$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 1, 2015 Check-out: Mar 2, 2015

Inn at the Park

3 stars
525 Spruce, San Diego, CA 92103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
74 reviews
WIll stay here again for sure

I typically don't get excited about hotels, but this place went above and beyond at anticipating... See full review

  • heatherd
  • Oct 13, 2014
Amazing property in the heart of San Diego

We checked in Christmas night after spending the day with family close by. The suite was an... See full review

  • Nan2
  • Dec 27, 2013
Historic all-suite hotel near Balboa Park
Sitting on the edge of Balboa Park, the seven-story Inn At The Park is an independently owned, all-suite boutique hotel. The building itself dates back to 1926 and interior arches and moldings invoke a simpler time. Rooms are modern and spacious; even standard room measure 525 square feet. Guests enjoy different specialties at two on-site restaurants--Inn at the Park and Top of the Park-- which offer very different dining experiences.
Highlights
  • Situated on the doorstep of Balboa Park
  • Dine at two on-site restaurants
  • Authentic turn-of-the-century decor
Rooms

Inn At The Park offers 75 suites varying in size with views of Balboa Park or San Diego Bay. Each room comes standard with a Sealy Posturepedic bed, antique furnishings and a cozy kitchenette. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access.

Features

Inn At The Park was built in 1926 and has retained most of its grandeur and details from that era. Crown moldings line the ceilings of every room. Archways ring the lobby.

Despite these historic touches, the property is totally modern. Guests receive complimentary bottle of water upon check-in. There's also free parking and free Wi-Fi. The hotel offers 24-hour laundry service (fees apply) as well.

Two on-site restaurants provide guests with eclectic dining options. Inn at the Park is a California-style bistro with a spacious outdoor patio and a lively piano bar. Top of the Park is more formal and is situated at the top of the hotel, where guests can savor panoramic views while they dine. The Top of the Park is only open for lunch.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (1 block)
  • San Diego Trolley (5 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (3 mi/5 km)
Attractions
  • Balboa Park (1 block)
  • San Diego Zoo (4 blocks)
  • Petco Park (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Old Town (3 mi/5 km)
  • Sea World (4 mi/6 km)
  • Point Loma (5 mi/8 km)
Business
  • 4,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Meeting planner on staff

 

Policies and fees
  • As of July 1st, parking will be converted from complimentary self-parking to Valet parking. The Valet parking fee will be $15/day, tax inclusive with in/out privileges.
  • The guestrooms and lobby at Inn at the Park hotel will be undergoing renovations starting November 14 November 2011 to 1 June 2012. We apologize in advance for any inconvenience and look forward to bringing our guests a new look at Inn at the Park.

.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Inn at the Park also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Inn at the Park Rooms

Two Bedroom Suite
At 1,100 sq ft our largest suites boast two bedrooms with a King bed and Queen bed, Cable T.V., a spacious living room, full kitchen with dining room, one full bath, a small balcony and pullout sofabed with two twins. Complimentary WIFI.Sleeps 6.
One Bedroom Suite
One king bed in bedroom. 725 square feet. Each suite includes: Cable TV. Full kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, stovetop, cookware, dinnerware, and utensils. Dining area and sitting area with pullout sofa sleeper consisting of two twin beds. Complimentary WIFI.Sleeps 4.
Studio Double Suite
Two queen beds. 525 square feet. Each suite includes: Cable TV. Full kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, stovetop, coffee/tea maker, cookware, dinnerware, and utensils. Dining area and Complimentary WIFI. Sleeps 4.
Studio Single Suite
One king bed. 525 square feet. Each suite includes: Cable. Full kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, stovetop, coffee/tea maker, cookware, dinnerware, and utensils. Dining area and sitting area with pullout sofa sleeper consisting of two twin beds. Complimentary WIFI.Sleeps 4.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Services
Laundry service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 0.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 0.8 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 0.8 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 2.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 0.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 0.8 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 0.8 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 2.2 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.2 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.4 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 2.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.4 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 4.8 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 5.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6.2 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6.4 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 7.7 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 10.7 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 26.5 mi
  • Legoland: 28.4 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,117.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (74)

Ratings and reviews for Inn at the Park

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bay Area Rob
San Francisco
Sep 22, 2012

Great location and staff.

While the hotel is being renovated they were good to give us a suite away from all the noise. The rooms were spacious, clean, newly renovated. The location is in Hillcrest right at Balboa Park which is a nice neighborhood. The staff was friendly and informative. The lower level bar/restaurant is a lot of fun at night with good staff and entertainment. The penthouse restaurant is beautiful with views. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the Marston House two blocks north is worth seeing. A must see is the Zoo and museums in Balboa Park. Hillcrest is a gay-friendly neighborhood with nice quiet streets and lots of restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JayDub
Business
Annandale, VA, USA
Oct 9, 2013

I wish we could have stayed longer....

We were only staying one night in San Diego...this hotel would also be great for extended stays. The check-in was efficient, valet parking fees were very reasonable, and the concierge, Richard, was very helpful recommending restaurants, etc. Close proximity to Balboa Park was key. Continental breakfast was no better than motel-fare, but the host was very congenial, and dining on the roof-top patio with a view was nice. The building has lots of character; nice wide halls, and our room was very large. The kitchen was well stocked for preparing small meals . Most of all we loved the decor. We will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you find yourself in Old Town, stop in at Fred's for lunch. Great Tex-Mex and service. Loved the patio.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jennidoll82
Business
Carlsbad, CA
Aug 26, 2013

Great Location!

This hotel is centrally located for easy walking to Balboa Park and Hillcrest nightlife/shopping and eating! We are from San Diego but wanted to do a night away "on the town" and this hotel was perfect! I wish they didn't charge 15 bucks for parking and that they didn't invite you you to a timeshare style seminar, but other than that I really have nothing but great things to say about the place. The rooms are awesome, having a mini kitchen is great and there's even a 7-11 across the street in case you forgot to bring a bottle of wine :) The rooftop is breathtaking and even though the place is old and funky, that's part of the charm and I always prefer places with some character as opposed to the normal cookie cutter hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hash House A-Go-Go is a short walk up 5th Ave. and is the BEST (and biggest) breakfast in town! Get there early, it fills up fast and can have a looong wait. Oh, and try the french toast. Seriously.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jeff weho
Business
boston, mass
Aug 21, 2013

paradise at THE PARK

everything was excellent: the room itself, the conciergne, front desk staff, restaurant servers, food quality, rooftop views, rooftop friday happy hour, location. it has windows that open, ceiling fans, a/c, everything you could want in a kitchen including a cooktop and utensils, really comfy bed. who would want to go home?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Crazy Reds
Business
San Diego
Jul 27, 2013

Good for Family big rooms

Loved the rooms we had 11 6 Adults 6 kids with us and when we all got together one night to make dinner we all fit very well in one room. We were a little disappointed there was no pool, which we knew when we booked, but would have been a nice perk. We though we we closer to the beach. You can't walk to the beach or seaport village, you pretty much have to drive any where you go except to the the park accross the street which is very nice The rooms were very clean but had a very musty smell

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Butterflies Still
Business
Mobile, Al.
Jul 12, 2013

Exceptional trip

Great location we never rented a car as the Inn was within walking distance to balboa park,museums,and world famous San Diego zoo. Staff was the best ever, very good breakfast buffet and fantastic omelets,etc. off the menu not your typical hotel food. Great entertainment and Braised Ribs in the piano bar restaurant where we were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary also fulfilled a bucket list dream to return to San Diego. Taxi rides from/to airport and Sea World which were both close by so rates were very reasonable including $5.00 tips. Wonderful memories made, Thanks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MarkAC
Business
Orange County, California
Jul 2, 2013

Inn at the Park - dont be in the dark

The title suggests - dont forget to checkout this hotel and remain in the dark. It has a perfect location: - for tranquility at night, - a roomtop view for breakfast that allows you to believe you're close to nature due to the proximity of balbou park - closeness to restaurants, nightlife and the park meaning no need for car - very spacious rooms - possibly the largest rooms i have stayed in for this price (and i travelled all round the world) - all amenities in the room - no need to call for extras

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

check the proximity of restaurants - you can walk to dinner each night...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cesmontesd
Business
Mexico
Apr 27, 2013

it's Good

very nice place to stay, the restaurante has a nice view

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cat Nabors
Business
Hanford, CA
Apr 21, 2013

All in all it was a good stay

The hotel was pretty nice. Only complaints would be the lack of wifi in the rooms and the road noise. Could hear sirens almost every night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Random Travel
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Feb 22, 2013

Historic Hotel

Inn at the Park is perfect for people who don't care for large, corporate hotels. Its been remodeled in the Hollywood Regency style. The staff are very personable and were genuinely interested in our experience while staying with them. The restaurant on the ground floor was a surprise with good food and live music. The hotel is a short walk to the park and Hillcrest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Check out the restaurant. They offer comfort food and comfort prices. The live music was really good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BVMman
Business
Orange County, CA
Feb 11, 2013

Inn At The Park

I have stayed at Inn At The Park several times. This weekend I recommended it to family and friends and they loved it. Will continue to support this venue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top