$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 10, 2014 Check-out: Sep 12, 2014

Inn at the Park

3 stars
525 Spruce, San Diego, CA 92103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
73 reviews
Amazing property in the heart of San Diego

We checked in Christmas night after spending the day with family close by. The suite was an... See full review

  • Nan2
  • Dec 27, 2013
the start of a wonderful holiday...

our stay at the inn at the park was the beginning of a wonderful family vacation which included a... See full review

  • e's 21st birthday bash
  • Dec 10, 2013
Historic all-suite hotel near Balboa Park
Sitting on the edge of Balboa Park, the seven-story Inn At The Park is an independently owned, all-suite boutique hotel. The building itself dates back to 1926 and interior arches and moldings invoke a simpler time. Rooms are modern and spacious; even standard room measure 525 square feet. Guests enjoy different specialties at two on-site restaurants--Inn at the Park and Top of the Park-- which offer very different dining experiences.
Highlights
  • Situated on the doorstep of Balboa Park
  • Dine at two on-site restaurants
  • Authentic turn-of-the-century decor
Rooms

Inn At The Park offers 75 suites varying in size with views of Balboa Park or San Diego Bay. Each room comes standard with a Sealy Posturepedic bed, antique furnishings and a cozy kitchenette. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access.

Features

Inn At The Park was built in 1926 and has retained most of its grandeur and details from that era. Crown moldings line the ceilings of every room. Archways ring the lobby.

Despite these historic touches, the property is totally modern. Guests receive complimentary bottle of water upon check-in. There's also free parking and free Wi-Fi. The hotel offers 24-hour laundry service (fees apply) as well.

Two on-site restaurants provide guests with eclectic dining options. Inn at the Park is a California-style bistro with a spacious outdoor patio and a lively piano bar. Top of the Park is more formal and is situated at the top of the hotel, where guests can savor panoramic views while they dine. The Top of the Park is only open for lunch.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (1 block)
  • San Diego Trolley (5 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (3 mi/5 km)
Attractions
  • Balboa Park (1 block)
  • San Diego Zoo (4 blocks)
  • Petco Park (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Old Town (3 mi/5 km)
  • Sea World (4 mi/6 km)
  • Point Loma (5 mi/8 km)
Business
  • 4,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Meeting planner on staff

 

Policies and fees
  • As of July 1st, parking will be converted from complimentary self-parking to Valet parking. The Valet parking fee will be $15/day, tax inclusive with in/out privileges.
  • The guestrooms and lobby at Inn at the Park hotel will be undergoing renovations starting November 14 November 2011 to 1 June 2012. We apologize in advance for any inconvenience and look forward to bringing our guests a new look at Inn at the Park.

.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7386 -117.1599
Area served
Minutes from downtown San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport
Area description
Local attractions include:San Diego Zoo (15-20 minute walk), Sea World, LegoLand, Wild Animal Park, Mission Beach, Coronado, Convention Center, Hillcrest area and the Gaslamp District.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Inn at the Park also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Inn at the Park Rooms

Two Bedroom Suite
At 1,100 sq ft our largest suites boast two bedrooms with a King bed and Queen bed, Cable T.V., a spacious living room, full kitchen with dining room, one full bath, a small balcony and pullout sofabed with two twins. Complimentary WIFI.Sleeps 6.
One Bedroom Suite
One king bed in bedroom. 725 square feet. Each suite includes: Cable TV. Full kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, stovetop, cookware, dinnerware, and utensils. Dining area and sitting area with pullout sofa sleeper consisting of two twin beds. Complimentary WIFI.Sleeps 4.
Studio Double Suite
Two queen beds. 525 square feet. Each suite includes: Cable TV. Full kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, stovetop, coffee/tea maker, cookware, dinnerware, and utensils. Dining area and Complimentary WIFI. Sleeps 4.
Studio Single Suite
One king bed. 525 square feet. Each suite includes: Cable. Full kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, stovetop, coffee/tea maker, cookware, dinnerware, and utensils. Dining area and sitting area with pullout sofa sleeper consisting of two twin beds. Complimentary WIFI.Sleeps 4.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Services
Laundry service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 0.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 0.8 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 0.8 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 2.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 0.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 0.8 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 0.8 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 2.2 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 2.2 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.2 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.4 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 2.8 mi
  • Sea World: 4.4 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.4 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 4.8 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 5.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6.2 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6.4 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 7.7 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 10.7 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 26.5 mi
  • Legoland: 28.4 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,117.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (73)

Ratings and reviews for Inn at the Park

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 73
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Laurax 72
Portland, OR
Jun 24, 2014

Lovely Hotel, Great Location

Our family stayed at the Inn at the Park the last night of our visit to California, and we found it lovely. It was well kept, spotless, well organized and came equipped with a small kitchen and lovely bath. We had plenty of space, and a nice view of the San Diego Skyline as well as the park. All this, and the cost was quite reasonable as well. I highly recommend this hotel, and would add that the staff were also lovely to be around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelling with a toddler
Honolulu, HI
Jun 10, 2014

eclectic room decor and nice boutique hotel

the decorations and furniture of the hotel room was so unique and cool! we loved the kitchenette concept (even though we didn't use it since we weren't staying there for long), but it would be ideal for a 3-day or week long stay. parking situation could be a little better (lame to have to valet and pay for parking), but overall, a great stay and great location (next to balboa park where the zoo and museums are).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
e's 21st birthday bash
reading, pa
Dec 10, 2013

the start of a wonderful holiday...

our stay at the inn at the park was the beginning of a wonderful family vacation which included a brief stay in san diego where we had time to go to the gaslamp district on our first night in town. it turned out to not be the best place for a young teen so we just drove around to take in the sights and grab some dinner. on the next full day we went to the zoo which on all counts was very interesting. the location of the inn could not have been better as we were only a block away from grabbing the free trolley to the zoo. after san diego we boarded a ship to Hawaii. I have to say, that our stay at the inn was very comfortable, affordable and was definitely a great place for us to kick back and prepare for our adventure to come!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JayDub
Annandale, VA, USA
Oct 9, 2013

I wish we could have stayed longer....

We were only staying one night in San Diego...this hotel would also be great for extended stays. The check-in was efficient, valet parking fees were very reasonable, and the concierge, Richard, was very helpful recommending restaurants, etc. Close proximity to Balboa Park was key. Continental breakfast was no better than motel-fare, but the host was very congenial, and dining on the roof-top patio with a view was nice. The building has lots of character; nice wide halls, and our room was very large. The kitchen was well stocked for preparing small meals . Most of all we loved the decor. We will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you find yourself in Old Town, stop in at Fred's for lunch. Great Tex-Mex and service. Loved the patio.

Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Crazy Reds
San Diego
Jul 27, 2013

Good for Family big rooms

Loved the rooms we had 11 6 Adults 6 kids with us and when we all got together one night to make dinner we all fit very well in one room. We were a little disappointed there was no pool, which we knew when we booked, but would have been a nice perk. We though we we closer to the beach. You can't walk to the beach or seaport village, you pretty much have to drive any where you go except to the the park accross the street which is very nice The rooms were very clean but had a very musty smell

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BVMman
Orange County, CA
Feb 11, 2013

Inn At The Park

I have stayed at Inn At The Park several times. This weekend I recommended it to family and friends and they loved it. Will continue to support this venue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Have Family, Will Travel
Alexandria, VA
Jan 17, 2011

Very Solid Construction & HUGE Suites!

Although the hotel is a little rundown and in definite need of air conditioning, our two-bedroom suite was HUGE! Not only did we have two bedrooms and one bathroom, we also had living and dining rooms and a full kitchen, which was perfect for our family. Also, the construction is very solid, so we heard no noise from any of the rooms around us. All of the staff we came in contact with were extremely nice and went out of their way to be helpful. The location is also good - very close to the airport and the zoo but in a nice residential area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The San Diego Zoo is about a 5-minute drive from the hotel.

Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Colton, CA
Mar 20, 2010

Park Manor Suites

We really liked the place. The suite was HUGE! It was definitely nice to stay in such a large suite for a great price so close to downtown. It seems to me that this was an old apartment complex. It was definitely an older building. They've done a lot to retain its older feel, and it has a lot of antiques and even tapestries and other classical art.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
yuma, az
Nov 13, 2009

Good for adults, not so much for kids

It was quiet and nice right across for a playground at balboa park. The free breakfast was nice. The staff was friendly. Our 2-bedroom suite was huge and there was a walk-through closet where we could put the playpen so my son had his own area. The kitchen was convient for snacking and lunches. The fans in each room were nice and needed. Now it's old. Really old and there's heavy, heavy wood furniture everywhere that is super uncomfortable. Mirrors and scary statues everywhere. The kids (and me)were freaked out. Tables with glass on top and sharp corners. My toddler probably had 5 accidents with his face.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Playground

Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Palm Springs
Sep 25, 2008

Location & friendly value.

The Park Manor Suites is an ideally located, historic hotel that emits a laid back friendly aura with comfortable, large, clean rooms. Once you enter the beautifully appointed lobby, you feel as if you have entered a bygone era that has been carefully preserved and includes the value (free, convenient parking) and attentiveness of the staff to provide what any discerning travelor might require today. Whether its enjoying the complimentary continental breakfast each morning on the roof overlooking the city and the bay or taking a daily jog, stroll in the park acroos the street, you feel like your destination in the city of San Diego is actually the Hotel itself. I highly recommend this property to all of my family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Balboa Park's museum square can be reached by trolley or walking....the outdoor summer concert series is amazing....the trolley ride itself is free and informative.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search