$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Inn at the Park

3 stars
525 Spruce, San Diego, CA 92103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
113 reviews
Amazing property in the heart of San Diego

We checked in Christmas night after spending the day with family close by. The suite was an... See full review

  • Nan2
  • Dec 27, 2013
the start of a wonderful holiday...

our stay at the inn at the park was the beginning of a wonderful family vacation which included a... See full review

  • e's 21st birthday bash
  • Dec 10, 2013
Historic all-suite hotel near Balboa Park
Sitting on the edge of Balboa Park, the seven-story Inn At The Park is an independently owned, all-suite boutique hotel. The building itself dates back to 1926 and interior arches and moldings invoke a simpler time. Rooms are modern and spacious; even standard room measure 525 square feet. Guests enjoy different specialties at two on-site restaurants--Inn at the Park and Top of the Park-- which offer very different dining experiences.
Highlights
  • Situated on the doorstep of Balboa Park
  • Dine at two on-site restaurants
  • Authentic turn-of-the-century decor
Rooms

Inn At The Park offers 75 suites varying in size with views of Balboa Park or San Diego Bay. Each room comes standard with a Sealy Posturepedic bed, antique furnishings and a cozy kitchenette. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access.

Features

Inn At The Park was built in 1926 and has retained most of its grandeur and details from that era. Crown moldings line the ceilings of every room. Archways ring the lobby.

Despite these historic touches, the property is totally modern. Guests receive complimentary bottle of water upon check-in. There's also free parking and free Wi-Fi. The hotel offers 24-hour laundry service (fees apply) as well.

Two on-site restaurants provide guests with eclectic dining options. Inn at the Park is a California-style bistro with a spacious outdoor patio and a lively piano bar. Top of the Park is more formal and is situated at the top of the hotel, where guests can savor panoramic views while they dine. The Top of the Park is only open for lunch.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (1 block)
  • San Diego Trolley (5 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (3 mi/5 km)
Attractions
  • Balboa Park (1 block)
  • San Diego Zoo (4 blocks)
  • Petco Park (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Old Town (3 mi/5 km)
  • Sea World (4 mi/6 km)
  • Point Loma (5 mi/8 km)
Business
  • 4,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Meeting planner on staff

 

Policies and fees
  • As of July 1st, parking will be converted from complimentary self-parking to Valet parking. The Valet parking fee will be $15/day, tax inclusive with in/out privileges.
  • The guestrooms and lobby at Inn at the Park hotel will be undergoing renovations starting November 14 November 2011 to 1 June 2012. We apologize in advance for any inconvenience and look forward to bringing our guests a new look at Inn at the Park.

.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Inn at the Park Rooms

Two Bedroom Suite
At 1,100 sq ft our largest suites boast two bedrooms with a King bed and Queen bed, Cable T.V., a spacious living room, full kitchen with dining room, one full bath, a small balcony and pullout sofabed with two twins. Complimentary WIFI.Sleeps 6.
One Bedroom Suite
One king bed in bedroom. 725 square feet. Each suite includes: Cable TV. Full kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, stovetop, cookware, dinnerware, and utensils. Dining area and sitting area with pullout sofa sleeper consisting of two twin beds. Complimentary WIFI.Sleeps 4.
Studio Double Suite
Two queen beds. 525 square feet. Each suite includes: Cable TV. Full kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, stovetop, coffee/tea maker, cookware, dinnerware, and utensils. Dining area and Complimentary WIFI. Sleeps 4.
Studio Single Suite
One king bed. 525 square feet. Each suite includes: Cable. Full kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, stovetop, coffee/tea maker, cookware, dinnerware, and utensils. Dining area and sitting area with pullout sofa sleeper consisting of two twin beds. Complimentary WIFI.Sleeps 4.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Services
Laundry service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Ramp access to buildings

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Inn at the Park also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7386 -117.1599
Area served
Minutes from downtown San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport
Area description
Local attractions include:San Diego Zoo (15-20 minute walk), Sea World, LegoLand, Wild Animal Park, Mission Beach, Coronado, Convention Center, Hillcrest area and the Gaslamp District.

Nearby points of interest

  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 0.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 0.8 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 0.8 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 2.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 0.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 0.8 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 0.8 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 2.2 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 2.2 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.2 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.4 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 2.8 mi
  • Sea World: 4.4 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.4 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 4.8 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 5.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6.2 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6.4 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 7.7 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 10.7 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 26.5 mi
  • Legoland: 28.4 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,117.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (113)

Ratings and reviews for Inn at the Park

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
113 out of 113
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Sep 24, 2012

No AC and plenty of construction

I checked in and went to my room. I was greeted with a sign that said no ac. As well, the hallway looked like a war zone. The construction was terrible. I walked downstairs and checked out immediately! Beware!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lexington
Sep 9, 2010

Beware! Misleading Reviews

This hotel was not as described! I would not give it more than a one star rating. We had to move to another room when we first arrived because our room was dirty and had windows on the two intersecting streets. It was too noisy to sleep! You had to keep the windows open because without A/C the room was stuffy and uncomfortable. The bed was saggy and lumpy, the furniture was old and worn, the bathroom had the smallest sink possible. The sink and tubs didn't have stoppers so they had put rubber replacements in with hair catchers! The bathroom was so small two people couldn't use it at the same time. The kitchen was nearly unusable and dirty. The guests were loud and rowdy throughout the night and the walls were so thin you could hear what they were doing. One bright spot was the friendly staff. In general it was a huge disappointment. I will never trust only reading the reviews [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Close to Balboa Park, that's all I can offer.

Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lexington
Sep 9, 2010

Beware! Misleading Reviews

This hotel was not as described! I would not give it more than a one star rating. We had to move to another room when we first arrived because our room was dirty and had windows on the two intersecting streets. It was too noisy to sleep! You had to keep the windows open because without A/C the room was stuffy and uncomfortable. The bed was saggy and lumpy, the furniture was old and worn, the bathroom had the smallest sink possible. The sink and tubs didn't have stoppers so they had put rubber replacements in with hair catchers! The bathroom was so small two people couldn't use it at the same time. The kitchen was nearly unusable and dirty. The guests were loud and rowdy throughout the night and the walls were so thin you could hear what they were doing. One bright spot was the friendly staff. In general it was a huge disappointment. I will never trust only reading the reviews [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Close to Balboa Park, that's all I can offer.

Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 7, 2008

Not a Four Star Hotel

Park Manor was not what we expected. This hotel is historic which is what we wanted but it has not been well kept. The suite was large but in need of paint and new carpet. The paint in the bathroom was peeling. The staff was nice but not knowledgeable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 7, 2008

Not a Four Star Hotel

Park Manor was not what we expected. This hotel is historic which is what we wanted but it has not been well kept. The suite was large but in need of paint and new carpet. The paint in the bathroom was peeling. The staff was nice but not knowledgeable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
california
Jun 28, 2011

not good

it looked nice but it has a very bad odor in their bath room in our room. we informed the front desk about this and they did not do any thing about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
california
Jun 28, 2011

not good

it looked nice but it has a very bad odor in their bath room in our room. we informed the front desk about this and they did not do any thing about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cesmontesd
Mexico
Apr 27, 2013

it's Good

very nice place to stay, the restaurante has a nice view

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RedRaven
Denver, CO
Apr 9, 2011

Not what I expected

This hotel was nothing like I thought I was paying for. Our room was never booked officially due to them not "receiving" they claimed . So instead of the King Studio that I booked online, we were put into a Queen Studio on the first floor facing the front street. The bed and pillows were highly uncomfortable. On the second night we were woken by hammering or banging at 7am in the morning from beneath our room. The package that we booked was for buy 2 get one night free. We were so unsatisfied and we just turned in our keys and stayed with a relative for the remainder of our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RedRaven
Denver, CO
Apr 9, 2011

Not what I expected

This hotel was nothing like I thought I was paying for. Our room was never booked officially due to them not "receiving" they claimed . So instead of the King Studio that I booked online, we were put into a Queen Studio on the first floor facing the front street. The bed and pillows were highly uncomfortable. On the second night we were woken by hammering or banging at 7am in the morning from beneath our room. The package that we booked was for buy 2 get one night free. We were so unsatisfied and we just turned in our keys and stayed with a relative for the remainder of our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top