$142 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Lafayette Hotel and Suites

3 stars
2223 El Cajon Blvd., San Diego, CA 92104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
530 reviews
A trip to the good life

From the moment we drove up the half circle driveway and entered the main lobby we knew we had... See full review

  • MDB Traveler
  • Jul 17, 2014
Charming resort setting

We truly felt the Southern California experience. The Lafayette was clean, comfortable and has a... See full review

  • Suz Loves to Go
  • Apr 9, 2014
The recently renovated Lafayette, Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows offers travelers a true sense of San Diego culture and history. Located in the trendy and up and coming neighborhood of North Park, the hotel is only 1 mile from Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo and a short drive to both downtown and the beaches. With an eclectic collection of rooms, dining options and neighborhood haunts, the Lafayette is not your typical California boutique hotel but certainly one of San Diego's best kept secrets. Free internet. While on vacation spend your money on things you want, not need. Fitness Center features Life Fitness Equipment w/TV's Treadmills, Elliptical, Bicycle, free wieghts and pullup bar.

Hotel Map

32.7547 -117.1407
Area served
San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
(SAN)San Diego International Airport
Area description
Located in North Park area of San Diego. One mile from San Diego Zoo, one mile from Mission Valley and minutes to downtown, SeaWorld and all San Diego Attractions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Lafayette Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

Lafayette Hotel and Suites Rooms

Manor King - 1 King Bed
Pillow top California King mattress , triple sheeting with duvet. Desk. Smart power with 3 outlets & 2 USB charging ports, iPod/MP3 Ready AM/FM Clock Radio. 37-inch LCD television with expanded cable including 4 Showtime channels. Complimentary wireless Internet . Laptop-compatible safe. Coffee maker. Traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. Hair dryer. Air conditioning. Non-Smoking.
Manor Queen - Two Queen Beds
Two pillow top Queen mattresses , triple sheeting with duvet. Desk. Smart power with 3 outlets & 2 USB charging ports, iPod/MP3 Ready AM/FM Clock Radio. 37-inch LCD television with expanded cable including 4 Showtime channels. Complimentary wireless Internet. Laptop-compatible safe. Coffee maker. Traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. Hair dryer, Air conditioning. Non-Smoking.
Poolside Room - 2 queen beds
Two pillow Top Queen Mattresses , triple sheeting with duvet. French doors opening directly onto or overlooking the famous Weissmuller Pool. Desk. Smart power with 3 power outlets & 2 USB charging ports, iPod/MP3 Ready AM/FM Clock Radio. 40-inch LCD television with expanded cable including 4 Showtime channels. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Laptop-compatible safe. Coffee Maker. Traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. hair dryer, Air conditioning. Non-Smoking.
Suze Suites
Two private bedrooms separated by French doors each with its own bathroom, traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. One room offers a twin over full bunk bed, multi-purpose dining table, 4 chairs, chalk board wall, smart power with 3 outlets & 2 USB charging ports and a 32-inch LCD television. Separate and private parents' bedroom has a pillow top California King mattress , triple sheeting with duvet, built in desk, microwave, refrigerator, laptop-compatible safe, I-Pod/MP3 ready clock radio, 40-inch flat screen TV, complimentary wireless internet and expanded cable including 4 Showtime stations. Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Qualcomm Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 3.4 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 3.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5 mi
  • Sea World: 5.2 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 6.7 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 8.3 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9.8 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 25.2 mi
  • Legoland: 27.8 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,116.1 mi

Dining

Red Fox Steak House
The quintessential steakhouse that doesn't just reach for the lounge vibe, it helped define it. The entire interior was shipped to the United States for blonde cinema actress, Marion Davies, and was dismantled (again!) and installed at the Lafayette during the 1950's. If the history and nightly piano doesn't get you, the stiff cocktails, steak, and seafood surely will. Hours: Monday - Thursday (11am - Midnight) Friday - Saturday (11am - 1:30am) Sunday (4pm - 1:30am)
Imig's Kitchen & Bar
Loved by locals and guest alike, Imig's serves up a modern, casual and honest twist on breakfast and brunch. The relaxed and open setting gives guests the perfect space to gather daily for breakfast, brunch (or both, after all you're on vacation) or a mid-day custom cocktail overlooking the historic Weissmuller Pool. Hours: Everyday (7am - 3pm)
North Park Neighborhood Restaurants
Quickly becoming nationally recognized for it's culinary diversity and appreciation for craft beer, the neighborhood offers Lafayette guests an incredible opportunity for food exploration. We encourage you to dine with us once (ok, maybe twice) and then experience the local cuisine within our wonderful neighborhood! Our front desk can assist with recommendations and reservations.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (530)

Ratings and reviews for Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
530 out of 530
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.4

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Feb 23, 2008

Not a three star hotel!!!

The only positive thing I can say about the room was that it was big and contained a refrigerator and microwave. I suspect the owners of the hotel thought this would make up for the fact that the room was dirty, in need of a paint job, the sheets were stained and the beds were hard. When I turned on the heat, it put out a bad smell and there was no hot water for a shower. We checked out early the next day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monrovia, CA
Feb 28, 2010

Worst Hotel Stay Ever

I thought I was getting a great last minute deat at a 3-star hotel. What I got was a horrible deal at a horrible hotel. The place was dirty and unkempt. The TV, fridge & microwave were plugged into surge protector with a cord that was so short, it hung in the air & wouldn't stay plugged into the wall. I could hear my neighbor snoring all night. If I hadn't pre-paid I would have left. YUCK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
niceshirt
Sacramento, CA
Jun 2, 2011

I would have rather stayed at Motel 6

After hearing pretty good remarks about this hotel, my boyfriend and I decided to book a room for two nights during Memorial Day weekend. We heard from friends and also from Yelp reviews, that it's a popular and fun place to stay. We also read reviews that they were currently going through renovations, but didn't realize how bad the non-renovated rooms were. I mean don't mind dated furniture or amenities, but this room was absolutely disgusting. It smelled of stale smoke, which is ironic, since we had to sign an agreement stating that we understood the no smoking policy inside hotel rooms at check-in. There were stains and dust everywhere. I'd be afraid to see what was underneath the bed and cringe at the thought. To be honest, I did not want to touch anything in that room! We tried to stick it out thinking "you get what you pay for", but this place was unacceptable. I felt so dirty being in the room. We eventually decided to cancel our stay here. The front desk told they would only refund us for the second night stay and not the first. I don't understand how our room (Room 606!) could have passed public health standards in the first place. Just as I stated in the Review Title, I would have rather stayed at a Motel 6. At least I know what I'm getting there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MeganR
Maricopa, AZ
Sep 20, 2011

Not family friendly and needs major improvement!

We checked in at the Lafayette, with expecations that it was going to be an average stay but would be worth the lower rate; immediate availability and access to down town San Diego. Unfortunately, it wasn't worth any of that! Due to a "problem with their pipes", we weren't able to even enjoy a shower, due to the extreme change in temperatures (scolding hot to ice cold, everytime someone in a surrounding room flushed their toilet), which caused pain to my young children and an inability to get more then a minute of normal water temperature. The bathroom floors had dirty tiles, the TV cable wouldn't keep a signl and all the walls are paper thin so we could hear all of "partiers" until 3am. The pool area was a party scene and VERY inappropriate for young children (much like a skanky reality tv show, except no sensors), which apparently was "normal for the weekend". I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone with a family. Such a shame, I thought it was going to be nostalgic to stay where some of the great oldies have stayed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jack Simmons
CA
Jun 13, 2010

HORRIBLE 1 star hotel

Hi guys! NEVER stay there. I reserved a room there cause it was the cheapest 3 star hotel in San Diego. But everything is wrong with it.1. Horrible location/bad neighborhood.2.Construction going on site in front of the hotel.3.Worst rooms I've ever seen in my life/NOT EVEN 2 star hotel!Barely one.Rooms look nice on pictures,but they are not in real life.Old,smelly,horrible.4.Cold pool though advertised as heated,it's a lie5.Roaches,broken window in sleeping room,tiny 12 inch TV,dust,smell,faded paint,ghetto dirty carpets.6. $25 charge if you check-in before 3 PMWe found another 2 star hotel [...] and it was MUCH MUCH better and cheaper than $66 we paid for the room.Thank you.enjoy your stay.Not in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JNB
Portland, OR
Aug 8, 2009

The good, the bad, and the really ugly

The lock on the bathroom did not work. The light at the desk did not work. One light by the bed was completely missing. There were stains on the carpet. The management had allowed people to pay a $5 cover charge to use the pool from 1-6 pm every afternoon which brought in many people, a lot of noise, and lewd behavior. The noise was not just kept within the hours of 1-6 pm -- we experienced lots of noise late into the evening until at least 11 pm coming from the pool area. There were three of us in the room, and towels were provided for two. We needed to ask for additional supplies -- coffee, wash cloths, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Palm Desert, CA
Jul 12, 2010

condemn this property

This old, once proud, hotel is in such disrepair it should not be recommended to anyone. Tiled floors with missing tiles. Doors and other painted surfaces untouched for years. Exterior concrete stairs and walkways literally falling to pieces, apparently earth quake damage, with chunks of concrete lying nearby. Tattered furniture. Plumbing fixtures not working. The best thing about this hotel is their web site: it looks great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Stay away.

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 30, 2011

The good, the bad, and the really ugly

Good: The service people are very kind and hard workers. Bad: Bathrooms without exhaust fan, no swimming pool for kids. Some people at front desk are not honest. Really Ugly: in the hotel from 12pm to 6pm come many people from outside (no hotel guests) to drink alcohol sold by hotel staff (I guess) around the swimming pool and is not good, specially if you have kids

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kaileighs Mommy
Rockford, IL
Mar 9, 2011

Photoshop!!!!!

This hotel is NOT what it seemed. It looks beautiful in the pictures, real classy. However, when you see it in person it is not that way. The rooms are too tiny for the beds and furniture in them. I had the 2 queen deluxe with 3 adults and a crib, it was beyond cramped because of the dresser and desk, the room that size should only be allowed to have 1 bed in it! The carpet was STICKY! The employees could never remember that we needed 4 towels with 4 washclothes, mostly we received 2 towels with 1 washcloth. So everyday for a week we had to call and ask for the towels. The phone was broken, we had to go down and get instructions on how to operate it because it was missing buttons. Our shower head made a thumping noise that woke everyone in the room up. The walls are paper thin and you can hear everything from the hallway and the rooms next to you. They advertise 2 restuarants the Red Fox that is attached to the hotel and a supposed L Bar and Grill. I never saw this L Bar and Grill. My mother in law who had a seperate room; had no curtains, no bed spread, no coffee maker, no fridge, nothing in her room. When she called to ask for a coffee maker they refused because her room was supposedly under renovations. Also, they say that they have a "breakfast buffet", HA HA, it consists of blueberry and banana nut muffins, and cherrios with a choice of milk and coffee to drink. Some buffet! Also, they claim to have a fitness center, this fitness center consisted of 1 machine from the 80's (at best) that is comparable to a horribly generic Bowflex weight machine. This machine was literally sitting in the middle of the room, that's all that was in their "fitness center". Spend the extra money and stay at a different hotel!!! TRUST ME, DO NOT STAY HERE!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Stay somewhere else, about 5 minutes away are many more choices that are very close to multiple restuarants and stores. STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!!!

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego
Aug 29, 2010

Nightmare on El Cajon Blvd.

Scary looking tweeker couple yelling at each other all night in next room. Found used condom under the bed. Kept a $57.50 deposit on my debit card without refunding it, even after I complained 6 days later.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top