$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 10, 2015 Check-out: Jan 13, 2015

Hyatt Regency La Jolla

4 stars
3777 La Jolla Village Dr, SAN DIEGO, CA 92122
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
93 reviews
Beautiful getaway

Gorgeous hotel with amazing restaurants across the parking lot. We had an amazing dinner at... See full review

  • McHappy
  • Jul 21, 2014
Terrific time

Overall the hotel was extremely clean, beautiful modern decor, great amenities, friendly staff, and... See full review

  • Joeste
  • Nov 18, 2014
State-of-the-art business, leisure and entertainment facilities

La Jolla literally means "Jewel" and guests staying at Hyatt Regency La Jolla enjoy outstanding facilities with a splash of Californian fun. Beaches boast an array of activities. Guests surf, dive, kayak or recline gently on warm sands. Customers enjoy gourmet cuisine at the Restaurant Row and "take-out" delivered in-room. Hyatt Regency La Jolla has a state-of-the-art StayFitTM fitness center that offers 1,300 square feet of equipment and exercise space, open 24/7. This is all located minutes from San Diego.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Hypoallergenic rooms to aid allergy sufferers
  • On-site restaurants will deliver to your room
  • State-of-the-art business and conference center
Hyatt Regency La Jolla Rooms

Hyatt Regency La Jolla boasts 419 rooms. Smoking rooms sport a filtration system that reduces odors. Respire rooms are hypoallergenic and undergo a six-step cleaning process (in addition to Hyatt cleaning procedures), to reduce airborne particles that may irritate allergy sufferers. Hyatt Regency La Jolla boasts a variety of spacious rooms for vacationers and lavish suites for business guests who wish to entertain. All suites comprise a fitted kitchenette, fully equipped. Recently refreshed rooms now include an iHome stereo with iPod docking station, 42-inch flat-screen TVs, daily newspaper (complimentary), high-speed Wi-Fi Internet (fees apply), in-room safe, and Portico bath products.

Things To Do:
  • Birch Aquarium at Scripps (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Scripps Institute of Oceanography (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Torrey Pines State beach (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • La Jolla Cove (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Giant Dipper Rollercoaster (7.7 mi/12.3 km)
  • Firehouse Museum (12.8 mi/20.6 km)
  • Hornblower Cruises (13 mi/20.9 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hyatt Regency La Jolla also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hyatt Regency La Jolla Rooms

Business Plan
Description not provided
Concierge
Regency Club lounge; private concierge, cont.breakfast;snacks, cocktails, paper daily, robes in room
Deluxe
1 King or 2 Double beds
Junior Suite
Description not provided
Standard
Contemporary West Coast Corporate flair and design.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Audio visual equipment
Blackboard
Conference suite
Cellular telephone rental
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Sorrento Valley: 2.4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 4.3 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.7 mi
  • Belmont Park: 7.1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 7.9 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 8.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 8.2 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 8.2 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 8.2 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 8.4 mi
  • Heritage Park: 8.4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 9.9 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 10 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 10.2 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 2.4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 4.3 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.7 mi
  • Belmont Park: 7.1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 7.9 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 8.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 8.2 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 8.2 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 8.2 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 8.4 mi
  • Heritage Park: 8.4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 9.9 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 10 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 10.2 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 10.4 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 10.5 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 10.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 10.6 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 10.6 mi
  • Botanical Building: 10.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 10.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 10.7 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 10.7 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 10.8 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 10.8 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 11.6 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 11.9 mi
  • PETCO Park: 12 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 17.6 mi
  • Legoland: 18.6 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 18.9 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,117.2 mi

Dining

Barcino Grill
Barcino Grill, located in the lower lobby of the hotel that serves breakfast buffet and can order off the menu.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (93)

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt Regency La Jolla

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 93
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt Regency La Jolla

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Redwood City Dad
Business
Redwood City, CA
Sep 29, 2014

Excellent hotel, reasonable price

Elegant, classy hotel. Convenient location for UCSD. Room very comfortable. Two minor complaints - there were literally no drawers in the room anywhere, and only a single serving of caffeinated coffee. But overall and excellent hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency La Jolla

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bama Scarecrow
Business
La Jolla, CA
Sep 16, 2013

Needs That Special Something

The Hyatt must understand that the first impression makes a lasting impression. I was told by the front desk staff that they could not check me in and give me my key even though I had pre-paid for our room, because I did not have credit card for incidentals. So I sat in the lobby charging my phone until I was able to contact my wife. I had just made a 5 hour ride on my motorcycle for the CA State HOG Rally held this year in San Diego. Once I went back to the desk the manager proceeded to tell me even though they required the card he would go ahead and let me check in, after I had asked him what he expected me to do for the next 2 hours while I was waiting for my wife and kids to join me. This was not the only unfortunate incident. While parking and having pulling up to the wrong entrance to the garage parking (I was in front of Staff entrance) the car behind starting blowing her horn, not very curteous from what you would expect from the staff. I will add that when we were asked how our stay was and we explained, they appologized and took off $50. We were thankful but the staff should be trained better. Not all the staff was like that, one of the consierge was extremely friendly and helpful not only to me but everyone I saw him speaking to. Sad it is those first sour grapes that put that bad taste in your mouth.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive up PCH

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency La Jolla

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
miniyang
Business
redmond, WA
Aug 28, 2013

pretty good

pretty good place. nice location and stuff are friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency La Jolla

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Tran Family
Business
Union City, CA
May 29, 2013

Very nice Hotel

Very satisfied with our stay. Will consider staying here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to SeaWorld

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency La Jolla

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dustmart
Business
Orange County, Ca
Dec 29, 2012

Beautiful hotel -bad service

Tried to check in one hour early and was told room wasn't ready. Because we were going to local sporting event that would last all night I asked the staffer to put me down for late check-in but to make sure the 2 queen bed room was reserved because one king didn't work for us. She said no problem. When we got to the hotel that night the hotel claimed to only have king bed rooms. I shared with the front desk that I needed the 2queen beds. I told her that another staffer has promised that the 2 queen bed would still be available. The front desk went into a back room and 5 minutes later said they had a room and made us a key. The problem was the room smelled really bad. Like bad b.o. or something. You all get the picture. Lets just say our stay didn't work out as planned. The hotel looks beautiful. Had a nice pool and good restraunts in its parking lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Had a Flemmings across from the hotel entrance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency La Jolla

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
yoshimi78
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 24, 2012

Sleep time

my room's bed was wonderful. Not too soft, not too hard, but very comfortable! The room was very clean and comfortable. The Bar was very nice and cozy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Habby's breakfast was very nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency La Jolla

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frequent coastal traveler
Business
Rancho mirage
Nov 24, 2012

Shop around

$20.00 for self parking $40.00 breakfast No am newspaper as advertised No in room coffee pot No kleenis in bathroom I will not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency La Jolla

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveller1003
Business
Las vegas
Sep 4, 2012

Poor quality

Rooms in poor condition. Stained carpet. Stained chair. Holes in drapes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency La Jolla

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steve and Dana
Business
Anaheim, California
Aug 6, 2012

Del Mar Weekend !!

We were in the area for a weekend away to celebrate a special anniversary and go to nearby Del Mar (great race track with plenty of history). The hotel is very nice: we liked the interior decorating and especially enjoyed the fresh cut flowers here and there. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. What really made this stay for us was the Hyatt staff. We don't know what Hyatt is doing to develop their personnel, but it's definitely working. Every staff member we met from start to finish was friendly, personable, approachable, very accommodating and committed to making our stay the best possible experience. From bell desk to front desk to housekeeping to lounge and diner, every one had a smile and a warm "hello", followed by an attentive demeanor. Kudos to Hyatt, and many thanks to the staff at the Hyatt La Jolla !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurants a few steps from the hotel entrance are nice and perfect for celebrating a special occasion.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency La Jolla

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mag28
Business
Phoenix Arizona
Jul 31, 2012

Work/Family getaway

Our first night was horrible. The hotel was over booked & we got stuck on a smoking level that caused our room to smell like smoke. We called the front desk & asked if we could be moved & we were told not until the next day. Our son ended up with bloody nose for over an hour with the smell & our room was on the 3rd floor that all night all we heard was people talking & yelling from the bar beneath us. Not a fun experience at all. However the next day I called & asked if we could be moved & the manager ended up crediting us one night & moved us to a higher level. Our bed was horrible because one side just rolled down if you slept on it. Not very impressed considering it was a Hyatt at La Jolle in San Diego. the location was great. We ate at Michaels for breakfast one morning, staff was extremely slow it was 10:30 they told us we could no longer order from the buffet that ended at 11AM not sure why? Overall it was okay. The manager did end up sending us fruit & a card for all the trouble!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Westfield mall was close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top