$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 19, 2014

Kona Kai Resort and Spa

4 stars
1551 Shelter Drive, San Diego, CA 92106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
161 reviews
My Stay

I had a wonderful time and all went very well. ~ Good staff, attentive service, fabulous environment. See full review

  • LuciaChris
  • Jul 11, 2014
Great Views!

This hotel has wonderful views of the water and is in a nice exclusive location. I was not... See full review

  • Owen the golfer
  • Jul 8, 2014
Waterfront resort offers a taste of Hawaii in San Diego

Crystal waters, watercolor skies and rows of yachts in the harbor -- this is Kona Kai Resort Hotel. This resort's spectacular waterfront location at the tip of San Diego's Shelter Island is just one item on a long list of impressive amenities. Other great features include tropical island ambiance, fantastic California cuisine, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access, and guest rooms with garden, marina and bay views. Kona Kai Resort Hotel is convenient to numerous attractions including the San Diego Zoo and San Diego Museum of Art.

Highlights
  • Outdoor pool with line lanes and a Jacuzzi tub
  • Summer Hawaiian luaus (fees apply)
  • On-site spa offers luxurious massage and body treatments
  • Marina restaurant and lounge
  • Enjoy on-site recreation including a sunning beach with a volleyball court, fire pits, bicycle rentals and children's playground
Rooms

Charming rattan furnishings and floral print bedding give Kona Kai Resort Hotel guest rooms a distinctive tropical feel. Expect private balconies or patios, great views and free Wi-Fi Internet access, along with cable TV, coffee-makers and hair-dryers. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

Situated on eleven acres of lush tropical gardens, the Kona Kai Resort Hotel offers a scenic, peaceful atmosphere just minutes from San Diego's top attractions. Enjoy a couples massage or deluxe body treatment at the resort spa. A spacious fitness center features cardiovascular and weight equipment, as well as fitness classes such as yoga, Pilates, karate and aerobics (fees apply).

Of course, it's perfectly acceptable to skip the workout routine and just spend the day at the Kona Kai Resort Hotel private sand beach. Have a picnic while the kids play at the playground.

Dining

California fresh cuisine and fantastic views of the Kona Kai Marina are the highlights of breakfast, lunch and dinner at the Kona Kai Resort Hotel. Happy Hour is scheduled every day from 4:30 to 7 p.m. Stay for dinner and try favorites like the lobster bisque and Hawaiian salmon salad.

Transportation
  • San Diego International Airport (2.5 mi/4 km)
Attractions
  • USS Midway Museum (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • SeaWorld (3.8 mi/6 km)
  • San Diego Air & Space Museum (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (5.2 mi/8.3 km)          
Business
  • 56,000 square feet of combined indoor and outdoor function space
  • Outdoor venues include courtyards, gardens and a private beach
  • Banquet and catering services
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
Policies and Fees
  • Starting June 25th, the property will no longer offer complimentary airport shuttle service.
  • Parking is available at a charge of $15 USD/night.
  • Pets allowed with non-refundable deposit.
  • Authentic beach luaus are offered on most Friday night's in the summer at an additional charge.
  • The hotel charges a $10 resort fee inclusive of wireless Internet access, business center access, health club access, private beach access, beach chairs and towels (when available), local calls, and long distance calls within the US and Canada.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Kona Kai Resort and Spa Rooms

Standard Guestroom 1 King
Newly transformed king bed room 360Sq Ft Private patio- views of Shelter Island
Bay View Junior Suite- 1 King
Newly Transformed- 1 King Bed- 448sq Ft with Views of the Big Bay
Kona Kai Suite
Newly transformed 1 king bed- 845sq ft Seperate living room- views of Big Bay
Standard Guestroom 2 Queen Beds
Newly Transformed 360 Sq Ft -Private Patio 2 Queen Beds- views of Shelter Island
Junior Suite- 1 King
Newly Transformed 1 King Bed- 448Sq Ft Marina or Bay views-
Pool View Guestroom-1 King
Newly Transformed- 1 King Bed- 360sq Ft Private patio- overlooking the pool
Pool View Guestroom 2 Queen Beds
Newly transformed 2 Queen beds- 360sq ft Private patio- overlooking the pool
Marina View Guestroom 1 King
Newly transformed 1 king bed- 360sq ft Private Patio with views of the Marina
Marina View 2 Queen Beds
Newly transformed, 2 queen beds- 360sq ft Private patio with views of the Marina
Bay View Guestroom 1 King
Newly Transformed-1 King Bed-360sq Ft Private Patio- Views of the Big Bay
Bay View Guestroom 2 Queen Beds
Newly Transformed 2 queen beds 360sq ft Private patio- views of the Big Bay

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Golf
Jogging track
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Telephone
Electronic door locks
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kona Kai Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7089 -117.2321
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport, (SAN), 3.70, MI, SE;
Area description
Resort

Nearby points of interest

  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.5 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 3 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.8 mi
  • Sea World: 3.8 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.9 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.9 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 4 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 4.2 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4.4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.5 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 3 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.8 mi
  • Sea World: 3.8 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.9 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.9 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 4 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 4.2 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.7 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.7 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.9 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 5 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 5 mi
  • Botanical Building: 5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 5.2 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 5.2 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 5.2 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 5.2 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.6 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6.2 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 7.1 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 9.3 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.8 mi
  • Legoland: 29.4 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 29.5 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,122.2 mi

Dining

Kona Kai Dining Room and Lounge
Located at the resort. Offering fine cuisine on the very tip of San Diegos beautiful Shelter Island. Features casual elegance by the beach and a magnificent view overlooking the Kona Kai Marina.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (161)

Ratings and reviews for Kona Kai Resort and Spa

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
161 out of 161
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kona Kai Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Grand Rapids MI
Mar 21, 2011

Great location. Private. Comfortable.

A very nice location and good value. Private and quiet. Shuttle to airport was excellent and the driver was very friendly, helpful and professional. Initially the room did seem a bit "stuffy" or "musty" - probably not that unusual for an older oceanside hotel - we opened the slider onto the balcony and that took care of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Kona Kai Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix AZ
Mar 20, 2011

Kona Kia

We did not enjoy this hotel, the staff in afternoon was unfriendly, they gave us a room with king bed when we asked for 2 queens. Got that fixed and then the room was dirty, black long hair everywhere! gross. Had to go back to same angry hotel clerk who took forever to give us a new room. 15 dollar a day charge for parking! Had tea sent to room....oops wrong tea got charged nine dollars!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

GO to Humphreys to listen to band! Appears to be beautiful hotel and great music venue.

Review of Kona Kai Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix AZ
Mar 20, 2011

Kona Kia

We did not enjoy this hotel, the staff in afternoon was unfriendly, they gave us a room with king bed when we asked for 2 queens. Got that fixed and then the room was dirty, black long hair everywhere! gross. Had to go back to same angry hotel clerk who took forever to give us a new room. 15 dollar a day charge for parking! Had tea sent to room....oops wrong tea got charged nine dollars!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

GO to Humphreys to listen to band! Appears to be beautiful hotel and great music venue.

Review of Kona Kai Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MtReb
Summertown TN
Mar 18, 2011

Enjoyable stay

We came out to relax and enjoy the scenery and were not dissapointed. We were able to watch the fleet one morning go out of bay from room and other days were nice as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Kona Kai Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MtReb
Summertown TN
Mar 18, 2011

Enjoyable stay

We came out to relax and enjoy the scenery and were not dissapointed. We were able to watch the fleet one morning go out of bay from room and other days were nice as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Kona Kai Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed in San Diego
Sacramento, CA
Feb 14, 2011

Disappointment followed with disgust!

I was very disgusted with the hotel. The comforters were torn with large stain spots on them. The bathroom door from bottom up was peeling and cracking. I booked a package that included breakfast, however they charged my children for their breakfast meals. I would not book this hotel again! I am so disappointed [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Disappointed!

Review of Kona Kai Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Spearfish, SD
Jan 17, 2011

Don't

Room smelled musty. Shabby. Loud party made it impossible to sleep. Clerk was rude. No room service because "too late." I have stayed at Super 8's that were much nicer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Kona Kai Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Spearfish, SD
Jan 17, 2011

Don't

Room smelled musty. Shabby. Loud party made it impossible to sleep. Clerk was rude. No room service because "too late." I have stayed at Super 8's that were much nicer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Kona Kai Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
El Centro, Ca.
Jan 14, 2011

It was o.k.

We just needed a place to spend the night. We came in late and had already eaten. I didn't see a place to eat but there must have been a restarant because they had room service. The beds were comfortable and had new bedding. There were 2 phones in the room. Thank God because one didn't work. There was a beeping in the room that I could not find and it kept me awake all night. I would stay there again if I were going to arrive early enough to have them find the beeping noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

It's just a short drive to shopping.

Review of Kona Kai Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
El Centro, Ca.
Jan 14, 2011

It was o.k.

We just needed a place to spend the night. We came in late and had already eaten. I didn't see a place to eat but there must have been a restarant because they had room service. The beds were comfortable and had new bedding. There were 2 phones in the room. Thank God because one didn't work. There was a beeping in the room that I could not find and it kept me awake all night. I would stay there again if I were going to arrive early enough to have them find the beeping noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

It's just a short drive to shopping.

Back to menu Return to top