$135 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 17, 2015

La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

3 stars
View map of 4610 De Soto Street, 4610 De Soto Street, San Diego, CA 92109

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
121 reviews
Served its purpose

The staff was nice, rooms were clean. Free breakfast and close to the sites. Overall pretty good. See full review

  • jjoe
  • Jun 16, 2015
Great breakfast / interesting drive to

First of all, they had one of the best free breakfasts around. Great selection and variety. The... See full review

  • Mountain Dennis
  • Mar 17, 2014
La Quinta Inn Ste San Diego Mission Bay is located in San Diego's Pacific Beach neighborhood, only one mile from Mission Bay Park. The property underwent significant renovations in 2009 and 2010, including new furniture in all guest rooms and a complete overhaul of the on-site fitness center. All guests receive a complimentary hot breakfast buffet and free Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access. There's also a heated pool for guests to enjoy.
Rooms

La Quinta Inn Ste San Diego Mission Bay offers 88 rooms varying in size and configuration. All rooms come standard with flat-screen TV, microwave, mini refrigerator, spacious work desk, and in-room safe. All guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access.

Property features

La Quinta Inn Ste San Diego Mission Bay underwent extensive renovations in 2009 and 2010. These improvements included an overhaul of room furniture and a complete refresh of the property's fitness center.

All guests enjoy complimentary access to the heated pool and Jacuzzi, as well as a complimentary breakfast buffet every morning. The hotel also offers 24-hour laundry service (fees apply).

For convenient dining, concierge at the La Quinta Inn Ste San Diego Mission Bay usually recommend the Pacific Beach Bar & Grill, located less than one mile away. The dance floor is open nightly between 9 p.m. and 2 a.m.

Highlights
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet, Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access
  • Located a mile from Mission Bay
  • Recently renovated
  • Take a dip in the on-site pool
Nearby attractions
  • Mission Bay Park (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Sea World (2 mi/3 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (4 mi/7 km)
  • Torrey Pines Golf Course (5 mi/8.5 km)
  • Petco Park (6 mi/11 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (6 mi/11 km)
  • Point Loma (6 mi/11 km)
Business
  • 24-hour (unstaffed) business center in lobby
  • FedEx Office located less than two miles away
Transportation
  • MTS Bus (3 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • San Diego International Airport (5 mi/8 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay Rooms

Deluxe
King Bed
Standard
Two Full or Queen Beds.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Mission Bay Park: 1.2 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 1.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 3.3 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 3.4 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 4 mi
  • Heritage Park: 4.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 5 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 5.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.8 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 6 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 1.2 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 1.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 3.3 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 3.4 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 4 mi
  • Heritage Park: 4.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 5 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 5.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.8 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 6 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 6.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 6.5 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 6.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 6.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 6.6 mi
  • Botanical Building: 6.6 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 6.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 6.6 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 6.7 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 6.7 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 6.7 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 7.4 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 7.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 7.8 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 13.5 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 22.7 mi
  • Legoland: 22.9 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 121
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.7
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mountain Dennis
Business
Colorado Springs, CO
Mar 17, 2014

Great breakfast / interesting drive to

First of all, they had one of the best free breakfasts around. Great selection and variety. The rooms were very clean and up to date. Spacious and with all of the necessary conveniences. Driving to the hotel is interesting as it is not intuitive. Not particullarly difficult after you figure out the connections. They did have trouble with their elevators a couple of times but the housekeepers helped us with our biggest bag. Everyone there was friendly and helpful. Good stay, i will be back if I ever go to San Diego again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

use your phones mapping function to get there.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jah love
Business
sanfrancisco, california
Feb 11, 2014

when do we return

it really comes down to when we return... matched all we required. breakfast couldve went on a little later till 10. it is somewhat central, 20 min max from airport, convenient for us... hope you like it too

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JTArizona
Business
Scottsdale
Nov 18, 2013

Good Value, Good Location

The hotel was a great option for a quick visit to SD. It was close enough to Mission Beach/Bay and downtown/gaslamp without paying the same prices as staying right in those areas. The free parking and wi-fi was a huge plus. The rooms were clean and spacious and the staff was always very friendly and helpful. The beds were not super comfortable, in my opinion, but, again, was OK for a quick trip in to town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Don't Worry About It
Business
Tucson, Arizona
Jun 22, 2013

Good Value

Just off of the 5 near Pacific Beach. Good location. Would have been snug for more than the two of us. Front desk person was polite and the one problem we had was fixed asap. Parking was tight but acceptable. Overall a nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Misteriantti
Business
Guadalajara, JAL, México
Feb 27, 2013

PERFECT FOR SHOPPING, BUSINESS & ADVENTURE

The free hot breakfast is great: cheese omelettes, scramble eggs, bacon, sausages, waffIes, fruits, juices, etc. Bed is very comfortable. Decoration, bathrooms and furnitures are new because the property was remodeled 8 months ago. All the personnel is very kind and bilingual. Pool, jacuzzi and gym are acceptables and there is enough free parking for everyone. Discreetly located but near to commercial areas and to intrerest points. Pet friendly. Definitely I will stay there again in my next San Diego travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

SUSHI OTA Simply delicious.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy Traveler 1122
Business
Costa Mesa
Dec 4, 2012

Shady!!

To start, this review should not be applied to all properties. In fact, I was made whole by Corporate so I actually recommend the company, except for this location. I was traveling with a non smoking partner so the non smoking policy didn't bother me. I have been traveling with my friend for years and we have never had a problem with non smoking properties over the past four years of traveling. In fact, we even stayed at a LQ in Ventura two weeks prior with no problems. The problems began after we checked out. My friend left her almost new hiking boots ($200 value) in the room after we checked out. We called the property and was told that they would have to call the housekeeper to find out if anything was found. This was the first red flag. If a guest left valuable property in the room, why would the front desk have to call the housekeeper to verify that. It seems that an honest establishment would have their employees check any lost items at the front desk. The fact that the front desk seemed to be aware of the situation and balked was even more suspicious. The day after the call about the boots, my credit card was hit for $200. The most suspicious part is that it wasn't charged for $200 straight up, but for $100 then $80 then $20. I called the front desk to complain and was told that I had been charged a smoking fee, which was a load of bull as my friend would have never let me smoke in the room. I did dispose of some cigarette butts in the room trash can however as I despise littering. I'm a volunteer US Forest Ranger and spend too much time picking up cigarette butts in the national recreation areas I patrol to even think about littering. I was told that the General Manager would call me back to explain the charges. I never received a call. I had to complain to LQ Corporate to get a refund, which I had to wait for a check in the mail as this location in Mission Bay is privately owned and they did not have access to my credit card information. LQ as a corporation has shown honor and good customer service. This particular location however is SHADY!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wild Iris
Business
Concord, CA
Oct 15, 2012

Perfect getaway

Convenient location, friendly and helpful staff, and clean room. We went to visit USS Midway, Oldtown San Diego, and San Diego Zoo. Very convenient to get to these places and to find restaurants close-by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
milesaway
Business
destin, FL
Sep 9, 2012

standard

A little hard to find lobby since we drove up from behind the building. Man at check-in was great. Very friendly guy. I liked the coffee and newspaper in the lobby. We parked in the structure then went into the first floor of hotel. I was put off by the two maintenance rooms at that entrance. They leave the doors open so you hear the laundry, see cleaning carts and stacks of towels. Kind of disorderly. The door at the end of the hall is left open, so there is no AC. It was a hot weekend and the air was really stagnant in the hall. Overall not welcoming to see or feel. The room itself is ok. Decorated with nice colors. AC works well but noisy unit on the wall below window. View is of the street and church. Not nice. Clean room. Fridge and microwave a plus. Sink is outside of the bathroom to save space. No closet door. I looked at gym, has a scale from 50 yrs ago, 3-4 cardio machines, stinks. Pool and jac looked ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AZ Meyer's
Business
White Hills AZ
May 15, 2012

Enjoyed our stay!

The rooms were good sized and very clean! Staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Raju
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Oct 2, 2011

Good Experience - Will use it again

This hotel is very reasonable, right next to Highway 5, about 15 minutes from the Airport. When we were there, some construction was going on which made it tight for parking and had some noise at times. But overall this hotel provides very good experience. The breakfast is wonderful! We would like to use this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top