$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

3 stars
View map of 4610 De Soto Street, 4610 De Soto Street, San Diego, CA 92109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
137 out of 137
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.3
Value:
3.9

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Raju
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Oct 2, 2011

Good Experience - Will use it again

This hotel is very reasonable, right next to Highway 5, about 15 minutes from the Airport. When we were there, some construction was going on which made it tight for parking and had some noise at times. But overall this hotel provides very good experience. The breakfast is wonderful! We would like to use this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Raju
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Oct 2, 2011

Good Experience - Will use it again

This hotel is very reasonable, right next to Highway 5, about 15 minutes from the Airport. When we were there, some construction was going on which made it tight for parking and had some noise at times. But overall this hotel provides very good experience. The breakfast is wonderful! We would like to use this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Military Mom
Business
Rochester, NY, USA
Aug 31, 2011

comfortable,good value

This was our second visit to this hotel. What brought us back was the value and proximity to the area where our son lives. The hotel is clean and the free breakfast is great, including a variety of hot and cold offerings. We would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the San Diego area. You do need to have transportation to visit area attractions, but the location of the hotel is a quiet respite at the end of the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
las vegas nv
Jun 24, 2011

unbeatable location for the price

great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mpls., MN
Jun 6, 2011

Met our needs well

Right off of Hwy. #5. Close to many pertinent locations. Breakfast was very adequate. Housekeeping was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The McDonalds across the road provides $20 off coupons for up to six Sea World admissions. They are good through the end of Sept 2011. Wish we'd have known before we purchased our tickets!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wilmington, DE
May 27, 2011

convenient access to I5

The staff was very friendly and competent. We were here for business so the easy access to I 5 was nice. I don't think that it would be a good "vacation" location, though. You had to drive to get to the beaches and it wasn't in an area that had places to walk to (stores or nice restaurants.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Hotel is very easy to pass by - there isn't a sign on the street. As you pass the I 5 South on ramp - the entrance is immediately on the right (right there - you can easily pass it!) If you get to the light you went too far!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BklynPup
Business
Brooklyn, NY
May 12, 2011

Exactly what we needed

This hotel was exactly what we needed it to be. The location was great, a short drive to lots of museums and beaches. We loved La Jolla Beach and drove there many times during our two week stay. The first time we were a little confused driving into the hotel, but the easy parking more than made up for it. The breakfast was a welcome option in the morning, pretty much the basics to get you started for the day. The pool was a small outdoor pool/jacuzzi, which we ended up spending more time in than we thought. Overall, great value if you're planning on being out a lot, but want something simple, low key, and comfortable when you're not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Island NY
May 11, 2011

Nice hotel great breakfast

Nice clean hotel.In a good location.Great selection for breakfast.Parking, however, could be a problem if you have a big car or SUV.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rancho Cucamong, CA
Apr 28, 2011

Inside Good, Outside Not-So-Good

When searching for a hotel we looked thoroughly for something in our price range (including parking if not free), reasonably compfortable beds, child-friendly (not falling apart) and in a safe area! This place hit most of the areas...or so we thought!! First the positive!! The beds were not the perfectly square horible cheap-o "motel" beds, a huge plus. We did not want to walk all day at the Zoo (which is A LOT OF WALKING) and have a bad bed, which would mean no sleep! Then walk around SeaWorld for another whole day, so we were pleased!! Decent pillows too, 2 hard and 2 soft pillows per bed! The inside of the hotel was clean and besides the musty smell in the hallway (which I can totally live with) the room was great!! Flat-screen, fridge, microwave, desk, nice bathroom with clean shower and decent sized tub!! We all bathed at home before we left and since it was only one night we didn't even bring bathing stuff cause we didn't want to chance it, but now we know it would have passed my clean freak husband's approval, another big plus!! The free breakfast was okay too! Bagels w/cream cheese, toast, pastry, muffins, cereal, oatmeal, yogurt, bananas, milk, juice, coffee (which was very weak for my liking), cinnamon rolls, sausage patties, biscuits (no gravy) and microwaved egg folded over with cheese in it (guessing their version of an omelet). It wasn't the best tasting food, but it was okay and it wasn't any different tasting than McDonald's (which is next door). Personally we ate a little of everything just to try it out, but we're cereal, toast, banana or yogurt people for b-fast so it fit us great!! Now the ONLY thing that will probably keep us from visiting this particular Holiday Inn Express is the AREA! There is nothing but homeless and very run-down buildings surrounding the hotel and it's TOTALLY SQUISHED between other buildings itself! There are two levels of parking-garage style parking and some parking spots just outside the garages, which are the most tiny parking spots I've ever seen! After having a quick dinner and taking our 3 year old to see the ocean (which is pretty close too) we came back to the hotel so we weren't stuck having to park in those spots or out on the street! Overall once your inside the hotel it's a good place, but since it's in such a bad area we probably won't return! There aren't many dining options around expect McDonald's, which we didn't even feel compfortable walking to. We used our Navagation to find dinner. It just wasn't one unfortunate person walking around, it was cardboard homes lined up like you see in movies. Beds set up under the freeway, which is steps from the hotel...literally!! The hotel entrance is so close to the on-ramp I thought we had to use the on-ramp to access the hotel!! And a dozen or so people who needed a home!! Not good for our family vacation with a baby and a 3 year, both girls!! Daddy was on his toes!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There aren't many options for food. Nothing in the hotel, except the free breakfast, and McDonald's next door. Oh and a 7-Eleven across the street! Scope out dining options before you come maybe or use navagation!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mom of college boundstudent
Business
minneapolis, mn
Mar 14, 2011

hotel could have been better

The hotel smelled, hot tub didn't work first two days we were there, noisy, small pool area, tv worked half of the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top