$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

3 stars
View map of 2303 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
496 reviews
Very nice

Very nice hotel, location and price for San Diego California See full review

  • Lilia B.
  • Jun 23, 2015
Great family vacation

The hotel was beautiful staff was Great. The hotel had a great pool ping-pong and golf for the kids... See full review

  • William A.
  • Jun 16, 2015

At Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites in San Diego, guests can enjoy a tropically landscaped spa and swimming pool, poolside ping pong and bar, an on-site fitness center and bicycle rentals. Free wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel, and guest laundry facilities, as well as a dry cleaning services, are convenient amenities for those planning longer stays. Guests can also take advantage of discount attraction tickets, and customized trip planning at the front desk. The waterfront location is appealing to those who wish to fish or partake in water sports, and the stylish event facilities can accommodate special functions such as weddings, banquets and anniversaries.

Rooms

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites offers 182 rooms, including 54 suites that boast incredible views of the nearby marina and San Diego Bay. Decor is Mediterranean in style and each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, mini refrigerator, microwave and in-room safe. All suites include private patios or balconies. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access.

Highlights

The hotel is situated on secluded Shelter Island, just minutes away from all that San Diego has to offer. It is close to popular attractions and landmarks such as the San Diego Zoo, sparkling beaches, the downtown Gaslamp Quarter, the San Diego Convention Center, the USS Midway Museum and SeaWorld. With its modern global cuisine that combines Mediterranean, Gulf Coast and Caribbean flavors, the award-winning Humphreys Restaurant is a must-try. Live music is provided at the Humphreys Backstage LIVE lounge, voted as the area's best live music club. The hotel is also a popular venue for many international and world-renowned concerts held at Humphreys Concerts By the Bay.

Nearby attractions
    • Seaport Village  (5.0 mi/8.0 km)
    • SeaWorld  (5.0 mi/8.0 km)
    • Mission Beach  (6.0 mi/10.0 km)
    • San Diego Zoo  (8.2 mi/10.0 km)
Policies
  • Parking is available for $14 USD per night.
Starting July 1, Humphrey's will be implementing a passport fee of $9.95 USD per room/night that includes:
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Free business center services including Boarding Pass Printing
  • Free two-hour bike rentals
  • Free entrance to our Backstage Live Music Lounge
  • Free dining offers in our restaurant, lounge and pool bar
  • Additional discounted selections at our restaurant, lounge and pool bar
  • Discounts and special offers to local attractions and businesses. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Tropical View Guestroom
Newly renovated Tropical View Guest Rooms offer all of the luxurious amenities and features of our Premier Guest Rooms and more. These beautiful rooms overlook tropical pool and gardens. First floor rooms offer direct access to our private pool and tropical gardens through furnished patios. One king or two queen beds.
Premier Guestroom
Premiere category showcases all new furniture including headboards, wood bed frames and crisp new duvet covers, plush pillows and cozy throw blankets, with one king or two queen size beds. They all offer a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker plus a 42" flat screen LCD TV.
Luxury Junior Suite
To indulge in a bit more space in lavish style, consider our newly renovated Luxury Junior Suites. These unique and accommodating suites are perfect for up to 4 people. Relax, unpack and make yourself at home in 450 square feet of living space that features a furnished patio/balcony, a king bed, sleeper sofa in the sitting area, mini refrigerator and microwave.
Garden View Suite
Our newly appointed View Suites offer over 700 square feet of living space, comfortably accommodating up to six people. Each suite comes equipped with a kitchen and separate living room with sleeper sofa. The private bedroom includes a generous dressing area, two queen beds and a list of luxurious amenities. Marina View Suites overlook our private marina and are just steps away from the water, while our Garden View Suites are surrounded by swaying palms and lush, tropical gardens.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.1 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.8 mi
  • Legoland: 28.9 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121.6 mi

Dining

Humphrey's Restaurant
Humphreys by the Bay waterfront restaurant is consistently rated among the best in San Diego. Our chef presents Modern Global Cuisine at it's finest. The extensive wine list has received the Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator for three consecutive years. Your dining experience is perfected by the breathtaking views of the sailboats anchored in the marina, sunsets and city lights sparkling across San Diego Bay. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. 6:30am to 9pm Sun-Thurs and 6:30am to 10pm Fri & Sat. Humphreys award-winning Sunday Brunch Buffet is every Sunday from 10am to 2pm.
Humphrey's Backstage Live
After dinner, enjoy a nightcap or take a spin around the dance floor at Humphreys Backstage Live, voted "Best place to dance in San Diego". Every night features exciting live music with San Diego's hottest bands. Happy Hour 5pm to 7pm daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
149 out of 496
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
San Diego is awesome!
Business
Salt Lake City Ut.
Nov 22, 2010

Double check everything!

The stay would have been great except for a few details. First they gave me the wrong room. I booked a double bed and they gave me a single king. Also, my air conditioning didnt work and of-course maintenance wasnt available do to anything about it. Aside from that the hotel is very nice, but if you cant sleep and get the wrong room then the rest of the stay is pretty worthless!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County
Aug 11, 2009

DO NOT BOOK!!!

Was not told there was a $10 parking fee and .75 for a newspaper I did not want!!! THe room was under the pool and the people in the pool screamed until 11:00 pm when it closed. Not even in Las Vegas are pools open so late! The hotel is old and there were holes in the sheets, mold in the bathroom needs a face lift BADLY!! Will not be back to this hotel EVER!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JxJx
Business
Seattle Wa
Feb 2, 2014

No thanks Humphreys

The additional resort fee of 9.95 a day and an additional 10.00 per day for parking were too much. I had asked when I book about additional charges and they told me there would not be any so of course when I checked out I was surprised. The hotel room itself was old, dirty and not in the best condition, the first room I was given at 10pm had fans blowing in an open doorway to dry the wet carpet, I refused the room. In the second room the door safety lock was broken and the carpet was filthy, filthy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
We are not picky
Business
West Coast
Jan 5, 2012

Needs maintenance and Saff require training -The Gardens, and location in San Diego are excellent

The gardens, and Shelter Island location in San Diego are excellent. However, some problems with the hotel - We reserved and paid for our ten day stay over a month in advance through a travel company but when we arrived at the hotel, they did not have our booking on file. They sorted matters out with web based travel company we booked through, but the room we recieved was dirty and smelly. There was a big fermenting terd sitting in our room's toilet when we first walked in the door. GROSS!!! We asked the front desk for another cleaner room. It was similar but without the terd. We figured we would ask for an upgrade. The front desk agreed to provide one per availablity, but for an additional $50 per night. We took it hoping it would be an improvement. The upgrade room was bigger but again, not very clean. Further, we would regularily have to ask the staff to have the room cleaned, change bedding and supply toilet paper, towels and such. They even go cheap on the hot water. The shower water temp was always tepid, not hot. One can see that this was a nice place at one time. However, The rooms are clearly in need of maintenance. Hotel Management and some Staff require proper training. And yes the walls are very thin so if you need peace and privacy you might want to select another place On the positive side The gardens are very well kept, the location is great and the staff are pleasant and polite. .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
charls
Business
easton, pa
Apr 10, 2012

Dated and not as seen on the web

Night manager/receptionist was rude and not welcoming at all. The rooms were described as recently renovated,. Only the bathroom was in good shape. The carpet and in general the room was dusty and mildew from the exposed beam was getting on us. Not a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SusanAnn
Business
Connecticut
Jul 9, 2012

Disappointing hotel and staff attitudes...

Hotel was not as nice as advertised. I called to confirm and the reservation was never made when I had booked it a week before. I was on phone with hotel until 3 am on day of travel trying to get my reservation fixed with this website. Upon checkout, hotel told me to call back for a receipt after 90 days because that is how long before they get paid by the booking website.. This should be handled by hotel with the booking website, not taken out on me, the traveler. I paid for my trip at the time of booking. Extremely rude of hotel clerk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Amanda22411
Business
Twentynine Palms, California
Feb 19, 2013

Sub Par

My family stayed at Humphrey's for a weekend trip to San Diego. I booked an over night stay in a King premium suite, and when we arrived they told my husband we were "upgraded'. Upon arriving in a room it was quickly evident that we were down graded to a double queen room. We did not have a bath tub, just a stand up shower. For the price I was expecting a very nice hotel but ended up in a mediocre, tropical themed "suite" with a "tropical" view(a small balcony facing the parking lot) We've stayed at Best Westerns and other chain hotels for the same price, but the quality of Humphrey's was sub par. I felt like our room was a bit beaten up and the heating vents needed a filter change (my 2 year old coughed all night every time the heat kicked on). Disappointments aside, we requested room service and the hotel staff was very timely and professional; the food was a bit pricey but we had no complaints, it was delicious and fresh. I will likely never return to Humphrey's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Skip room service and go out in town. It's a bit pricey and there's plenty to see and do in the area.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
midstate california
Jun 19, 2009

"Not what I was hoping for..."

Guess I was expecting a lot more from this motel, like unique and maybe funky, found it just very tired and used, at least the room we had. We asked for a marina-side room and she gave us one with a close-up view of the concert seats and stage. Not very pretty! But we were only there for one night, so we didn't fight it. I would not stay there again. Be advised there is a $10 parking fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try eating at Miguel's, a short walk towards Rosecrans Blvd. Great staff, good food, variety of margaritas.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bloop7
Business
Minneapolis
Mar 16, 2014

Should be an easy 4 with some small improvements

Spent a week there, just arrived back home yesterday. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would return. The pool area was great, the room was spotless and the staff we interacted with was nice. The bed was comfortable, but the room was small and bathroom was tiny. There was a desk, but no desk chair. There were 2 very small sitting chairs in the room and a small patio with 2 chairs. Rooms could use updating, but not bad. We normally visit the hotel restaurant and use room service quite a bit. But we only did one of each here. The room service was rediculously expensive the restaurant was a bit overpriced too. Room service charged $11 for a hot dog and $20 for a burger before tip. We probably would have used room service 5 or 6 times if it was reasonable. Parking is $10/day which seems reasonable. Overall, we enjoyed our stay. Location is great. If the price was right, we would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mexico
Nov 15, 2010

Good experience

Close to sea world and convenient if you plan to bike near mission bay park. The hotel provides bicycles for guests use. Having a car is recommended as there aren't much shops around. Fashion mall is 10 to 15 mins. drive far. Guests may enjoy spending some time at the pool area. A little bit old fashioned hotel , may need Some restoration, cable tv on demand, but overall it's ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Concerts

Back to menu Return to top