$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 11, 2015 Check-out: Mar 13, 2015

Inn at the Park

3 stars
View map of 525 Spruce, San Diego, CA 92103

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
74 reviews
WIll stay here again for sure

I typically don't get excited about hotels, but this place went above and beyond at anticipating... See full review

  • heatherd
  • Oct 13, 2014
Amazing property in the heart of San Diego

We checked in Christmas night after spending the day with family close by. The suite was an... See full review

  • Nan2
  • Dec 27, 2013
Historic all-suite hotel near Balboa Park
Sitting on the edge of Balboa Park, the seven-story Inn At The Park is an independently owned, all-suite boutique hotel. The building itself dates back to 1926 and interior arches and moldings invoke a simpler time. Rooms are modern and spacious; even standard room measure 525 square feet. Guests enjoy different specialties at two on-site restaurants--Inn at the Park and Top of the Park-- which offer very different dining experiences.
Highlights
  • Situated on the doorstep of Balboa Park
  • Dine at two on-site restaurants
  • Authentic turn-of-the-century decor
Rooms

Inn At The Park offers 75 suites varying in size with views of Balboa Park or San Diego Bay. Each room comes standard with a Sealy Posturepedic bed, antique furnishings and a cozy kitchenette. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access.

Features

Inn At The Park was built in 1926 and has retained most of its grandeur and details from that era. Crown moldings line the ceilings of every room. Archways ring the lobby.

Despite these historic touches, the property is totally modern. Guests receive complimentary bottle of water upon check-in. There's also free parking and free Wi-Fi. The hotel offers 24-hour laundry service (fees apply) as well.

Two on-site restaurants provide guests with eclectic dining options. Inn at the Park is a California-style bistro with a spacious outdoor patio and a lively piano bar. Top of the Park is more formal and is situated at the top of the hotel, where guests can savor panoramic views while they dine. The Top of the Park is only open for lunch.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (1 block)
  • San Diego Trolley (5 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (3 mi/5 km)
Attractions
  • Balboa Park (1 block)
  • San Diego Zoo (4 blocks)
  • Petco Park (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Old Town (3 mi/5 km)
  • Sea World (4 mi/6 km)
  • Point Loma (5 mi/8 km)
Business
  • 4,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Meeting planner on staff

 

Policies and fees
  • As of July 1st, parking will be converted from complimentary self-parking to Valet parking. The Valet parking fee will be $15/day, tax inclusive with in/out privileges.
  • The guestrooms and lobby at Inn at the Park hotel will be undergoing renovations starting November 14 November 2011 to 1 June 2012. We apologize in advance for any inconvenience and look forward to bringing our guests a new look at Inn at the Park.

.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Inn at the Park also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Inn at the Park Rooms

Two Bedroom Suite
At 1,100 sq ft our largest suites boast two bedrooms with a King bed and Queen bed, Cable T.V., a spacious living room, full kitchen with dining room, one full bath, a small balcony and pullout sofabed with two twins. Complimentary WIFI.Sleeps 6.
One Bedroom Suite
One king bed in bedroom. 725 square feet. Each suite includes: Cable TV. Full kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, stovetop, cookware, dinnerware, and utensils. Dining area and sitting area with pullout sofa sleeper consisting of two twin beds. Complimentary WIFI.Sleeps 4.
Studio Double Suite
Two queen beds. 525 square feet. Each suite includes: Cable TV. Full kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, stovetop, coffee/tea maker, cookware, dinnerware, and utensils. Dining area and Complimentary WIFI. Sleeps 4.
Studio Single Suite
One king bed. 525 square feet. Each suite includes: Cable. Full kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, stovetop, coffee/tea maker, cookware, dinnerware, and utensils. Dining area and sitting area with pullout sofa sleeper consisting of two twin beds. Complimentary WIFI.Sleeps 4.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Services
Laundry service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 0.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 0.8 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 0.8 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 2.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 0.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 0.8 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 0.8 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 2.2 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.2 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.4 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 2.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.4 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 4.8 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 5.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6.2 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6.4 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 7.7 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 10.7 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 26.5 mi
  • Legoland: 28.4 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,117.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (74)

Ratings and reviews for Inn at the Park

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gsvndkr
Business
Imperial, Ca
Feb 4, 2013

Weekend getaway

This hotel was amazing from start to end. The staff and environment was very welcoming. I would recommend it to anyone that wanted to stay just over night or for a week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paul Lavy
Business
Honolulu, HI
Jan 22, 2013

Nice but noisy.

Recently renovated rooms are clean, attractive, and well-equipped. The elevator is frustratingly slow, so could be a drawback if staying on upper floors. Extraordinarily noisy conditions during my second night. It sounded like a house party was occurring directly above my room, with constant foot stomping, furniture banging and creaking, people shouting and singing. This lasted from at least 1:00 am until about 4:30 am. I contacted the front desk to report the situation. I don't know whether the hotel staff did anything, but, if anything, the noise only worsened. It's not really the hotel staff's fault, but if this is the kind of patrons the hotel attracts, I would have to seriously reconsider whether I would stay here again, in spite of the fact that the stay was otherwise quite pleasant. The night-time staff may need better training on how to resolve these kinds of problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zoe Zoe's Mom
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Oct 17, 2012

Pretty nice hotel

In all honesty the beginning to the stay didn't start out great, but keep reading it does get better.... we arrived at 3:30 for check-in and the room wasn't ready. The staff said it would be another 30 minutes and unfortunately we were in a bit of a rush to get to an event. However, the staff did put us in a temporary room, so we could get ready and then we moved into our room before leaving for the evening. I was quite happy with how the staff handled the situation and turned a negative into a positive. The room was clean and had everything we needed. The continental breakfast in the morning was also very nice. Other than the hiccup in the beginning, this was a very nice hotel and I would stay here again! Also, the 2 bedroom suite that we had was pretty awesome with a lovely full service kitchen, which is great for a longer vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out Seaport Village for a nice ocean atmosphere and great pier dining!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Sep 24, 2012

No AC and plenty of construction

I checked in and went to my room. I was greeted with a sign that said no ac. As well, the hallway looked like a war zone. The construction was terrible. I walked downstairs and checked out immediately! Beware!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bay Area Rob
Business
San Francisco
Sep 22, 2012

Great location and staff.

While the hotel is being renovated they were good to give us a suite away from all the noise. The rooms were spacious, clean, newly renovated. The location is in Hillcrest right at Balboa Park which is a nice neighborhood. The staff was friendly and informative. The lower level bar/restaurant is a lot of fun at night with good staff and entertainment. The penthouse restaurant is beautiful with views. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the Marston House two blocks north is worth seeing. A must see is the Zoo and museums in Balboa Park. Hillcrest is a gay-friendly neighborhood with nice quiet streets and lots of restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bill TTTTTTTT
Business
New York, NY, USA
Sep 15, 2012

Almost Totally Cool

The place was great with one exception: they were in the process of installing AC but it was not yet operational:( I was told that it should be working by October. - Beyond that, the room was spacious and charming and the staff was terrific!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
boo bop
Business
Simi Valley, CA
Sep 1, 2012

Clean new rennovated rooms

Ive stayed here before during the rennovaion but had a king room, which had its own living toom and balcony. I reserved a King rom for this stay but got 2 double beds as they didn't have any king rooms available. To my dismay the 2 double bed room was much smaller and didnt have a balcony or seperate living room, when I called front desk they said it would be an extra $30 for a balcony. My reservation said nothing about that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park right across the street at Balboa Park for free

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJFish
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 25, 2012

Nice Place, Great Place Eventually

They are doing major renovations but we were assured they would locate us in one of their newly remodeled rooms as far from the construction as possible. The room was nice, more like a studio apartment with a kitchen, living room with a balcony with view of downtown and Mission Bay, a bedroom and nice bath. The major appliances weren't turned on yet in the kitchen but we ate out any way so it didn't matter. Staff was very helpful in arranging a nice flower arrangement and cold champaign in the room for our anniversary. Great location, walking distance to Balboa Park and on direct bus lines downtown. This will be a complete winner when construction is finished.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Happy Hour across the street and Jimmy Carter's Mexican food place, great drinks and food at inexpensive prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
california
Jun 28, 2011

not good

it looked nice but it has a very bad odor in their bath room in our room. we informed the front desk about this and they did not do any thing about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
OC
May 29, 2011

great location

Nice place. Did the trick for a wedding this weekend. Nothing wrong at all with the hotel, just beware on friday nights,the bar upstairs attracts a Lot of people and gets fairly loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top