$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

Inn at the Park

3 stars
View map of 525 Spruce, San Diego, CA 92103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Inn at the Park

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY, NY
Jun 5, 2010

Survey

Overall experience is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FooZwak
Business
Phoenix, AZ
May 25, 2010

Location

Nice rooms, excellent central location. From check in it was a great experience. The room was nice and big, with a kitchen. The hotel is located in a good quiet neighborhood. A good starting point for the area, close to the beach, balboa park and down town. Would definitely come back, would recommend to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The in room kitchen with stove, micro wave, fridge sink etc. helps save dining out money. Excellent restaurants in the area were a once a day treat instead of another travel expense.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
May 16, 2010

Great hotel!!!

The hotel is within walking distance of a lot of shops and unique, great restaurants (no boring chains!). Very fast access to Balboa Park. Just 2 miles from the gaslamp - the area is nice enough to walk there if you want. Hotel rooms are large and spacious. While older, everything was in working condition and very clean. The free breakfast was enough to keep us satisfied until lunch, and it was on the roof with a great view! Wifi was fast in the rooms. We did not eat at the restaurant there. Friday nights they have a "happy hour" on the roof. Noise is not loud enough to keep hotel sleepers awake. Be aware that there is not enough parking for every room to have a space, so if you go out at night after dinner time there may not be room in the lot. There is plenty of free road parking nearby though. Plus parking is free, so I wouldn't consider a small lot to be a negative. We have stayed at this hotel twice before and will definitely be staying there again in future trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Traveler Tucson
Business
Tucson, AZ
Apr 27, 2010

Park Manor Suites-excellent value, great

This is an old building with large suites and old-fashioned fixtures. Everything was there and working and the bed was very comfortable. Absolutely perfect for the price and great location. Absolutely no complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
Apr 19, 2010

quaint and relaxing

Great location near Balboa Park and Downtown. Old styling of the hotel made it feel very welcoming and relaxing. Very clean, friendly staff, and I would highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hawaii voyager
Business
Honolulu, HI
Mar 29, 2010

Shabby Chic for the adventurous traveler

This venerable property is right next to beautiful Balboa park and is one of its main assets. The price is competitive for this prime location but there are some caveats. The big beds are clean and comfortable but the bathrooms and kitchenettes are VINTAGE and very small and could use some upgrades. While the floors have newer carpeting they cannot hide their real age so you can hear people walk down the halls as the joists and floorboards creak and vibrate. The same is true with noise coming through the ceiling and walls. I could hear hall conversations very clearly. When I was checking in on Friday evening there was a LONG line of men waiting to enter the elevator. These folks were all going to attend the happy hour on the top floor. This is apparently a major attraction for folks who enjoy alternative lifestyles. I was not bothered by any of these customers but was concerned that things might get rowdy. Fortunately the festivities ended by 9:30 p.m. so the noise was not a problem when I wanted to get some sleep. There are dining venues within walking distance but be sure to arrive at them by 8:30 or 9 p.m. at the latest. I went to a place that said they were open until 10 p.m. but they were shutting down at 9:30. There is a large selection of eateries at the Gaslamp district on 5th and 6th streets but you will need to drive there and parking is impossible. Take a cab. The continental breakfast was generous and well stocked and is included in the price of the room. All in all this was an OK venue for the price. I would have preferred a newer property if I had it to do over again. I love older properties but this one still needs more upgrades to compete in the San Diego market.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
baltimore, md
Mar 29, 2010

Decent location, somewhat noisy

No air conditioning. Had to sleep with windows open and being located between 6th and 5th street was pretty noisy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colton, CA
Mar 20, 2010

Park Manor Suites

We really liked the place. The suite was HUGE! It was definitely nice to stay in such a large suite for a great price so close to downtown. It seems to me that this was an old apartment complex. It was definitely an older building. They've done a lot to retain its older feel, and it has a lot of antiques and even tapestries and other classical art.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trade Show Newbies
Business
Denver, CO
Feb 13, 2010

Excellent Staff!

It has been a long time since I have an encountered such a friendly and accomodating hotel staff. They couldn't have been more helpful to me and my business partner as we were attending a convention at the San Diego convention center. We forgot a few things and they let us borrow a few items which made our trade show a success!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Jan 18, 2010

Huge room/suite

This is a big suite with a kitchen and dishes/silverware. Huge closet. Older but well kept and clean. Big king bed but has that plastic underneath the sheet that makes it hard for me to sleep. I had to keep the windows open all the time even in winter. Is there A/C in the summmer? I didn't see it. Love the location + continental breakfast on the roof.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ristorante Arivederci - excellent Italian food and wonderful owners.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top