$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 10, 2014 Check-out: Oct 11, 2014

Hyatt Regency La Jolla

4 stars
3777 La Jolla Village Dr, SAN DIEGO, CA 92122
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
90 reviews
Beautiful getaway

Gorgeous hotel with amazing restaurants across the parking lot. We had an amazing dinner at... See full review

  • McHappy
  • Jul 21, 2014
Romantic anniversary weekend

Clean comfortable luxury with close proximity to the beach. Really enjoyed the pristine, beautiful... See full review

  • Soozy and Roberto
  • Apr 22, 2013
State-of-the-art business, leisure and entertainment facilities

La Jolla literally means "Jewel" and guests staying at Hyatt Regency La Jolla enjoy outstanding facilities with a splash of Californian fun. Beaches boast an array of activities. Guests surf, dive, kayak or recline gently on warm sands. Customers enjoy gourmet cuisine at the Restaurant Row and "take-out" delivered in-room. Hyatt Regency La Jolla has a state-of-the-art StayFitTM fitness center that offers 1,300 square feet of equipment and exercise space, open 24/7. This is all located minutes from San Diego.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Hypoallergenic rooms to aid allergy sufferers
  • On-site restaurants will deliver to your room
  • State-of-the-art business and conference center
Hyatt Regency La Jolla Rooms

Hyatt Regency La Jolla boasts 419 rooms. Smoking rooms sport a filtration system that reduces odors. Respire rooms are hypoallergenic and undergo a six-step cleaning process (in addition to Hyatt cleaning procedures), to reduce airborne particles that may irritate allergy sufferers. Hyatt Regency La Jolla boasts a variety of spacious rooms for vacationers and lavish suites for business guests who wish to entertain. All suites comprise a fitted kitchenette, fully equipped. Recently refreshed rooms now include an iHome stereo with iPod docking station, 42-inch flat-screen TVs, daily newspaper (complimentary), high-speed Wi-Fi Internet (fees apply), in-room safe, and Portico bath products.

Things To Do:
  • Birch Aquarium at Scripps (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Scripps Institute of Oceanography (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Torrey Pines State beach (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • La Jolla Cove (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Giant Dipper Rollercoaster (7.7 mi/12.3 km)
  • Firehouse Museum (12.8 mi/20.6 km)
  • Hornblower Cruises (13 mi/20.9 km)

Hotel Map

32.8707 -117.2253
Nearby airports
San Diego Intl Airport, (SAN), 13.00, MI, N;
Area description
Suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hyatt Regency La Jolla also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hyatt Regency La Jolla Rooms

Business Plan
Description not provided
Concierge
Regency Club lounge; private concierge, cont.breakfast;snacks, cocktails, paper daily, robes in room
Deluxe
1 King or 2 Double beds
Junior Suite
Description not provided
Standard
Contemporary West Coast Corporate flair and design.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Audio visual equipment
Blackboard
Conference suite
Cellular telephone rental
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Sorrento Valley: 2.4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 4.3 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.7 mi
  • Belmont Park: 7.1 mi
  • Sea World: 7.4 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 7.9 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 8.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 8.2 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 8.2 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 8.2 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 8.4 mi
  • Heritage Park: 8.4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 9.9 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 10 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 2.4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 4.3 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.7 mi
  • Belmont Park: 7.1 mi
  • Sea World: 7.4 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 7.9 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 8.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 8.2 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 8.2 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 8.2 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 8.4 mi
  • Heritage Park: 8.4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 9.9 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 10 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 10.2 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 10.4 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 10.5 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 10.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 10.6 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 10.6 mi
  • Botanical Building: 10.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 10.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 10.7 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 10.7 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 10.8 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 10.8 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 11.6 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 11.9 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 12 mi
  • PETCO Park: 12 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 17.6 mi
  • Legoland: 18.6 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 18.9 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,117.2 mi

Dining

Barcino Grill
Barcino Grill, located in the lower lobby of the hotel that serves breakfast buffet and can order off the menu.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (90)

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt Regency La Jolla

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
90 out of 90
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt Regency La Jolla

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
International World Trave
Business
Palm Beach, Fl
Sep 28, 2013

Lousy stay!

This has been the worst hotel I have come to in La Jolla and I did them all! I had to change room twice because of the noise. Their phones don't work in the rooms (both rooms), I was unable to order a movie from their tv menu because it didn't work, they have very limited tv channels, poor amenities in the rooms! I would never recommend this hotel to any one! I was put on the 15th floor which the manager assured me was the quietest but failed to let me know that above the room there is a reception room and I would hear chairs being dragged on the floors every hour of the night and early mornings! That hotel is sucks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Wholefoods is close, shops and movie theaters very close by! Good location!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency La Jolla

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles
Jul 12, 2009

Bad

We were only at the hotel to sleep and use the pool area. We were traveling throughout the surrounding areas most of the day. As I have been to San Diego before I'm aware that most downtown areas, etc. charge for parking. However, when I arrived at the hotel and had the option to "valet" or "self-park" I chose self park because I obviously did not feel like paying for valet. I was appalled to discover that the hotel charges $20.00/day to self park. Which is only apparent once you've entered the facility. This fee was NOT advertised when I made hotel arrangements through Orbitz nor is it advertised on Hyatt's webpage. I would not recommend this facility to anyone. Furthermore, Orbitz should do a little more homework before they advertise such hotels. I was very unhappy with this experience and will think twice before I utilize Orbitz in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency La Jolla

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveller1003
Las vegas
Sep 4, 2012

Poor quality

Rooms in poor condition. Stained carpet. Stained chair. Holes in drapes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency La Jolla

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Patty Spur
Cleveland OH
Sep 1, 2013

I wouldn't recommend it

The only good thing about this hotel was the location. Everything else was terrible. The room was really dirty and smelled humid, the elevator, bathrooms, and hallways were filthy. I will never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency La Jolla

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
arca707
Arcata, CA
Nov 16, 2009

worst service in san diego

I was trying to think of something nice to say about this place but I can think of nothing. I stayed two nights and attempted to order room service three times and twice they had either nothing available or extremely limited selections. The third incident I left a breakfast order on the provided menu hanger on the hallway door at 7pm. It was off my handle within an hour but when I awoke for breakfast there was none. When I called to complain they didn't even attempt to apologize they just asked if I still wanted to place an order. Their bar Michael's has bland cold appetizers, dry burgers, slow service, and a very limited liquor and cigar menu. On Saturday night me and my friends were sitting around the outside fire after dinner enjoying cigars and drinks when at a little after one o'clock the bartender came and turned the fire and the tv off and said that we didn't have to leave but I think her rudeness let us know otherwise. Bottomline: Don't waste your money here, there are plenty of other quality hotels in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency La Jolla

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Disappointed Angeleno
Los Angeles
Jul 19, 2010

Needs an upgrade

My husband and I drove down to San Diego for a weekend getaway. We booked the Hyatt thinking it was a great deal for a 4 star hotel. Well, not really. We would have paid more to stay at a nicer place. The hotel was in a decent location and had great access to the freeway. The staff was very helpful and pleasant . However, the rooms, and definitely the bathrooms, needed updating. The rooms still had popcorn ceilings and the bathroom was so old that it felt a bit dirty. The bathroom made me feel like I was at a 2 star inn and not a 4 star Hyatt hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency La Jolla

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ozana
Arizona
Apr 17, 2014

La Jolla Hyatt

The only hotel we've stayed in that charges for wi-fi in the room. Free wifi in the lobby? That does not help if you need to look something up late at night. And when that was mentioned at the front desk, the girl's comment was "interesting".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency La Jolla

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bama Scarecrow
La Jolla, CA
Sep 16, 2013

Needs That Special Something

The Hyatt must understand that the first impression makes a lasting impression. I was told by the front desk staff that they could not check me in and give me my key even though I had pre-paid for our room, because I did not have credit card for incidentals. So I sat in the lobby charging my phone until I was able to contact my wife. I had just made a 5 hour ride on my motorcycle for the CA State HOG Rally held this year in San Diego. Once I went back to the desk the manager proceeded to tell me even though they required the card he would go ahead and let me check in, after I had asked him what he expected me to do for the next 2 hours while I was waiting for my wife and kids to join me. This was not the only unfortunate incident. While parking and having pulling up to the wrong entrance to the garage parking (I was in front of Staff entrance) the car behind starting blowing her horn, not very curteous from what you would expect from the staff. I will add that when we were asked how our stay was and we explained, they appologized and took off $50. We were thankful but the staff should be trained better. Not all the staff was like that, one of the consierge was extremely friendly and helpful not only to me but everyone I saw him speaking to. Sad it is those first sour grapes that put that bad taste in your mouth.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive up PCH

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency La Jolla

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dustmart
Orange County, Ca
Dec 29, 2012

Beautiful hotel -bad service

Tried to check in one hour early and was told room wasn't ready. Because we were going to local sporting event that would last all night I asked the staffer to put me down for late check-in but to make sure the 2 queen bed room was reserved because one king didn't work for us. She said no problem. When we got to the hotel that night the hotel claimed to only have king bed rooms. I shared with the front desk that I needed the 2queen beds. I told her that another staffer has promised that the 2 queen bed would still be available. The front desk went into a back room and 5 minutes later said they had a room and made us a key. The problem was the room smelled really bad. Like bad b.o. or something. You all get the picture. Lets just say our stay didn't work out as planned. The hotel looks beautiful. Had a nice pool and good restraunts in its parking lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Had a Flemmings across from the hotel entrance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency La Jolla

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Leapin Larry
La Jolla
Apr 19, 2010

Gorgeous Hotel with hidden charges

Upon arriving at the hotel we were impressed with the service and with the hotel design. But soon found there was free parking on the street only if you could find any. So unexpectedly the hotel wanted to charge $20 per day. Not shown on the web site. Then if we wanted to use our laptop they wanted $10 a day. What a rip off. I wouldn't go back again. Also the Fitness center cost $15 per day. Most 3 star hotels I have been in this is free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search