$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2015 Check-out: Jul 29, 2015

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

3 stars
View map of 2303 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
448 out of 448
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Irish holiday
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 12, 2013

Our favorite place to stay in San Diego

We stay here for business, but it is always a pleasure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Val from LA
Business
Los Angeles
Apr 21, 2013

Awesome getaway!

I was there for a concert and had initially booked a room for one night but decided to turn my concert getaway into a mini retreat for myself. So glad I did. This place is great. The staff was very friendly and very accommodating. The grounds are well maintained. The location can't be beat. Will definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pearson's Deli is located just a short walk away on Shelter Drive.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michellek73
Business
Waterford, MI
Apr 29, 2013

Great location, great hotel!

This hotel very nice. It felt more like a resort. We had several people in our party staying there, and all of the rooms were nice and had great views. My 12 year old son enjoyed the heated pool and hot tub. The grounds are just gorgeous, and the room was very quiet; even though ours faced the restaurant, we didn't hear any noise. Beautiful koi pond and see if you can catch the parrots out on their roosts! Loved this hotel and would definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pizza Nova was EXCELLENT and very reasonably priced. And, they deliver to the hotel!

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
azpirate
Business
arizona
May 2, 2013

Annaversary getaway

In a word, GREAT. We were only a short drive from everything that we wanted to see, Ocean beach, Midway, Harbor tour, and we found great food both at the restaurant and in the area. The hotel was wonderful with a very nice room, friendly/helpful staff, and fantastic views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pizza Nova, its very close and the food is excellant.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy in San Diego
Business
Spokane
May 2, 2013

Love Humphrey's Half Moon!

This was our 2nd stay. Love the beautiful, quiet, peaceful, tropical environment. Wouldn't stay anywhere else. Staff is amazing, happy and helpful! Some of the rooms are a little dated but I think they're working on that. Next year, we're bringing our 4 kids and staying in a suite!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

No car necessary, the bus is close and takes you anywhere for $7.00 per day!

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sarahannl
Business
Los Angeles, California
May 20, 2013

Beautiful and romantic spot!!

It is pricey but it is worth it for a relaxing and romantic vacation. The moment you step into this place, it's lile you are in Hawaii - surrounded by beautiful gardens, amazing pool area and beautiful scenery of the yachts and bay. Wonderful place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Once a year vacation
Business
Kansas, USA
Jun 3, 2013

One week vacation stay

We had a great time at Humphreys. The look and feel were great. There were several dining places with in walking distance. We felt safe walking at night. It is close to a lot of attractions. I would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mavisf
Business
Clovis, CA
Jun 14, 2013

Above & Beyond Expectations

We usually choose a simple, inexpensive, clean place to crash for each night. We rarely use any ammenities... that was not the case here...We were skeptical to choose this facility, but is was central to ALL the locations we wanted to visit..... Legoland, Sea World, Harbor Cruises, Balboa Park, Old town, etc.... our longest drive was Legoland, about 20 minutesaway, all by freeway. Absolutely everything else was within a 10 minute or less drive. (And alot of walkiking ammenities... a free fishing pier within a 1/2 mile, nice quite harbor beaches to play in the sun, and a CONCERT venue right on the premises. Cindi Lauper was playing the night we left ... we missed boo hoo (would have been fun to listen to while enjoying the wondeful pool, with a bar available every night and jacuzzi.) We were given a complimentary upgrade that exceeded any expectataions... we stayed in a small apartment, overlooking the pool... my Grandson LOVED!!! Two Queen beds in a seperate room, 2 closets in the hallway, the bathroom with double sinks and large shower and bath in the hall way, a dinette with Full refrigerator, stovetop and microwave AND a seperate FAMILY room with TV. seating... lots of room!!...AND we were upstairs with a balcony that could be entered from the Family room or bed room. Our 2nd day, my husband was experiencing sever lower back pain, we went to the front office for directions to the nearest emergency room, and they referred us to a doctor on call.the Dr did an over the phone diagnosis, billed our insurance, and called in a couple of prescriptions... we thought for certain our stay was done. Within 6 hours, everthing was right as rain!!! Thank-you Hotel staff for a job well done.!!! The Grounds and rooms were well kept. The service excellent.... Definately a top choice if we ever get back to the San Diego area again!!! Thank-you for a wonderful visit!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

San Diego has a "Go San Diego Card" for a reasonable fee that can be purchased for 3 to 7 days fhat allows entry to most major attractions. If you plan to visit many of the major attractions, this speeds entry and can save some money, BUT Plan wisley, because a visit to a major attration every day can be grueling!!! A down day or two to start and/or end your trip may be most rewarding.... my Grandson was exhausted (8 years old after 3 days) One of the Things my Grandson had the most fun with were the "squished penny" souvenirs. Really... fro 10 dollars in quarters and 10 pennies, they can get 20 souvenirs from all over town!!! They get to choose the style they want... put the money in and pump the crank to make that penny appear!!!! What a blast he had!!!! AND THEY TAKE UP ALMOST NO ROOM

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
byakuren
Business
San Diego, CA,
Jul 27, 2013

Great Honeymoon spot!

My husband and I recently stayed at Humphreys and the staff was great. We mentioned it was our honeymoon and they delivered chocolate covered strawberries and champagne to our room that night. The grounds were serene and tropical and the room was comfy, clean, and modern. We were close to the water and went for a morning bike ride near the hotel. The food at the hotel was also superb! We will definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the complementary bikes and go for a morning ride to Con Pane Bakery in nearby Pt. Loma which is about a 20 minute ride from the hotel

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Melody Pond
Business
Minneapolis MN
Jul 24, 2013

Absolutely Fantastic

A gem on Shelter Island! We stayed 4 days and 3 nights during Comic Con week and it was surprisingly quiet. The Hotel is very well maintained especially the lush landscape. Every inch of green space is bursting with tropical flowers and foliage. Total Hawaii vibe. Kudos to the gardening staff. Service was top notch, and everyone had a genuine smile and take time to say Hi (we dont get that here in snobby minnesota). The most incredible part was they found us a room 8 hours earlier from check in and and granted us the keys for no extra charge. That is unbelievable! Our only compaint would be that the TV in our room did not get very good service, but with the uber clean grounds, pool, hot tub, and beach across the street, we did not really need tv time. Stay Classy Humphrey's!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Billy who did the free shuttle service to and from the airport had great area restaurant recommendations, and since we did not want to drive, he pointed out the bus stop which is a very short walk from the hotel. For cheap day passes, it took us anywhere we needed to go.

Back to menu Return to top