based on that experience and the great deal I scored on Orbitz, I stayed again. The dining options surrounding the hotel are endless. The recreation options are unlimited and entertainment? What can I say, Gas Lamp is right up the street, a quick 5 minute walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Forget the taking cabs to downtown, too expensive and take away from what downtown SD is. Take a walk and enjoy the people and culture of SD, I do every time.

Back to menu Return to top