$75 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

3 stars
4610 De Soto Street, 4610 De Soto Street, San Diego, CA 92109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
129 reviews
Great breakfast / interesting drive to

First of all, they had one of the best free breakfasts around. Great selection and variety. The... See full review

  • Mountain Dennis
  • Mar 17, 2014
Good and Bad

When we pulled up, I thought to myself what have I done? It doesn't look impressive, almost looks... See full review

  • I don't camp
  • Feb 26, 2014
Small, upscale hotel near Mission Bay with free breakfast and Wi-Fi
La Quinta Inn Ste San Diego Mission Bay is located in San Diego's Pacific Beach neighborhood, only one mile from Mission Bay Park. The property underwent significant renovations in 2009 and 2010, including new furniture in all guest rooms and a complete overhaul of the on-site fitness center. All guests receive a complimentary hot breakfast buffet and free Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access. There's also a heated pool for guests to enjoy.
Highlights
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet, Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access
  • Located a mile from Mission Bay
  • Recently renovated
  • Take a dip in the on-site pool
Rooms

La Quinta Inn Ste San Diego Mission Bay offers 88 rooms varying in size and configuration. All rooms come standard with flat-screen TV, microwave, mini refrigerator, spacious work desk, and in-room safe. All guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access.

Features

La Quinta Inn Ste San Diego Mission Bay underwent extensive renovations in 2009 and 2010. These improvements included an overhaul of room furniture and a complete refresh of the property's fitness center.

All guests enjoy complimentary access to the heated pool and Jacuzzi, as well as a complimentary breakfast buffet every morning. The hotel also offers 24-hour laundry service (fees apply).

For convenient dining, concierge at the La Quinta Inn Ste San Diego Mission Bay usually recommend the Pacific Beach Bar & Grill, located less than one mile away. The dance floor is open nightly between 9 p.m. and 2 a.m.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (3 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • San Diego International Airport (5 mi/8 km)
Attractions
  • Mission Bay Park (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Sea World (2 mi/3 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (4 mi/7 km)
  • Torrey Pines Golf Course (5 mi/8.5 km)
  • Petco Park (6 mi/11 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (6 mi/11 km)
  • Point Loma (6 mi/11 km)
Business
  • 24-hour (unstaffed) business center in lobby
  • FedEx Office located less than two miles away

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay Rooms

Deluxe
King Bed
Standard
Two Full or Queen Beds.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Mission Bay Park: 1.2 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 1.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 3.3 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 3.4 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 4 mi
  • Heritage Park: 4.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 5 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 5.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.8 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 6 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 1.2 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 1.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 3.3 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 3.4 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 4 mi
  • Heritage Park: 4.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 5 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 5.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.8 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 6 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 6.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 6.5 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 6.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 6.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 6.6 mi
  • Botanical Building: 6.6 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 6.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 6.6 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 6.7 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 6.7 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 6.7 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 7.4 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 7.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 7.8 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 13.5 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 22.7 mi
  • Legoland: 22.9 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (129)

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.3
Value:
3.9

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
New California Traveler
Business
Waukesha, WI
Jun 18, 2010

Great hotel!

What a great hotel! Very clean, friendly staff and great(complimentary) breakfast every morning. Even free underground parking. Very close to everything fun-Zoo, Sea World, beaches. Not a bad neighborhood, people walking around after dark-safe for families with young children. Turned out to be earthquake proof also-what a vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Old Town San Diego was very fun to walk around-the Marketplace was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dennis Taxman
Business
San Diego, CA
Jun 14, 2010

Good value, but Muggy

Reasonable rates, Excellent breakfast, Convenient access to expressway But poor bathroom ventilation & air conditioning

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa
Jun 13, 2010

Trip to San Diego

A great location. If you can drive, there are plenty of options for dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
colorao springs, colorado
Jun 9, 2010

Rating Holiday Inn Express Mission Bay

Since we were on a budget, I rate this a "4" compared to other lower-end hotels. The staff was super; breakfast was varied and great saving us money.Room was clean; beds and linens were good quality; location was a little awkward. We'd go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MS
Business
Houston, TX
May 29, 2010

Nothing special, but not bad at all

It is ok. Nothing incredible. Everything was clean, stuff was ok. I liked it overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Avai
Business
Rochester, MN
May 18, 2010

Decent for the price; Not memorable

My wife and I had never been to San Diego, so we came to see the beaches, the zoo, and some local restaurants. This hotel is within easy reach of all these attractions, and just up the interstate from the airport. If you like quiet & restful, do NOT stay here. Taking a nap during the day is impossible as the hotel is just across the street from a noisy auto shop. The nights wouldn't be so bad, except this hotel is not in a "nice" part of town and neighborhoods like this never have peaceful nights. When you get to your room, you'll notice fliers for "local pizzerias" slipped under your door every day. None of the pizzerias actually exist, so DO NOT PLACE AN ORDER as they will just steal your credit card information. This apparently has been an ongoing problem at this hotel for months, according to other reviews I've read about this location. The hotel staff does have a warning about the scam posted in the elevator, which I thought was nice of them. From the hotel, getting to I-5 Northbound is easy, but the ramp to I-5 Southbound is 30 feet before the turn for the hotel and the road is divided so it's a pain to loop around the block each time you want to go anywhere (as the hotel is on the north side, everything interesting is to the south). The variety of breakfast items was fabulous! The pool area is pretty small, but the fitness/workout room was great. The equipment was all in very good condition. The housekeeping staff was very friendly and able to accommodate our schedule. I was very surprised with the quality of the staff. The television in our room worked but the remote control did not. We were unable to get a replacement. The "free high speed internet" is indeed free, but not what anyone would call "high speed." The fastest connection we could get was 0.3 MBPS. I have 25 MBPS at home; I previously had 1 MBPS and couldn't stand the page load time. Don't even try to stream video. You are on vacation, so it would be better to spend time at the local restaurants, beaches, and other attractions! Overall this is a decent hotel for the price. I do prefer Holiday Inn Express over other brands, but I will not be staying at this location on my next visit to San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CPA taxman
Business
Winston-Salem, NC
May 15, 2010

Business trip 6 nights

six night business trip. Bed very comfortable, woke up rested (other than jet lag). No restaurants within walking distance except McDonalds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Power Surge
Business
Muncie, IN
Apr 25, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

We were there to see my son graduate from the Marine Corps boot camp. We were basically there just to sleep. Great continental breakfast...helpful and polite staff...didn't know the pool was outside. Had no problems at all. It wasn't the Hilton, but it was a nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
roadrnr
Business
NE CT
Apr 13, 2010

Had everything I needed at that price

long days seminar- very friendly staff who were very helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Mission Bay Park is awesome; and there were so many bike paths and large sidewalks connecting the east west roads that I did not need to rent a car and walked everywhere. Also there is trolley/transit system, but I preferred to run or walk on my schedule.In the room; there is also a bigger fridge than a dorm fridge and microwave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
None
Apr 9, 2010

None

None

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top