$95 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2015 Check-out: Apr 23, 2015

La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

3 stars
View map of 4610 De Soto Street, 4610 De Soto Street, San Diego, CA 92109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.3
Value:
3.9

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
San Diego Visitor
Business
Houston, Texas
Apr 4, 2010

It was ok...

The people were very nice and the hotel was clean. The Lock on our door was broken....we had no shower curtain in our room, parking was very tight and ceiling was peeling. Other than that it was just OK. The beds were comfy & clean (just don't look under the beds), the food was ok, and it was convenient to get to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I would recommend FOR SURE the Trolley Tours. It was so much fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ri
Apr 1, 2010

holiday inn express san diego

The 6 a.m. dumpster pick-ups were annoying, but the hotel had free parking, free continental breakfast, and a pool. Overall I would rate it fair for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

San Diego Zoo was awesome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MLA traveler
Business
New Brunswick, NJ
Mar 29, 2010

Okay for price

This was not one of the more updated Holiday Inn Express hotels I've stayed at. I'm usually quite pleased with my stays, but this hotel needs major updating. The free wifi access is quite slow and doesn't extend throughout the hotel very well. The first room I was in, the refrigerator was either not plugged in or broken; in the second room (I moved because there was a baby screaming in the room next to me for over two hours), the shower had hot and cold water reversed. In addition, at one point the tv remote's batteries went, and when I went to the desk to ask for new batteries, the clerk fumbled around in a drawer for several minutes - it doesn't look like they keep these common needs in stock well. That aside, the rooms were clean and neat, and the staff were pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Beach, CA
Mar 28, 2010

clean, good eats, convenient location

Although it was a little challenging to find the hotel driveway, the staff was helpful and polite once I arrived. The room had updated furnishings and was clean. Bathroom was a skooch small but there was a refrigerator and microwave in the room- very convenient! There was a fairly extensive breakfast buffet with quite a few options- both hot and cold! Pool was nice but, on the negative side, the jacuzzi had quite a bit of debris in it- ew! My room was facing Garnet Ave and so was a little noisy at times. Overall, a nice place to stay- clean, affordable, convenient, and comfortable room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Louis, Michigan
Mar 16, 2010

Nice, Friendly, Helpful staff

My husband and i can always count on a good stay with Holiday Inn Express. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. We stayed four nights and had a different hot breakfast each morning. Very helpful and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PA
Mar 15, 2010

Clean, Friendly, Reasonable Hotel!

Hotel check-in was fast and easy. Room was clean, and was cleaned well by house keeping staff. Staff was friendly and helpful. The hot tub was very hot, too hot to stay in for more than a few minutes, but really can't complain about that too much. The only minor issue is getting in and out of the hotel parking lot on to the main road, when the road is busy you need to wait or make an aggressive move, not a huge deal though. Also had a decent free breakfast in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal, Qc
Mar 6, 2010

Great service/amenities, sketchy area

If you plan to use this hotel strictly as a base to do excursions, this is a great place. If you plan to spend much more time than sleep, I wouldn't. The hotel is quiet, close to all San Diego attractions, offers free breakfast, parking and internet in the lobby. The rooms were clean and the staff was very helpful and pleasant. The only two drawbacks that I would warn people of is that the hotel is sandwiched between an employment bureau and two storage warehouses so it looks pretty sketchy from the outside during any time of the day/night. Also the hotel is a bit older, so despite providing 3-star service, it is maintained and furnished like more of a 2-star hotel. There are no decent restaurants in walking distance, but in a 5-10 minute drive you could find plenty of places to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aurunner
Business
Houston, TX
Mar 3, 2010

Professional Traveller in San Diego

The location is very good; plenty of cheap fast food places around. Very safe location. Staff was pretty friendly overall. Clean rooms; only drawback is the hotel is a little old, a little bit run down but still clean, safe and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Feb 21, 2010

Nice stay

The hotel was nice for the money. I had no complaints. The entire staff was very friendly. It is in a good central location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We went north to see Blacks beach, Torrey Pines state park, and Sunset Cliffs. All worth the the drive for the beautiful scenery.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fal
Business
sufolk county, ny
Feb 18, 2010

best holiday inn express

best hotel for price and convinient location close to airport, san diego zoo, harbor, downtown etc..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top