$120 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

3 stars
View map of 4610 De Soto Street, 4610 De Soto Street, San Diego, CA 92109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.3
Value:
3.9

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dennis Taxman
Business
San Diego, CA
Jun 14, 2010

Good value, but Muggy

Reasonable rates, Excellent breakfast, Convenient access to expressway But poor bathroom ventilation & air conditioning

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa
Jun 13, 2010

Trip to San Diego

A great location. If you can drive, there are plenty of options for dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
colorao springs, colorado
Jun 9, 2010

Rating Holiday Inn Express Mission Bay

Since we were on a budget, I rate this a "4" compared to other lower-end hotels. The staff was super; breakfast was varied and great saving us money.Room was clean; beds and linens were good quality; location was a little awkward. We'd go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MS
Business
Houston, TX
May 29, 2010

Nothing special, but not bad at all

It is ok. Nothing incredible. Everything was clean, stuff was ok. I liked it overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Avai
Business
Rochester, MN
May 18, 2010

Decent for the price; Not memorable

My wife and I had never been to San Diego, so we came to see the beaches, the zoo, and some local restaurants. This hotel is within easy reach of all these attractions, and just up the interstate from the airport. If you like quiet & restful, do NOT stay here. Taking a nap during the day is impossible as the hotel is just across the street from a noisy auto shop. The nights wouldn't be so bad, except this hotel is not in a "nice" part of town and neighborhoods like this never have peaceful nights. When you get to your room, you'll notice fliers for "local pizzerias" slipped under your door every day. None of the pizzerias actually exist, so DO NOT PLACE AN ORDER as they will just steal your credit card information. This apparently has been an ongoing problem at this hotel for months, according to other reviews I've read about this location. The hotel staff does have a warning about the scam posted in the elevator, which I thought was nice of them. From the hotel, getting to I-5 Northbound is easy, but the ramp to I-5 Southbound is 30 feet before the turn for the hotel and the road is divided so it's a pain to loop around the block each time you want to go anywhere (as the hotel is on the north side, everything interesting is to the south). The variety of breakfast items was fabulous! The pool area is pretty small, but the fitness/workout room was great. The equipment was all in very good condition. The housekeeping staff was very friendly and able to accommodate our schedule. I was very surprised with the quality of the staff. The television in our room worked but the remote control did not. We were unable to get a replacement. The "free high speed internet" is indeed free, but not what anyone would call "high speed." The fastest connection we could get was 0.3 MBPS. I have 25 MBPS at home; I previously had 1 MBPS and couldn't stand the page load time. Don't even try to stream video. You are on vacation, so it would be better to spend time at the local restaurants, beaches, and other attractions! Overall this is a decent hotel for the price. I do prefer Holiday Inn Express over other brands, but I will not be staying at this location on my next visit to San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CPA taxman
Business
Winston-Salem, NC
May 15, 2010

Business trip 6 nights

six night business trip. Bed very comfortable, woke up rested (other than jet lag). No restaurants within walking distance except McDonalds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Power Surge
Business
Muncie, IN
Apr 25, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

We were there to see my son graduate from the Marine Corps boot camp. We were basically there just to sleep. Great continental breakfast...helpful and polite staff...didn't know the pool was outside. Had no problems at all. It wasn't the Hilton, but it was a nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
roadrnr
Business
NE CT
Apr 13, 2010

Had everything I needed at that price

long days seminar- very friendly staff who were very helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Mission Bay Park is awesome; and there were so many bike paths and large sidewalks connecting the east west roads that I did not need to rent a car and walked everywhere. Also there is trolley/transit system, but I preferred to run or walk on my schedule.In the room; there is also a bigger fridge than a dorm fridge and microwave.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
None
Apr 9, 2010

None

None

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ri
Apr 1, 2010

holiday inn express san diego

The 6 a.m. dumpster pick-ups were annoying, but the hotel had free parking, free continental breakfast, and a pool. Overall I would rate it fair for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

San Diego Zoo was awesome.

Back to menu Return to top