$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

3 stars
2303 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
426 reviews
Great Experience

Great experience and location. Room was great and very clean. See full review

  • TiLee
  • Aug 10, 2014
Amazing

Best hotel in the area. Great rooms, awesome service and staff. The mango margaritas by the pool... See full review

  • ial86
  • Jul 12, 2014
Easy access to San Diego attractions from Shelter Island location

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites is situated on Shelter Island, between San Diego Bay and America's Cup Harbor. The hotel is close to many of San Diego's tourist attractions and minutes from the airport. The hotel's Shelter Island location makes it equally suitable for business conferences, family vacations or weddings. The tropical island setting showcases the recently renovated suites and rooms on offer from Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites. Many rooms feature views of the marina or the city. Humphrey's Restaurant offers guests fine international cuisine along with superb views of San Diego Bay and the Marina.The property also provides parking at additional cost.

Reasons to stay
  • Humphreys Concerts by the Bay - open air concerts between May and October
  • Close to SeaWorld and San Diego Zoo
  • Pool bar, spa and fitness center
Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites offers 182 rooms, including 54 suites that boast incredible views of the nearby marina and San Diego Bay. Decor is Mediterranean in style and each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, mini refrigerator, microwave and in-room safe. All suites include private patios or balconies. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access.

Things to do nearby
    • Seaport Village  (5.0 mi/8.0 km)
    • SeaWorld  (5.0 mi/8.0 km)
    • Mission Beach  (6.0 mi/10.0 km)
    • San Diego Zoo  (8.2 mi/10.0 km)
Policies and fees
  • Parking is available for $14 USD per night.
Starting July 1, Humphrey's will be implementing a passport fee of $9.95 USD per room/night that includes:
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Free business center services including Boarding Pass Printing
  • Free two-hour bike rentals
  • Free entrance to our Backstage Live Music Lounge
  • Free dining offers in our restaurant, lounge and pool bar
  • Additional discounted selections at our restaurant, lounge and pool bar
  • Discounts and special offers to local attractions and businesses. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7174 -117.2244
Area served
San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport
Area description
Located minutes from Sea World, San Diego Zoo and downtown San Diego.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Tropical View Guestroom
Newly renovated Tropical View Guest Rooms offer all of the luxurious amenities and features of our Premier Guest Rooms and more. These beautiful rooms overlook tropical pool and gardens. First floor rooms offer direct access to our private pool and tropical gardens through furnished patios. One king or two queen beds.
Premier Guestroom
Premiere category showcases all new furniture including headboards, wood bed frames and crisp new duvet covers, plush pillows and cozy throw blankets, with one king or two queen size beds. They all offer a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker plus a 42" flat screen LCD TV.
Luxury Junior Suite
To indulge in a bit more space in lavish style, consider our newly renovated Luxury Junior Suites. These unique and accommodating suites are perfect for up to 4 people. Relax, unpack and make yourself at home in 450 square feet of living space that features a furnished patio/balcony, a king bed, sleeper sofa in the sitting area, mini refrigerator and microwave.
Garden View Suite
Our newly appointed View Suites offer over 700 square feet of living space, comfortably accommodating up to six people. Each suite comes equipped with a kitchen and separate living room with sleeper sofa. The private bedroom includes a generous dressing area, two queen beds and a list of luxurious amenities. Marina View Suites overlook our private marina and are just steps away from the water, while our Garden View Suites are surrounded by swaying palms and lush, tropical gardens.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Sea World: 3.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Sea World: 3.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.1 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.8 mi
  • Legoland: 28.9 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121.6 mi

Dining

Humphrey's Restaurant
Humphreys by the Bay waterfront restaurant is consistently rated among the best in San Diego. Our chef presents Modern Global Cuisine at it's finest. The extensive wine list has received the Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator for three consecutive years. Your dining experience is perfected by the breathtaking views of the sailboats anchored in the marina, sunsets and city lights sparkling across San Diego Bay. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. 6:30am to 9pm Sun-Thurs and 6:30am to 10pm Fri & Sat. Humphreys award-winning Sunday Brunch Buffet is every Sunday from 10am to 2pm.
Humphrey's Backstage Live
After dinner, enjoy a nightcap or take a spin around the dance floor at Humphreys Backstage Live, voted "Best place to dance in San Diego". Every night features exciting live music with San Diego's hottest bands. Happy Hour 5pm to 7pm daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (426)

Ratings and reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
426 out of 426
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mae
Cleveland, OH
Jul 2, 2009

Fantastic family getaway

We only stayed here one night. We were in town for Drill Instructor Graduation at MCRD in San Diego and were only ten minutes away. Great hotel! Great location! The grounds and views were beautiful from everywhere. There were many activities for my other teenage children to do, from the pool and hot tub and fitness room to croquet, ping pong, and a putting green. There was a concert of Emmie Lou Harris that could be heard nicely from the pool area. They offered room service and have a nice lounge with more live entertainment after 9:30pm. Clean comfortable rooms. Can't wait to go back and stay longer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gidi2
Mansfield, TX
Oct 20, 2013

Amazing Location

The grounds are lush and gorgeous...I really felt like I was on vacation in the tropics. The staff were very friendly and helpful. And you couldn't ask for a better location. Everything was easy to get to and there were even a lot of places within walking distance. I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay there again myself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Arby's
Saint Petersburg, Fl.
Mar 3, 2013

Very nice place to stay

Overall our week was very pleasant stay, spa, pool, food, room and location were excellent. I have 2 issues, my reservations stated that I could get a free upgrade if available, when I checked on the upgrade they wanted to charge me $15.00/ night ? . The other issue was room noise from other rooms, seems like the sounds from the room above us transferred to our room waking us up 3 or 4 times during the week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Very convenient to everything.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
May 7, 2009

Humphrey's is a great place to stay!

This hotel is very unique. It has a feel of a polynesian resort with beautiful vegetation everywhere and very well kept grounds. There were small ponds of koi fish and parrots and weekend nights are filled with music coming from the stage. Humphrey's also has a beautiful view of the san diego skyline and is found right on the ocean and a large running/walking path. The rooms were very clean and modern. The only part that I didnt like was that you had to pay for parking which is pretty lame seeing as you are already paying to stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Midwest Explorers
Kansas, USA
Jan 15, 2012

October Getaway to San Diego

Our family of 4 stayed here during our trip to San Diego, it was great! We stayed in the Oversized Garden View Suite and really enjoyed the opportunity to have the kitchen and make breakfast and snacks everyday. During our stay there were two different concerts but we didn't find they interfered with our enjoyment of the facility. Our boys really enjoyed the pool and we enjoyed the jacuzzi. We also enjoyed the coy ponds and two macaws. The grounds are beautifuly kept and we look forward to a return visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Would highly recommend the USS Midway

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
los angeles
Mar 15, 2011

beautiful location, friendly staff

the rooms were very nice,with modern fixtures,very clean,nice amenities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nicole n love
Lakeside, CA
Feb 27, 2011

Nice trip

We stayed the weekend here and it was really nice. Our room was an oceanview junior suite and it was very nice and roomy. We went to the next door resturant and jazz bar and they were very nice also. The only complaint is that when we went to explore the place our key wouldn't work for the pool. It was the morning before checkout, but we still had hours before we needed to check out. Nothing was in the minibar you had to order it and it said it coud take over an hour to get just some candy. And the ice machine and soda machine were broken.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mamaacita
Seattle, WA
Dec 6, 2013

Wonderful Surprise

We chose this hotel as it was a package deal with a car rental. We had do idea where it was or what it was like. What a great surprise. The hotel was great and we had a room overlooking the bay. The hotel was clean, staff friendly and surroundings delightful. We went to their resturant that night Humphreys and we felt we had the best prime rib ever. We like to judge the food by prime rib and we will talk about it for some time. The waitress said we should try their specialities and we know we will definitely make this a stop the next time in San Diego. Might just take a detour for this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

good food, excellent atomsphere and friendly. Priced reasonable too.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Solar Powered
Casa Grande, AZ
Jan 28, 2014

Perfect stay

Terrific hotel in great location. Staff was very helpful in getting us to a wedding on time with an early check-in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Golfing Pair
Buffalo, NY
Apr 24, 2011

Very Enjoyable!

Checked in on Sat afternoon but the hotel didn't have any rooms fopr the free upgrade by [...]. They said to check back in the morning. We did and the hotel graciously upgraded to a tropical room...same room just with a pool and garden view instead of the parking lot.Room had been recently upgraded with bathroom redone. With the king bed there was plenty of room and a nice big LG Plasma TV where we watched the Sabres win a playoff game.We found the location to be awesome for golfing, getting on the interstate, walking to Starbucks in the mornings, and also for driving 5 minutes to downtown and the Gaslamp quarter. We also walked around the area each morning which was enjoyable right down on the waterfront near the yacht clubs. Many people were out walking their dogs and also enjoyable the mornings.We also through [...]received free Continental breakfast which each morning we upgraded to any breakfast. They applied the $9.25 voucher to any breakfast where we often had pancakes, raisin bread french toast, omelettes, oatmeal with fruit, often times with no additional price!The hotel bar also had a Happy Hour which had half off drinks and appetizers with live muscic. Some night there was a cover charge but we did not attend those.We also saw the stage/concert schedule and could not believe what artists will be coming to the hotel! Top names young and old. That would be awesome!Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The free breakfast was awesome! Trade in for your choice of food!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search