$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

3 stars
2303 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
560 reviews
Wonderful California Suite

Wonderful location, excellent amenities. The hotel exceeded our expectations. Humphreys Half Moon... See full review

  • Shesh 87
  • Jun 27, 2014
Humphreys half moon hotel

Very nice hotel! Only problem is that they had not enough towels, and couldn't get ahold of house... See full review

  • Nparker3
  • Jun 20, 2014
Easy access to San Diego attractions from Shelter Island location

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites is situated on Shelter Island, between San Diego Bay and America's Cup Harbor. The hotel is close to many of San Diego's tourist attractions and minutes from the airport. The hotel's Shelter Island location makes it equally suitable for business conferences, family vacations or weddings. The tropical island setting showcases the recently renovated suites and rooms on offer from Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites. Many rooms feature views of the marina or the city. Humphrey's Restaurant offers guests fine international cuisine along with superb views of San Diego Bay and the Marina.

Reasons to stay
  • Humphreys Concerts by the Bay – open air concerts between May and October
  • Close to SeaWorld and San Diego Zoo
  • Pool bar, spa and fitness center
Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites offers 182 rooms, including 54 suites that boast incredible views of the nearby marina and San Diego Bay. Décor is Mediterranean in style and each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, mini refrigerator, microwave and in-room safe. All suites include private patios or balconies. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access.

Things to do nearby
    • Seaport Village  (5.0 mi/8.0 km)
    • SeaWorld  (5.0 mi/8.0 km)
    • Mission Beach  (6.0 mi/10.0 km)
    • San Diego Zoo  (8.2 mi/10.0 km)
Policies and fees
Starting July 1, Humphrey's will be implementing a passport fee of $9.95 per room/night that includes:

  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Free airport, Amtrak & Cruise Terminal transfers
  • Free business center services including Boarding Pass Printing
  • Free two-hour bike rentals
  • Free entrance to our Backstage Live Music Lounge
  • Free dining offers in our restaurant, lounge and pool bar
  • Additional discounted selections at our restaurant, lounge and pool bar
  • Discounts and special offers to local attractions and businesses. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Tropical View Guestroom
Newly renovated Tropical View Guest Rooms offer all of the luxurious amenities and features of our Premier Guest Rooms and more. These beautiful rooms overlook tropical pool and gardens. First floor rooms offer direct access to our private pool and tropical gardens through furnished patios. One king or two queen beds.
Premier Guestroom
Premiere category showcases all new furniture including headboards, wood bed frames and crisp new duvet covers, plush pillows and cozy throw blankets, with one king or two queen size beds. They all offer a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker plus a 42" flat screen LCD TV.
Luxury Junior Suite
To indulge in a bit more space in lavish style, consider our newly renovated Luxury Junior Suites. These unique and accommodating suites are perfect for up to 4 people. Relax, unpack and make yourself at home in 450 square feet of living space that features a furnished patio/balcony, a king bed, sleeper sofa in the sitting area, mini refrigerator and microwave.
Garden View Suite
Our newly appointed View Suites offer over 700 square feet of living space, comfortably accommodating up to six people. Each suite comes equipped with a kitchen and separate living room with sleeper sofa. The private bedroom includes a generous dressing area, two queen beds and a list of luxurious amenities. Marina View Suites overlook our private marina and are just steps away from the water, while our Garden View Suites are surrounded by swaying palms and lush, tropical gardens.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7174 -117.2244
Area served
San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport
Area description
Located minutes from Sea World, San Diego Zoo and downtown San Diego.

Nearby points of interest

  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Sea World: 3.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Sea World: 3.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.1 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.8 mi
  • Legoland: 28.9 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121.6 mi

Dining

Humphrey's Restaurant
Humphreys by the Bay waterfront restaurant is consistently rated among the best in San Diego. Our chef presents Modern Global Cuisine at it's finest. The extensive wine list has received the Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator for three consecutive years. Your dining experience is perfected by the breathtaking views of the sailboats anchored in the marina, sunsets and city lights sparkling across San Diego Bay. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. 6:30am to 9pm Sun-Thurs and 6:30am to 10pm Fri & Sat. Humphreys award-winning Sunday Brunch Buffet is every Sunday from 10am to 2pm.
Humphrey's Backstage Live
After dinner, enjoy a nightcap or take a spin around the dance floor at Humphreys Backstage Live, voted "Best place to dance in San Diego". Every night features exciting live music with San Diego's hottest bands. Happy Hour 5pm to 7pm daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (560)

Ratings and reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 560
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Giuggiola
Chicago
Aug 24, 2010

Really nice

I really enjoyed staying at the Humphrey's. I had room 123, located at the very Southern corner; no view, but I could enjoy direct access to the lush tropical garden, have my coffee sitting on the patio without having other guests walking just in front of you.Great pool.Restaurant is also good. Very friendly personnel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
College Grad
statford, ct
Jun 3, 2010

Great Experience!

Great experience at this hotel. although when i first checked in there was alot of noise coming from outside my room due to revamping of the place. overall beautiful hotel. i would definitely come back choose this hotel again and recommend to friends/family. the staff were very helpful and the locals were too..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Glendale, CA
Nov 10, 2010

Peaceful Tropical Haven

I needed a quiet spot to unwind, and this fit the bill perfectly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Willy Jason
Greenwich CT
Nov 19, 2013

Super

For the Money a true Value. More life a 4 to 4.5 start property. Go! And Have fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beth12
San Diego
Sep 24, 2013

Great Location

The harbor view was great. I also liked the fact that it wasn't right in the middle of San Diego, it was nice to be in a slightly quieter area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The hotel offers live music during happy hour and sometimes even has larger concerts every once in a while. Check their schedule for your stay because there may be a good concert going on.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Glendale, CA
Nov 10, 2010

Peaceful Tropical Haven

I needed a quiet spot to unwind, and this fit the bill perfectly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Giuggiola
Chicago
Aug 24, 2010

Really nice

I really enjoyed staying at the Humphrey's. I had room 123, located at the very Southern corner; no view, but I could enjoy direct access to the lush tropical garden, have my coffee sitting on the patio without having other guests walking just in front of you.Great pool.Restaurant is also good. Very friendly personnel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Single traveler 77
Brooklyn, New York
May 2, 2013

Cute but has its quirks

I enjoyed my stay at Humphrey's and think, for the price, it's a great hotel. The rooms could use some updating (and paint) but everything is clean. The location is...interesting. Shelter Island is convenient if you have a car, if not you may feel trapped on this little stretch of SD. The grounds are lush and tropical, and the pool, though small, is well maintained. Be aware that some rooms are directly in front of and behind the concert stage. I'm sure noise levels would be unbearable during a show.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Torrey Pines State Park is about a 20 minute drive from the hotel. The views are spectacular.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Honolulu Hawaii
Sep 28, 2009

Great Location..With the Same View

The Location is Great!!!! Right across from the water. Watched the seals and Pelicans at the waters edge. Just a great view of the San Diego skyline. Would go back for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Entertainment, and night life right on the hotel property.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Newport News, VA
Aug 17, 2009

Just what I needed.

Staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean but small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top