$132 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Lafayette Hotel and Suites

3 stars
2223 El Cajon Blvd., San Diego, CA 92104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
337 reviews
Suite for family

Great to have the kids in a separate room in the suite. Pool was full all day- has a great resort... See full review

  • Pinkderivatives
  • Oct 3, 2014
LOVE!

Was a quick trip, one night, and I wish we could've stayed longer. At check in I was surprised to... See full review

  • lolo917
  • Sep 2, 2014
Colonial-style mansion epitomizes elegance next to San Diego Zoo
Dating back to 1946, the Lafayette opened as a popular spot for celebrities and movie stars to socialize for nights at a time. With live music in the Red Fox Room and Piano Bar, the property still celebrates its Hollywood roots today. The Lafayette is the closest hotel to the San Diego Zoo. Guests receive free Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access and on-site parking is also available. The on-site L Bar & Grill overlooks the hotel's Olympic-sized, Terrazzo-tile swimming pool.
Highlights
  • Historic property dates back to 1946
  • Closest hotel to San Diego Zoo with free shuttle
  • Listen to live music in the Red Fox Room and Piano Bar
  • Free Wi-Fi
Rooms

The Lafayette Hotel & Suites offers 131 small but elegant rooms, including four suites. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, mini refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer and an in-room safe. Complimentary high-speed Internet access is available in all rooms.

Features

Built by Larry Imig in 1946, the Lafayette Hotel & Suites spent its first few decades as a popular spot among celebrities and movie stars. In addition to an impressive guest list, several prominent local figures have been permanent residents, including clothier Bill Solof, restaurateur Ray Lubach and San Diego Padres manager Lefty O'Doul.

Despite extensive renovations in 2009 and 2010, much of Lafayette's historic grandeur still exists today. One highlight of the San Diego property is the original, Olympic-sized Terrazzo-tile pool.  Guests and locals flock to the Red Fox Room & Piano Bar, which still hosts nightly entertainment. Guests also receive complimentary access to an on-site fitness center and free Wi-Fi Internet access in the lobby. The hotel offers 24-hour laundry service (fees apply) and parking is also available on site.

All guests receive complimentary shuttle service to the San Diego Zoo.

The on-site restaurant, the L Bar & Grill, sits in the hotel lobby and overlooks the pool. Guests can order light snacks in the Red Fox Room and Piano Bar as well.

Dining

The Red Fox

Sample a delectable fusion of mouth-watering steak varieties and creativley prepared seafood favourites alongside refreshing cocktails.

Hours:
Monday – Thursday  (11am – Midnight)
Friday – Saturday (11am – 1:30am)
Sunday (4pm – 1:30am)

Imig's Kitchen & Bar

Start the day with a modern twist on breakfast and brunch served in a relaxing and open setting.The restaurant also serves mid-day cocktails.

Hours:
Everyday (7am – 3pm)

Holidaymakers at Lafayette Hotel and Suites can also try out sumtuos cuisines, craft beer and local homecooked meals at North Park neighbourhood restaurants nearby. The hotel front desk can arrange for recommendtions and reservations.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (3 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (1 mi/1.5km)
  • San Diego International Airport (4 mi/6 km)
Attractions
  • San Diego Zoo (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Petco Park (2 mi/3 km)
  • Old Town (3 mi/4.5 km)
  • Sea World (4 mi/6 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (5 mi/9 km)
  • Point Loma (6 mi/10 km)
Business
  • 10,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Courtyard for outdoor events
  • 24-hour business center

 

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Lafayette Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Lafayette Hotel and Suites Rooms

Manor King - 1 King Bed
Pillow top California King mattress , triple sheeting with duvet. Desk. Smart power with 3 outlets & 2 USB charging ports, iPod/MP3 Ready AM/FM Clock Radio. 37-inch LCD television with expanded cable including 4 Showtime channels. Complimentary wireless Internet . Laptop-compatible safe. Coffee maker. Traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. Hair dryer. Air conditioning. Non-Smoking.
Manor Queen - Two Queen Beds
Two pillow top Queen mattresses , triple sheeting with duvet. Desk. Smart power with 3 outlets & 2 USB charging ports, iPod/MP3 Ready AM/FM Clock Radio. 37-inch LCD television with expanded cable including 4 Showtime channels. Complimentary wireless Internet. Laptop-compatible safe. Coffee maker. Traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. Hair dryer, Air conditioning. Non-Smoking.
Poolside Room - 2 queen beds
Two pillow Top Queen Mattresses , triple sheeting with duvet. French doors opening directly onto or overlooking the famous Weissmuller Pool. Desk. Smart power with 3 power outlets & 2 USB charging ports, iPod/MP3 Ready AM/FM Clock Radio. 40-inch LCD television with expanded cable including 4 Showtime channels. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Laptop-compatible safe. Coffee Maker. Traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. hair dryer, Air conditioning. Non-Smoking.
Suze Suites
Two private bedrooms separated by French doors each with its own bathroom, traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. One room offers a twin over full bunk bed, multi-purpose dining table, 4 chairs, chalk board wall, smart power with 3 outlets & 2 USB charging ports and a 32-inch LCD television. Separate and private parents' bedroom has a pillow top California King mattress , triple sheeting with duvet, built in desk, microwave, refrigerator, laptop-compatible safe, I-Pod/MP3 ready clock radio, 40-inch flat screen TV, complimentary wireless internet and expanded cable including 4 Showtime stations. Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Qualcomm Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 3.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 6.7 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 8.3 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9.8 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 25.2 mi
  • Legoland: 27.8 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,116.1 mi

Dining

Red Fox Steak House
The quintessential steakhouse that doesn't just reach for the lounge vibe, it helped define it. The entire interior was shipped to the United States for blonde cinema actress, Marion Davies, and was dismantled (again!) and installed at the Lafayette during the 1950's. If the history and nightly piano doesn't get you, the stiff cocktails, steak, and seafood surely will. Hours: Monday - Thursday (11am - Midnight) Friday - Saturday (11am - 1:30am) Sunday (4pm - 1:30am)
Imig's Kitchen & Bar
Loved by locals and guest alike, Imig's serves up a modern, casual and honest twist on breakfast and brunch. The relaxed and open setting gives guests the perfect space to gather daily for breakfast, brunch (or both, after all you're on vacation) or a mid-day custom cocktail overlooking the historic Weissmuller Pool. Hours: Everyday (7am - 3pm)
North Park Neighborhood Restaurants
Quickly becoming nationally recognized for it's culinary diversity and appreciation for craft beer, the neighborhood offers Lafayette guests an incredible opportunity for food exploration. We encourage you to dine with us once (ok, maybe twice) and then experience the local cuisine within our wonderful neighborhood! Our front desk can assist with recommendations and reservations.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (337)

Ratings and reviews for Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
337 out of 337
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
caligurrl
san diego, ca
Nov 19, 2012

So beautiful, very clean, quiet, and restaurants walking distance

Husband and I stayed at the Lafayette 1 night on November 17, 2012 for my birthday. What a beautiful hotel!!! We parked underground in their private gated entry garage which you walk right into the lobby from your car, so close and convenient if you forget something in the car like I did. The hotel lobby was so pretty and historic. Our room was VERY clean and I loved how it was decorated. We felt like Hollywood starlets from a different era. The bed was very comfortable, I slept amazing and didn't want to leave. The bed linens and pillows were very cozy and comfy. Room temperature was perfect. There were no funky smells or any noise outside or indoors. I didn't hear a thing that would disrupt our stay. I loved the fixtures in the bathroom and everything worked like new. We have zero complaints and it was so cool to be minutes away from places to eat and drink. You can stay here and walk to get something to eat or shop. We will absolutely stay here again. We got a king bed in the manor. I've also visited an out of town friend this summer, staying in the rooms that open out onto the pool and that was a really awesome and clean room too! I definitely found the Lafayette to be a guaranteed best place to stay in this area and I look forward to staying here in the future. And ignore any old negative reviews or complaints prior to 2011, they are completely inaccurate because this hotel has undergone a 6 million dollar historical renovation in 2011. It's a beautiful and impressive stay. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
peewee
Business
West Covina, CA, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Not what i expected

2 stars...NOT 3 as it was advertized. The water temperature of the shower was unreliable. It alternated between very hot and cold every few seconds which made showering very uncomfortable. Also the hallways, dining area, and elevator were in poor condition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

short drive from seaworld. that was good

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MeganR
Business
Maricopa, AZ
Sep 20, 2011

Not family friendly and needs major improvement!

We checked in at the Lafayette, with expecations that it was going to be an average stay but would be worth the lower rate; immediate availability and access to down town San Diego. Unfortunately, it wasn't worth any of that! Due to a "problem with their pipes", we weren't able to even enjoy a shower, due to the extreme change in temperatures (scolding hot to ice cold, everytime someone in a surrounding room flushed their toilet), which caused pain to my young children and an inability to get more then a minute of normal water temperature. The bathroom floors had dirty tiles, the TV cable wouldn't keep a signl and all the walls are paper thin so we could hear all of "partiers" until 3am. The pool area was a party scene and VERY inappropriate for young children (much like a skanky reality tv show, except no sensors), which apparently was "normal for the weekend". I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone with a family. Such a shame, I thought it was going to be nostalgic to stay where some of the great oldies have stayed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
77ale77
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Sep 14, 2011

Great stay in SD

I was a little worried about having booked at this hotel from the few negative reviews I read online but from the moment we got there it was awesome. We were allowed to check in early and headed straight to the room, no problems. room seemed a little small but had all the essentials especially soft comfortable beds, I was VERY pleased with that. Room had a fridge and microwave which came in handy. Overall it was a pleasant experience and would definitely stay there again if I am in the area again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fabby Guillen
Business
Santa Ana, CA, USA
Sep 14, 2011

party

Hotel was under construction the staff was not very helpful and requested iron which stated they had on website but they ran out. Yet we had an ironing board. When asked about taxis they stated here are the numbers they do not assist in getting you one. Also they were not very friendly or helpful when asking about area or food places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Taxi only 5 minutes and 5 dollars you can fit 5 people. Lips dinner and entertainment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
a.rose
Business
San Fernando, CA, USA
Aug 30, 2011

21st Birthday Trip

This was my second time at the hotel, I didn't stay in a poolside room this time but the room was still nice with an ok view. I did get stuck in the elevator for about 10 minutes while going to my room for the first time but other then that I still enjoyed my stay. It's a short drive from the hotel to Old Town and an even shorter drive to the zoo. Although I would recommend to put a mirror in the room other then the one in the bathroom everything was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Book a Haunted Tour ahead of time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kidd
Business
Thousand Oaks
Aug 24, 2011

Overpriced

Staff was not helpful at check in, just stared at me. Unable to use pool due to DJ party with locals laying out and drinking. Room had no refrigerator, one trash can, no blow dryer. Had to carry our luggage up 3 flights of stairs since their elevator was broken. No bell boy for assistance in carring our belongings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
andrealeaf
Business
Long Beach, CA
Aug 5, 2011

The good and the Bed

The Good:The room is great, the service is good! The Bad: Breakfeast is very bad!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

It's very close to the Zoo and Balboa Park

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Iwaz
Business
san jose, ca
Aug 1, 2011

Too bad, so sad... I remember you when

I remember the Lafayette from the late fifties as a child. We spent many summer weeks here visiting with relatives locally and from the front it has changed little. It obvious that some renovations are occurring, but if the changes seen are indicative of the overall goal of restoration for this beloved hotel, then the owners need to consider a redue. The overall impression is of a aged queen, well past her prime, trying to spruce up for a lost love, but its clear she has lost her sense of style in the effort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Torrance, CA
Aug 1, 2011

too noisy to sleep

The hotel didn't look as bad as some of the reviews made it out to be. I think they were further along in the remodeling phase. My room had an LCD TV, some new furniture, and modern wall paper. The pool was good enough to jump in for a little while to cool off. Everything fell apart however when night came. Noise from the street came into the room without hesitation. I checked the window a number of times to make sure it was closed. You could head people talking on the side walk as if they were in the room. Since it's on a major street, there were trucks driving by all night. Even after I fell asleep, I kept waking up with the symphony of street life. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 27, 2011

Reasonable price, convenient hotel

Nice pool gathering place, neighborhood restaurants close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Very convenient to San Diego attractions; at most a short drive away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top