$132 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 7, 2014 Check-out: Oct 10, 2014

Lafayette Hotel and Suites

3 stars
2223 El Cajon Blvd., San Diego, CA 92104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
335 reviews
LOVE!

Was a quick trip, one night, and I wish we could've stayed longer. At check in I was surprised to... See full review

  • lolo917
  • Sep 2, 2014
Would be perfect if the location was a little better!

Upon arriving at the hotel, 15/20 mins from the airport by taxi we were greeted by two very... See full review

  • michael711
  • Aug 24, 2014
Colonial-style mansion epitomizes elegance next to San Diego Zoo
Dating back to 1946, the Lafayette opened as a popular spot for celebrities and movie stars to socialize for nights at a time. With live music in the Red Fox Room and Piano Bar, the property still celebrates its Hollywood roots today. The Lafayette is the closest hotel to the San Diego Zoo. Guests receive free Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access and on-site parking is also available. The on-site L Bar & Grill overlooks the hotel's Olympic-sized, Terrazzo-tile swimming pool.
Highlights
  • Historic property dates back to 1946
  • Closest hotel to San Diego Zoo with free shuttle
  • Listen to live music in the Red Fox Room and Piano Bar
  • Free Wi-Fi
Rooms

The Lafayette Hotel & Suites offers 131 small but elegant rooms, including four suites. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, mini refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer and an in-room safe. Complimentary high-speed Internet access is available in all rooms.

Features

Built by Larry Imig in 1946, the Lafayette Hotel & Suites spent its first few decades as a popular spot among celebrities and movie stars. In addition to an impressive guest list, several prominent local figures have been permanent residents, including clothier Bill Solof, restaurateur Ray Lubach and San Diego Padres manager Lefty O'Doul.

Despite extensive renovations in 2009 and 2010, much of Lafayette's historic grandeur still exists today. One highlight of the San Diego property is the original, Olympic-sized Terrazzo-tile pool.  Guests and locals flock to the Red Fox Room & Piano Bar, which still hosts nightly entertainment. Guests also receive complimentary access to an on-site fitness center and free Wi-Fi Internet access in the lobby. The hotel offers 24-hour laundry service (fees apply) and parking is also available on site.

All guests receive complimentary shuttle service to the San Diego Zoo.

The on-site restaurant, the L Bar & Grill, sits in the hotel lobby and overlooks the pool. Guests can order light snacks in the Red Fox Room and Piano Bar as well.

Dining

The Red Fox

Sample a delectable fusion of mouth-watering steak varieties and creativley prepared seafood favourites alongside refreshing cocktails.

Hours:
Monday – Thursday  (11am – Midnight)
Friday – Saturday (11am – 1:30am)
Sunday (4pm – 1:30am)

Imig's Kitchen & Bar

Start the day with a modern twist on breakfast and brunch served in a relaxing and open setting.The restaurant also serves mid-day cocktails.

Hours:
Everyday (7am – 3pm)

Holidaymakers at Lafayette Hotel and Suites can also try out sumtuos cuisines, craft beer and local homecooked meals at North Park neighbourhood restaurants nearby. The hotel front desk can arrange for recommendtions and reservations.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (3 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (1 mi/1.5km)
  • San Diego International Airport (4 mi/6 km)
Attractions
  • San Diego Zoo (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Petco Park (2 mi/3 km)
  • Old Town (3 mi/4.5 km)
  • Sea World (4 mi/6 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (5 mi/9 km)
  • Point Loma (6 mi/10 km)
Business
  • 10,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Courtyard for outdoor events
  • 24-hour business center

 

Hotel Map

32.7547 -117.1407
Area served
San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
(SAN)San Diego International Airport
Area description
Located in North Park area of San Diego. One mile from San Diego Zoo, one mile from Mission Valley and minutes to downtown, SeaWorld and all San Diego Attractions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Lafayette Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Lafayette Hotel and Suites Rooms

Manor King - 1 King Bed
Pillow top California King mattress , triple sheeting with duvet. Desk. Smart power with 3 outlets & 2 USB charging ports, iPod/MP3 Ready AM/FM Clock Radio. 37-inch LCD television with expanded cable including 4 Showtime channels. Complimentary wireless Internet . Laptop-compatible safe. Coffee maker. Traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. Hair dryer. Air conditioning. Non-Smoking.
Manor Queen - Two Queen Beds
Two pillow top Queen mattresses , triple sheeting with duvet. Desk. Smart power with 3 outlets & 2 USB charging ports, iPod/MP3 Ready AM/FM Clock Radio. 37-inch LCD television with expanded cable including 4 Showtime channels. Complimentary wireless Internet. Laptop-compatible safe. Coffee maker. Traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. Hair dryer, Air conditioning. Non-Smoking.
Poolside Room - 2 queen beds
Two pillow Top Queen Mattresses , triple sheeting with duvet. French doors opening directly onto or overlooking the famous Weissmuller Pool. Desk. Smart power with 3 power outlets & 2 USB charging ports, iPod/MP3 Ready AM/FM Clock Radio. 40-inch LCD television with expanded cable including 4 Showtime channels. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Laptop-compatible safe. Coffee Maker. Traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. hair dryer, Air conditioning. Non-Smoking.
Suze Suites
Two private bedrooms separated by French doors each with its own bathroom, traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. One room offers a twin over full bunk bed, multi-purpose dining table, 4 chairs, chalk board wall, smart power with 3 outlets & 2 USB charging ports and a 32-inch LCD television. Separate and private parents' bedroom has a pillow top California King mattress , triple sheeting with duvet, built in desk, microwave, refrigerator, laptop-compatible safe, I-Pod/MP3 ready clock radio, 40-inch flat screen TV, complimentary wireless internet and expanded cable including 4 Showtime stations. Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Qualcomm Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 3.4 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 3.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5 mi
  • Sea World: 5.2 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 6.7 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 8.3 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9.8 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 25.2 mi
  • Legoland: 27.8 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,116.1 mi

Dining

Red Fox Steak House
The quintessential steakhouse that doesn't just reach for the lounge vibe, it helped define it. The entire interior was shipped to the United States for blonde cinema actress, Marion Davies, and was dismantled (again!) and installed at the Lafayette during the 1950's. If the history and nightly piano doesn't get you, the stiff cocktails, steak, and seafood surely will. Hours: Monday - Thursday (11am - Midnight) Friday - Saturday (11am - 1:30am) Sunday (4pm - 1:30am)
Imig's Kitchen & Bar
Loved by locals and guest alike, Imig's serves up a modern, casual and honest twist on breakfast and brunch. The relaxed and open setting gives guests the perfect space to gather daily for breakfast, brunch (or both, after all you're on vacation) or a mid-day custom cocktail overlooking the historic Weissmuller Pool. Hours: Everyday (7am - 3pm)
North Park Neighborhood Restaurants
Quickly becoming nationally recognized for it's culinary diversity and appreciation for craft beer, the neighborhood offers Lafayette guests an incredible opportunity for food exploration. We encourage you to dine with us once (ok, maybe twice) and then experience the local cuisine within our wonderful neighborhood! Our front desk can assist with recommendations and reservations.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (335)

Ratings and reviews for Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
335 out of 335
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.5

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Feb 23, 2008

Not a three star hotel!!!

The only positive thing I can say about the room was that it was big and contained a refrigerator and microwave. I suspect the owners of the hotel thought this would make up for the fact that the room was dirty, in need of a paint job, the sheets were stained and the beds were hard. When I turned on the heat, it put out a bad smell and there was no hot water for a shower. We checked out early the next day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
May 13, 2007

Our room was very small ...

Our room was very small and at the end of the hall overlooking the air conditioner unit. The elevator was not working and we walked up two flights of stairs with our luggage. The bed sham was worn. The linen was old and worn. The room had a stale smell. The bathroom was almost too small to turn around it. There was no shelf in the bathroom for toiletries. There was a very small mirror in the bathroom. This hotel originally was an InnSuites. The desk clerk told me that they purchased it two years ago. We wanted to go to a Mexican resturant. They told us it was four blocks up the street when in fact it was eight blocks up the hill. The hotel was not nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

There was some nice restaurants in the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
niceshirt
Sacramento, CA
Jun 2, 2011

I would have rather stayed at Motel 6

After hearing pretty good remarks about this hotel, my boyfriend and I decided to book a room for two nights during Memorial Day weekend. We heard from friends and also from Yelp reviews, that it's a popular and fun place to stay. We also read reviews that they were currently going through renovations, but didn't realize how bad the non-renovated rooms were. I mean don't mind dated furniture or amenities, but this room was absolutely disgusting. It smelled of stale smoke, which is ironic, since we had to sign an agreement stating that we understood the no smoking policy inside hotel rooms at check-in. There were stains and dust everywhere. I'd be afraid to see what was underneath the bed and cringe at the thought. To be honest, I did not want to touch anything in that room! We tried to stick it out thinking "you get what you pay for", but this place was unacceptable. I felt so dirty being in the room. We eventually decided to cancel our stay here. The front desk told they would only refund us for the second night stay and not the first. I don't understand how our room (Room 606!) could have passed public health standards in the first place. Just as I stated in the Review Title, I would have rather stayed at a Motel 6. At least I know what I'm getting there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MeganR
Maricopa, AZ
Sep 20, 2011

Not family friendly and needs major improvement!

We checked in at the Lafayette, with expecations that it was going to be an average stay but would be worth the lower rate; immediate availability and access to down town San Diego. Unfortunately, it wasn't worth any of that! Due to a "problem with their pipes", we weren't able to even enjoy a shower, due to the extreme change in temperatures (scolding hot to ice cold, everytime someone in a surrounding room flushed their toilet), which caused pain to my young children and an inability to get more then a minute of normal water temperature. The bathroom floors had dirty tiles, the TV cable wouldn't keep a signl and all the walls are paper thin so we could hear all of "partiers" until 3am. The pool area was a party scene and VERY inappropriate for young children (much like a skanky reality tv show, except no sensors), which apparently was "normal for the weekend". I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone with a family. Such a shame, I thought it was going to be nostalgic to stay where some of the great oldies have stayed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jack Simmons
CA
Jun 13, 2010

HORRIBLE 1 star hotel

Hi guys! NEVER stay there. I reserved a room there cause it was the cheapest 3 star hotel in San Diego. But everything is wrong with it.1. Horrible location/bad neighborhood.2.Construction going on site in front of the hotel.3.Worst rooms I've ever seen in my life/NOT EVEN 2 star hotel!Barely one.Rooms look nice on pictures,but they are not in real life.Old,smelly,horrible.4.Cold pool though advertised as heated,it's a lie5.Roaches,broken window in sleeping room,tiny 12 inch TV,dust,smell,faded paint,ghetto dirty carpets.6. $25 charge if you check-in before 3 PMWe found another 2 star hotel [...] and it was MUCH MUCH better and cheaper than $66 we paid for the room.Thank you.enjoy your stay.Not in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JNB
Portland, OR
Aug 8, 2009

The good, the bad, and the really ugly

The lock on the bathroom did not work. The light at the desk did not work. One light by the bed was completely missing. There were stains on the carpet. The management had allowed people to pay a $5 cover charge to use the pool from 1-6 pm every afternoon which brought in many people, a lot of noise, and lewd behavior. The noise was not just kept within the hours of 1-6 pm -- we experienced lots of noise late into the evening until at least 11 pm coming from the pool area. There were three of us in the room, and towels were provided for two. We needed to ask for additional supplies -- coffee, wash cloths, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Palm Desert, CA
Jul 12, 2010

condemn this property

This old, once proud, hotel is in such disrepair it should not be recommended to anyone. Tiled floors with missing tiles. Doors and other painted surfaces untouched for years. Exterior concrete stairs and walkways literally falling to pieces, apparently earth quake damage, with chunks of concrete lying nearby. Tattered furniture. Plumbing fixtures not working. The best thing about this hotel is their web site: it looks great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Stay away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kaileighs Mommy
Rockford, IL
Mar 9, 2011

Photoshop!!!!!

This hotel is NOT what it seemed. It looks beautiful in the pictures, real classy. However, when you see it in person it is not that way. The rooms are too tiny for the beds and furniture in them. I had the 2 queen deluxe with 3 adults and a crib, it was beyond cramped because of the dresser and desk, the room that size should only be allowed to have 1 bed in it! The carpet was STICKY! The employees could never remember that we needed 4 towels with 4 washclothes, mostly we received 2 towels with 1 washcloth. So everyday for a week we had to call and ask for the towels. The phone was broken, we had to go down and get instructions on how to operate it because it was missing buttons. Our shower head made a thumping noise that woke everyone in the room up. The walls are paper thin and you can hear everything from the hallway and the rooms next to you. They advertise 2 restuarants the Red Fox that is attached to the hotel and a supposed L Bar and Grill. I never saw this L Bar and Grill. My mother in law who had a seperate room; had no curtains, no bed spread, no coffee maker, no fridge, nothing in her room. When she called to ask for a coffee maker they refused because her room was supposedly under renovations. Also, they say that they have a "breakfast buffet", HA HA, it consists of blueberry and banana nut muffins, and cherrios with a choice of milk and coffee to drink. Some buffet! Also, they claim to have a fitness center, this fitness center consisted of 1 machine from the 80's (at best) that is comparable to a horribly generic Bowflex weight machine. This machine was literally sitting in the middle of the room, that's all that was in their "fitness center". Spend the extra money and stay at a different hotel!!! TRUST ME, DO NOT STAY HERE!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Stay somewhere else, about 5 minutes away are many more choices that are very close to multiple restuarants and stores. STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mom of vacationing family
Bakersfield, CA
Jul 23, 2010

Seaworld Vacation

Hotel is old and going through renovations. Very outdated and smells like it. Carpets were dirty and dark inside. Tile around pool is coming off and no trip hazard signs. Seems like hotel needs a lot more work before it makes a "comeback".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Phoenix, AZ
Feb 22, 2011

Pick a different hotel

Where do I start? Okay, first I am not a hotel snob. I have stayed in my share of bad hotels, but at least those times I knew what I was in for. That is what $30-40 a night gets you. However, in this case of $80 (on sale) a night and a lovely website I was not expecting this. The first room, no blinds on the window, paint peeling off the walls, directly across from the cleaning crews supply room, the comforter having a "questionable smell", and the toilet that was broken and ran constantly (yes, I jiggled the handle). So, I politely asked for a new room. They "ungraded" us to a jacuzzi suite. I truly laugh at this, because she said I could look at the room first and see if I like it. So she new the rooms were subpar. Walked in, again paint peeling off the walls and doors, thermostat labels old a warn out, minifridge that rattled/hummed all night, two temps on the shower - scalding or freezing. The couch (pull out) in the sitting room, looked like they found it on the street corner. The cable was fuzzy on half the stations. The place smelled musty and old. There were stains on the walls and ceilings. The walls were so thin, you could here people walking above you, showering, and flushing the toilet (at ALL hours). The towels were beige so they do not bleach the towels, I personally thought that was standard practice. We were certain a few of the towels did not make it to the washing machine and had stains. Got to love cigarette burns in the comforter, and the tiles falling off the jacuzzi surround . . . an experience I tell you. Next the breakfast, what a miserable buffet room. There were tiny muffins that ran out quickly and cereal. The coffee was terrible. The "fitness" room. We were hoping for at least a treadmill but only had a set of weights and bench machine. If you are looking for wi-fi don't expect it here. Get the 2 ft cable from the front to plug your computer in. Even the shadiest hotels along the 8 advertise free wi-fi . . . not the Layfette. Please please stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there were a few good places in walking distance of the hotel. Great Russian restaurant and a wonderful desert place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top