$132 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Lafayette Hotel and Suites

3 stars
2223 El Cajon Blvd., San Diego, CA 92104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
337 reviews
Suite for family

Great to have the kids in a separate room in the suite. Pool was full all day- has a great resort... See full review

  • Pinkderivatives
  • Oct 3, 2014
LOVE!

Was a quick trip, one night, and I wish we could've stayed longer. At check in I was surprised to... See full review

  • lolo917
  • Sep 2, 2014
Colonial-style mansion epitomizes elegance next to San Diego Zoo
Dating back to 1946, the Lafayette opened as a popular spot for celebrities and movie stars to socialize for nights at a time. With live music in the Red Fox Room and Piano Bar, the property still celebrates its Hollywood roots today. The Lafayette is the closest hotel to the San Diego Zoo. Guests receive free Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access and on-site parking is also available. The on-site L Bar & Grill overlooks the hotel's Olympic-sized, Terrazzo-tile swimming pool.
Highlights
  • Historic property dates back to 1946
  • Closest hotel to San Diego Zoo with free shuttle
  • Listen to live music in the Red Fox Room and Piano Bar
  • Free Wi-Fi
Rooms

The Lafayette Hotel & Suites offers 131 small but elegant rooms, including four suites. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, mini refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer and an in-room safe. Complimentary high-speed Internet access is available in all rooms.

Features

Built by Larry Imig in 1946, the Lafayette Hotel & Suites spent its first few decades as a popular spot among celebrities and movie stars. In addition to an impressive guest list, several prominent local figures have been permanent residents, including clothier Bill Solof, restaurateur Ray Lubach and San Diego Padres manager Lefty O'Doul.

Despite extensive renovations in 2009 and 2010, much of Lafayette's historic grandeur still exists today. One highlight of the San Diego property is the original, Olympic-sized Terrazzo-tile pool.  Guests and locals flock to the Red Fox Room & Piano Bar, which still hosts nightly entertainment. Guests also receive complimentary access to an on-site fitness center and free Wi-Fi Internet access in the lobby. The hotel offers 24-hour laundry service (fees apply) and parking is also available on site.

All guests receive complimentary shuttle service to the San Diego Zoo.

The on-site restaurant, the L Bar & Grill, sits in the hotel lobby and overlooks the pool. Guests can order light snacks in the Red Fox Room and Piano Bar as well.

Dining

The Red Fox

Sample a delectable fusion of mouth-watering steak varieties and creativley prepared seafood favourites alongside refreshing cocktails.

Hours:
Monday – Thursday  (11am – Midnight)
Friday – Saturday (11am – 1:30am)
Sunday (4pm – 1:30am)

Imig's Kitchen & Bar

Start the day with a modern twist on breakfast and brunch served in a relaxing and open setting.The restaurant also serves mid-day cocktails.

Hours:
Everyday (7am – 3pm)

Holidaymakers at Lafayette Hotel and Suites can also try out sumtuos cuisines, craft beer and local homecooked meals at North Park neighbourhood restaurants nearby. The hotel front desk can arrange for recommendtions and reservations.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (3 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (1 mi/1.5km)
  • San Diego International Airport (4 mi/6 km)
Attractions
  • San Diego Zoo (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Petco Park (2 mi/3 km)
  • Old Town (3 mi/4.5 km)
  • Sea World (4 mi/6 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (5 mi/9 km)
  • Point Loma (6 mi/10 km)
Business
  • 10,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Courtyard for outdoor events
  • 24-hour business center

 

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Lafayette Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Lafayette Hotel and Suites Rooms

Manor King - 1 King Bed
Pillow top California King mattress , triple sheeting with duvet. Desk. Smart power with 3 outlets & 2 USB charging ports, iPod/MP3 Ready AM/FM Clock Radio. 37-inch LCD television with expanded cable including 4 Showtime channels. Complimentary wireless Internet . Laptop-compatible safe. Coffee maker. Traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. Hair dryer. Air conditioning. Non-Smoking.
Manor Queen - Two Queen Beds
Two pillow top Queen mattresses , triple sheeting with duvet. Desk. Smart power with 3 outlets & 2 USB charging ports, iPod/MP3 Ready AM/FM Clock Radio. 37-inch LCD television with expanded cable including 4 Showtime channels. Complimentary wireless Internet. Laptop-compatible safe. Coffee maker. Traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. Hair dryer, Air conditioning. Non-Smoking.
Poolside Room - 2 queen beds
Two pillow Top Queen Mattresses , triple sheeting with duvet. French doors opening directly onto or overlooking the famous Weissmuller Pool. Desk. Smart power with 3 power outlets & 2 USB charging ports, iPod/MP3 Ready AM/FM Clock Radio. 40-inch LCD television with expanded cable including 4 Showtime channels. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Laptop-compatible safe. Coffee Maker. Traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. hair dryer, Air conditioning. Non-Smoking.
Suze Suites
Two private bedrooms separated by French doors each with its own bathroom, traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. One room offers a twin over full bunk bed, multi-purpose dining table, 4 chairs, chalk board wall, smart power with 3 outlets & 2 USB charging ports and a 32-inch LCD television. Separate and private parents' bedroom has a pillow top California King mattress , triple sheeting with duvet, built in desk, microwave, refrigerator, laptop-compatible safe, I-Pod/MP3 ready clock radio, 40-inch flat screen TV, complimentary wireless internet and expanded cable including 4 Showtime stations. Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Qualcomm Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 3.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 6.7 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 8.3 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9.8 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 25.2 mi
  • Legoland: 27.8 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,116.1 mi

Dining

Red Fox Steak House
The quintessential steakhouse that doesn't just reach for the lounge vibe, it helped define it. The entire interior was shipped to the United States for blonde cinema actress, Marion Davies, and was dismantled (again!) and installed at the Lafayette during the 1950's. If the history and nightly piano doesn't get you, the stiff cocktails, steak, and seafood surely will. Hours: Monday - Thursday (11am - Midnight) Friday - Saturday (11am - 1:30am) Sunday (4pm - 1:30am)
Imig's Kitchen & Bar
Loved by locals and guest alike, Imig's serves up a modern, casual and honest twist on breakfast and brunch. The relaxed and open setting gives guests the perfect space to gather daily for breakfast, brunch (or both, after all you're on vacation) or a mid-day custom cocktail overlooking the historic Weissmuller Pool. Hours: Everyday (7am - 3pm)
North Park Neighborhood Restaurants
Quickly becoming nationally recognized for it's culinary diversity and appreciation for craft beer, the neighborhood offers Lafayette guests an incredible opportunity for food exploration. We encourage you to dine with us once (ok, maybe twice) and then experience the local cuisine within our wonderful neighborhood! Our front desk can assist with recommendations and reservations.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (337)

Ratings and reviews for Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
337 out of 337
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Feb 22, 2011

Pick a different hotel

Where do I start? Okay, first I am not a hotel snob. I have stayed in my share of bad hotels, but at least those times I knew what I was in for. That is what $30-40 a night gets you. However, in this case of $80 (on sale) a night and a lovely website I was not expecting this. The first room, no blinds on the window, paint peeling off the walls, directly across from the cleaning crews supply room, the comforter having a "questionable smell", and the toilet that was broken and ran constantly (yes, I jiggled the handle). So, I politely asked for a new room. They "ungraded" us to a jacuzzi suite. I truly laugh at this, because she said I could look at the room first and see if I like it. So she new the rooms were subpar. Walked in, again paint peeling off the walls and doors, thermostat labels old a warn out, minifridge that rattled/hummed all night, two temps on the shower - scalding or freezing. The couch (pull out) in the sitting room, looked like they found it on the street corner. The cable was fuzzy on half the stations. The place smelled musty and old. There were stains on the walls and ceilings. The walls were so thin, you could here people walking above you, showering, and flushing the toilet (at ALL hours). The towels were beige so they do not bleach the towels, I personally thought that was standard practice. We were certain a few of the towels did not make it to the washing machine and had stains. Got to love cigarette burns in the comforter, and the tiles falling off the jacuzzi surround . . . an experience I tell you. Next the breakfast, what a miserable buffet room. There were tiny muffins that ran out quickly and cereal. The coffee was terrible. The "fitness" room. We were hoping for at least a treadmill but only had a set of weights and bench machine. If you are looking for wi-fi don't expect it here. Get the 2 ft cable from the front to plug your computer in. Even the shadiest hotels along the 8 advertise free wi-fi . . . not the Layfette. Please please stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there were a few good places in walking distance of the hotel. Great Russian restaurant and a wonderful desert place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BTRAVELER3
Business
LI, NY
Feb 17, 2011

UGH!

Under renovation and needs it. I believe it could have potential.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Feb 8, 2011

You get what you pay for

It was average, except that two pint glasses may have been taken from our room by housekeeping. We never did find them, so I'm fairly certain they were removed by hotel staff. Either stolen or taken by mistake. When we talked to the front desk about it they seemed to not believe us or not care. The furnishings in the room were old and the carpet was very worn and needed a good shampooing. The view of the pool was great and the lobby of the hotel looks like it will be great once they finish it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

I highly recommend checking out the Red Fox! The steak was good, the atmosphere was great, the drinks are VERY strong, and they have a live piano player. Wonderful!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alex999
Business
Dallas, TX
Jan 31, 2011

Unexpectedly good pricewise

Clean. Continental breakfast is lousy. The street (El Cajon) is noisy morning and evening times. The parking (free) is gated in the hotel basement (safe and great). Bring your own E-net cable if you don't want to pay for it at front desk if you'd like to have I-net.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Bring your own E-net cable if you don't want to pay for it at front desk if you'd like to have I-net.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shygirl323
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 19, 2011

Looks like it was a nice place back when

Place looks like it was nice back in the days. Now it is severely run down. My fiancé was almost seriously hurt from almost falling off the broken stairs. The metal railing was only secured in one place. The other two anchors were completely rusted and the concrete was missing. ~ Internet did not work due to a high demand according the the front desk. ~ We stayed in the king bed room. Was really huge. It was actually two rooms. Would be a really nice place if it was updated. Looked like it was from the 50's. Good value for the room size/amenities to cost ratio. We paid $100 for the weekend. I would stay again, but request a bottom floor room. All the stairs were in seriously bad shape. There was no safe way to get upstairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of close by shopping, restaurants and entertainment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dont worry about it
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 18, 2011

A for Awesome

So happy! will return. The room we got was amazing. The property has 4 units at the back that are apartments--front/back doors, gated yard, 2 floors! We had 2 bedrooms, full kitchen, dining room, 2 tv's...the bed was comfortable, the towels were big and not scratchy...the windows open and there's nothing better than waking up to birds outside! Everything was quiet and nice, I think this place is a gem. Lap pool, hot tub (not quite hot enough for me), beautiful grounds...and for half a benjamin each night, easily the best deal in San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Jan 9, 2011

Charming......only charming

If you're looking for charming and rustic, you've come to the right place. Unfortuntely, it's not too private in the rooms. You will hear your next door neighbor as if they're in the room with you. Our neighbors were talking in normal voice all night which didn't allow a night's rest. Also, if you have a southward facing window, be prepared to wake up at 6:30 to all the planes taking off when the airport opens. If you can find the breakfast room, beakfast buffet was poor: costco muffins, cereal, juice and coffee....that's it. New mattresses would be a good suggestion for the room, we could feel the springs in ours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
San Diego visitors
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jan 8, 2011

Ok

Hotel was alright. They badly need to replace their carpet. It smells like wet dog as soon as you walk in. Luckily, our room did not smell that way. Breakfast was the saddest thing I have ever seen. We just went out to Ikea for their $2 breakfast. If they can improve those 2 I think it would be a good hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wildomar, Ca
Jan 5, 2011

Full of Tradition & class

It was going through renovation at the time and we considered this on this stay. It was very cold in the lobby at we entered. I highly recommend a HUGE permanant fireplace as a warm welcome to all guests. This would set a mood as us guests enter the lobby. The hotel is very unique with the colonial style columns outside at entrance which gave it a feeling of wanting to know what lied behind the doors. The continental breakfast was not enviting at all! The eating room did not have any special touch. No effort put forth. This is one way for YOU to show your thanks to your guests, so splurge a little. The RED FOX Steakhouse is the reason we will go back again. Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
toronto, canada
Jan 2, 2011

good old hotel require upgrade

On the first day arrival draperies was missing & hair dryer was not working. blanket has stain on it & room smeeled of meldew

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top