$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

Inn at the Park

3 stars
View map of 525 Spruce, San Diego, CA 92103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Inn at the Park

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JayDub
Business
Annandale, VA, USA
Oct 9, 2013

I wish we could have stayed longer....

We were only staying one night in San Diego...this hotel would also be great for extended stays. The check-in was efficient, valet parking fees were very reasonable, and the concierge, Richard, was very helpful recommending restaurants, etc. Close proximity to Balboa Park was key. Continental breakfast was no better than motel-fare, but the host was very congenial, and dining on the roof-top patio with a view was nice. The building has lots of character; nice wide halls, and our room was very large. The kitchen was well stocked for preparing small meals . Most of all we loved the decor. We will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you find yourself in Old Town, stop in at Fred's for lunch. Great Tex-Mex and service. Loved the patio.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jennidoll82
Business
Carlsbad, CA
Aug 26, 2013

Great Location!

This hotel is centrally located for easy walking to Balboa Park and Hillcrest nightlife/shopping and eating! We are from San Diego but wanted to do a night away "on the town" and this hotel was perfect! I wish they didn't charge 15 bucks for parking and that they didn't invite you you to a timeshare style seminar, but other than that I really have nothing but great things to say about the place. The rooms are awesome, having a mini kitchen is great and there's even a 7-11 across the street in case you forgot to bring a bottle of wine :) The rooftop is breathtaking and even though the place is old and funky, that's part of the charm and I always prefer places with some character as opposed to the normal cookie cutter hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hash House A-Go-Go is a short walk up 5th Ave. and is the BEST (and biggest) breakfast in town! Get there early, it fills up fast and can have a looong wait. Oh, and try the french toast. Seriously.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jeff weho
Business
boston, mass
Aug 21, 2013

paradise at THE PARK

everything was excellent: the room itself, the conciergne, front desk staff, restaurant servers, food quality, rooftop views, rooftop friday happy hour, location. it has windows that open, ceiling fans, a/c, everything you could want in a kitchen including a cooktop and utensils, really comfy bed. who would want to go home?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Crazy Reds
Business
San Diego
Jul 27, 2013

Good for Family big rooms

Loved the rooms we had 11 6 Adults 6 kids with us and when we all got together one night to make dinner we all fit very well in one room. We were a little disappointed there was no pool, which we knew when we booked, but would have been a nice perk. We though we we closer to the beach. You can't walk to the beach or seaport village, you pretty much have to drive any where you go except to the the park accross the street which is very nice The rooms were very clean but had a very musty smell

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Butterflies Still
Business
Mobile, Al.
Jul 12, 2013

Exceptional trip

Great location we never rented a car as the Inn was within walking distance to balboa park,museums,and world famous San Diego zoo. Staff was the best ever, very good breakfast buffet and fantastic omelets,etc. off the menu not your typical hotel food. Great entertainment and Braised Ribs in the piano bar restaurant where we were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary also fulfilled a bucket list dream to return to San Diego. Taxi rides from/to airport and Sea World which were both close by so rates were very reasonable including $5.00 tips. Wonderful memories made, Thanks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MarkAC
Business
Orange County, California
Jul 2, 2013

Inn at the Park - dont be in the dark

The title suggests - dont forget to checkout this hotel and remain in the dark. It has a perfect location: - for tranquility at night, - a roomtop view for breakfast that allows you to believe you're close to nature due to the proximity of balbou park - closeness to restaurants, nightlife and the park meaning no need for car - very spacious rooms - possibly the largest rooms i have stayed in for this price (and i travelled all round the world) - all amenities in the room - no need to call for extras

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

check the proximity of restaurants - you can walk to dinner each night...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cesmontesd
Business
Mexico
Apr 27, 2013

it's Good

very nice place to stay, the restaurante has a nice view

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cat Nabors
Business
Hanford, CA
Apr 21, 2013

All in all it was a good stay

The hotel was pretty nice. Only complaints would be the lack of wifi in the rooms and the road noise. Could hear sirens almost every night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Random Travel
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Feb 22, 2013

Historic Hotel

Inn at the Park is perfect for people who don't care for large, corporate hotels. Its been remodeled in the Hollywood Regency style. The staff are very personable and were genuinely interested in our experience while staying with them. The restaurant on the ground floor was a surprise with good food and live music. The hotel is a short walk to the park and Hillcrest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Check out the restaurant. They offer comfort food and comfort prices. The live music was really good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BVMman
Business
Orange County, CA
Feb 11, 2013

Inn At The Park

I have stayed at Inn At The Park several times. This weekend I recommended it to family and friends and they loved it. Will continue to support this venue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top