$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

Inn at the Park

3 stars
View map of 525 Spruce, San Diego, CA 92103

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
73 reviews
WIll stay here again for sure

I typically don't get excited about hotels, but this place went above and beyond at anticipating... See full review

  • heatherd
  • Oct 13, 2014
Nice boutique hotel.

The hotel was undergoing construction at the time (2013) so many of the rooms were unavailable.... See full review

  • Casey D
  • Jul 14, 2015
Sitting on the edge of Balboa Park, the seven-story Inn At The Park is an independently owned, all-suite boutique hotel. The building itself dates back to 1926 and interior arches and moldings invoke a simpler time. Rooms are modern and spacious; even standard room measure 525 square feet. Guests enjoy different specialties at two on-site restaurants--Inn at the Park and Top of the Park-- which offer very different dining experiences.
Rooms

Inn At The Park offers 75 suites varying in size with views of Balboa Park or San Diego Bay. Each room comes standard with a Sealy Posturepedic bed, antique furnishings and a cozy kitchenette. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access.

Property features

Inn At The Park was built in 1926 and has retained most of its grandeur and details from that era. Crown moldings line the ceilings of every room. Archways ring the lobby.

Despite these historic touches, the property is totally modern. Guests receive complimentary bottle of water upon check-in. There's also free parking and free Wi-Fi. The hotel offers 24-hour laundry service (fees apply) as well.

Two on-site restaurants provide guests with eclectic dining options. Inn at the Park is a California-style bistro with a spacious outdoor patio and a lively piano bar. Top of the Park is more formal and is situated at the top of the hotel, where guests can savor panoramic views while they dine. The Top of the Park is only open for lunch.

Highlights
  • Situated on the doorstep of Balboa Park
  • Dine at two on-site restaurants
  • Authentic turn-of-the-century decor
Nearby attractions
  • Balboa Park (1 block)
  • San Diego Zoo (4 blocks)
  • Petco Park (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Old Town (3 mi/5 km)
  • Sea World (4 mi/6 km)
  • Point Loma (5 mi/8 km)
Business
  • 4,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Meeting planner on staff

 

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (1 block)
  • San Diego Trolley (5 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (3 mi/5 km)
Policies
  • As of July 1st, parking will be converted from complimentary self-parking to Valet parking. The Valet parking fee will be $15/day, tax inclusive with in/out privileges.
  • The guestrooms and lobby at Inn at the Park hotel will be undergoing renovations starting November 14 November 2011 to 1 June 2012. We apologize in advance for any inconvenience and look forward to bringing our guests a new look at Inn at the Park.

.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Inn at the Park also booked these hotels.

★★★
$113
4.0 / 5 202 reviews
★★★
$103
3.3 / 5 302 reviews
★★★
$130
3.9 / 5 23 reviews
★★★
$117
3.6 / 5 35 reviews
★★★
$119
3.6 / 5 260 reviews
★★★
$101
4.1 / 5 371 reviews
★★
$153
3.4 / 5 74 reviews
★★★★
$143
3.9 / 5 284 reviews

Inn at the Park Rooms

Two Bedroom Suite
At 1,100 sq ft our largest suites boast two bedrooms with a King bed and Queen bed, Cable T.V., a spacious living room, full kitchen with dining room, one full bath, a small balcony and pullout sofabed with two twins. Complimentary WIFI.Sleeps 6.
One Bedroom Suite
One king bed in bedroom. 725 square feet. Each suite includes: Cable TV. Full kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, stovetop, cookware, dinnerware, and utensils. Dining area and sitting area with pullout sofa sleeper consisting of two twin beds. Complimentary WIFI.Sleeps 4.
Studio Double Suite
Two queen beds. 525 square feet. Each suite includes: Cable TV. Full kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, stovetop, coffee/tea maker, cookware, dinnerware, and utensils. Dining area and Complimentary WIFI. Sleeps 4.
Studio Single Suite
One king bed. 525 square feet. Each suite includes: Cable. Full kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, stovetop, coffee/tea maker, cookware, dinnerware, and utensils. Dining area and sitting area with pullout sofa sleeper consisting of two twin beds. Complimentary WIFI.Sleeps 4.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Services
Laundry service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Service dogs allowed
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 0.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 0.8 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 0.8 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 2.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 0.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 0.8 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 0.8 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 2.2 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.2 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.4 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 2.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.4 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 4.8 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 5.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6.2 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6.4 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 7.7 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 10.7 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 26.5 mi
  • Legoland: 28.4 mi
  • Viejas Arena: 2,117.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Inn at the Park

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Casey D
Friends
N/A
Jul 14, 2015

Nice boutique hotel.

The hotel was undergoing construction at the time (2013) so many of the rooms were unavailable. Other than that, I loved the style and theme of this historic hotel, and proximity to Balboa Park, Hillcrest, and Downtown make this a perfect spot to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Louise editor
Family
N/A
Feb 4, 2015

Suite excellent

The hotel is a remodeled residence building attempting to be part of an interval-ownership resort group. The suites are delightful, very comfortable and well-decorated. There were two problems for us -- no restaurant on site and an effort to sell us on the interval- ownership idea as soon as we walked in the door when we were tired and hungry. Other than that, we had a great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Balboa Park is wonderful.

Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Katie
Business
N/A
Jan 26, 2015

It could have been great...

I'll start by saying that this property is really picturesque. The grounds seem to be well maintained for the most part, and the rooms are beautiful. I personally could not sleep in the bed, as it was too hard and hurt my back, and slept on the couch, which was very large and comfortable. But I could look beyond that... Additionally, all of the 3rd party sites I looked on said that WiFi was free, however we were told it was approximately $5 per night upon arrival. Again, I could look beyond that. What I could not look beyond is the fact that after reading "the hotel is undergoing construction to install carpet in the hallways and there will be minimal disruption including dust and noise" and thinking that minimal disruption would be just that, minimal, somehow being woken up at 8am two mornings of the three nights we stayed there is acceptable to the management of the property. The first morning, we let it go, and got up to leave and have breakfast. When it happened again the following morning, we called the front desk to let them know that it was highly disruptive and waking us up, they said "earplugs are available" which is completely unacceptable. How, starting construction at 8am, in areas of the hotel where guests are staying, is acceptable, is beyond me. Had the staff been sympathetic to our complaint in any way, perhaps I would not be this bitter about our stay, but they were very dismissive and it really ruined our time there. Needless to say, I won't be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Whitney O.
Couples
San Francisco
Jan 17, 2015

Good hotel, staff aggressive in trying to sell it

The hotel itself was great, room great, roof patio great, location great, but the staff tried to contact us several times to buy a timeshare. Calling someone at 8am on their vacation is just plain mean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
heatherd
Couples
Washington DC
Oct 13, 2014

WIll stay here again for sure

I typically don't get excited about hotels, but this place went above and beyond at anticipating the needs of their guests! The rooms were bright/modern/comfortable and felt like a home away from home complete with a sitting area/kitchen/walk in closet/bathroom and large comfy bed. Our family tries to eat healthy so I especially loved that there was a kitchen so we could make our own meals/snacks when wanted to (a Whole Foods is a short drive from here) and there was a fast food Vegan/Vegetarian drive through a block or two away. If you would rather go out to eat though there are TONS of options downtown so the location was great too. Across the street is the famous Balboa park! Let's see...what else...the staff was very friendly/helpful and just the right amount. Always around if you needed help or had a question, but not pushy. The fact that there were laundry facilities was a perk for us as we like to return home from trips with clean clothes instead of a pile of dirty clothes. We had such a pleasant stay here and will definitely be back and would definitely recommend to family and friends. Thanks again for making our stay in San Diego so pleasant and relaxing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

walk downtown and save the meter fees!

Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
edbyker
Couples
san juan capistrano , california
Sep 13, 2014

balboa park & the outdoors

the hotel & staff were great & very accomodating & the rooms clean & large. fully equipped kitchen & upgraded from the original 1929 with some art deco touches. meed was especially helpful with our luggage & valet parking on check in. definitely recommend this hotel. within walking distance of balboa park , walking & biking paths , & green belts

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

don't miss the eggplant & meatball heros @ family owned / operated san fellippos around the corner! (fresh onions & peppers ~$1 extra ; manga!)

Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Laurax 72
Family
Portland, OR
Jun 24, 2014

Lovely Hotel, Great Location

Our family stayed at the Inn at the Park the last night of our visit to California, and we found it lovely. It was well kept, spotless, well organized and came equipped with a small kitchen and lovely bath. We had plenty of space, and a nice view of the San Diego Skyline as well as the park. All this, and the cost was quite reasonable as well. I highly recommend this hotel, and would add that the staff were also lovely to be around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelling with a toddler
Family
Honolulu, HI
Jun 10, 2014

eclectic room decor and nice boutique hotel

the decorations and furniture of the hotel room was so unique and cool! we loved the kitchenette concept (even though we didn't use it since we weren't staying there for long), but it would be ideal for a 3-day or week long stay. parking situation could be a little better (lame to have to valet and pay for parking), but overall, a great stay and great location (next to balboa park where the zoo and museums are).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JossLynn
Couples
Los Angeles, California
Apr 28, 2014

Weekend getaway

I stayed at the hotel just this past weekend and I have nothing but great things to say about it. The staff was friendly from the minute we arrived, our room was larger than I expected, and very well kept. I will definitely be going back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Inn at the Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nan2
Couples
Huntington Beach, CA
Dec 27, 2013

Amazing property in the heart of San Diego

We checked in Christmas night after spending the day with family close by. The suite was an absolute stunner, especially considering the room rate! The building is architecturally beautiful and the rooms match in a light, clean, crisp Art Deco style. Every amenity is provided and every surface is spotless. I seriously could live in this studio suite. We enjoyed a leisurely breakfast at the roof top restaurant which was a delicious meal elegantly presented and value priced. The view from the roof was spectacular. We will be back and recommend this property highly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Balboa Park is directly across the street and there is a free trolley that picks up about a block away.

Back to menu Return to top