$69 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

3 stars
4610 De Soto Street, 4610 De Soto Street, San Diego, CA 92109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
129 reviews
Great breakfast / interesting drive to

First of all, they had one of the best free breakfasts around. Great selection and variety. The... See full review

  • Mountain Dennis
  • Mar 17, 2014
Good and Bad

When we pulled up, I thought to myself what have I done? It doesn't look impressive, almost looks... See full review

  • I don't camp
  • Feb 26, 2014
Small, upscale hotel near Mission Bay with free breakfast and Wi-Fi
La Quinta Inn Ste San Diego Mission Bay is located in San Diego's Pacific Beach neighborhood, only one mile from Mission Bay Park. The property underwent significant renovations in 2009 and 2010, including new furniture in all guest rooms and a complete overhaul of the on-site fitness center. All guests receive a complimentary hot breakfast buffet and free Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access. There's also a heated pool for guests to enjoy.
Highlights
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet, Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access
  • Located a mile from Mission Bay
  • Recently renovated
  • Take a dip in the on-site pool
Rooms

La Quinta Inn Ste San Diego Mission Bay offers 88 rooms varying in size and configuration. All rooms come standard with flat-screen TV, microwave, mini refrigerator, spacious work desk, and in-room safe. All guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access.

Features

La Quinta Inn Ste San Diego Mission Bay underwent extensive renovations in 2009 and 2010. These improvements included an overhaul of room furniture and a complete refresh of the property's fitness center.

All guests enjoy complimentary access to the heated pool and Jacuzzi, as well as a complimentary breakfast buffet every morning. The hotel also offers 24-hour laundry service (fees apply).

For convenient dining, concierge at the La Quinta Inn Ste San Diego Mission Bay usually recommend the Pacific Beach Bar & Grill, located less than one mile away. The dance floor is open nightly between 9 p.m. and 2 a.m.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (3 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • San Diego International Airport (5 mi/8 km)
Attractions
  • Mission Bay Park (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Sea World (2 mi/3 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (4 mi/7 km)
  • Torrey Pines Golf Course (5 mi/8.5 km)
  • Petco Park (6 mi/11 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (6 mi/11 km)
  • Point Loma (6 mi/11 km)
Business
  • 24-hour (unstaffed) business center in lobby
  • FedEx Office located less than two miles away

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay Rooms

Deluxe
King Bed
Standard
Two Full or Queen Beds.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Mission Bay Park: 1.2 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 1.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 3.3 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 3.4 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 4 mi
  • Heritage Park: 4.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 5 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 5.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.8 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 6 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 1.2 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 1.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 3.3 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 3.4 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 4 mi
  • Heritage Park: 4.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 5 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 5.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.8 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 6 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 6.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 6.5 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 6.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 6.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 6.6 mi
  • Botanical Building: 6.6 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 6.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 6.6 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 6.7 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 6.7 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 6.7 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 7.4 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 7.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 7.8 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 13.5 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 22.7 mi
  • Legoland: 22.9 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (129)

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.3
Value:
3.9

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jfoofer
Business
Denver, CO
Jul 23, 2012

Sewage problems

I woke up to the bathroom flooded with sewage. Hotel staff refunded stay however it smelled terrible and was not okay to wake up to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy Traveler 1122
Business
Costa Mesa
Dec 4, 2012

Shady!!

To start, this review should not be applied to all properties. In fact, I was made whole by Corporate so I actually recommend the company, except for this location. I was traveling with a non smoking partner so the non smoking policy didn't bother me. I have been traveling with my friend for years and we have never had a problem with non smoking properties over the past four years of traveling. In fact, we even stayed at a LQ in Ventura two weeks prior with no problems. The problems began after we checked out. My friend left her almost new hiking boots ($200 value) in the room after we checked out. We called the property and was told that they would have to call the housekeeper to find out if anything was found. This was the first red flag. If a guest left valuable property in the room, why would the front desk have to call the housekeeper to verify that. It seems that an honest establishment would have their employees check any lost items at the front desk. The fact that the front desk seemed to be aware of the situation and balked was even more suspicious. The day after the call about the boots, my credit card was hit for $200. The most suspicious part is that it wasn't charged for $200 straight up, but for $100 then $80 then $20. I called the front desk to complain and was told that I had been charged a smoking fee, which was a load of bull as my friend would have never let me smoke in the room. I did dispose of some cigarette butts in the room trash can however as I despise littering. I'm a volunteer US Forest Ranger and spend too much time picking up cigarette butts in the national recreation areas I patrol to even think about littering. I was told that the General Manager would call me back to explain the charges. I never received a call. I had to complain to LQ Corporate to get a refund, which I had to wait for a check in the mail as this location in Mission Bay is privately owned and they did not have access to my credit card information. LQ as a corporation has shown honor and good customer service. This particular location however is SHADY!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Valenz
Business
Los angeles
Jul 20, 2013

Not satisfied

I will definatley Not be returning ! - dirty room white stains! - wasnt provided witn a mew clean bedding wheni asked for one - hot hall ways -paper thin walls were you can hear everything going on next door - no creamer for cofee - bad odor -not a very nice pool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mom of college boundstudent
Business
minneapolis, mn
Mar 14, 2011

hotel could have been better

The hotel smelled, hot tub didn't work first two days we were there, noisy, small pool area, tv worked half of the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 20, 2007

Beach Vacation

We went up to our rooms and right off the bat I was very frustrated with a pesticide smell in one of the rooms. I called down to the front desk and they were going to send some one up and never did. After about 1 hour of waiting I called down to the front again and they said it was nothing to worrie about. The smell was awful and there was no way of sleeping in the room. We had to have everyone sleep in one room the first night. In the morning I went down and talked to the manager and we moved rooms. Overall I would never stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

THIS IS NOT VERY CLOSE TO THE BEACH

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PabloM
Business
OH
Mar 24, 2012

Annoying wetness

The room was not quite fully renovated, so it was missing some standard security features on the door. The exhaust fan in the bathroom was not functional and sort of dangling. The shower was not installed correctly and water pooled near a floor drain. The bathroom floor was not graded correctly so it didn't drain.. The kicker was the bathroom flooding when the upstairs guests showered. Very bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
milesaway
Business
destin, FL
Sep 9, 2012

standard

A little hard to find lobby since we drove up from behind the building. Man at check-in was great. Very friendly guy. I liked the coffee and newspaper in the lobby. We parked in the structure then went into the first floor of hotel. I was put off by the two maintenance rooms at that entrance. They leave the doors open so you hear the laundry, see cleaning carts and stacks of towels. Kind of disorderly. The door at the end of the hall is left open, so there is no AC. It was a hot weekend and the air was really stagnant in the hall. Overall not welcoming to see or feel. The room itself is ok. Decorated with nice colors. AC works well but noisy unit on the wall below window. View is of the street and church. Not nice. Clean room. Fridge and microwave a plus. Sink is outside of the bathroom to save space. No closet door. I looked at gym, has a scale from 50 yrs ago, 3-4 cardio machines, stinks. Pool and jac looked ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
lovetwotravel
Business
tennessee
May 1, 2013

they over charge

Stay was going good for the first day and half until my husband and i were shopping decided to check my bank account and see a charge for 499.87 on my account. found out they charge a holding fee till we check out thanks to them that's money i cant spend on this trip so if you are like us and do not put vacations on credit cards bring extra cash for that hopefully they will put it back tomorrow. i have been on many trips with just a debt card and have never had this high of a charge. i will never stay in a la Quinta again if they do not make this right

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
San Jose traveler1
Business
San Jose, California
Jun 12, 2013

Not a nice hotel for families

It was a very congested place. The location looks very rundown. The parking space in front of the lobby was so constricted that it becomes hard to get the car out. Only after checking in will you know that the actual parking is elsewhere. The bathroom smells. We were traveling with small kids and they said they did not have a crib (even after confirming earlier that I needed a crib). If you are traveling for business this hotel may be okay, but with families I would not recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BigDaddyO
Business
Los Angeles
Dec 16, 2013

Only if your desperate

The room is good for the price and seems to be recently renovated, but a few issues. Excessive noise from nearby freeway and road. I am half deaf and had trouble sleeping even after 11pm. Rooms need some serious soundproofing. Had to use a shoe on a Roach.. need I say more?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top