$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 6, 2014 Check-out: Oct 8, 2014

Inn at the Park

3 stars
525 Spruce, San Diego, CA 92103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
70 reviews
Amazing property in the heart of San Diego

We checked in Christmas night after spending the day with family close by. The suite was an... See full review

  • Nan2
  • Dec 27, 2013
the start of a wonderful holiday...

our stay at the inn at the park was the beginning of a wonderful family vacation which included a... See full review

  • e's 21st birthday bash
  • Dec 10, 2013
Historic all-suite hotel near Balboa Park
Sitting on the edge of Balboa Park, the seven-story Inn At The Park is an independently owned, all-suite boutique hotel. The building itself dates back to 1926 and interior arches and moldings invoke a simpler time. Rooms are modern and spacious; even standard room measure 525 square feet. Guests enjoy different specialties at two on-site restaurants--Inn at the Park and Top of the Park-- which offer very different dining experiences.
Highlights
  • Situated on the doorstep of Balboa Park
  • Dine at two on-site restaurants
  • Authentic turn-of-the-century decor
Rooms

Inn At The Park offers 75 suites varying in size with views of Balboa Park or San Diego Bay. Each room comes standard with a Sealy Posturepedic bed, antique furnishings and a cozy kitchenette. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access.

Features

Inn At The Park was built in 1926 and has retained most of its grandeur and details from that era. Crown moldings line the ceilings of every room. Archways ring the lobby.

Despite these historic touches, the property is totally modern. Guests receive complimentary bottle of water upon check-in. There's also free parking and free Wi-Fi. The hotel offers 24-hour laundry service (fees apply) as well.

Two on-site restaurants provide guests with eclectic dining options. Inn at the Park is a California-style bistro with a spacious outdoor patio and a lively piano bar. Top of the Park is more formal and is situated at the top of the hotel, where guests can savor panoramic views while they dine. The Top of the Park is only open for lunch.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (1 block)
  • San Diego Trolley (5 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (3 mi/5 km)
Attractions
  • Balboa Park (1 block)
  • San Diego Zoo (4 blocks)
  • Petco Park (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Old Town (3 mi/5 km)
  • Sea World (4 mi/6 km)
  • Point Loma (5 mi/8 km)
Business
  • 4,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Meeting planner on staff

 

Policies and fees
  • As of July 1st, parking will be converted from complimentary self-parking to Valet parking. The Valet parking fee will be $15/day, tax inclusive with in/out privileges.
  • The guestrooms and lobby at Inn at the Park hotel will be undergoing renovations starting November 14 November 2011 to 1 June 2012. We apologize in advance for any inconvenience and look forward to bringing our guests a new look at Inn at the Park.

.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7386 -117.1599
Area served
Minutes from downtown San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport
Area description
Local attractions include:San Diego Zoo (15-20 minute walk), Sea World, LegoLand, Wild Animal Park, Mission Beach, Coronado, Convention Center, Hillcrest area and the Gaslamp District.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Inn at the Park also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Inn at the Park Rooms

Two Bedroom Suite
At 1,100 sq ft our largest suites boast two bedrooms with a King bed and Queen bed, Cable T.V., a spacious living room, full kitchen with dining room, one full bath, a small balcony and pullout sofabed with two twins. Complimentary WIFI.Sleeps 6.
One Bedroom Suite
One king bed in bedroom. 725 square feet. Each suite includes: Cable TV. Full kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, stovetop, cookware, dinnerware, and utensils. Dining area and sitting area with pullout sofa sleeper consisting of two twin beds. Complimentary WIFI.Sleeps 4.
Studio Double Suite
Two queen beds. 525 square feet. Each suite includes: Cable TV. Full kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, stovetop, coffee/tea maker, cookware, dinnerware, and utensils. Dining area and Complimentary WIFI. Sleeps 4.
Studio Single Suite
One king bed. 525 square feet. Each suite includes: Cable. Full kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, stovetop, coffee/tea maker, cookware, dinnerware, and utensils. Dining area and sitting area with pullout sofa sleeper consisting of two twin beds. Complimentary WIFI.Sleeps 4.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Services
Laundry service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 0.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 0.8 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 0.8 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 2.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 0.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 0.8 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 0.8 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 2.2 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 2.2 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.2 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.4 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 2.8 mi
  • Sea World: 4.4 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.4 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 4.8 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 5.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6.2 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6.4 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 7.7 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 10.7 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 26.5 mi
  • Legoland: 28.4 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,117.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (70)

Ratings and reviews for Inn at the Park

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
70 out of 70
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bay Area Rob
San Francisco
Sep 22, 2012

Great location and staff.

While the hotel is being renovated they were good to give us a suite away from all the noise. The rooms were spacious, clean, newly renovated. The location is in Hillcrest right at Balboa Park which is a nice neighborhood. The staff was friendly and informative. The lower level bar/restaurant is a lot of fun at night with good staff and entertainment. The penthouse restaurant is beautiful with views. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the Marston House two blocks north is worth seeing. A must see is the Zoo and museums in Balboa Park. Hillcrest is a gay-friendly neighborhood with nice quiet streets and lots of restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Butterflies Still
Mobile, Al.
Jul 12, 2013

Exceptional trip

Great location we never rented a car as the Inn was within walking distance to balboa park,museums,and world famous San Diego zoo. Staff was the best ever, very good breakfast buffet and fantastic omelets,etc. off the menu not your typical hotel food. Great entertainment and Braised Ribs in the piano bar restaurant where we were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary also fulfilled a bucket list dream to return to San Diego. Taxi rides from/to airport and Sea World which were both close by so rates were very reasonable including $5.00 tips. Wonderful memories made, Thanks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MarkAC
Orange County, California
Jul 2, 2013

Inn at the Park - dont be in the dark

The title suggests - dont forget to checkout this hotel and remain in the dark. It has a perfect location: - for tranquility at night, - a roomtop view for breakfast that allows you to believe you're close to nature due to the proximity of balbou park - closeness to restaurants, nightlife and the park meaning no need for car - very spacious rooms - possibly the largest rooms i have stayed in for this price (and i travelled all round the world) - all amenities in the room - no need to call for extras

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

check the proximity of restaurants - you can walk to dinner each night...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cesmontesd
Mexico
Apr 27, 2013

it's Good

very nice place to stay, the restaurante has a nice view

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cat Nabors
Hanford, CA
Apr 21, 2013

All in all it was a good stay

The hotel was pretty nice. Only complaints would be the lack of wifi in the rooms and the road noise. Could hear sirens almost every night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Random Travel
Palm Springs, CA
Feb 22, 2013

Historic Hotel

Inn at the Park is perfect for people who don't care for large, corporate hotels. Its been remodeled in the Hollywood Regency style. The staff are very personable and were genuinely interested in our experience while staying with them. The restaurant on the ground floor was a surprise with good food and live music. The hotel is a short walk to the park and Hillcrest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Check out the restaurant. They offer comfort food and comfort prices. The live music was really good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BVMman
Orange County, CA
Feb 11, 2013

Inn At The Park

I have stayed at Inn At The Park several times. This weekend I recommended it to family and friends and they loved it. Will continue to support this venue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gsvndkr
Imperial, Ca
Feb 4, 2013

Weekend getaway

This hotel was amazing from start to end. The staff and environment was very welcoming. I would recommend it to anyone that wanted to stay just over night or for a week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paul Lavy
Business
Honolulu, HI
Jan 22, 2013

Nice but noisy.

Recently renovated rooms are clean, attractive, and well-equipped. The elevator is frustratingly slow, so could be a drawback if staying on upper floors. Extraordinarily noisy conditions during my second night. It sounded like a house party was occurring directly above my room, with constant foot stomping, furniture banging and creaking, people shouting and singing. This lasted from at least 1:00 am until about 4:30 am. I contacted the front desk to report the situation. I don't know whether the hotel staff did anything, but, if anything, the noise only worsened. It's not really the hotel staff's fault, but if this is the kind of patrons the hotel attracts, I would have to seriously reconsider whether I would stay here again, in spite of the fact that the stay was otherwise quite pleasant. The night-time staff may need better training on how to resolve these kinds of problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zoe Zoe's Mom
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Oct 17, 2012

Pretty nice hotel

In all honesty the beginning to the stay didn't start out great, but keep reading it does get better.... we arrived at 3:30 for check-in and the room wasn't ready. The staff said it would be another 30 minutes and unfortunately we were in a bit of a rush to get to an event. However, the staff did put us in a temporary room, so we could get ready and then we moved into our room before leaving for the evening. I was quite happy with how the staff handled the situation and turned a negative into a positive. The room was clean and had everything we needed. The continental breakfast in the morning was also very nice. Other than the hiccup in the beginning, this was a very nice hotel and I would stay here again! Also, the 2 bedroom suite that we had was pretty awesome with a lovely full service kitchen, which is great for a longer vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out Seaport Village for a nice ocean atmosphere and great pier dining!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Sep 24, 2012

No AC and plenty of construction

I checked in and went to my room. I was greeted with a sign that said no ac. As well, the hallway looked like a war zone. The construction was terrible. I walked downstairs and checked out immediately! Beware!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top