$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 8, 2015 Check-out: Mar 9, 2015

La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

3 stars
View map of 4610 De Soto Street, 4610 De Soto Street, San Diego, CA 92109

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
129 reviews
Great breakfast / interesting drive to

First of all, they had one of the best free breakfasts around. Great selection and variety. The... See full review

  • Mountain Dennis
  • Mar 17, 2014
Good and Bad

When we pulled up, I thought to myself what have I done? It doesn't look impressive, almost looks... See full review

  • I don't camp
  • Feb 26, 2014
Small, upscale hotel near Mission Bay with free breakfast and Wi-Fi
La Quinta Inn Ste San Diego Mission Bay is located in San Diego's Pacific Beach neighborhood, only one mile from Mission Bay Park. The property underwent significant renovations in 2009 and 2010, including new furniture in all guest rooms and a complete overhaul of the on-site fitness center. All guests receive a complimentary hot breakfast buffet and free Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access. There's also a heated pool for guests to enjoy.
Highlights
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet, Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access
  • Located a mile from Mission Bay
  • Recently renovated
  • Take a dip in the on-site pool
Rooms

La Quinta Inn Ste San Diego Mission Bay offers 88 rooms varying in size and configuration. All rooms come standard with flat-screen TV, microwave, mini refrigerator, spacious work desk, and in-room safe. All guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access.

Features

La Quinta Inn Ste San Diego Mission Bay underwent extensive renovations in 2009 and 2010. These improvements included an overhaul of room furniture and a complete refresh of the property's fitness center.

All guests enjoy complimentary access to the heated pool and Jacuzzi, as well as a complimentary breakfast buffet every morning. The hotel also offers 24-hour laundry service (fees apply).

For convenient dining, concierge at the La Quinta Inn Ste San Diego Mission Bay usually recommend the Pacific Beach Bar & Grill, located less than one mile away. The dance floor is open nightly between 9 p.m. and 2 a.m.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (3 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • San Diego International Airport (5 mi/8 km)
Attractions
  • Mission Bay Park (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Sea World (2 mi/3 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (4 mi/7 km)
  • Torrey Pines Golf Course (5 mi/8.5 km)
  • Petco Park (6 mi/11 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (6 mi/11 km)
  • Point Loma (6 mi/11 km)
Business
  • 24-hour (unstaffed) business center in lobby
  • FedEx Office located less than two miles away

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay Rooms

Deluxe
King Bed
Standard
Two Full or Queen Beds.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Mission Bay Park: 1.2 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 1.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 3.3 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 3.4 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 4 mi
  • Heritage Park: 4.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 5 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 5.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.8 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 6 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 1.2 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 1.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 3.3 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 3.4 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 4 mi
  • Heritage Park: 4.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 5 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 5.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.8 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 6 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 6.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 6.5 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 6.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 6.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 6.6 mi
  • Botanical Building: 6.6 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 6.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 6.6 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 6.7 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 6.7 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 6.7 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 7.4 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 7.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 7.8 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 13.5 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 22.7 mi
  • Legoland: 22.9 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (129)

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.3
Value:
3.9

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Moses Lake, WA
Jul 15, 2008

Excellent staff

I travel a lot for work and stay in similarly priced motels. The staff were extraordinarily well trained and accomodating. They offered to give directions to my family member that was picking me up, made a reservation for taxi to the airport and I heard them making suggestions for local attractions. The hotel was full the entire time but I did not ever see a cranky employee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Not much in the neighborhood. Car is a must

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 10, 2008

Family Friendly & Clean!!!

The hotel staff were great! They were friendly and quite patient with our two families (totalling 7 children!) The pool and rooms were very clean. Our family enjoyed this hotel very much and would recommend it to our friends who plan to visit the San Diego area. Should we go back to San Diego, we plan to go back to this hotel! The staff were wonderful in giving directions to local shopping. Thank you to the staff for making our stay comfortable and wonderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Sea World is nearby (which is where we visited). Only 10 minutes by car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte
Jun 9, 2008

RUN

The parking was free but don't drive a SUV because you will have a hard time parking in the small spots. Overall it was a ok place if you are broke other then that find something else. Oh yeah and it's one way in and one way out to get to the hotel location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

FREDS Mexican food they give free shots threw out the night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Antioch
May 12, 2008

great staff, physical plant is a project

the staff is very very nice and accomodating, from front desk to housekeeping and maintenance. the actual property itself looks like it is going under soem renovations, hopefully room/bathroom upgrades. this was my only complaint, albeit minor since the staff more than made up for what the property lacked. great place to stay as the people there make you feel very welcome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Islip, NY
May 9, 2008

Not a bad place to stay

They were wall papering the floor I was on during my stay. Thankfully I was not there during the day to have that effect us. The location is good. Right off the highways, so you have easy access to it and to go anywhere you wish to. The beach is a bit of a drive, but not terrible. Only a few miles away. Everything we wanted to do was within 35 miles of the hotel. From the Zoo's to Sea World, and the Wild Animal park are easy drives to get to. Going into the city as well was no problem to get to from the hotel. The hotels breakfast is nothing to wake up early for in my view. However, it is free and its not terrible. Fair at best is what I would describe it. Parking there can be a pain depending on what times you arrive back to park. There is 2 floors to park and a small area on the side as well. You should be able to find parking unless the hotel is full up. I always had a spot to park, but 1 or 2 days I had to park downstairs. No biggie. If you have a big car it may be more of a pain though. Hotel rooms were clean and was enough for what we needed. The bathroom I had didn't have a ceiling fan, so everything fogs up when you shower. And if you have to go to the bathroom there is no ventilation other then opening up the door into the room. That can be a problem for some, LOL. However, the price wasn't bad for what you get. The staff was friendly and the pool and spa were clean. I would stay there again if I go back to San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lis N
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 22, 2007

San Diego Vacation

The Holiday Inn Express San Diego was nice, clean and easy to get to by a few freeways. Parking was very tight(small spaces)and the room did not get serviced till 3:30 Pm. Other than these minor inconviences we were satisfied. We will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Midland, TX
Sep 3, 2007

No parking

The Holiday Inn Express was nice once you got inside but it had a horrible view, cannot see the beach from there like it makes it sound and there is no parking. We had to park on the street most of the time and the hallways and elevators were horribly hot, no air until we would get to our room. The rooms were nice and roomy and the housekeeping did a great job of cleaning and restocking our room everyday!!!! I especially loved the spacious bathroom!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach was within walking distance and shopping and dining was within a short drive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 14, 2007

very family friendly

holiday inn was fine for ammenities I haven't been in a hotel for over 20 years but it completely satified the needs of my family of 5 for its purpose!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

5 mil. to nearby attraction sea world no near by restraunt just Mc donalds and in & out and 7eleven

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Aug 12, 2007

Good Value

The Holiday Express was a comfortable hotel for the money paid. The beds were very comfortable and the room was quiet. We did not hear a lot of noise as people came to their rooms in the evening. The breakfast was perfect. We used the room as a base to tour around San Diego. We were not in the room other than to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Very convient to all attractions in San Diego.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Aug 11, 2007

satisfactory

The outside of the hotel was not kept up very well. The parking was not adaquate. Air conditioning did not work well. Front desk people were nice. The neighborhood was suspect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top