$65 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 18, 2015 Check-out: Jan 19, 2015

La Quinta Inn San Diego Scripps Poway

2 stars
10185 Paseo Montril, 10185 Paseo Montril, San Diego, CA 92129
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
30 reviews
Good experience

Clean and ready when checked in. Staff was very nice and helpful. No long wait for anything.... See full review

  • Momof6x
  • Jul 28, 2014
Solid deal

Overall great stay with food nearby (Mexican McDonalds and etc.) Bed is solid, and room is good. See full review

  • Weekend Traveler from LA
  • Apr 28, 2014
Flat-panel TVs with 30 channels of HD programming. Easy-access Plug-and-Play feature makes it simple to connect electronics. The La Quinta Inn San Diego Rancho Scripps Poway is northeast of the city, set under blue skies and surrounded by lush landscaping. Each morning, enjoy a Free Bright Side Breakfast and local newspaper in our colorful lobby. Relax on the sundeck or take a refreshing dip in the Swimming Pool. Our friendly staff is here to serve. Most major restaurants are nearby and we are close to North County Fair and Fashion Valley malls. Using easy freeway access, head downtown and visit such attractions as the San Diego Wild Animal Park, San Diego Zoo, Qualcomm Stadium, and Sea World. Located 20 miles from San Diego International Airport. A great destination for visitors to area companies: Nokia, Gateway, Seimens, Northrop Grumman, Qualcomm, TRW.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Quinta Inn San Diego Scripps Poway also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

La Quinta Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Rooms

Deluxe
King Room Non Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, oversized desk and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Standard
Two Full or Queen Beds Relaxing and comfortable room with two full or queen beds, oversized desk and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Outdoor pool
Jogging track
Play ground
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Video checkout
Copy service
Overhead projector
White board
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Sorrento Valley: 6.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 9 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 11.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 12.2 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 12.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 13.1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 14.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 14.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 14.5 mi
  • Heritage Park: 14.5 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 14.6 mi
  • Belmont Park: 15.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 15.2 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 15.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 15.3 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 6.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 9 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 11.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 12.2 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 12.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 13.1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 14.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 14.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 14.5 mi
  • Heritage Park: 14.5 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 14.6 mi
  • Belmont Park: 15.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 15.2 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 15.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 15.3 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 15.3 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 15.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 15.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 15.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 15.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 15.4 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 15.7 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 15.7 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 15.8 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 16.2 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 16.3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 17 mi
  • PETCO Park: 17.1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 17.2 mi
  • Legoland: 17.3 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 17.5 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 21.6 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,108.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (30)

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn San Diego Scripps Poway

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn San Diego Scripps Poway

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mo Business
Business
Benicia, CA
Nov 25, 2014

Business Trip

It's a decent hotel, but I found a dead beetle in the bathroom (my room was on the ground floor). Still a great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn San Diego Scripps Poway

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lugass
Business
Cupertino, CA
Oct 1, 2014

San Diego Getaway

This place is very basic. Towels are thread bare. Shower head is about a foot too low. Toilet needs a couple of flushes instead of just one. Bed was comfortable and the room was clean. Just no frills. I opted to skip the free breakfast based on how basic the room the was. Also, they offer a 10% discount at the neighboring IHOP with your room key. Why would they suggest going to IHOP if their own breakfast was any good?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn San Diego Scripps Poway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Momof6x
Business
Upland, CA
Jul 28, 2014

Good experience

Clean and ready when checked in. Staff was very nice and helpful. No long wait for anything. Breakfast was reasonable and location was great for me. Right next to Starbucks. .doesn't get better for me with that one. :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Beaches, food and gas and right off freeway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn San Diego Scripps Poway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weekend Traveler from LA
Business
LA
Apr 28, 2014

Solid deal

Overall great stay with food nearby (Mexican McDonalds and etc.) Bed is solid, and room is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn San Diego Scripps Poway

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jonathan bosh
Business
anaheim calif.
Mar 16, 2014

a place to remember

was good and comfortable very friendly staff would stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn San Diego Scripps Poway

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Charlie69
Business
San Diego, CA
Feb 16, 2014

Soccer tournament

The beds were small. The parking stalls are narrow. I called front desk to ask for towels, and the front desk operator said he couldn't send anyone up because they were under-staffed. Kind of strange to be under-staffed on a holiday weekend. The breakfast was very limited in selection. No eggs, no bacon, no sausage, coffee machine was empty. Probably won't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Only good thing about the hotel was it was walking distance to Starbucks!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn San Diego Scripps Poway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JEMA
Business
Trinidad and Tobago, Caribbean
Jul 21, 2013

Nice Accomodation

I visited for a week (with my son for a major golf tourney) and found the location perfect for our needs. The room was clean and the staff friendly. Internet was free and with good bandwidth. As a matter of fact, the entire premises was just perfect for my needs. There is an IHOP and Starbucks within 30 seconds walk of the hotel and a strip mall (with 7 Eleven, McDonalds, pizzeria etc.) just opposite the street. I will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Almost on the compound so to speak.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn San Diego Scripps Poway

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Raymond of California
Business
Placentia, CA
Nov 24, 2012

Freeway noise

Our room faced the freeway, high road noise levels on that side of hotel. The breakfast "area" way too small for that many guests for the free breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn San Diego Scripps Poway

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SheThinksImaCriminal
Business
San Diego, California
Sep 29, 2012

Worst I've Ever Stayed In

I'm not a picky or hard to please person, but this was the worst hotel experience I've ever had. My husband and I were visiting San Diego and my mom wanted to get us a room here, so she reserved a room, and sent us over with her credit card to pay for it. The lady at the desk made me feel like a moron and a criminal thinking I could pay for a room with my mom's card without her ID. I explained that it was a gift from her for our anniversary, but she was very snooty and told me that it was impossible without my mother being there with us, especially since her last name doesn't match mine. Well, yeah...I'm married. Don't tell me I need to prove my maiden name to this woman! So we paid for it using my credit card and ID (she asked me if my credit card and driver's license belonged to me. Then she quizzed me on the info on my driver's license, just to make sure. I guess she thinks I go around stealing credit cards.) So since I paid for it, I came on here to review, otherwise I wouldn't complain about a free hotel stay. The lady put us in the closest room to the highway with two twin beds. How romantic. The room felt unclean, and it was. The floors were dirty, I found a red bug hanging out on the shower curtain, the shower was ear-splittingly loud, the bottom of the tub was dirty, and the water filled up past my ankles. I couldn't wait to get out, and I felt even more dirty after the shower. I also found hairs in the tub and on the floor that weren't ours. I wasn't expecting a luxurious experience at La Quinta, but this was just ridiculous. At least keep the rooms clean if your front desk lady is going to give me the third degree. Terrible place, I'll never stay at a La Quinta again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn San Diego Scripps Poway

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gwen of PA
Business
Audubon, PA
Aug 28, 2012

OK for 2-star establishment

When I checked in I didn't recall that this was a 2-star hotel. It was not up to my standards. The outside appearance of the hotel was good, but the room was very outdated, unclean and some bath items in need of repair. Due to shortage of staff, the breakfast area was always dirty and the stock of items were not replenished as needed. Because it is a La Quinta I thought it would be an OK bet; but it was not. I definitely would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of fast food places on eastern (Poway) side of I-15 exit. Also, great soup and salad (Soup Plantation) restaurant located in nearby Mira Mesa and Carmel Mountain Ranch San Diego neighborhoods.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top