$145 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 3, 2014

Lafayette Hotel and Suites

3 stars
2223 El Cajon Blvd., San Diego, CA 92104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
336 reviews
Suite for family

Great to have the kids in a separate room in the suite. Pool was full all day- has a great resort... See full review

  • Pinkderivatives
  • Oct 3, 2014
LOVE!

Was a quick trip, one night, and I wish we could've stayed longer. At check in I was surprised to... See full review

  • lolo917
  • Sep 2, 2014
Colonial-style mansion epitomizes elegance next to San Diego Zoo
Dating back to 1946, the Lafayette opened as a popular spot for celebrities and movie stars to socialize for nights at a time. With live music in the Red Fox Room and Piano Bar, the property still celebrates its Hollywood roots today. The Lafayette is the closest hotel to the San Diego Zoo. Guests receive free Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access and on-site parking is also available. The on-site L Bar & Grill overlooks the hotel's Olympic-sized, Terrazzo-tile swimming pool.
Highlights
  • Historic property dates back to 1946
  • Closest hotel to San Diego Zoo with free shuttle
  • Listen to live music in the Red Fox Room and Piano Bar
  • Free Wi-Fi
Rooms

The Lafayette Hotel & Suites offers 131 small but elegant rooms, including four suites. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, mini refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer and an in-room safe. Complimentary high-speed Internet access is available in all rooms.

Features

Built by Larry Imig in 1946, the Lafayette Hotel & Suites spent its first few decades as a popular spot among celebrities and movie stars. In addition to an impressive guest list, several prominent local figures have been permanent residents, including clothier Bill Solof, restaurateur Ray Lubach and San Diego Padres manager Lefty O'Doul.

Despite extensive renovations in 2009 and 2010, much of Lafayette's historic grandeur still exists today. One highlight of the San Diego property is the original, Olympic-sized Terrazzo-tile pool.  Guests and locals flock to the Red Fox Room & Piano Bar, which still hosts nightly entertainment. Guests also receive complimentary access to an on-site fitness center and free Wi-Fi Internet access in the lobby. The hotel offers 24-hour laundry service (fees apply) and parking is also available on site.

All guests receive complimentary shuttle service to the San Diego Zoo.

The on-site restaurant, the L Bar & Grill, sits in the hotel lobby and overlooks the pool. Guests can order light snacks in the Red Fox Room and Piano Bar as well.

Dining

The Red Fox

Sample a delectable fusion of mouth-watering steak varieties and creativley prepared seafood favourites alongside refreshing cocktails.

Hours:
Monday – Thursday  (11am – Midnight)
Friday – Saturday (11am – 1:30am)
Sunday (4pm – 1:30am)

Imig's Kitchen & Bar

Start the day with a modern twist on breakfast and brunch served in a relaxing and open setting.The restaurant also serves mid-day cocktails.

Hours:
Everyday (7am – 3pm)

Holidaymakers at Lafayette Hotel and Suites can also try out sumtuos cuisines, craft beer and local homecooked meals at North Park neighbourhood restaurants nearby. The hotel front desk can arrange for recommendtions and reservations.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (3 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (1 mi/1.5km)
  • San Diego International Airport (4 mi/6 km)
Attractions
  • San Diego Zoo (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Petco Park (2 mi/3 km)
  • Old Town (3 mi/4.5 km)
  • Sea World (4 mi/6 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (5 mi/9 km)
  • Point Loma (6 mi/10 km)
Business
  • 10,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Courtyard for outdoor events
  • 24-hour business center

 

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Lafayette Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Lafayette Hotel and Suites Rooms

Manor King - 1 King Bed
Pillow top California King mattress , triple sheeting with duvet. Desk. Smart power with 3 outlets & 2 USB charging ports, iPod/MP3 Ready AM/FM Clock Radio. 37-inch LCD television with expanded cable including 4 Showtime channels. Complimentary wireless Internet . Laptop-compatible safe. Coffee maker. Traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. Hair dryer. Air conditioning. Non-Smoking.
Manor Queen - Two Queen Beds
Two pillow top Queen mattresses , triple sheeting with duvet. Desk. Smart power with 3 outlets & 2 USB charging ports, iPod/MP3 Ready AM/FM Clock Radio. 37-inch LCD television with expanded cable including 4 Showtime channels. Complimentary wireless Internet. Laptop-compatible safe. Coffee maker. Traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. Hair dryer, Air conditioning. Non-Smoking.
Poolside Room - 2 queen beds
Two pillow Top Queen Mattresses , triple sheeting with duvet. French doors opening directly onto or overlooking the famous Weissmuller Pool. Desk. Smart power with 3 power outlets & 2 USB charging ports, iPod/MP3 Ready AM/FM Clock Radio. 40-inch LCD television with expanded cable including 4 Showtime channels. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Laptop-compatible safe. Coffee Maker. Traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. hair dryer, Air conditioning. Non-Smoking.
Suze Suites
Two private bedrooms separated by French doors each with its own bathroom, traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. One room offers a twin over full bunk bed, multi-purpose dining table, 4 chairs, chalk board wall, smart power with 3 outlets & 2 USB charging ports and a 32-inch LCD television. Separate and private parents' bedroom has a pillow top California King mattress , triple sheeting with duvet, built in desk, microwave, refrigerator, laptop-compatible safe, I-Pod/MP3 ready clock radio, 40-inch flat screen TV, complimentary wireless internet and expanded cable including 4 Showtime stations. Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Qualcomm Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 3.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 6.7 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 8.3 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9.8 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 25.2 mi
  • Legoland: 27.8 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,116.1 mi

Dining

Red Fox Steak House
The quintessential steakhouse that doesn't just reach for the lounge vibe, it helped define it. The entire interior was shipped to the United States for blonde cinema actress, Marion Davies, and was dismantled (again!) and installed at the Lafayette during the 1950's. If the history and nightly piano doesn't get you, the stiff cocktails, steak, and seafood surely will. Hours: Monday - Thursday (11am - Midnight) Friday - Saturday (11am - 1:30am) Sunday (4pm - 1:30am)
Imig's Kitchen & Bar
Loved by locals and guest alike, Imig's serves up a modern, casual and honest twist on breakfast and brunch. The relaxed and open setting gives guests the perfect space to gather daily for breakfast, brunch (or both, after all you're on vacation) or a mid-day custom cocktail overlooking the historic Weissmuller Pool. Hours: Everyday (7am - 3pm)
North Park Neighborhood Restaurants
Quickly becoming nationally recognized for it's culinary diversity and appreciation for craft beer, the neighborhood offers Lafayette guests an incredible opportunity for food exploration. We encourage you to dine with us once (ok, maybe twice) and then experience the local cuisine within our wonderful neighborhood! Our front desk can assist with recommendations and reservations.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (336)

Ratings and reviews for Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
336 out of 336
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.5

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Utah
Apr 11, 2011

Good and Bad....

The hotel has some great history behind it but is quite run down. They are remodeling so it will I'm sure improve. We did have a nice-sized suite which included two queen beds, a broken pull out sofa and two bathrooms, complete with two televisions, microwave and fridge, so it did have some great things about it. I liked the location as it was very close to the zoo and Balboa Park and a quick drive to downtown. The breakfast was two kinds of cold cereal, two kinds of mini muffins, orange juice and coffee, so I have definitely had better...over all, I'd probably stay again just because of the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Valencia, CA
Apr 10, 2011

Did not like it !

The hotel was old and needs major work! I after staying at the Lafayette I will never stay in a hotel less then $100 Dollars. It looked and felt dirty !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san diego cali
Apr 8, 2011

place 2 waste ur money

the lafayette was a big dissapointment.. The walls are paper thin so you can hear the people next to you all night. The floors are gross looking they look they never get cleaned. The beds are hard as a rock. There are small holes in the walls so you can see outside in places. If ur looking for a cheap place just2 spend the night and not chill during the then this place is perfect. The people are very friendly so that's the only upside 2 the place.i would never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 25, 2011

Maybe - once they remodel

Stingy with towels, had a room for 4 people, gave us towels for 1 person. Had to keep requesting more. No coffee maker as advertised. Not very clean. They are in the process of renovating rooms, so maybe it will be nicer, but not if service stays the same. Was once hotel to stars, but the area has gone to seed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown San Diego just 15 min or less.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Harleybear
Business
Middleton, WI
Mar 24, 2011

Good hotel for the price

Nice hotel, great location and is currently being renovated. Continental breakfast is boring and the hot tub was filthy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Balboa Park

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hollywood, CA
Mar 14, 2011

Not what I expected.

This hotel should lower their rates. Rooms and furniture are very old, dirty and it smells. No wireless, breakfast is the worst I've had or seen because I did not eat there. Customer service is not the greatest. Location is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kaileighs Mommy
Business
Rockford, IL
Mar 9, 2011

Photoshop!!!!!

This hotel is NOT what it seemed. It looks beautiful in the pictures, real classy. However, when you see it in person it is not that way. The rooms are too tiny for the beds and furniture in them. I had the 2 queen deluxe with 3 adults and a crib, it was beyond cramped because of the dresser and desk, the room that size should only be allowed to have 1 bed in it! The carpet was STICKY! The employees could never remember that we needed 4 towels with 4 washclothes, mostly we received 2 towels with 1 washcloth. So everyday for a week we had to call and ask for the towels. The phone was broken, we had to go down and get instructions on how to operate it because it was missing buttons. Our shower head made a thumping noise that woke everyone in the room up. The walls are paper thin and you can hear everything from the hallway and the rooms next to you. They advertise 2 restuarants the Red Fox that is attached to the hotel and a supposed L Bar and Grill. I never saw this L Bar and Grill. My mother in law who had a seperate room; had no curtains, no bed spread, no coffee maker, no fridge, nothing in her room. When she called to ask for a coffee maker they refused because her room was supposedly under renovations. Also, they say that they have a "breakfast buffet", HA HA, it consists of blueberry and banana nut muffins, and cherrios with a choice of milk and coffee to drink. Some buffet! Also, they claim to have a fitness center, this fitness center consisted of 1 machine from the 80's (at best) that is comparable to a horribly generic Bowflex weight machine. This machine was literally sitting in the middle of the room, that's all that was in their "fitness center". Spend the extra money and stay at a different hotel!!! TRUST ME, DO NOT STAY HERE!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Stay somewhere else, about 5 minutes away are many more choices that are very close to multiple restuarants and stores. STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Surrey, B.C.
Feb 28, 2011

"The good, the bad, and the really ugly"

This is a beautiful hotel which has been allowed to run down. After going into the hot tub, I had about ten insects bites on my body. We suspect they were flea bites. Beautifu pool, too cold to enjoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Queen Creek, AZ
Feb 24, 2011

Just Okay

The price was great, and the pictures look like a fantastic find. However, if fell short of my expectations. This hotel is not located in the best neighborhood, but that was okay because they offered secure underground parking for no additional charge like many local hotels. The location was also an easy drive to San Diego Zoo, Sea World and even Legoland. The staff was very nice upon check in and were happy to assist if asked. This hotel is old, which would be okay, but it looked, smelled and felt old. The room was very small, and the bathroom followed suite. The bath toilet and sink were small too. The shower head could not really move off the one setting or move much at all. Nice hot water though :-) The beds were my least favorite park. The were plain spring mattresses and not the most comfortable, but not the worst. The hotel could really use that 4 million dollars in revocations that it talks about to give the interior a facelift, new carpets, beds and shower. The refrigerator and microwave were great with having a baby, along with the complimentary pack and play. All in all, we used this mostly to sleep, so it was doable when trying to save on the room and be a little more spendy on the great sites and local parks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Have fun outside, enjoy the amusement parks and beach. World Famous restaurant in Pacific Beach was a great end to this vacation. Amazing view and great food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Feb 22, 2011

Pick a different hotel

Where do I start? Okay, first I am not a hotel snob. I have stayed in my share of bad hotels, but at least those times I knew what I was in for. That is what $30-40 a night gets you. However, in this case of $80 (on sale) a night and a lovely website I was not expecting this. The first room, no blinds on the window, paint peeling off the walls, directly across from the cleaning crews supply room, the comforter having a "questionable smell", and the toilet that was broken and ran constantly (yes, I jiggled the handle). So, I politely asked for a new room. They "ungraded" us to a jacuzzi suite. I truly laugh at this, because she said I could look at the room first and see if I like it. So she new the rooms were subpar. Walked in, again paint peeling off the walls and doors, thermostat labels old a warn out, minifridge that rattled/hummed all night, two temps on the shower - scalding or freezing. The couch (pull out) in the sitting room, looked like they found it on the street corner. The cable was fuzzy on half the stations. The place smelled musty and old. There were stains on the walls and ceilings. The walls were so thin, you could here people walking above you, showering, and flushing the toilet (at ALL hours). The towels were beige so they do not bleach the towels, I personally thought that was standard practice. We were certain a few of the towels did not make it to the washing machine and had stains. Got to love cigarette burns in the comforter, and the tiles falling off the jacuzzi surround . . . an experience I tell you. Next the breakfast, what a miserable buffet room. There were tiny muffins that ran out quickly and cereal. The coffee was terrible. The "fitness" room. We were hoping for at least a treadmill but only had a set of weights and bench machine. If you are looking for wi-fi don't expect it here. Get the 2 ft cable from the front to plug your computer in. Even the shadiest hotels along the 8 advertise free wi-fi . . . not the Layfette. Please please stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there were a few good places in walking distance of the hotel. Great Russian restaurant and a wonderful desert place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top