$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

3 stars
View map of 2303 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
448 out of 448
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kathudso
Business
Oceanside, CA, USA
Dec 28, 2011

room needs immediate updating and attention

Walls were paper thin you could HEAR and SMELL everything going on around you. Our door was a security concern because it didn't close behind you, you had to lift up to open versus down. Great weekend otherwise, food was awesome, pool was huge, Jacuzzi was huge. Nice location and staff was very very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
San Diego visitor
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Jan 14, 2012

Nice

Reasonable for a business stay, would be better if you had time to use pool, hot tub, putting green. Fun weekday evening lounge for the older generations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Just before you go down the spit toward the hotel there are several excellent restaurant. Gourmet pizza at the old Venice restaurant

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wanderlust729
Business
Denver, Colorado
May 8, 2012

Uncomfortable Beds

When I booked my stay here I was really excited about the tropical feel of the hotel and pool but in the end it wasn't really worth staying here. I felt like I was getting a deal through this site but the weather in San Diego was terrible so we didn't get to use the pool, which is what I was most excited about. On top of that the beds were so uncomfortable (stiff as a board) I could not sleep. I asked about moving rooms but was told they all had the same mattresses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

This hotel is less than a five minute drive from the airport, very convenient

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KDH11
Business
South Berwick, ME
May 9, 2012

great, inexpensive getaway

This was a perfect, inexpensive yet satisfying stay. We never ate at the half-moon restaurant due to the reviews of expensive. We did try the Bali Hai, just down the road, that was fantastic! We recommend the Calamari. There is a sushi place down the road, Umi, and that was great too. The complimentary bikes were awesome, definitely take advantage. The only bummer is you definitely needed to either drive or public transport to see the sights. We did not spend much time in our rooms, or at the resort for that matter. It definitely was perfect for what we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The live music was not what we thought, not that entertaining for 20-30 year olds

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LA King
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 10, 2012

Awesome SD

Good location and a nice view from its restaurant...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lex301
Business
Humphrey
Jul 14, 2012

Hotel review

The rooms need updating but hotel was very accommodating to all our needs .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Timex12
Business
Indiana
Jul 17, 2012

Not real impressed

The good: The staff was very nice. The bed was very nice to sleep in. I liked the coffee, microwave, and fridge in room. The bad: Mold in the bathroom shower. Ceiling damage from water in bathroom. Bath fan did not remove the moisture from the bathroom. I had to call maintenance on the TV and it still did not work right. The A/C went out but maint. fixed it right away. It is gated parking and they charge 10.00 a night to park there. The door seemed hollow. I could hear everything outside my door. Overall, I was not impressed for what I paid for the room and will not be back. 3-star fits .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at the Eggery.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
April supersaver
Business
Puyallup,WA
Sep 13, 2012

September 2012 stay

We loved the lush court yard and pool. The rooms are well appointed and very clean. The location was excellent. We did try the hotel restaraunt and it was very nice and the food was great as well. My only one complaint was that the room above us flooded a bathtub and a tide of water poured down into our room. The cleaning crew told us we could move but the actual staff up front gave us no discount on our room. We had a wet floor and walls to deal with for 2 days. I did not move because we needed a room next to my sister. I wish that they had been more aware of the situation and had a remedy to suit us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are great places to eat nearby and places to walk and enjoy the waterfront. Excellent location.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kk35042
Business
sweet home alabama
Oct 4, 2012

Good value - LOVED the free bicycle rentals

This is an older motel / inn with very nice tropical gardens. Lots of amenities you would not expect like the free bike rentals and lobby computers to print your boarding pass. Beds were comfortable, bathroom looked to be newly renovated. There was some dust on the ceiling fan above the bed and the tile needed to be scrubbed in the bath. We didn't get a chance to eat at the motel restaurant but ate at Brigantine's 2 times, and it was excellent. It's nice to walk to dinner and they have a great happy hour. Try their fish taco!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PokesFan
Business
Cheyenne, WY
Oct 9, 2012

Weekend away from kids

We chose this hotel for it's amenities and location. The location was great for us with easy access to local attractions and nice views of the bay. Our hotel room had a ground level patio which was nice for morning coffee and evening drinks, but large overgrown foliage obscured any views we may have had of the bay and city. Still nice to have. Our room was comfortable but we had to put cushions around the door to keep out the light and muffle sounds from the nightly concerts held at the hotel. Room was newly remodeled, but still seemed a bit dark and dingy. The pool area was large and comfortable with mature landscaping. We were able to walk to nearby restaurants for dinner. Mexican place up the street was superb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Historical lighthouse nearby was a pleasant surprise! Short drive from the hotel, nice views of the ocean, a little historical information on early San Diego, only $5 admission to the Park.

Back to menu Return to top