$142 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

Inn at the Park

3 stars
View map of 525 Spruce, San Diego, CA 92103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Inn at the Park

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
OC
May 29, 2011

great location

Nice place. Did the trick for a wedding this weekend. Nothing wrong at all with the hotel, just beware on friday nights,the bar upstairs attracts a Lot of people and gets fairly loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Shanghai china
May 26, 2011

Good hotel

Nice room, Ok breakfast, good location, free park, I would stay here next time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RedRaven
Couples
Denver, CO
Apr 9, 2011

Not what I expected

This hotel was nothing like I thought I was paying for. Our room was never booked officially due to them not "receiving" they claimed . So instead of the King Studio that I booked online, we were put into a Queen Studio on the first floor facing the front street. The bed and pillows were highly uncomfortable. On the second night we were woken by hammering or banging at 7am in the morning from beneath our room. The package that we booked was for buy 2 get one night free. We were so unsatisfied and we just turned in our keys and stayed with a relative for the remainder of our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Have Family, Will Travel
Family
Alexandria, VA
Jan 17, 2011

Very Solid Construction & HUGE Suites!

Although the hotel is a little rundown and in definite need of air conditioning, our two-bedroom suite was HUGE! Not only did we have two bedrooms and one bathroom, we also had living and dining rooms and a full kitchen, which was perfect for our family. Also, the construction is very solid, so we heard no noise from any of the rooms around us. All of the staff we came in contact with were extremely nice and went out of their way to be helpful. The location is also good - very close to the airport and the zoo but in a nice residential area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The San Diego Zoo is about a 5-minute drive from the hotel.

Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sage woman
Couples
Hemet, CA
Nov 27, 2010

A mixed bag

You couldn't ask for a better location when visiting San Diego's Zoo and Balboa Park. The Park Manor's history and setting are ideal. If weather's cold, as it was for us, the tiny radiators barely take the edge off of the aged building's chill. The dining room on the lower level offers amazing cuisine and live music, along with a door to the street allowing anyone access to elevators and all the floors. Not a secure feeling, to be sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

You can't beat the quality of both the food and service in the downstairs dining room.

Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jims Stay
Business
Raleigh, NC
Nov 21, 2010

Great Place

I stayed at this hotel for over 4 months on business... The staff was great!!!!!!!!!!! Hotel is old but that is what gives it the charm.... They each treated me as if I was part of the team... Thanks Park Manor for your hospitality!!! You will be missed!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Champaign, IL
Oct 18, 2010

Awesome historic property.

Very friendly staff. Very clean and well maintained historic property. Truly in the center of it all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Lexington
Sep 9, 2010

Beware! Misleading Reviews

This hotel was not as described! I would not give it more than a one star rating. We had to move to another room when we first arrived because our room was dirty and had windows on the two intersecting streets. It was too noisy to sleep! You had to keep the windows open because without A/C the room was stuffy and uncomfortable. The bed was saggy and lumpy, the furniture was old and worn, the bathroom had the smallest sink possible. The sink and tubs didn't have stoppers so they had put rubber replacements in with hair catchers! The bathroom was so small two people couldn't use it at the same time. The kitchen was nearly unusable and dirty. The guests were loud and rowdy throughout the night and the walls were so thin you could hear what they were doing. One bright spot was the friendly staff. In general it was a huge disappointment. I will never trust only reading the reviews [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Close to Balboa Park, that's all I can offer.

Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zklemmer
Couples
Tucson, AZ
Sep 6, 2010

Fabulous service and comfort.

We love staying in San Diego a place that we've long loved. On a recent trip we stayed at Park Manor Suites, 525 Spruce Street, San Diego, CA 92103. This is a magnificent location on 6th Avenue across from Balboa Park. Park Manor is a historic property and we really enjoyed our stay there. The staff was very helpful and friendly; the room was very spacious with a kitchen, sitting area and kept very clean. The bed was firm and comfortable the linens were like new, clean and confortable as well. We plan on staying there again and recommend Park Manor to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Parkhouse Eatery, City Deli, Croce's

Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Tucson, AZ
Jul 26, 2010

Fun and Friendly

The staff at the Park Manor was the friendliest I have ever had at a hotel!! Go see a show at the Old Globe, it is great entertainment and within walking distance. If you like art, don't miss the Timkin. It is small but has some wonderful pieces and it is free!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top