$175 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Inn at the Park

3 stars
View map of 525 Spruce, San Diego, CA 92103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Inn at the Park

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Jan 18, 2010

Huge room/suite

This is a big suite with a kitchen and dishes/silverware. Huge closet. Older but well kept and clean. Big king bed but has that plastic underneath the sheet that makes it hard for me to sleep. I had to keep the windows open all the time even in winter. Is there A/C in the summmer? I didn't see it. Love the location + continental breakfast on the roof.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ristorante Arivederci - excellent Italian food and wonderful owners.

Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bubcrash
Business
Los Angeles, CA (Mid-City)
Nov 16, 2009

Excellent weekend

Great hotel. Old world style with class. Near everything my partner and i wanted to do. Hillcrest neighborhood was a few blocks away(could of driven but it was kinda chilly). Good size room. OWN FULL KITCHEN!!!!!! The only thing it could do is update the furniture and maybe paint white all the wood accents in the kitchen(gives it a clean look) but definitely NOT a deal breaker. Very Nice continental breakfast on the rooftop. Spectacular views from the top. Parking is free but hard to find at night. They have a restaurant and piano bar so the lot was full. We had to park on the street. Didn't have any bad experiences with staff. As for the staff, they were very nice. Fast and easy check-in. We didn't need anything so there was no need to call/request anything during our stay so we can't comment too much on that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Old Town Mexican Cafe in Old Town. yummy carnitas. not dry at all with all the fixins. Good marguaritas. Drinking- if you're gay, go up fifth ave. You can walk if you want. Not far at all. The Loft was a cool place to have a drink. Not a WEHO type of bar. very friendly people. Neighborhood bar.

Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
yuma, az
Nov 13, 2009

Good for adults, not so much for kids

It was quiet and nice right across for a playground at balboa park. The free breakfast was nice. The staff was friendly. Our 2-bedroom suite was huge and there was a walk-through closet where we could put the playpen so my son had his own area. The kitchen was convient for snacking and lunches. The fans in each room were nice and needed. Now it's old. Really old and there's heavy, heavy wood furniture everywhere that is super uncomfortable. Mirrors and scary statues everywhere. The kids (and me)were freaked out. Tables with glass on top and sharp corners. My toddler probably had 5 accidents with his face.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Playground

Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlottesville VA
Oct 30, 2009

Reasonable alternative to downtown hotel

Great staff---very helpful. A little off the beaten path but clean and spacious. The building is historic and it seems the owners have made great attempts to keep it that way ( though the wireless access was great!!). Being on the older side, there were some creaks in the floor from above. Right across the street from Balboa park-- beautiful place to walk/run and close to zoo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants further down 5th avenue-- nice variety. Try Jimmy Carter's across the street.

Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GHW
Business
MSN
Oct 20, 2009

Quirky but enjoyable hotel

Quirky old hotel suite style. Not modern but with charm and clean. Good restaurant/piano bar. Healthy continental breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bay Area, Ca.
Sep 15, 2009

We will be back!!!!!!

Great location. Staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. The building seems historic and unique inside and out. No A/C and a good amount of noise can be heard inside the rooms. However, the staff made all the difference for the rooms shortcomings. Great weekend getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix
Jul 6, 2009

Great location/amazing food

Very nice boutique hotel. Balboa Park across the street - easy walk to Prado. 4th of July weekend made it pretty noisy - no air - could not close windows. Large party with predominantly gay crowd on roof two nights in a row. Lobby and entry charming with nice rose garden, raised patio, french doors. Overall good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It is a gay-friendly hotel. We weren't aware of this when we reserved it. Worked out fine except for the noisy weekend parties. (but it was 4th od July. Hash House A Go Go down the street with amazing breakfast. Bakery - Bread and Cie close to hotel also amazing food. Extraordinary Desserts close to hotels crazy good desserts.

Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston area
Apr 22, 2009

Pleasant, Quiet, No-Frills Hotel

The hotel is a bit drab and in need of refurbishing. The room was large and the bath and kitchen, while functional, were tired and/or cheaply remodeled. It was a long (45 minute) but pleasant walk to the Convention Center. The desk staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast (included) was simple-- mostly cereal, fruit, yogurt, bread/pastry items, tea/coffee, juice. The view from the top-floor breakfast area, however, was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Littleton
Dec 30, 2008

Spacious room

Our room was very spacious with full kitchen, eating area, double closets, vanity, couch and comfy king sized bed. The furniture and decor is older, but nice, and the mattress was new. The views of downtown San Diego from the 7th floor breakfast area were fantastic. The location is great; a five minute walk to the Balboa Park trolley, which takes you to the museums and other highlights of the park. It was an easy 10 minute drive to the Gaslamp District from the hotel. The hotel does not include a gym or spa, but we would definitely stay there again, because of the spacious room, friendly staff, breakfast and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the free Balboa Park trolley for an overview of the attractions in the park. We learned which museums were free, about upcoming events and concerts, and a shortcut to the zoo.

Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 30, 2008

Great Stay!

Love this place. From the moment we checked in, had nothing but positive experiences. The staff was very friendly and attentive. The room was huge with a little kitchen, large closet, roomy bathroom. Very comfortable all around. The rooftop view is spectacular. Located across the street from Balboa Park is a great plus as is the free parking. Lots of good places to eat in the Hillcrest area within walking distance (especially recommend the Crest Cafe for breakfast and the Golden Dragon for dinner). Will absolutely stay here again. A+++

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top