$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 24, 2014 Check-out: Sep 26, 2014

Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

4 stars
1 Market Pl, SAN DIEGO, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
252 reviews
Great weekend

This is a large and beautiful hotel with excellent views of San Diego. The facilities were... See full review

  • Turbomice
  • Sep 2, 2014
Family of 4 vaca

From the moment we walked in my husband and both agreed we should of booked another night or 2. We... See full review

  • mckenziefamof4
  • Aug 17, 2014
Elegance along the San Diego waterfront
Formerly known as the Grand Hyatt San Diego, the Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is under new ownership. It boasts a spectacular waterfront location right in the center of town along San Diego Bay. An inviting rooftop pool deck overlooks the city and the on-site Kin Spa provides a great place to unwind. The facility also has tennis courts that are complimentary for guests and bike rentals available for all ages (fees apply). Four on-site eateries offer a number of options for meal time.
Highlights
  • Rent bikes to ride along the waterfront
  • Located right in the heart of downtown San Diego
  • Inviting rooftop pool deck overlooks entire city
Rooms

The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego offers 1,625 rooms, including 95 suites that vary in size and configuration. Each room comes standard with a 46" flat-screen HDTV, Hyatt Grand bed, MP3 docking station and hair dryer. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available (fees apply), as well as nightly turndown service.

Features

The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego underwent extensive renovations in 2009 with many additions and upgrades. Today the hotel offers a number of Respire by Hyatt hypoallergenic rooms (fees apply).

All hotel guests receive complimentary access to the rooftop pool deck overlooking the city, a 24-hour StayFit fitness center with state-of-the-art Cybex equipment and public areas with high ceilings and exquisite furniture. The hotel also offers bicycle rentals (fees apply) and two tennis courts (fees apply). The Kin Spa boasts a variety of treatments (fees apply).

Dine at five different restaurants on-site: Sally's Seafood on the Water serves lunch, dinner and weekend breakfast along the waterfront, Lael's Restaurant serves decadent breakfast buffets, Ann Marie's Coffee House is a great place for light bites and Redfield's Deli is perfect for on-the-go meals. Redfield's Sports Bar also offers casual dining and a variety of appetizers

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (2 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (2 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (3 mi/4.5 km)
Attractions
  • San Diego Convention Center (3 blocks)
  • Gaslamp Quarter (6 blocks)
  • Petco Park (8 blocks)
  • San Diego Zoo (2 mi/3 km)
  • Old Town (3 mi/4.5 km)
  • Sea World (6 mi/10 km)
  • Point Loma (7 mi/11.5 km)
Business
  • 125,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 24-hour business center
  • Video conferencing capabilities
Policies and fees
  • The fitness centre is closed until 15 Feb 2014 due to some improvements. The concierge provides off-property options for guests wishing to inquire during this time.
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7109 -117.1683
Nearby airports
San Diego Intl Airport, (SAN), 3.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Rooms

Concierge
Rooms have either (1)King or (2)Doubles. Maximum of (4)Adults per room.
Deluxe
Description not provided
Standard
Rooms have either (1)King or (2)Doubles. Maximum of (4)Adults per room.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Play ground
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
Conference suite
Cellular telephone rental
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.7 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.8 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.9 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.7 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.8 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.9 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.2 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.8 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5 mi
  • Sea World: 5.1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 6.1 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.3 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.3 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.3 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.5 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.5 mi
  • Legoland: 30.1 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.8 mi

Dining

Top of the Hyatt
Top of the Hyatt sits high above the San Diego Bay with panoramic views of the city, Coronado Island and beyond. Located on the 40th floor of the Harbor Tower.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (252)

Ratings and reviews for Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
252 out of 252
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Turbomice
Boston, MA
Sep 2, 2014

Great weekend

This is a large and beautiful hotel with excellent views of San Diego. The facilities were excellent as was the service. I would definitely recommend anyone to stay here as it is also a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mckenziefamof4
fort worth tx
Aug 17, 2014

Family of 4 vaca

From the moment we walked in my husband and both agreed we should of booked another night or 2. We dec'd a free upgrade to a room with a view of the Midway which my son loved. Perfect location we walked to every attraction, the USS Midway, Little Italy, and the Gasslamp district. You must eat at Walkers pancake house. We found it on yelp our last day. I would of ate there every morning. yummy apple baked pancakes. Only complaint I have is the operator at the hotel told us valet was complimentary but we were charged 28 per night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walkers Pancake House. No words can describe how much I enjoyed it. Get the baked apple pancake and share it as an appetizer. Wish I had a bite right now!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dee Beeze
Business
San Francisco, CA
Aug 11, 2014

Pretty darn good

Classy service, plentiful food options, central location... this place pretty much has everything you need. Parking is steep ($26 a day, for real) so if you're staying more than a night or two, you might want to think about taking a taxi instead. Recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SharI H.
Chino,ca
Aug 10, 2014

Amazing!

We love this hotel. The lobby is beautiful, the rooms are nice and the views are spectacular!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great eating and shopping locally.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FuzzyFlea
Sacramento
Aug 9, 2014

Awesome twosome getaway

Fabulous location on the marina overlooking the pacific as well as Coronado Island. We walked everywhere, boardwalk, seaport village, convention center, gas lamp quarter, Horton plaza, Petco Park, restaurants, movies, clubs. Just fabulous!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Great Sushi and cocktails! Happy Hour 3:30 to 5:30

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Greatest baseball Mom
Encino, California
Aug 3, 2014

Great

From the moment I waked in with my son we felt welcomed. The front desk was great . We were there to go to padres games less than a mike away felt safe walking back to hotel at night. I will be back at this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Petco park

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KathyEB
Monterey, CA
Jul 23, 2014

Great place to stay, great value

The staff were wonderful and very accommodating to all requests. The room was comfortable and clean and quiet. The view wonderful. The bed was very comfortable. The adult pool and hot tub were fun to hang out without the noise of children (there is also a beautiful pool for all ages). The workout facility was clean, a nice size with nice equipment. It was also nice to have a drink and watch the sun set from the lounge at the top of the hotel. Great location especially with the harbor right there and all those wonderful little shops in the Seaport Village.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great places to grab a bit in the immediate vicinity

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gsf200842
San Diego
Jul 9, 2014

Padre Game Getaway

Great Hotel and room. Beautiful views of San Diego bay. Will definitely stay there again. Room rate was also great. Thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OCTEXAN
San Juan Capistrano, CA
Jul 2, 2014

Girls Getaway

Our 5 night girl's getaway at the Manchester Grand Hyatt was terrific. The hotel was perfectly located at Harbor Drive and Market Street in San Diego. We were a half mile walk or less to all of the attractions in this area of San Diego. The rooms were nicely done, with terrific views of San Diego Bay and the USS Midway. The only negative was some of the extra charges. $40 a day for parking (with valet), $10 a day for Wi Fi (we did without). (Parking anywhere in this area is always expensive) We were also disappointed that they closed the main pool on Sunday which brought all of the families to the smaller Adult Only Pool. I certainly would stay in this hotel again. It was perfect for an all adult party, but they also catered to families with marshmallow roasts and outdoor movies beside the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We loved eating at Barbella's in La Jolla. Great sidewalk café with good salads and sandwiches.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
College friends reunion
Sun Valley, ID
Jul 1, 2014

Convenient and classy

From the friendliness of the front desk people to the very comfortable and clean room, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

San Diego Summer Symphony

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search