$162 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

3 stars
2303 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
562 reviews
Amazing

Best hotel in the area. Great rooms, awesome service and staff. The mango margaritas by the pool... See full review

  • ial86
  • Jul 12, 2014
Wonderful California Suite

Wonderful location, excellent amenities. The hotel exceeded our expectations. Humphreys Half Moon... See full review

  • Shesh 87
  • Jun 27, 2014
Easy access to San Diego attractions from Shelter Island location

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites is situated on Shelter Island, between San Diego Bay and America's Cup Harbor. The hotel is close to many of San Diego's tourist attractions and minutes from the airport. The hotel's Shelter Island location makes it equally suitable for business conferences, family vacations or weddings. The tropical island setting showcases the recently renovated suites and rooms on offer from Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites. Many rooms feature views of the marina or the city. Humphrey's Restaurant offers guests fine international cuisine along with superb views of San Diego Bay and the Marina.

Reasons to stay
  • Humphreys Concerts by the Bay – open air concerts between May and October
  • Close to SeaWorld and San Diego Zoo
  • Pool bar, spa and fitness center
Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites offers 182 rooms, including 54 suites that boast incredible views of the nearby marina and San Diego Bay. Décor is Mediterranean in style and each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, mini refrigerator, microwave and in-room safe. All suites include private patios or balconies. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access.

Things to do nearby
    • Seaport Village  (5.0 mi/8.0 km)
    • SeaWorld  (5.0 mi/8.0 km)
    • Mission Beach  (6.0 mi/10.0 km)
    • San Diego Zoo  (8.2 mi/10.0 km)
Policies and fees
Starting July 1, Humphrey's will be implementing a passport fee of $9.95 per room/night that includes:

  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Free airport, Amtrak & Cruise Terminal transfers
  • Free business center services including Boarding Pass Printing
  • Free two-hour bike rentals
  • Free entrance to our Backstage Live Music Lounge
  • Free dining offers in our restaurant, lounge and pool bar
  • Additional discounted selections at our restaurant, lounge and pool bar
  • Discounts and special offers to local attractions and businesses. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7174 -117.2244
Area served
San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport
Area description
Located minutes from Sea World, San Diego Zoo and downtown San Diego.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Tropical View Guestroom
Newly renovated Tropical View Guest Rooms offer all of the luxurious amenities and features of our Premier Guest Rooms and more. These beautiful rooms overlook tropical pool and gardens. First floor rooms offer direct access to our private pool and tropical gardens through furnished patios. One king or two queen beds.
Premier Guestroom
Premiere category showcases all new furniture including headboards, wood bed frames and crisp new duvet covers, plush pillows and cozy throw blankets, with one king or two queen size beds. They all offer a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker plus a 42" flat screen LCD TV.
Luxury Junior Suite
To indulge in a bit more space in lavish style, consider our newly renovated Luxury Junior Suites. These unique and accommodating suites are perfect for up to 4 people. Relax, unpack and make yourself at home in 450 square feet of living space that features a furnished patio/balcony, a king bed, sleeper sofa in the sitting area, mini refrigerator and microwave.
Garden View Suite
Our newly appointed View Suites offer over 700 square feet of living space, comfortably accommodating up to six people. Each suite comes equipped with a kitchen and separate living room with sleeper sofa. The private bedroom includes a generous dressing area, two queen beds and a list of luxurious amenities. Marina View Suites overlook our private marina and are just steps away from the water, while our Garden View Suites are surrounded by swaying palms and lush, tropical gardens.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Sea World: 3.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Sea World: 3.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.1 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.8 mi
  • Legoland: 28.9 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121.6 mi

Dining

Humphrey's Restaurant
Humphreys by the Bay waterfront restaurant is consistently rated among the best in San Diego. Our chef presents Modern Global Cuisine at it's finest. The extensive wine list has received the Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator for three consecutive years. Your dining experience is perfected by the breathtaking views of the sailboats anchored in the marina, sunsets and city lights sparkling across San Diego Bay. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. 6:30am to 9pm Sun-Thurs and 6:30am to 10pm Fri & Sat. Humphreys award-winning Sunday Brunch Buffet is every Sunday from 10am to 2pm.
Humphrey's Backstage Live
After dinner, enjoy a nightcap or take a spin around the dance floor at Humphreys Backstage Live, voted "Best place to dance in San Diego". Every night features exciting live music with San Diego's hottest bands. Happy Hour 5pm to 7pm daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (562)

Ratings and reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
562 out of 562
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Golfing Pair
Buffalo, NY
Apr 24, 2011

Very Enjoyable!

Checked in on Sat afternoon but the hotel didn't have any rooms fopr the free upgrade by [...]. They said to check back in the morning. We did and the hotel graciously upgraded to a tropical room...same room just with a pool and garden view instead of the parking lot.Room had been recently upgraded with bathroom redone. With the king bed there was plenty of room and a nice big LG Plasma TV where we watched the Sabres win a playoff game.We found the location to be awesome for golfing, getting on the interstate, walking to Starbucks in the mornings, and also for driving 5 minutes to downtown and the Gaslamp quarter. We also walked around the area each morning which was enjoyable right down on the waterfront near the yacht clubs. Many people were out walking their dogs and also enjoyable the mornings.We also through [...]received free Continental breakfast which each morning we upgraded to any breakfast. They applied the $9.25 voucher to any breakfast where we often had pancakes, raisin bread french toast, omelettes, oatmeal with fruit, often times with no additional price!The hotel bar also had a Happy Hour which had half off drinks and appetizers with live muscic. Some night there was a cover charge but we did not attend those.We also saw the stage/concert schedule and could not believe what artists will be coming to the hotel! Top names young and old. That would be awesome!Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The free breakfast was awesome! Trade in for your choice of food!

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jan 4, 2009

Very relaxing

Humphreys Half Moon Inn was a very comfortable and the staff was really pleasant. The rooms were really nice and comfortable. I enjoyed the fact that they had the restaraunt and the lounge, I was simply there for pleasure and I really didnt have to leave, everything I needed was right there on the property. The beds were extremly comfortable and the rooms are a nice size, I didnt feel congested. Also, the view was beautiful. We were right across from the water and we could see the cruise ships coming and going. Great for pictures. I would recommend this hotel to a friend and I would definetely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

a few blocks away from the hotel is several dining facilites

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ricksters
San Diego, California
Jul 30, 2012

Birthday Getaway

Very nice and comfortable! Perfect location..... Very family friendly and awesome pool and restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The hotel has live bands and concerts on-site

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Two Adventurers
Woodbridge, Va.
Mar 11, 2011

Wonderful experience

Humpheys was the best in all areas. We were given an upgrade as well as outstanding breakfast. Can't wait to visit San Diego and Humpheys again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tucson, AZ
Apr 1, 2011

Nice Stay

Hotel was great...we asked to be on the 1st floor, next to the pool and got just that. Our room was clean...no issues at all...we really enjoy staying at this hotel time after time...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sacramento Grandma
Sacramento
Nov 24, 2009

Perfect!

This hotel was great! I was visiting my daughter so was out of the hotel part of the time, but when I was there it was quiet, restful and very relaxing. The area is great for long walks along the marina or shore and the gardens are wonderful to meander in. The pool was exquisite, warm and clean. I wanted to spend one afternoon reading in the gardens, but the music was distracting, even though it was soft and of the relaxing type.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Great room service as well as restaurant. I had one of the best pizzas ever!

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Temecula, CA
Apr 7, 2011

Great Birthday Getaway

Wonderful hotel experience. Comfortable room and room service was quick. Meal was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Enjoyed piano bar in restaurant.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sandy Lau
Los angeles, California
Jan 7, 2013

awesome!!!

nice hotel for holiday!! nice service!! nice room!! nice holiday!! I will come back next time!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thanks Mom
Nebraska
Mar 15, 2014

Sisters Trip

Oh my gosh!! This wonderful hotel exceeded our expectations x100!! The minute we arrived at the airport and called for shuttle service to the minute we were dropped back off to return home, we were treated with friendliness, kindness, helpfulness!!! The hotel was perfectly located, centrally to all we wanted to see and do. We were upgraded to a water view of the beautiful marina, the room was always clean! The pool and hot tub were amazing... so peaceful and clean! A great outdoor atmosphere! And staff was super helpful, in places to go, places to eat, renting a car, etc! We will be back for sure!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Coronado Island... its a must!!!! :)

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Once a year vacation
Kansas, USA
Jun 3, 2013

One week vacation stay

We had a great time at Humphreys. The look and feel were great. There were several dining places with in walking distance. We felt safe walking at night. It is close to a lot of attractions. I would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top