$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

3 stars
View map of 2303 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
468 out of 468
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ann L Noisey
Business
san diego
Feb 3, 2014

noisey

Rooms not sound proofed, could hear pool gate close half the night, other room snoring, door did not close automatically had to check several times, front desk not greeting as you come or went.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bloop7
Business
Minneapolis
Mar 16, 2014

Should be an easy 4 with some small improvements

Spent a week there, just arrived back home yesterday. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would return. The pool area was great, the room was spotless and the staff we interacted with was nice. The bed was comfortable, but the room was small and bathroom was tiny. There was a desk, but no desk chair. There were 2 very small sitting chairs in the room and a small patio with 2 chairs. Rooms could use updating, but not bad. We normally visit the hotel restaurant and use room service quite a bit. But we only did one of each here. The room service was rediculously expensive the restaurant was a bit overpriced too. Room service charged $11 for a hot dog and $20 for a burger before tip. We probably would have used room service 5 or 6 times if it was reasonable. Parking is $10/day which seems reasonable. Overall, we enjoyed our stay. Location is great. If the price was right, we would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Landlocked beach fan
Business
Rocjok - Lakewood,CO
Mar 24, 2014

Last min. getaway

Humphreys Inn was a good late res. Inn We stayed 4 nts and it was mostly all good. An enjoyable time for a break to lay by the pool and see the some of the sights around SD. Its a short drive from downtown yet less busy on the island. The happy hour is a great time w/ live music!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Happy Hour - good bands - good food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Peppermint Pattye
Business
Southern, CA
Mar 30, 2014

Location, location, location

While the location of Humphrey's was amazing and the outside of the hotel quite good for the exotic feel, the bed was not comfortable and the hidden fees, an additional $20 per day, were unwelcome. We will not stay there again, but will go back to the Bay Club which is right next door and includes free breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The club was nice for happy hour and the assortment of musical acts was good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MommyAquino
Business
Milwaukee, WI
May 28, 2014

Great location-can get loud

I wouldn't recommend for families since it does get loud at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
UrsyAce
Business
Cherry Hill, NJ
Jun 10, 2014

Average

Overall, this hotel was okay, but nothing special. I guess for the price, it was a pretty good value. The location on Shelter Island was pretty convenient. It was easy to get to the 5. The view of Downtown San Diego from across the street was beautiful. The room itself was fairly nice. There was food stuck all over the inside of the microwave, which was pretty gross. Other than that, the room was pretty clean. I would probably stay there again. Like I said, it wasn't the greatest hotel I ever stayed in, but for the price, it was worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Little Rock
Sep 7, 2008

Get an Inside Room

First time at this property. While on the bay, this is not a real resort property. It is on a fairly busy street down toward one of the marina areas. The street and outside (street) part of the property really has no character or resort feel. Was given a small room on the outside (street) part of the property. The air conditioning wasn't working, and the room was pretty run down. I went back to the front desk and was given a garden-side double/double room-- which was larger than the much smaller king I was originally in. The garden side of the property is nicer and much quieter. Was there for a wedding. The food at the wedding reception was good, but not spectacular. The workout room is very small with a few OK machines. All-in-all, if I booked into this property for a vacation, I would have been very disappointed. For staying there for the wedding, it was OK-- but still very over-priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Supposedly some decent restaurants in the area, but did not try any. Fairly close to the airport with free transport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SD Native
Business
New London, Wisconsin
Apr 14, 2011

The Good and the bad

Problems encountered were resolved happily by the hotel employees. Room was a marina view suite. The reseravation was for a balcony-upstairs and none was available at check-in. Took downstairs available room as they said upstairs would be available the next day. The first room had numerous problems-leaky toilet & kept running. Door to closet would not work correctly and faucet was backwards (hot/cold). Maintenance came early nest a.m to address the issues. However, we had not unpacked and took clothes with us until new room was available. We were exhausted, as trip was for cleaning home and liquidating contents for family in SD area. The amenities in the second room were very worn worn and in poor shape, bed mattress was in bad (lumpy), and screen door to balcony was entirely broken off runner and not working at all. The mattress negatively affected a good night's sleep. The only plus was the breakfast at the restaurant--superb...and the one relaxation point of our day because of the excellent food and great service! We had to leave very early to catch a 6 a.m. plane...wonder whether we would stay there again? I would classify this stay as almost acceptable, but much less than it could have been, had the room amenities been in better shape. We were there for 4 nights. On previous trips we stayed at a different hotel on Shelter Island and will probably stay at a different one next time, although would consider giving Humphrey's another try. The personnel were very cordial, attentive and glad to help. We visit the SD area a few times a year and always stay on Shelter Island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ksumama
Business
fishers, indiana
Mar 23, 2011

mixed results

we were "double upgraded" to a junior suite recently remodeled. There are only 2 floors, so the view of the harbor was somewhat marred by the parking lot. Room was bright clean and modern. Weird layout, bed is in corner as you walk in the room, then living area is open and large with small balcony but comfortable. A/C was out for 4 hours, asked to be moved but no other "nice" rooms were available. Threw a bit of a hissy fit, they did give us a $150 credit at the restaurant. Room was a value at $107 but not a bargain. At breakfast on Sunday morning, we forgot about the time change and arrived at 10:05...they initially refused to seat us because they wanted to set up for their large champagne brunch that started at 11:30. A raised eyebrow got them to change their minds, but there was some "huffy attitudes" from the dining room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winnipeg, Canada
Mar 8, 2011

Some good- some bad

Hotel room was just ok. The hairdryer kept shorting out and the pocket door to the bathroom kept getting stuck. The location was lovely. We didn't have a lot of time to enjoy the beautiful setting, but it truly was a great setting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Hotel was close to the SD zoo, so very convenient (about 10 min drive).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top