$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

Inn at the Park

3 stars
View map of 525 Spruce, San Diego, CA 92103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Inn at the Park

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bill TTTTTTTT
Business
New York, NY, USA
Sep 15, 2012

Almost Totally Cool

The place was great with one exception: they were in the process of installing AC but it was not yet operational:( I was told that it should be working by October. - Beyond that, the room was spacious and charming and the staff was terrific!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gsvndkr
Business
Imperial, Ca
Feb 4, 2013

Weekend getaway

This hotel was amazing from start to end. The staff and environment was very welcoming. I would recommend it to anyone that wanted to stay just over night or for a week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paul Lavy
Business
Honolulu, HI
Jan 22, 2013

Nice but noisy.

Recently renovated rooms are clean, attractive, and well-equipped. The elevator is frustratingly slow, so could be a drawback if staying on upper floors. Extraordinarily noisy conditions during my second night. It sounded like a house party was occurring directly above my room, with constant foot stomping, furniture banging and creaking, people shouting and singing. This lasted from at least 1:00 am until about 4:30 am. I contacted the front desk to report the situation. I don't know whether the hotel staff did anything, but, if anything, the noise only worsened. It's not really the hotel staff's fault, but if this is the kind of patrons the hotel attracts, I would have to seriously reconsider whether I would stay here again, in spite of the fact that the stay was otherwise quite pleasant. The night-time staff may need better training on how to resolve these kinds of problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zoe Zoe's Mom
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Oct 17, 2012

Pretty nice hotel

In all honesty the beginning to the stay didn't start out great, but keep reading it does get better.... we arrived at 3:30 for check-in and the room wasn't ready. The staff said it would be another 30 minutes and unfortunately we were in a bit of a rush to get to an event. However, the staff did put us in a temporary room, so we could get ready and then we moved into our room before leaving for the evening. I was quite happy with how the staff handled the situation and turned a negative into a positive. The room was clean and had everything we needed. The continental breakfast in the morning was also very nice. Other than the hiccup in the beginning, this was a very nice hotel and I would stay here again! Also, the 2 bedroom suite that we had was pretty awesome with a lovely full service kitchen, which is great for a longer vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out Seaport Village for a nice ocean atmosphere and great pier dining!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Sep 24, 2012

No AC and plenty of construction

I checked in and went to my room. I was greeted with a sign that said no ac. As well, the hallway looked like a war zone. The construction was terrible. I walked downstairs and checked out immediately! Beware!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bay Area Rob
Business
San Francisco
Sep 22, 2012

Great location and staff.

While the hotel is being renovated they were good to give us a suite away from all the noise. The rooms were spacious, clean, newly renovated. The location is in Hillcrest right at Balboa Park which is a nice neighborhood. The staff was friendly and informative. The lower level bar/restaurant is a lot of fun at night with good staff and entertainment. The penthouse restaurant is beautiful with views. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the Marston House two blocks north is worth seeing. A must see is the Zoo and museums in Balboa Park. Hillcrest is a gay-friendly neighborhood with nice quiet streets and lots of restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bill TTTTTTTT
Business
New York, NY, USA
Sep 15, 2012

Almost Totally Cool

The place was great with one exception: they were in the process of installing AC but it was not yet operational:( I was told that it should be working by October. - Beyond that, the room was spacious and charming and the staff was terrific!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
boo bop
Business
Simi Valley, CA
Sep 1, 2012

Clean new rennovated rooms

Ive stayed here before during the rennovaion but had a king room, which had its own living toom and balcony. I reserved a King rom for this stay but got 2 double beds as they didn't have any king rooms available. To my dismay the 2 double bed room was much smaller and didnt have a balcony or seperate living room, when I called front desk they said it would be an extra $30 for a balcony. My reservation said nothing about that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park right across the street at Balboa Park for free

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJFish
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 25, 2012

Nice Place, Great Place Eventually

They are doing major renovations but we were assured they would locate us in one of their newly remodeled rooms as far from the construction as possible. The room was nice, more like a studio apartment with a kitchen, living room with a balcony with view of downtown and Mission Bay, a bedroom and nice bath. The major appliances weren't turned on yet in the kitchen but we ate out any way so it didn't matter. Staff was very helpful in arranging a nice flower arrangement and cold champaign in the room for our anniversary. Great location, walking distance to Balboa Park and on direct bus lines downtown. This will be a complete winner when construction is finished.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Happy Hour across the street and Jimmy Carter's Mexican food place, great drinks and food at inexpensive prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
california
Jun 28, 2011

not good

it looked nice but it has a very bad odor in their bath room in our room. we informed the front desk about this and they did not do any thing about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
OC
May 29, 2011

great location

Nice place. Did the trick for a wedding this weekend. Nothing wrong at all with the hotel, just beware on friday nights,the bar upstairs attracts a Lot of people and gets fairly loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top