$130 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 2, 2014

Lafayette Hotel and Suites

3 stars
2223 El Cajon Blvd., San Diego, CA 92104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
336 reviews
Suite for family

Great to have the kids in a separate room in the suite. Pool was full all day- has a great resort... See full review

  • Pinkderivatives
  • Oct 3, 2014
LOVE!

Was a quick trip, one night, and I wish we could've stayed longer. At check in I was surprised to... See full review

  • lolo917
  • Sep 2, 2014
Colonial-style mansion epitomizes elegance next to San Diego Zoo
Dating back to 1946, the Lafayette opened as a popular spot for celebrities and movie stars to socialize for nights at a time. With live music in the Red Fox Room and Piano Bar, the property still celebrates its Hollywood roots today. The Lafayette is the closest hotel to the San Diego Zoo. Guests receive free Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access and on-site parking is also available. The on-site L Bar & Grill overlooks the hotel's Olympic-sized, Terrazzo-tile swimming pool.
Highlights
  • Historic property dates back to 1946
  • Closest hotel to San Diego Zoo with free shuttle
  • Listen to live music in the Red Fox Room and Piano Bar
  • Free Wi-Fi
Rooms

The Lafayette Hotel & Suites offers 131 small but elegant rooms, including four suites. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, mini refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer and an in-room safe. Complimentary high-speed Internet access is available in all rooms.

Features

Built by Larry Imig in 1946, the Lafayette Hotel & Suites spent its first few decades as a popular spot among celebrities and movie stars. In addition to an impressive guest list, several prominent local figures have been permanent residents, including clothier Bill Solof, restaurateur Ray Lubach and San Diego Padres manager Lefty O'Doul.

Despite extensive renovations in 2009 and 2010, much of Lafayette's historic grandeur still exists today. One highlight of the San Diego property is the original, Olympic-sized Terrazzo-tile pool.  Guests and locals flock to the Red Fox Room & Piano Bar, which still hosts nightly entertainment. Guests also receive complimentary access to an on-site fitness center and free Wi-Fi Internet access in the lobby. The hotel offers 24-hour laundry service (fees apply) and parking is also available on site.

All guests receive complimentary shuttle service to the San Diego Zoo.

The on-site restaurant, the L Bar & Grill, sits in the hotel lobby and overlooks the pool. Guests can order light snacks in the Red Fox Room and Piano Bar as well.

Dining

The Red Fox

Sample a delectable fusion of mouth-watering steak varieties and creativley prepared seafood favourites alongside refreshing cocktails.

Hours:
Monday – Thursday  (11am – Midnight)
Friday – Saturday (11am – 1:30am)
Sunday (4pm – 1:30am)

Imig's Kitchen & Bar

Start the day with a modern twist on breakfast and brunch served in a relaxing and open setting.The restaurant also serves mid-day cocktails.

Hours:
Everyday (7am – 3pm)

Holidaymakers at Lafayette Hotel and Suites can also try out sumtuos cuisines, craft beer and local homecooked meals at North Park neighbourhood restaurants nearby. The hotel front desk can arrange for recommendtions and reservations.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (3 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (1 mi/1.5km)
  • San Diego International Airport (4 mi/6 km)
Attractions
  • San Diego Zoo (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Petco Park (2 mi/3 km)
  • Old Town (3 mi/4.5 km)
  • Sea World (4 mi/6 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (5 mi/9 km)
  • Point Loma (6 mi/10 km)
Business
  • 10,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Courtyard for outdoor events
  • 24-hour business center

 

Hotel Map

32.7547 -117.1407
Area served
San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
(SAN)San Diego International Airport
Area description
Located in North Park area of San Diego. One mile from San Diego Zoo, one mile from Mission Valley and minutes to downtown, SeaWorld and all San Diego Attractions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Lafayette Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Lafayette Hotel and Suites Rooms

Manor King - 1 King Bed
Pillow top California King mattress , triple sheeting with duvet. Desk. Smart power with 3 outlets & 2 USB charging ports, iPod/MP3 Ready AM/FM Clock Radio. 37-inch LCD television with expanded cable including 4 Showtime channels. Complimentary wireless Internet . Laptop-compatible safe. Coffee maker. Traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. Hair dryer. Air conditioning. Non-Smoking.
Manor Queen - Two Queen Beds
Two pillow top Queen mattresses , triple sheeting with duvet. Desk. Smart power with 3 outlets & 2 USB charging ports, iPod/MP3 Ready AM/FM Clock Radio. 37-inch LCD television with expanded cable including 4 Showtime channels. Complimentary wireless Internet. Laptop-compatible safe. Coffee maker. Traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. Hair dryer, Air conditioning. Non-Smoking.
Poolside Room - 2 queen beds
Two pillow Top Queen Mattresses , triple sheeting with duvet. French doors opening directly onto or overlooking the famous Weissmuller Pool. Desk. Smart power with 3 power outlets & 2 USB charging ports, iPod/MP3 Ready AM/FM Clock Radio. 40-inch LCD television with expanded cable including 4 Showtime channels. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Laptop-compatible safe. Coffee Maker. Traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. hair dryer, Air conditioning. Non-Smoking.
Suze Suites
Two private bedrooms separated by French doors each with its own bathroom, traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. One room offers a twin over full bunk bed, multi-purpose dining table, 4 chairs, chalk board wall, smart power with 3 outlets & 2 USB charging ports and a 32-inch LCD television. Separate and private parents' bedroom has a pillow top California King mattress , triple sheeting with duvet, built in desk, microwave, refrigerator, laptop-compatible safe, I-Pod/MP3 ready clock radio, 40-inch flat screen TV, complimentary wireless internet and expanded cable including 4 Showtime stations. Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Qualcomm Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 3.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 6.7 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 8.3 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9.8 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 25.2 mi
  • Legoland: 27.8 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,116.1 mi

Dining

Red Fox Steak House
The quintessential steakhouse that doesn't just reach for the lounge vibe, it helped define it. The entire interior was shipped to the United States for blonde cinema actress, Marion Davies, and was dismantled (again!) and installed at the Lafayette during the 1950's. If the history and nightly piano doesn't get you, the stiff cocktails, steak, and seafood surely will. Hours: Monday - Thursday (11am - Midnight) Friday - Saturday (11am - 1:30am) Sunday (4pm - 1:30am)
Imig's Kitchen & Bar
Loved by locals and guest alike, Imig's serves up a modern, casual and honest twist on breakfast and brunch. The relaxed and open setting gives guests the perfect space to gather daily for breakfast, brunch (or both, after all you're on vacation) or a mid-day custom cocktail overlooking the historic Weissmuller Pool. Hours: Everyday (7am - 3pm)
North Park Neighborhood Restaurants
Quickly becoming nationally recognized for it's culinary diversity and appreciation for craft beer, the neighborhood offers Lafayette guests an incredible opportunity for food exploration. We encourage you to dine with us once (ok, maybe twice) and then experience the local cuisine within our wonderful neighborhood! Our front desk can assist with recommendations and reservations.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (336)

Ratings and reviews for Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
336 out of 336
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.5

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Suz Loves to Go
Business
Raleigh, NC
Apr 9, 2014

Charming resort setting

We truly felt the Southern California experience. The Lafayette was clean, comfortable and has a certain old Hollywood feel. The pool deck was beautiful and accessible just outside our door. Dinner at the restaurant was excellent. Hotel and restaurant staff were most helpful and knowledgeable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Have breakfast at the Mission---it's my favorite spot

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 14, 2007

Affordable and Nice

Our experience at the Lafayette was great. The french doors opening to the patio and pool area gave us the feeling of really being in a resort. The room was very comfortable and the restaurant, the Red Fox Restaurant, was very good. The bathroom is small and in need of some work. There is a small area outside the bathroom with mirrors, creating additional space. In all we would definately return to this historic hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Balboa park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 7, 2007

Great Value

I needed to stay close to where my class was being held. The Lafayette provided very nice accomodations for a very good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bleuxgirl
Business
oceanside, ca
Oct 9, 2010

Love this place!!!

Super helpful staff!! Excellent location!! I love the way I feel when I walk through the doors!! You almost feel like you have stepped back in time!! You can stay at any old hotel or have an experience here!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

bars, night clubs galore!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travel lover and mom
Business
Perry, GA
May 23, 2011

Wonderful Stay

We visited during Memorial weekend and the hotel was a great price for the location. We ended up getting a really big room on the end. It was huge; however, I saw some of the rooms that had two beds and they looked tiny so we may have just gotten lucky!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Esmocarrs
Business
Fontana, CA, USA
Feb 28, 2012

Amazing Hotel

This was an amazing experience. This was my first time in San Diego and the the staff was helpful and kind during the check in process. We stayed at the susie suite and it was a family room but it was perfect for our group since we where there with plans to party. The room had plenty of space to party and also relax. I cannot complain about this place at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The Gaslamp is fantastic but get there early parking is crazy or just take a cab.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
brandy01
Business
Boise, ID, USA
Mar 10, 2012

WOW!!!!

my husbund & myself stayed the next day we had a cruise the staff printed out directions to the pier,they were sooooo friendly,understanding just wish we had stayed there instead of going on thre Carnival 9 days, the food in the rest was excellent(at the hotel)the room was sooo much better next time will book the hotel instead of the cruise(which was soooo bad)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Heatherme
Business
Long Beach
Jul 2, 2012

wonderful weekend getaway

this is the cutest place i have ever been to. my husband and i both agreed that we will return at some point. the really paid attention to details down to the cute little sayings on their menus. it you like thing off the beaten path and your a sucker for vintage flair then this is the place for you. a bit of a young party scene going on but I did see lots of children too. very vintage while completely modern at the same time. food from restaurant was yummy. towels and bedsheets a little rough but other than that I was over the moon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

try the Ethiopian restaurant across the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mehsph
Business
Kansas City, Missouri
Jul 17, 2012

3 night Stay

I wish we were able to stay longer. Loved the intimacy of this hotel. Beautiful pool and great restaurant. Staff was friendly and accommodating. The underground parking was so nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Breakfast or lunch is a must at Hash House A Go Go. There is a wait usually but it is sooooo worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
caligurrl
Business
san diego, ca
Nov 19, 2012

So beautiful, very clean, quiet, and restaurants walking distance

Husband and I stayed at the Lafayette 1 night on November 17, 2012 for my birthday. What a beautiful hotel!!! We parked underground in their private gated entry garage which you walk right into the lobby from your car, so close and convenient if you forget something in the car like I did. The hotel lobby was so pretty and historic. Our room was VERY clean and I loved how it was decorated. We felt like Hollywood starlets from a different era. The bed was very comfortable, I slept amazing and didn't want to leave. The bed linens and pillows were very cozy and comfy. Room temperature was perfect. There were no funky smells or any noise outside or indoors. I didn't hear a thing that would disrupt our stay. I loved the fixtures in the bathroom and everything worked like new. We have zero complaints and it was so cool to be minutes away from places to eat and drink. You can stay here and walk to get something to eat or shop. We will absolutely stay here again. We got a king bed in the manor. I've also visited an out of town friend this summer, staying in the rooms that open out onto the pool and that was a really awesome and clean room too! I definitely found the Lafayette to be a guaranteed best place to stay in this area and I look forward to staying here in the future. And ignore any old negative reviews or complaints prior to 2011, they are completely inaccurate because this hotel has undergone a 6 million dollar historical renovation in 2011. It's a beautiful and impressive stay. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top