$143 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2014 Check-out: Aug 12, 2014

Inn at the Park

3 stars
525 Spruce, San Diego, CA 92103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
113 reviews
Amazing property in the heart of San Diego

We checked in Christmas night after spending the day with family close by. The suite was an... See full review

  • Nan2
  • Dec 27, 2013
the start of a wonderful holiday...

our stay at the inn at the park was the beginning of a wonderful family vacation which included a... See full review

  • e's 21st birthday bash
  • Dec 10, 2013
Historic all-suite hotel near Balboa Park
Sitting on the edge of Balboa Park, the seven-story Inn At The Park is an independently owned, all-suite boutique hotel. The building itself dates back to 1926 and interior arches and moldings invoke a simpler time. Rooms are modern and spacious; even standard room measure 525 square feet. Guests enjoy different specialties at two on-site restaurants--Inn at the Park and Top of the Park-- which offer very different dining experiences.
Highlights
  • Situated on the doorstep of Balboa Park
  • Dine at two on-site restaurants
  • Authentic turn-of-the-century decor
Rooms

Inn At The Park offers 75 suites varying in size with views of Balboa Park or San Diego Bay. Each room comes standard with a Sealy Posturepedic bed, antique furnishings and a cozy kitchenette. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access.

Features

Inn At The Park was built in 1926 and has retained most of its grandeur and details from that era. Crown moldings line the ceilings of every room. Archways ring the lobby.

Despite these historic touches, the property is totally modern. Guests receive complimentary bottle of water upon check-in. There's also free parking and free Wi-Fi. The hotel offers 24-hour laundry service (fees apply) as well.

Two on-site restaurants provide guests with eclectic dining options. Inn at the Park is a California-style bistro with a spacious outdoor patio and a lively piano bar. Top of the Park is more formal and is situated at the top of the hotel, where guests can savor panoramic views while they dine. The Top of the Park is only open for lunch.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (1 block)
  • San Diego Trolley (5 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (3 mi/5 km)
Attractions
  • Balboa Park (1 block)
  • San Diego Zoo (4 blocks)
  • Petco Park (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Old Town (3 mi/5 km)
  • Sea World (4 mi/6 km)
  • Point Loma (5 mi/8 km)
Business
  • 4,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Meeting planner on staff

 

Policies and fees
  • As of July 1st, parking will be converted from complimentary self-parking to Valet parking. The Valet parking fee will be $15/day, tax inclusive with in/out privileges.
  • The guestrooms and lobby at Inn at the Park hotel will be undergoing renovations starting November 14 November 2011 to 1 June 2012. We apologize in advance for any inconvenience and look forward to bringing our guests a new look at Inn at the Park.

.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7386 -117.1599
Area served
Minutes from downtown San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport
Area description
Local attractions include:San Diego Zoo (15-20 minute walk), Sea World, LegoLand, Wild Animal Park, Mission Beach, Coronado, Convention Center, Hillcrest area and the Gaslamp District.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Inn at the Park also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Inn at the Park Rooms

Two Bedroom Suite
At 1,100 sq ft our largest suites boast two bedrooms with a King bed and Queen bed, Cable T.V., a spacious living room, full kitchen with dining room, one full bath, a small balcony and pullout sofabed with two twins. Complimentary WIFI.Sleeps 6.
One Bedroom Suite
One king bed in bedroom. 725 square feet. Each suite includes: Cable TV. Full kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, stovetop, cookware, dinnerware, and utensils. Dining area and sitting area with pullout sofa sleeper consisting of two twin beds. Complimentary WIFI.Sleeps 4.
Studio Double Suite
Two queen beds. 525 square feet. Each suite includes: Cable TV. Full kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, stovetop, coffee/tea maker, cookware, dinnerware, and utensils. Dining area and Complimentary WIFI. Sleeps 4.
Studio Single Suite
One king bed. 525 square feet. Each suite includes: Cable. Full kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, stovetop, coffee/tea maker, cookware, dinnerware, and utensils. Dining area and sitting area with pullout sofa sleeper consisting of two twin beds. Complimentary WIFI.Sleeps 4.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Services
Laundry service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 0.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 0.8 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 0.8 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 2.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 0.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 0.8 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 0.8 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 2.2 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 2.2 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.2 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.4 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 2.8 mi
  • Sea World: 4.4 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.4 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 4.8 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 5.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6.2 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6.4 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 7.7 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 10.7 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 26.5 mi
  • Legoland: 28.4 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,117.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (113)

Ratings and reviews for Inn at the Park

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
113 out of 113
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bay Area Rob
San Francisco
Sep 22, 2012

Great location and staff.

While the hotel is being renovated they were good to give us a suite away from all the noise. The rooms were spacious, clean, newly renovated. The location is in Hillcrest right at Balboa Park which is a nice neighborhood. The staff was friendly and informative. The lower level bar/restaurant is a lot of fun at night with good staff and entertainment. The penthouse restaurant is beautiful with views. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the Marston House two blocks north is worth seeing. A must see is the Zoo and museums in Balboa Park. Hillcrest is a gay-friendly neighborhood with nice quiet streets and lots of restaurants.

Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bill TTTTTTTT
Business
New York, NY, USA
Sep 15, 2012

Almost Totally Cool

The place was great with one exception: they were in the process of installing AC but it was not yet operational:( I was told that it should be working by October. - Beyond that, the room was spacious and charming and the staff was terrific!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
boo bop
Simi Valley, CA
Sep 1, 2012

Clean new rennovated rooms

Ive stayed here before during the rennovaion but had a king room, which had its own living toom and balcony. I reserved a King rom for this stay but got 2 double beds as they didn't have any king rooms available. To my dismay the 2 double bed room was much smaller and didnt have a balcony or seperate living room, when I called front desk they said it would be an extra $30 for a balcony. My reservation said nothing about that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park right across the street at Balboa Park for free

Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJFish
Seattle, WA
Jun 25, 2012

Nice Place, Great Place Eventually

They are doing major renovations but we were assured they would locate us in one of their newly remodeled rooms as far from the construction as possible. The room was nice, more like a studio apartment with a kitchen, living room with a balcony with view of downtown and Mission Bay, a bedroom and nice bath. The major appliances weren't turned on yet in the kitchen but we ate out any way so it didn't matter. Staff was very helpful in arranging a nice flower arrangement and cold champaign in the room for our anniversary. Great location, walking distance to Balboa Park and on direct bus lines downtown. This will be a complete winner when construction is finished.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Happy Hour across the street and Jimmy Carter's Mexican food place, great drinks and food at inexpensive prices.

Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
california
Jun 28, 2011

not good

it looked nice but it has a very bad odor in their bath room in our room. we informed the front desk about this and they did not do any thing about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
california
Jun 28, 2011

not good

it looked nice but it has a very bad odor in their bath room in our room. we informed the front desk about this and they did not do any thing about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
OC
May 29, 2011

great location

Nice place. Did the trick for a wedding this weekend. Nothing wrong at all with the hotel, just beware on friday nights,the bar upstairs attracts a Lot of people and gets fairly loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
OC
May 29, 2011

great location

Nice place. Did the trick for a wedding this weekend. Nothing wrong at all with the hotel, just beware on friday nights,the bar upstairs attracts a Lot of people and gets fairly loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Shanghai china
May 26, 2011

Good hotel

Nice room, Ok breakfast, good location, free park, I would stay here next time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Shanghai china
May 26, 2011

Good hotel

Nice room, Ok breakfast, good location, free park, I would stay here next time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RedRaven
Denver, CO
Apr 9, 2011

Not what I expected

This hotel was nothing like I thought I was paying for. Our room was never booked officially due to them not "receiving" they claimed . So instead of the King Studio that I booked online, we were put into a Queen Studio on the first floor facing the front street. The bed and pillows were highly uncomfortable. On the second night we were woken by hammering or banging at 7am in the morning from beneath our room. The package that we booked was for buy 2 get one night free. We were so unsatisfied and we just turned in our keys and stayed with a relative for the remainder of our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top