$142 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Lafayette Hotel and Suites

3 stars
2223 El Cajon Blvd., San Diego, CA 92104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
530 reviews
A trip to the good life

From the moment we drove up the half circle driveway and entered the main lobby we knew we had... See full review

  • MDB Traveler
  • Jul 17, 2014
Charming resort setting

We truly felt the Southern California experience. The Lafayette was clean, comfortable and has a... See full review

  • Suz Loves to Go
  • Apr 9, 2014
The recently renovated Lafayette, Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows offers travelers a true sense of San Diego culture and history. Located in the trendy and up and coming neighborhood of North Park, the hotel is only 1 mile from Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo and a short drive to both downtown and the beaches. With an eclectic collection of rooms, dining options and neighborhood haunts, the Lafayette is not your typical California boutique hotel but certainly one of San Diego's best kept secrets. Free internet. While on vacation spend your money on things you want, not need. Fitness Center features Life Fitness Equipment w/TV's Treadmills, Elliptical, Bicycle, free wieghts and pullup bar.

Lafayette Hotel and Suites Rooms

Manor King - 1 King Bed
Pillow top California King mattress , triple sheeting with duvet. Desk. Smart power with 3 outlets & 2 USB charging ports, iPod/MP3 Ready AM/FM Clock Radio. 37-inch LCD television with expanded cable including 4 Showtime channels. Complimentary wireless Internet . Laptop-compatible safe. Coffee maker. Traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. Hair dryer. Air conditioning. Non-Smoking.
Manor Queen - Two Queen Beds
Two pillow top Queen mattresses , triple sheeting with duvet. Desk. Smart power with 3 outlets & 2 USB charging ports, iPod/MP3 Ready AM/FM Clock Radio. 37-inch LCD television with expanded cable including 4 Showtime channels. Complimentary wireless Internet. Laptop-compatible safe. Coffee maker. Traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. Hair dryer, Air conditioning. Non-Smoking.
Poolside Room - 2 queen beds
Two pillow Top Queen Mattresses , triple sheeting with duvet. French doors opening directly onto or overlooking the famous Weissmuller Pool. Desk. Smart power with 3 power outlets & 2 USB charging ports, iPod/MP3 Ready AM/FM Clock Radio. 40-inch LCD television with expanded cable including 4 Showtime channels. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Laptop-compatible safe. Coffee Maker. Traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. hair dryer, Air conditioning. Non-Smoking.
Suze Suites
Two private bedrooms separated by French doors each with its own bathroom, traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. One room offers a twin over full bunk bed, multi-purpose dining table, 4 chairs, chalk board wall, smart power with 3 outlets & 2 USB charging ports and a 32-inch LCD television. Separate and private parents' bedroom has a pillow top California King mattress , triple sheeting with duvet, built in desk, microwave, refrigerator, laptop-compatible safe, I-Pod/MP3 ready clock radio, 40-inch flat screen TV, complimentary wireless internet and expanded cable including 4 Showtime stations. Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Lafayette Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

32.7547 -117.1407
Area served
San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
(SAN)San Diego International Airport
Area description
Located in North Park area of San Diego. One mile from San Diego Zoo, one mile from Mission Valley and minutes to downtown, SeaWorld and all San Diego Attractions.

Nearby points of interest

  • Qualcomm Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 3.4 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 3.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5 mi
  • Sea World: 5.2 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 6.7 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 8.3 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9.8 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 25.2 mi
  • Legoland: 27.8 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,116.1 mi

Dining

Red Fox Steak House
The quintessential steakhouse that doesn't just reach for the lounge vibe, it helped define it. The entire interior was shipped to the United States for blonde cinema actress, Marion Davies, and was dismantled (again!) and installed at the Lafayette during the 1950's. If the history and nightly piano doesn't get you, the stiff cocktails, steak, and seafood surely will. Hours: Monday - Thursday (11am - Midnight) Friday - Saturday (11am - 1:30am) Sunday (4pm - 1:30am)
Imig's Kitchen & Bar
Loved by locals and guest alike, Imig's serves up a modern, casual and honest twist on breakfast and brunch. The relaxed and open setting gives guests the perfect space to gather daily for breakfast, brunch (or both, after all you're on vacation) or a mid-day custom cocktail overlooking the historic Weissmuller Pool. Hours: Everyday (7am - 3pm)
North Park Neighborhood Restaurants
Quickly becoming nationally recognized for it's culinary diversity and appreciation for craft beer, the neighborhood offers Lafayette guests an incredible opportunity for food exploration. We encourage you to dine with us once (ok, maybe twice) and then experience the local cuisine within our wonderful neighborhood! Our front desk can assist with recommendations and reservations.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (530)

Ratings and reviews for Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
530 out of 530
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.4

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Visiting Only
CALIPATRIA HIGH SCHOOL
Nov 22, 2010

La Jolla CD CIF Calipatria HS

ATTENDING THE CALIPATRIA HIGH SCHOOL FOOTBALL GAME. THE LOCATION OF THE ROOM WAS OFF THE STREET, IT WAS NOISY AND COULD HERE THE CARS AND EMERGENCY VEHICLES AND THE COPS GOING UP THE STREET. THIS ONE WAS NOT GOOD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

TO THE INTERSTATE FREEWAY TO ANY PLACE YOU WANTED TO SEE THE MALLS, STUDIUM, OR THE BEACH.

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stewbear
Scottsdale, Az
Aug 25, 2009

gay friendly getaway

pleasent stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dustn
Phoenix, AZ
Jun 3, 2013

Not too shabby for the price, location of room and location in general

I took my fiancé to San Diego for her Birthday and we love old school hotels (if they are maintained properly). We stayed at the Lafayette for 3 Nights and had a great time there. The staff was quite nice excluding when the manager explained to me that I had to smoke completely away from the facility. I know the rules and laws make him want to enforce them (no problem with that), but a small recreation area or at least a butt can near the "smoking area" would have been nice. We stayed right on the Poolside which we thought would be a bit annoying since Fridays they have a Pin-up'esk Big Pool Party. We were wrong. It was fun to see everyone having fun. There is a great Restaurant at the Hotel and an excellent bar across the road that I would totally recommend. All in all, it was a great place and we would probably stay there again if next time I didn't crave being closer to the water. Thanks Lafayette! : O)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great bar kiddie corner from the Hotel (across the road) that had excellent drinks. The Bartender was cool too, if we do stay there again, I'd love to go back and hang out there. They have Pool Tables, Great Music, TV's and a Smoking Patio in the back.

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Visiting Only
CALIPATRIA HIGH SCHOOL
Nov 22, 2010

La Jolla CD CIF Calipatria HS

ATTENDING THE CALIPATRIA HIGH SCHOOL FOOTBALL GAME. THE LOCATION OF THE ROOM WAS OFF THE STREET, IT WAS NOISY AND COULD HERE THE CARS AND EMERGENCY VEHICLES AND THE COPS GOING UP THE STREET. THIS ONE WAS NOT GOOD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

TO THE INTERSTATE FREEWAY TO ANY PLACE YOU WANTED TO SEE THE MALLS, STUDIUM, OR THE BEACH.

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Woodland Hills, CA
Nov 3, 2010

Solid Hotel, got in at a good price.

Room was a little out dated, but fine for what I needed it for which was sleeping. Good location nice hotel. No complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SD Vactioners
Las Vegas Nv
May 27, 2009

We had a great time!

This hotel is great perfect location and great prices. We had a blast and would always come back and stay at this hotel. If you are traveling with family this might not be the place since it does have a party atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jul 8, 2007

Nice Hotel

The Lafayette has a very nice pool, really big. The breakfast was so-so, too many people in a small room. The hotel is really not far from Old Town and the others San Diego attractions (like the Zoo, Balboa Park, etc ...). But there is nothing around the hotel at walking distance. The free parking is really a nice plus. The rooms are not the best but for the price it's a good deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Mexican restaurants of Old Town

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lakewood Ca.
Jan 10, 2010

very nice and historic.

Even though Hotel is under renovation it has warm feeling. It has a lot of history & stays with that theme which makes it a nice place to stay. Looking forward to staying there again the first chance I get! Staff said renovation should be complete in a couple of months so planning on returning at that time. It's now Jan.2010.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Located near Old Town San Diego , Sea World & other attractions.

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Holland, MI
Feb 11, 2010

Interesting hidden Gem in San Diego.

The hotel is a converted mansion, which says something for itself. The hotel prides on it's history. Originally named the Iming Mansion it became the San Diego Inn Suites before it's current incarnation of the Lafayette. The service was great. I have no complaints about that. They were very accomodating and helpful. The Red Fox Room is a reconstructed bar/steakhouse actually imported from England which dates to the 1500's. Has quite the history behind it. Live piano a few nights a week - the waitress encouraged guests to hop up on the mike and sing if they wanted too. Mainly older classic jazz style. Adds to the atmostphere. Expect to pay around $20 for a plate, but decent old fashioned quality and very nostolgic to be in. Brings in a mixed crowd. Friendly waitstaff. Worth a trip. They have a big olympic size pool which is popular with the locals in the warmer months. This place was a popular spot for the stars to crash before I-8 replaced El Cajon as the main street running though San Diego. Convienetnly located between North Park and Hillcrest districts - both excellent food and entertainment centers. >>This hotel is quite possibly haunted. << I'm a ghost hunter and I got magnetic readings and a few very strong orb pictures. Be prepared for some unexpetedly interesting dreams here. It's rich history and dramatic life brings with it some interesting stays. Don't think the staff likes to talk about it. I'd say it adds to the charecter. It's an older hotel, but the beds are nice. The rooms have a refrigerator, coffee maker, nice sized dresser, typical phone and alarm clock. You can tell some effort was made to modernize the place - which they have done nicely. The lobby and pool area are beautiful. The rooms have wired high speed internet (they can provide a CAT5 if needed). Overall I enjoyed my stay here. I wish I had more time. Not too often you come across some place with so much charecter in it. I have been going to San Diego for 4 years now, and I can not believe this little gem was under my nose the whole time. I wish I knew about this earlier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Norh Park and Hillcrest are about 10 blocks walking distance if you don't mind about a mile walk. Otherwise it's a very cheap cab ride there. The hotel is not too far from Mission Valley shopping mall either, but suggest a cab or city bus for that.

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lakewood Ca.
Jan 10, 2010

very nice and historic.

Even though Hotel is under renovation it has warm feeling. It has a lot of history & stays with that theme which makes it a nice place to stay. Looking forward to staying there again the first chance I get! Staff said renovation should be complete in a couple of months so planning on returning at that time. It's now Jan.2010.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Located near Old Town San Diego , Sea World & other attractions.

Back to menu Return to top