$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 2, 2015 Check-out: Feb 5, 2015

Inn at the Park

3 stars
525 Spruce, San Diego, CA 92103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
72 reviews
WIll stay here again for sure

I typically don't get excited about hotels, but this place went above and beyond at anticipating... See full review

  • heatherd
  • Oct 13, 2014
Amazing property in the heart of San Diego

We checked in Christmas night after spending the day with family close by. The suite was an... See full review

  • Nan2
  • Dec 27, 2013
Historic all-suite hotel near Balboa Park
Sitting on the edge of Balboa Park, the seven-story Inn At The Park is an independently owned, all-suite boutique hotel. The building itself dates back to 1926 and interior arches and moldings invoke a simpler time. Rooms are modern and spacious; even standard room measure 525 square feet. Guests enjoy different specialties at two on-site restaurants--Inn at the Park and Top of the Park-- which offer very different dining experiences.
Highlights
  • Situated on the doorstep of Balboa Park
  • Dine at two on-site restaurants
  • Authentic turn-of-the-century decor
Rooms

Inn At The Park offers 75 suites varying in size with views of Balboa Park or San Diego Bay. Each room comes standard with a Sealy Posturepedic bed, antique furnishings and a cozy kitchenette. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access.

Features

Inn At The Park was built in 1926 and has retained most of its grandeur and details from that era. Crown moldings line the ceilings of every room. Archways ring the lobby.

Despite these historic touches, the property is totally modern. Guests receive complimentary bottle of water upon check-in. There's also free parking and free Wi-Fi. The hotel offers 24-hour laundry service (fees apply) as well.

Two on-site restaurants provide guests with eclectic dining options. Inn at the Park is a California-style bistro with a spacious outdoor patio and a lively piano bar. Top of the Park is more formal and is situated at the top of the hotel, where guests can savor panoramic views while they dine. The Top of the Park is only open for lunch.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (1 block)
  • San Diego Trolley (5 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (3 mi/5 km)
Attractions
  • Balboa Park (1 block)
  • San Diego Zoo (4 blocks)
  • Petco Park (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Old Town (3 mi/5 km)
  • Sea World (4 mi/6 km)
  • Point Loma (5 mi/8 km)
Business
  • 4,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Meeting planner on staff

 

Policies and fees
  • As of July 1st, parking will be converted from complimentary self-parking to Valet parking. The Valet parking fee will be $15/day, tax inclusive with in/out privileges.
  • The guestrooms and lobby at Inn at the Park hotel will be undergoing renovations starting November 14 November 2011 to 1 June 2012. We apologize in advance for any inconvenience and look forward to bringing our guests a new look at Inn at the Park.

.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Inn at the Park also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Inn at the Park Rooms

Two Bedroom Suite
At 1,100 sq ft our largest suites boast two bedrooms with a King bed and Queen bed, Cable T.V., a spacious living room, full kitchen with dining room, one full bath, a small balcony and pullout sofabed with two twins. Complimentary WIFI.Sleeps 6.
One Bedroom Suite
One king bed in bedroom. 725 square feet. Each suite includes: Cable TV. Full kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, stovetop, cookware, dinnerware, and utensils. Dining area and sitting area with pullout sofa sleeper consisting of two twin beds. Complimentary WIFI.Sleeps 4.
Studio Double Suite
Two queen beds. 525 square feet. Each suite includes: Cable TV. Full kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, stovetop, coffee/tea maker, cookware, dinnerware, and utensils. Dining area and Complimentary WIFI. Sleeps 4.
Studio Single Suite
One king bed. 525 square feet. Each suite includes: Cable. Full kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, stovetop, coffee/tea maker, cookware, dinnerware, and utensils. Dining area and sitting area with pullout sofa sleeper consisting of two twin beds. Complimentary WIFI.Sleeps 4.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Services
Laundry service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 0.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 0.8 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 0.8 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 2.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 0.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 0.8 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 0.8 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 2.2 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.2 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.4 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 2.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.4 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 4.8 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 5.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6.2 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6.4 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 7.7 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 10.7 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 26.5 mi
  • Legoland: 28.4 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,117.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for Inn at the Park

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 72
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Whitney O.
Business
San Francisco
Jan 17, 2015

Good hotel, staff aggressive in trying to sell it

The hotel itself was great, room great, roof patio great, location great, but the staff tried to contact us several times to buy a timeshare. Calling someone at 8am on their vacation is just plain mean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
heatherd
Business
Washington DC
Oct 13, 2014

WIll stay here again for sure

I typically don't get excited about hotels, but this place went above and beyond at anticipating the needs of their guests! The rooms were bright/modern/comfortable and felt like a home away from home complete with a sitting area/kitchen/walk in closet/bathroom and large comfy bed. Our family tries to eat healthy so I especially loved that there was a kitchen so we could make our own meals/snacks when wanted to (a Whole Foods is a short drive from here) and there was a fast food Vegan/Vegetarian drive through a block or two away. If you would rather go out to eat though there are TONS of options downtown so the location was great too. Across the street is the famous Balboa park! Let's see...what else...the staff was very friendly/helpful and just the right amount. Always around if you needed help or had a question, but not pushy. The fact that there were laundry facilities was a perk for us as we like to return home from trips with clean clothes instead of a pile of dirty clothes. We had such a pleasant stay here and will definitely be back and would definitely recommend to family and friends. Thanks again for making our stay in San Diego so pleasant and relaxing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

walk downtown and save the meter fees!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
edbyker
Business
san juan capistrano , california
Sep 13, 2014

balboa park & the outdoors

the hotel & staff were great & very accomodating & the rooms clean & large. fully equipped kitchen & upgraded from the original 1929 with some art deco touches. meed was especially helpful with our luggage & valet parking on check in. definitely recommend this hotel. within walking distance of balboa park , walking & biking paths , & green belts

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

don't miss the eggplant & meatball heros @ family owned / operated san fellippos around the corner! (fresh onions & peppers ~$1 extra ; manga!)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JossLynn
Business
Los Angeles, California
Apr 28, 2014

Weekend getaway

I stayed at the hotel just this past weekend and I have nothing but great things to say about it. The staff was friendly from the minute we arrived, our room was larger than I expected, and very well kept. I will definitely be going back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nan2
Business
Huntington Beach, CA
Dec 27, 2013

Amazing property in the heart of San Diego

We checked in Christmas night after spending the day with family close by. The suite was an absolute stunner, especially considering the room rate! The building is architecturally beautiful and the rooms match in a light, clean, crisp Art Deco style. Every amenity is provided and every surface is spotless. I seriously could live in this studio suite. We enjoyed a leisurely breakfast at the roof top restaurant which was a delicious meal elegantly presented and value priced. The view from the roof was spectacular. We will be back and recommend this property highly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Balboa Park is directly across the street and there is a free trolley that picks up about a block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jennidoll82
Business
Carlsbad, CA
Aug 26, 2013

Great Location!

This hotel is centrally located for easy walking to Balboa Park and Hillcrest nightlife/shopping and eating! We are from San Diego but wanted to do a night away "on the town" and this hotel was perfect! I wish they didn't charge 15 bucks for parking and that they didn't invite you you to a timeshare style seminar, but other than that I really have nothing but great things to say about the place. The rooms are awesome, having a mini kitchen is great and there's even a 7-11 across the street in case you forgot to bring a bottle of wine :) The rooftop is breathtaking and even though the place is old and funky, that's part of the charm and I always prefer places with some character as opposed to the normal cookie cutter hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hash House A-Go-Go is a short walk up 5th Ave. and is the BEST (and biggest) breakfast in town! Get there early, it fills up fast and can have a looong wait. Oh, and try the french toast. Seriously.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Butterflies Still
Business
Mobile, Al.
Jul 12, 2013

Exceptional trip

Great location we never rented a car as the Inn was within walking distance to balboa park,museums,and world famous San Diego zoo. Staff was the best ever, very good breakfast buffet and fantastic omelets,etc. off the menu not your typical hotel food. Great entertainment and Braised Ribs in the piano bar restaurant where we were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary also fulfilled a bucket list dream to return to San Diego. Taxi rides from/to airport and Sea World which were both close by so rates were very reasonable including $5.00 tips. Wonderful memories made, Thanks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cesmontesd
Business
Mexico
Apr 27, 2013

it's Good

very nice place to stay, the restaurante has a nice view

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cat Nabors
Business
Hanford, CA
Apr 21, 2013

All in all it was a good stay

The hotel was pretty nice. Only complaints would be the lack of wifi in the rooms and the road noise. Could hear sirens almost every night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Random Travel
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Feb 22, 2013

Historic Hotel

Inn at the Park is perfect for people who don't care for large, corporate hotels. Its been remodeled in the Hollywood Regency style. The staff are very personable and were genuinely interested in our experience while staying with them. The restaurant on the ground floor was a surprise with good food and live music. The hotel is a short walk to the park and Hillcrest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Check out the restaurant. They offer comfort food and comfort prices. The live music was really good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top