$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 5, 2014 Check-out: Nov 6, 2014

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

3 stars
2303 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
436 reviews
Beautiful !!!!!!

What a wonderful experience! The staff went above and beyond, the tropical room was fabulous, right... See full review

  • Oceanlover12
  • Sep 20, 2014
Incredible getaway

From the moment we arrived at the hotel it was a very special experience. The staff was very... See full review

  • Bearra
  • Sep 17, 2014
Easy access to San Diego attractions from Shelter Island location

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites is situated on Shelter Island, between San Diego Bay and America's Cup Harbor. The hotel is close to many of San Diego's tourist attractions and minutes from the airport. The hotel's Shelter Island location makes it equally suitable for business conferences, family vacations or weddings. The tropical island setting showcases the recently renovated suites and rooms on offer from Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites. Many rooms feature views of the marina or the city. Humphrey's Restaurant offers guests fine international cuisine along with superb views of San Diego Bay and the Marina.The property also provides parking at additional cost.

Reasons to stay
  • Humphreys Concerts by the Bay - open air concerts between May and October
  • Close to SeaWorld and San Diego Zoo
  • Pool bar, spa and fitness center
Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites offers 182 rooms, including 54 suites that boast incredible views of the nearby marina and San Diego Bay. Decor is Mediterranean in style and each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, mini refrigerator, microwave and in-room safe. All suites include private patios or balconies. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access.

Things to do nearby
    • Seaport Village  (5.0 mi/8.0 km)
    • SeaWorld  (5.0 mi/8.0 km)
    • Mission Beach  (6.0 mi/10.0 km)
    • San Diego Zoo  (8.2 mi/10.0 km)
Policies and fees
  • Parking is available for $14 USD per night.
Starting July 1, Humphrey's will be implementing a passport fee of $9.95 USD per room/night that includes:
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Free business center services including Boarding Pass Printing
  • Free two-hour bike rentals
  • Free entrance to our Backstage Live Music Lounge
  • Free dining offers in our restaurant, lounge and pool bar
  • Additional discounted selections at our restaurant, lounge and pool bar
  • Discounts and special offers to local attractions and businesses. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7174 -117.2244
Area served
San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport
Area description
Located minutes from Sea World, San Diego Zoo and downtown San Diego.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Tropical View Guestroom
Newly renovated Tropical View Guest Rooms offer all of the luxurious amenities and features of our Premier Guest Rooms and more. These beautiful rooms overlook tropical pool and gardens. First floor rooms offer direct access to our private pool and tropical gardens through furnished patios. One king or two queen beds.
Premier Guestroom
Premiere category showcases all new furniture including headboards, wood bed frames and crisp new duvet covers, plush pillows and cozy throw blankets, with one king or two queen size beds. They all offer a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker plus a 42" flat screen LCD TV.
Luxury Junior Suite
To indulge in a bit more space in lavish style, consider our newly renovated Luxury Junior Suites. These unique and accommodating suites are perfect for up to 4 people. Relax, unpack and make yourself at home in 450 square feet of living space that features a furnished patio/balcony, a king bed, sleeper sofa in the sitting area, mini refrigerator and microwave.
Garden View Suite
Our newly appointed View Suites offer over 700 square feet of living space, comfortably accommodating up to six people. Each suite comes equipped with a kitchen and separate living room with sleeper sofa. The private bedroom includes a generous dressing area, two queen beds and a list of luxurious amenities. Marina View Suites overlook our private marina and are just steps away from the water, while our Garden View Suites are surrounded by swaying palms and lush, tropical gardens.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Sea World: 3.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Sea World: 3.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.1 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.8 mi
  • Legoland: 28.9 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121.6 mi

Dining

Humphrey's Restaurant
Humphreys by the Bay waterfront restaurant is consistently rated among the best in San Diego. Our chef presents Modern Global Cuisine at it's finest. The extensive wine list has received the Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator for three consecutive years. Your dining experience is perfected by the breathtaking views of the sailboats anchored in the marina, sunsets and city lights sparkling across San Diego Bay. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. 6:30am to 9pm Sun-Thurs and 6:30am to 10pm Fri & Sat. Humphreys award-winning Sunday Brunch Buffet is every Sunday from 10am to 2pm.
Humphrey's Backstage Live
After dinner, enjoy a nightcap or take a spin around the dance floor at Humphreys Backstage Live, voted "Best place to dance in San Diego". Every night features exciting live music with San Diego's hottest bands. Happy Hour 5pm to 7pm daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (436)

Ratings and reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
220 out of 436
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
molerat
Business
seattle
May 30, 2013

top flight security hotel rental cop

Our stay was quite pleasant. Except for the security guards who patrol the ground. I tried to take a shortcut from the pool to my marine view room. I tried to swipe my key through the door and was "Rudely told by guard "thats restricted you cant go through that way" well ok, i understand the pool is closed at 11pm but 1st it wasn't 11pm it was 10:50pm. 2nd even if it was 11pm he could've assisted me to my room instead of being rude and treating me like a 2nd class citizen, that wanted to steal the towels or something. I wasn't planning on swimming or using the hot tub. me and my girlfriend were really tired as the room is about 1/2 a mile away if you go around. After all we were paying good money to stay there. What happened to friendliness and customer service? I feel the situation could've been resolved a lot better. I was very bothered by that as anyone would. I did not sleep well. Thanks for ruining my night "Mr. Hotel Rental Cop"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Joy RN
Business
Coto De Caza, CA
Aug 13, 2013

Weekend getaway

Not as describe, room was run down needed an update, Had an unclean smell. We decided not to stay and drive back home. Will shoot for another weekend in San Diego but not on the bay. Street was constantly busy balcony had no privacy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ShutBug
Business
San Diego, Californai
Nov 25, 2013

Not worth it

For the price, and even after a discount from Ore Bitz, it's not worth it. At best the room I stayed in was a glorified motel room (little emphasis on glorified). Pictures and reviews were misleading. The room had an unpleasant odor, the shower's water pressure and temperature would fluctuate, the heater dribbled out look warm air and the sheets didn't seem completely clean. The bed was somewhat comfortable and it is in a great location. The staff was nice too, removing the $10/day parking fee after I explained my stay. Would not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Island Prime Restaurant-Great service, great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 8, 2007

If You Want Peace and Quiet Don't Go To Humphry's!

It was our anniversary and all we wanted was a quiet location by the bay. That is not what we got. The first night we were put in a room that faced the main street. The traffic noise was extremely loud amd there was a 3/4 inch gap from the bottom of the door to the floor. Also, there was a group of people partying late into the night. When I asked the staff to please change our room, I felt they punished us for this request. The next room was right next to their live concert stage. A band played well past 10:00 P.M. The hotel grounds are beautiful and the rooms are clean, but extremely small. This hotel is not worth the money. We felt the hotel staff catered to their concert guests and not the hotel guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of nice places to eat within walking distance. Nice bike trail around the bay. Seapot Village and Downtown San Diego close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bitter Leprechaun
Business
CA
Dec 6, 2009

Horrible, noisy stay!

The hotel was very noisy due to very thin walls and ceilings. Was going to complain to the front desk at check out, but waited a long time as another man complained about the handicapped parking situation. After seeing how rude the front desk agent was to the other gentleman, I did not even bother. First hotel in 10 years my wife said she never wanted to return to. My wife and I have done lots of traveling in a number of areas. The location is good and the grounds of the hotel are nice since it is an older hotel. Since my wife and I usually only use our room and not the other amenities a hotel offers, we like for the room to be pleasant. We could have gotten the same room at the Motel 6 down the street. The toilet seat needed to be replaced 3 years ago and is beyond the help of a good cleaning. It was very disgusting!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Refund needed
Business
Chino Hills, CA, USA
Aug 26, 2011

What a disapointment

We were looking for a hawaii style get away as hyped in advertisment and got a small room next to the lobby check-in parking with a view of the parking lot. beaches were not with in walking distance. It is located across the street from maintenance ship yard. I recomend you save your money and stay down town marina location, they are much nicer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Missy8
Business
Canada
Dec 17, 2013

Average Hotel

Hotel was in a good location and the hotel resturant was good. The staff were super friendly and very accomodating. The room could have been cleaner. The rugs had some dust bunnies along the edges where the vacuum could'nt reach and the bathroom could have also been cleaner. The room was very humid which i would say could be due to bad ventaliation. Therefore, felt a bit stuffy in the room. Overall, it was worth the price we paid for the room and its 3 star rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
south africa123
Business
Denver
May 28, 2014

Full of spiders

I stayed at this hotel for 5 days and found 4 spiders hanging out in the bed. I couldn't change my room because of the views. One of the night they forgot to clean the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chris6800
Business
MA
Jun 9, 2014

Hidden charges beware

This was a great room and a great deal, but beware! The hotel ended up charging me and EXTRA 200 bucks for a "passport fee" and PARKING. Each of the two was 14 dollars a day and non-negotiable, you had to pay it. For my 9 days, that was 28 dollars times 9 days, we'll let 200 bucks on top of what I paid when booking through. People were smoking and it came into our room, which reeked when we returned from the beach. On top of paying for parking you have to display a special pass they give you at the check in desk in order to even park, because they're a concert venue too and share parking with concert guests too! I never received one and they had to make me one up before the guy manning the gate would let me in. Normally, I would just insert my room key to open the gate, but because it was a concert night, someone was watching he gate and wouldn't let me in even though I had a room key and receipt on hand! I went and got this special pass, knowing they had charged me for stupid things before. I asked if I would be charges for this pass even though I already pay daily for parking and passport, he said he would WAIVE it this time. Are you kidding me! I'm already paying for parking, I shouldn't have to pay twice because you are having a concert! The hidden fees are laughable. I had to pay an unexpected extra 300 for my car too. Collectively I paid another 500 for this trip. It greatly damaged my budget. In short, the staffers nice, the room was clean, the pool was good and parking was abundant. It's in a beautiful location, just outside the city and right on the water. Would I go back? Maybe. I was a great place, but all the problems I mentioned above really irked us. We travelled 2700 miles to relax and we're met with more trivial garbage than you'd like to deal with on vacation. I would totally check out another hotel first and ask about any charge that isn't up front. Ultimately, I would use this hotel as a last resort knowing the room was nice and bed was comfortable. Please take better note of additional hotel fees and make your consumers aware. Even if you can include it all in the price, at least tell us about the hidden charges or encourage us to reach out to the services purchased prior to arrival to avoid such headaches. This site should be aware of state rental car laws, hotel possible charges and location specific alterations for finances. Though impossible to calculate and account for all, you should at least encourage your customers to investigate in advance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

LaJolla cove or mission beach, you can rent water crafts or see sea lions in the wild. Coronado beach too, all close by. You're really central of a lot of great stuff from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hudson, WI
May 19, 2011

Lacking that special somthing

Nothing included, the cost does not even include parking. The inside of the room was ok, the outside needs to be updated. The staff was not very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

the USS midway tour and Trolly tours were good and worth the money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top