$142 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Lafayette Hotel and Suites

3 stars
2223 El Cajon Blvd., San Diego, CA 92104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
530 reviews
A trip to the good life

From the moment we drove up the half circle driveway and entered the main lobby we knew we had... See full review

  • MDB Traveler
  • Jul 17, 2014
Charming resort setting

We truly felt the Southern California experience. The Lafayette was clean, comfortable and has a... See full review

  • Suz Loves to Go
  • Apr 9, 2014
The recently renovated Lafayette, Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows offers travelers a true sense of San Diego culture and history. Located in the trendy and up and coming neighborhood of North Park, the hotel is only 1 mile from Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo and a short drive to both downtown and the beaches. With an eclectic collection of rooms, dining options and neighborhood haunts, the Lafayette is not your typical California boutique hotel but certainly one of San Diego's best kept secrets. Free internet. While on vacation spend your money on things you want, not need. Fitness Center features Life Fitness Equipment w/TV's Treadmills, Elliptical, Bicycle, free wieghts and pullup bar.

Hotel Map

32.7547 -117.1407
Area served
San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
(SAN)San Diego International Airport
Area description
Located in North Park area of San Diego. One mile from San Diego Zoo, one mile from Mission Valley and minutes to downtown, SeaWorld and all San Diego Attractions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Lafayette Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

Lafayette Hotel and Suites Rooms

Manor King - 1 King Bed
Pillow top California King mattress , triple sheeting with duvet. Desk. Smart power with 3 outlets & 2 USB charging ports, iPod/MP3 Ready AM/FM Clock Radio. 37-inch LCD television with expanded cable including 4 Showtime channels. Complimentary wireless Internet . Laptop-compatible safe. Coffee maker. Traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. Hair dryer. Air conditioning. Non-Smoking.
Manor Queen - Two Queen Beds
Two pillow top Queen mattresses , triple sheeting with duvet. Desk. Smart power with 3 outlets & 2 USB charging ports, iPod/MP3 Ready AM/FM Clock Radio. 37-inch LCD television with expanded cable including 4 Showtime channels. Complimentary wireless Internet. Laptop-compatible safe. Coffee maker. Traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. Hair dryer, Air conditioning. Non-Smoking.
Poolside Room - 2 queen beds
Two pillow Top Queen Mattresses , triple sheeting with duvet. French doors opening directly onto or overlooking the famous Weissmuller Pool. Desk. Smart power with 3 power outlets & 2 USB charging ports, iPod/MP3 Ready AM/FM Clock Radio. 40-inch LCD television with expanded cable including 4 Showtime channels. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Laptop-compatible safe. Coffee Maker. Traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. hair dryer, Air conditioning. Non-Smoking.
Suze Suites
Two private bedrooms separated by French doors each with its own bathroom, traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. One room offers a twin over full bunk bed, multi-purpose dining table, 4 chairs, chalk board wall, smart power with 3 outlets & 2 USB charging ports and a 32-inch LCD television. Separate and private parents' bedroom has a pillow top California King mattress , triple sheeting with duvet, built in desk, microwave, refrigerator, laptop-compatible safe, I-Pod/MP3 ready clock radio, 40-inch flat screen TV, complimentary wireless internet and expanded cable including 4 Showtime stations. Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Qualcomm Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 3.4 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 3.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5 mi
  • Sea World: 5.2 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 6.7 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 8.3 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9.8 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 25.2 mi
  • Legoland: 27.8 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,116.1 mi

Dining

Red Fox Steak House
The quintessential steakhouse that doesn't just reach for the lounge vibe, it helped define it. The entire interior was shipped to the United States for blonde cinema actress, Marion Davies, and was dismantled (again!) and installed at the Lafayette during the 1950's. If the history and nightly piano doesn't get you, the stiff cocktails, steak, and seafood surely will. Hours: Monday - Thursday (11am - Midnight) Friday - Saturday (11am - 1:30am) Sunday (4pm - 1:30am)
Imig's Kitchen & Bar
Loved by locals and guest alike, Imig's serves up a modern, casual and honest twist on breakfast and brunch. The relaxed and open setting gives guests the perfect space to gather daily for breakfast, brunch (or both, after all you're on vacation) or a mid-day custom cocktail overlooking the historic Weissmuller Pool. Hours: Everyday (7am - 3pm)
North Park Neighborhood Restaurants
Quickly becoming nationally recognized for it's culinary diversity and appreciation for craft beer, the neighborhood offers Lafayette guests an incredible opportunity for food exploration. We encourage you to dine with us once (ok, maybe twice) and then experience the local cuisine within our wonderful neighborhood! Our front desk can assist with recommendations and reservations.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (530)

Ratings and reviews for Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
530 out of 530
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.4

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MDB Traveler
Vancouver
Jul 17, 2014

A trip to the good life

From the moment we drove up the half circle driveway and entered the main lobby we knew we had found something special. It is a step back into the late 40's of glamour and grace. The staff is very courteous and helpful. Our room was modest and comfortable. The French doors opened onto the pool deck lined with lounge chairs which allowed you to sit and relax while music from that era plays in the background. The beds were some of the most comfortable that I've slept involved. The on site restaurant and bar serves reasonably priced food and drink and there is an upper level deck that looks over the pool. The hotel lobby and hallways are full of nostalgic pieces from the 40's when hollywood greats like Bob Hope, Lana Turner and Ava Gardner would come to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alissa Thomas
San Ramon, CA
Jul 4, 2014

Great time!

I had a great time at the Lafayette! Some things to take in to consideration is that you must be 21 or older to stay at the hotel and if there are any problems with your room the front desk is very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The pool at night is warm and beautiful!

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MerchandiseGuy
Los Angeles, CA. 91606
Jun 30, 2014

Old Hollywood Charm

This hotel reminded me a lot of "Old Hollywood Glam" It doesn't look like its been updated in a decade or two, but it's held up well. The staff are hit and miss, some love their job while others clearly do not. There is a very unique charm to the place. Best advice, engage the staff that smile and steer clear of the grumpy looking ones and you should have a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

You can UBER down to University Ave for about $5

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Suz Loves to Go
Raleigh, NC
Apr 9, 2014

Charming resort setting

We truly felt the Southern California experience. The Lafayette was clean, comfortable and has a certain old Hollywood feel. The pool deck was beautiful and accessible just outside our door. Dinner at the restaurant was excellent. Hotel and restaurant staff were most helpful and knowledgeable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Have breakfast at the Mission---it's my favorite spot

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PSfromPS
Palm Spraings, CA
Dec 28, 2013

3 Night Christmas Getaway

I always ask for a room on top floor to avoid noise from above. Could hear children running around next door, water running in bathroom next door, and doors in hallway slamming shut at all hours. Also was disappointed that room had no microwave or mini-fridge. Have prescriptions that should be refrigerated and had to leave them at room temp for the 3 days. Location was very good for places I was visiting during my stay, but will look for hotel with more room amenities next time in San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DCJG
Huntington Beach CA
Nov 29, 2013

Chic hotel

Very friendly staff, great location No Park SD, Clean facility with neat amenities- outdoor pool& Games.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kenike
SLC, UT
Oct 15, 2013

Great escape from "Hotel Circle"

Charming, clean, quiet, comfortable. This is a great value for a lovely hotel. There is free, secure, underground parking. The pool is delightful. I think I'll try a pool side room next time I stay. There is no free breakfast, but I prefer it that way - I think I eat more healthy when there aren't waffles tempting me. The bathrooms in the standard rooms aren't completely updated, but are adequate and actually sort of charming. They have a court yard with a large chess and checkers set - really large - the chess pieces are about three feet tall. Sort of fun :) I love the location, which is very close to the Zoo and Balboa Park, but in a cozy neighborhood. This will be my 'go to' San Diego hotel from now on. LOVE IT! (Frankly, if I had payed more for this hotel, I still would have thought it was a great deal)..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a super yummy and unique sandwich shop a short drive away that is a must try called "BFD," which stands for big front door. Google map it - you won't be sorry!

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The indecisive hotel guy
Los Angeles
Sep 22, 2013

Good Choice

I was staying the night in San Diego. The Lafayette hotel turned out to be a great option. Considering how fast things can add up in SD the Lafayette was first a price conscious choice. From what I read at the time it was recently remodeled or renovated so it seemed like a good choice. It turned out it was a great choice. It has a real welcoming feel with tons of charm, real character. You feel like you're in your own little world. They have fun things scheduled each day like live bands performing or a movie by the pool. Also there's no charge for parking. Over all it was a great stay. The staff I encountered was helpful, happy and all around nice. I wouldn't compare it to the someplace like the Bellagio or anything super fancy but definitley for the money you get more than you think at the Lafayette. I certainly will recommend it to any friends or family that wish to go to San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

If you have daytime activities planned out but still wish to do something other than stay coupes up in a room then the Lafayette has that as well. I stayed overnight on a Thursday and they had a movie playing on a big projector screen by the pool. They had a calendar with events and live bands were among the things planned each day. Simple but fun enough.

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JLENG
Los Angeles
Sep 3, 2013

Nice & clean

Friendly staff, large swimming pool, nicely decorated

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AMMF
Ontario, CA
Jul 1, 2013

DO NOT BELIEVE!!!!

I don't know where to begin! The night just kept getting worse and worse. While driving to the hotel I thought the scenery would get nicer,as the hotel looked extremely nice from the outside, however nothing changed. Once we got to the hotel, a $100 deposit was then requested. This was not informed to us when we called the hotel to book our nights. We walked into our room and we could hear guests that were accross the hall!!!. Not to mention when we got into the room, the room DID NOT LOOK ANYTHING SIMILAR TO THOSE PICTURES. The tile in the restroom was dirty and completely filled with black marks. My sister also noticed a hair on the toliet seat and we had a hard time from there. The room smelled like feet and smoke. We had to cancel our second night! The customer service was horrible. They promised to match a rate, and as of now they (manager) haven't called us for this. It is a complere joke and a rip off! PLEASE BE ADVISE AND DO NOT BOOK HERE. IT IS FALSE ADVERTISEMENT!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top