$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

3 stars
View map of 2303 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
489 out of 489
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sarahannl
Business
Los Angeles, California
May 20, 2013

Beautiful and romantic spot!!

It is pricey but it is worth it for a relaxing and romantic vacation. The moment you step into this place, it's lile you are in Hawaii - surrounded by beautiful gardens, amazing pool area and beautiful scenery of the yachts and bay. Wonderful place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ColoradoLiraGirl
Business
Denver, Colorado
May 26, 2013

Great experience!

We enjoyed our stay! Location is great: minutes from downtown, Sea World and San Diego Zoo. The room was clean and comfortable; staff is very friendly. We'll definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

San Diego Zoo

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Once a year vacation
Business
Kansas, USA
Jun 3, 2013

One week vacation stay

We had a great time at Humphreys. The look and feel were great. There were several dining places with in walking distance. We felt safe walking at night. It is close to a lot of attractions. I would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mavisf
Business
Clovis, CA
Jun 14, 2013

Above & Beyond Expectations

We usually choose a simple, inexpensive, clean place to crash for each night. We rarely use any ammenities... that was not the case here...We were skeptical to choose this facility, but is was central to ALL the locations we wanted to visit..... Legoland, Sea World, Harbor Cruises, Balboa Park, Old town, etc.... our longest drive was Legoland, about 20 minutesaway, all by freeway. Absolutely everything else was within a 10 minute or less drive. (And alot of walkiking ammenities... a free fishing pier within a 1/2 mile, nice quite harbor beaches to play in the sun, and a CONCERT venue right on the premises. Cindi Lauper was playing the night we left ... we missed boo hoo (would have been fun to listen to while enjoying the wondeful pool, with a bar available every night and jacuzzi.) We were given a complimentary upgrade that exceeded any expectataions... we stayed in a small apartment, overlooking the pool... my Grandson LOVED!!! Two Queen beds in a seperate room, 2 closets in the hallway, the bathroom with double sinks and large shower and bath in the hall way, a dinette with Full refrigerator, stovetop and microwave AND a seperate FAMILY room with TV. seating... lots of room!!...AND we were upstairs with a balcony that could be entered from the Family room or bed room. Our 2nd day, my husband was experiencing sever lower back pain, we went to the front office for directions to the nearest emergency room, and they referred us to a doctor on call.the Dr did an over the phone diagnosis, billed our insurance, and called in a couple of prescriptions... we thought for certain our stay was done. Within 6 hours, everthing was right as rain!!! Thank-you Hotel staff for a job well done.!!! The Grounds and rooms were well kept. The service excellent.... Definately a top choice if we ever get back to the San Diego area again!!! Thank-you for a wonderful visit!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

San Diego has a "Go San Diego Card" for a reasonable fee that can be purchased for 3 to 7 days fhat allows entry to most major attractions. If you plan to visit many of the major attractions, this speeds entry and can save some money, BUT Plan wisley, because a visit to a major attration every day can be grueling!!! A down day or two to start and/or end your trip may be most rewarding.... my Grandson was exhausted (8 years old after 3 days) One of the Things my Grandson had the most fun with were the "squished penny" souvenirs. Really... fro 10 dollars in quarters and 10 pennies, they can get 20 souvenirs from all over town!!! They get to choose the style they want... put the money in and pump the crank to make that penny appear!!!! What a blast he had!!!! AND THEY TAKE UP ALMOST NO ROOM

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
byakuren
Business
San Diego, CA,
Jul 27, 2013

Great Honeymoon spot!

My husband and I recently stayed at Humphreys and the staff was great. We mentioned it was our honeymoon and they delivered chocolate covered strawberries and champagne to our room that night. The grounds were serene and tropical and the room was comfy, clean, and modern. We were close to the water and went for a morning bike ride near the hotel. The food at the hotel was also superb! We will definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the complementary bikes and go for a morning ride to Con Pane Bakery in nearby Pt. Loma which is about a 20 minute ride from the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Melody Pond
Business
Minneapolis MN
Jul 24, 2013

Absolutely Fantastic

A gem on Shelter Island! We stayed 4 days and 3 nights during Comic Con week and it was surprisingly quiet. The Hotel is very well maintained especially the lush landscape. Every inch of green space is bursting with tropical flowers and foliage. Total Hawaii vibe. Kudos to the gardening staff. Service was top notch, and everyone had a genuine smile and take time to say Hi (we dont get that here in snobby minnesota). The most incredible part was they found us a room 8 hours earlier from check in and and granted us the keys for no extra charge. That is unbelievable! Our only compaint would be that the TV in our room did not get very good service, but with the uber clean grounds, pool, hot tub, and beach across the street, we did not really need tv time. Stay Classy Humphrey's!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Billy who did the free shuttle service to and from the airport had great area restaurant recommendations, and since we did not want to drive, he pointed out the bus stop which is a very short walk from the hotel. For cheap day passes, it took us anywhere we needed to go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sunshine WA
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 1, 2013

A Dream Hotel for Empty Nesters!

This hotel is like visiting a tropical island without the travel. The lush landscape is fantastic; the patio outside the room is semi private and relaxing with a small table and two chairs - a delightful place to have meals. We had a pool side room and did not find any noise problem. The bed is very comfortable and the bathroom is beautiful! There are concerts that end by 10:30. This was not a problem for us. The staff are all friendly and sincerely desire to help if you need anything – like where to meet the Trolley shuttle, etc. The room service is great; the restaurant has great food. The panna cotta is worth having a small meal to save room for dessert! Book this room on a non holiday.. The rooms cost as much as 4X more on holidays. Still temping because the hotel, room, pool area and restaurant are 5 star. We are already planning to fly into San Diego from Washington to stay a few days. The hotel has airport shuttle. What a dream way to have a vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take the Old Town Trolley and SEAL tours. The Old Town Trolley shuttle will pick up at the hotel and return you later in the day. The Trolley tour allows a hop off hop on tour. This is a good way to see the whole area – then decide where you want to spend time. Locals say Little Italy has a lot of great food. Be sure to check out the free entertainment at the Spreckles Organ Pavilion in Balboa Park. It had 50s- 60s music the evening we were there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr.Will
Business
Cincinnati
Sep 30, 2013

On the water at a bungalo in San Diego

If you want to be on the water and hear good music in San Diego, this is the place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Live music in their Back Stage on the grounds.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gidi2
Business
Mansfield, TX
Oct 20, 2013

Amazing Location

The grounds are lush and gorgeous...I really felt like I was on vacation in the tropics. The staff were very friendly and helpful. And you couldn't ask for a better location. Everything was easy to get to and there were even a lot of places within walking distance. I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay there again myself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mamaacita
Business
Seattle, WA
Dec 6, 2013

Wonderful Surprise

We chose this hotel as it was a package deal with a car rental. We had do idea where it was or what it was like. What a great surprise. The hotel was great and we had a room overlooking the bay. The hotel was clean, staff friendly and surroundings delightful. We went to their resturant that night Humphreys and we felt we had the best prime rib ever. We like to judge the food by prime rib and we will talk about it for some time. The waitress said we should try their specialities and we know we will definitely make this a stop the next time in San Diego. Might just take a detour for this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

good food, excellent atomsphere and friendly. Priced reasonable too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top