$132 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Lafayette Hotel and Suites

3 stars
2223 El Cajon Blvd., San Diego, CA 92104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
337 reviews
Suite for family

Great to have the kids in a separate room in the suite. Pool was full all day- has a great resort... See full review

  • Pinkderivatives
  • Oct 3, 2014
LOVE!

Was a quick trip, one night, and I wish we could've stayed longer. At check in I was surprised to... See full review

  • lolo917
  • Sep 2, 2014
Colonial-style mansion epitomizes elegance next to San Diego Zoo
Dating back to 1946, the Lafayette opened as a popular spot for celebrities and movie stars to socialize for nights at a time. With live music in the Red Fox Room and Piano Bar, the property still celebrates its Hollywood roots today. The Lafayette is the closest hotel to the San Diego Zoo. Guests receive free Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access and on-site parking is also available. The on-site L Bar & Grill overlooks the hotel's Olympic-sized, Terrazzo-tile swimming pool.
Highlights
  • Historic property dates back to 1946
  • Closest hotel to San Diego Zoo with free shuttle
  • Listen to live music in the Red Fox Room and Piano Bar
  • Free Wi-Fi
Rooms

The Lafayette Hotel & Suites offers 131 small but elegant rooms, including four suites. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, mini refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer and an in-room safe. Complimentary high-speed Internet access is available in all rooms.

Features

Built by Larry Imig in 1946, the Lafayette Hotel & Suites spent its first few decades as a popular spot among celebrities and movie stars. In addition to an impressive guest list, several prominent local figures have been permanent residents, including clothier Bill Solof, restaurateur Ray Lubach and San Diego Padres manager Lefty O'Doul.

Despite extensive renovations in 2009 and 2010, much of Lafayette's historic grandeur still exists today. One highlight of the San Diego property is the original, Olympic-sized Terrazzo-tile pool.  Guests and locals flock to the Red Fox Room & Piano Bar, which still hosts nightly entertainment. Guests also receive complimentary access to an on-site fitness center and free Wi-Fi Internet access in the lobby. The hotel offers 24-hour laundry service (fees apply) and parking is also available on site.

All guests receive complimentary shuttle service to the San Diego Zoo.

The on-site restaurant, the L Bar & Grill, sits in the hotel lobby and overlooks the pool. Guests can order light snacks in the Red Fox Room and Piano Bar as well.

Dining

The Red Fox

Sample a delectable fusion of mouth-watering steak varieties and creativley prepared seafood favourites alongside refreshing cocktails.

Hours:
Monday – Thursday  (11am – Midnight)
Friday – Saturday (11am – 1:30am)
Sunday (4pm – 1:30am)

Imig's Kitchen & Bar

Start the day with a modern twist on breakfast and brunch served in a relaxing and open setting.The restaurant also serves mid-day cocktails.

Hours:
Everyday (7am – 3pm)

Holidaymakers at Lafayette Hotel and Suites can also try out sumtuos cuisines, craft beer and local homecooked meals at North Park neighbourhood restaurants nearby. The hotel front desk can arrange for recommendtions and reservations.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (3 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (1 mi/1.5km)
  • San Diego International Airport (4 mi/6 km)
Attractions
  • San Diego Zoo (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Petco Park (2 mi/3 km)
  • Old Town (3 mi/4.5 km)
  • Sea World (4 mi/6 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (5 mi/9 km)
  • Point Loma (6 mi/10 km)
Business
  • 10,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Courtyard for outdoor events
  • 24-hour business center

 

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Lafayette Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Lafayette Hotel and Suites Rooms

Manor King - 1 King Bed
Pillow top California King mattress , triple sheeting with duvet. Desk. Smart power with 3 outlets & 2 USB charging ports, iPod/MP3 Ready AM/FM Clock Radio. 37-inch LCD television with expanded cable including 4 Showtime channels. Complimentary wireless Internet . Laptop-compatible safe. Coffee maker. Traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. Hair dryer. Air conditioning. Non-Smoking.
Manor Queen - Two Queen Beds
Two pillow top Queen mattresses , triple sheeting with duvet. Desk. Smart power with 3 outlets & 2 USB charging ports, iPod/MP3 Ready AM/FM Clock Radio. 37-inch LCD television with expanded cable including 4 Showtime channels. Complimentary wireless Internet. Laptop-compatible safe. Coffee maker. Traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. Hair dryer, Air conditioning. Non-Smoking.
Poolside Room - 2 queen beds
Two pillow Top Queen Mattresses , triple sheeting with duvet. French doors opening directly onto or overlooking the famous Weissmuller Pool. Desk. Smart power with 3 power outlets & 2 USB charging ports, iPod/MP3 Ready AM/FM Clock Radio. 40-inch LCD television with expanded cable including 4 Showtime channels. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Laptop-compatible safe. Coffee Maker. Traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. hair dryer, Air conditioning. Non-Smoking.
Suze Suites
Two private bedrooms separated by French doors each with its own bathroom, traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. One room offers a twin over full bunk bed, multi-purpose dining table, 4 chairs, chalk board wall, smart power with 3 outlets & 2 USB charging ports and a 32-inch LCD television. Separate and private parents' bedroom has a pillow top California King mattress , triple sheeting with duvet, built in desk, microwave, refrigerator, laptop-compatible safe, I-Pod/MP3 ready clock radio, 40-inch flat screen TV, complimentary wireless internet and expanded cable including 4 Showtime stations. Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Qualcomm Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 3.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 6.7 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 8.3 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9.8 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 25.2 mi
  • Legoland: 27.8 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,116.1 mi

Dining

Red Fox Steak House
The quintessential steakhouse that doesn't just reach for the lounge vibe, it helped define it. The entire interior was shipped to the United States for blonde cinema actress, Marion Davies, and was dismantled (again!) and installed at the Lafayette during the 1950's. If the history and nightly piano doesn't get you, the stiff cocktails, steak, and seafood surely will. Hours: Monday - Thursday (11am - Midnight) Friday - Saturday (11am - 1:30am) Sunday (4pm - 1:30am)
Imig's Kitchen & Bar
Loved by locals and guest alike, Imig's serves up a modern, casual and honest twist on breakfast and brunch. The relaxed and open setting gives guests the perfect space to gather daily for breakfast, brunch (or both, after all you're on vacation) or a mid-day custom cocktail overlooking the historic Weissmuller Pool. Hours: Everyday (7am - 3pm)
North Park Neighborhood Restaurants
Quickly becoming nationally recognized for it's culinary diversity and appreciation for craft beer, the neighborhood offers Lafayette guests an incredible opportunity for food exploration. We encourage you to dine with us once (ok, maybe twice) and then experience the local cuisine within our wonderful neighborhood! Our front desk can assist with recommendations and reservations.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (337)

Ratings and reviews for Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
337 out of 337
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
washington,dc
Mar 22, 2010

Lafatette Hotel and Suites

arrived late / stayed one night / checked out the next morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
El Pesca'o
Business
El Paso, Tx.
Mar 22, 2010

"Great for a family trip in SD"

The location was great, very close of Balboa Park, Downtown and I-8; Different layout's room and some are really big; Great Pool and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Utah
Mar 21, 2010

Alright

We didn't have high expectations when we went to the hotel we just needed a place to sleep on our vacation. The place is pleasing to the eye but the rooms itself is lacking in maintenance. The mattresses are horribly uncomfortable probably the worst part it felt like a cardboard box. The bathroom was okay but the bathtub fawcet wouldn't stop leaking and the tub didn't drain. The breakfast was good, needs more fresh fruit variety in my opinion, but this is a 2 star hotel. Pool good and good location we were close to everything we wanted to see. Literally minutes away from downtown San Diego, that part I loved. All in all we weren't suprised and we weren't in love either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Denny's up the street is the best one I've ever been to. We missed the breakfast by like 20 minutes and walked there instead and loved eating there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Juleigh J
Business
Dana Point, CA
Mar 19, 2010

great hotel, great value

What a bargain! We booked a room for St Patricks Day about 2 weeks beforehand. The pictures on the hotel website looked great, but you can never tell just from those, can you? Turns out the pictures were spot on, a beautiful old building with a stellar pool. I'd requested the lowest price room with a king size bed and was happily surprised when our room turned out to be a suite with a separate living room and fold out bed. And TWO bathrooms, TWO!! Mini fridge and microwave too! Our room was on the backside of the hotel and I didn't hear a peep from outside. The furnishings were a little old, there was a rip in the couch and the TVs were a little outdated but I loved the room anyway. The main reason I booked here is so we'd be within walking distance of the Northpark bars. We were one block from Livewire and about 6 blocks from the 30th Street bars. I will stay here again for sure!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Livewire, cold friends and warm beer, a very short walk down El Cajon Blvd!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palmdale, CA
Mar 15, 2010

Lafayette

We really like the hotel, even though it is a little rough around the edges, mostly in the guest rooms. They include a continental breakfast. It is the history and atmosphere of the hotel that really is a draw. It is a unique and fun place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of very good restaurants, good places to walk and take in the local culture.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
imperial
Business
el centro california
Mar 7, 2010

it was ok, i espected it to be newer,

it needs more information available in the room like a guest book with info about the hotel and things to do in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TorontoDragonlover
Business
Toronto Canada
Feb 28, 2010

Great stay in San Diego History

I chose the Lafayette because of Value, Character and Location. When I arrived I was met by very friendly and extrememly helpful staff as well as a building with a great deal of history. Even a connection to movies which is great for a big film buff like myself. The rooms were extremly clean and the entire five days were very quiet. The Character of this grand old hotel gives you the sense of staying in lodgings in a time when travelling was an adventure and people treated each other with respect and kindness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Before arriving if your not renting a car and dont know your way around check out the bus routes. Easy to use but need to know where you are going. You could walk from Lafayette to Balboa Park but will talk about 30 minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monrovia, CA
Feb 28, 2010

Worst Hotel Stay Ever

I thought I was getting a great last minute deat at a 3-star hotel. What I got was a horrible deal at a horrible hotel. The place was dirty and unkempt. The TV, fridge & microwave were plugged into surge protector with a cord that was so short, it hung in the air & wouldn't stay plugged into the wall. I could hear my neighbor snoring all night. If I hadn't pre-paid I would have left. YUCK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Schulzey mom of 3
Business
Gilbert, AZ
Feb 17, 2010

San Diego

It was nothing like the pictures, the hotel was very old and dirty, small rooms, uncomfortable beds, bathrooms were horrible. We happened to get the room above the bar and did not sleep at all bc it was so noisy. The only good thing about this hotel was the breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san diego, ca
Feb 16, 2010

i would stay again

the hotel in general i was very pleased with. the outside look, the inside look, the pool and hot tube exspecially were great beyond what i expected. yet when i walked into the room it didnt live up to the exterior. dont get me wrong the rooms wheren't bad very spacious and comfortable yet as far as looks it didnt live up to the halls, lobby, and outside. but i would go back and stay at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top