$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

3 stars
View map of 2303 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
471 out of 471
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
May 7, 2009

Humphrey's is a great place to stay!

This hotel is very unique. It has a feel of a polynesian resort with beautiful vegetation everywhere and very well kept grounds. There were small ponds of koi fish and parrots and weekend nights are filled with music coming from the stage. Humphrey's also has a beautiful view of the san diego skyline and is found right on the ocean and a large running/walking path. The rooms were very clean and modern. The only part that I didnt like was that you had to pay for parking which is pretty lame seeing as you are already paying to stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mae
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jul 2, 2009

Fantastic family getaway

We only stayed here one night. We were in town for Drill Instructor Graduation at MCRD in San Diego and were only ten minutes away. Great hotel! Great location! The grounds and views were beautiful from everywhere. There were many activities for my other teenage children to do, from the pool and hot tub and fitness room to croquet, ping pong, and a putting green. There was a concert of Emmie Lou Harris that could be heard nicely from the pool area. They offered room service and have a nice lounge with more live entertainment after 9:30pm. Clean comfortable rooms. Can't wait to go back and stay longer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Golfing Pair
Business
Buffalo, NY
Apr 24, 2011

Very Enjoyable!

Checked in on Sat afternoon but the hotel didn't have any rooms fopr the free upgrade by [...]. They said to check back in the morning. We did and the hotel graciously upgraded to a tropical room...same room just with a pool and garden view instead of the parking lot.Room had been recently upgraded with bathroom redone. With the king bed there was plenty of room and a nice big LG Plasma TV where we watched the Sabres win a playoff game.We found the location to be awesome for golfing, getting on the interstate, walking to Starbucks in the mornings, and also for driving 5 minutes to downtown and the Gaslamp quarter. We also walked around the area each morning which was enjoyable right down on the waterfront near the yacht clubs. Many people were out walking their dogs and also enjoyable the mornings.We also through [...]received free Continental breakfast which each morning we upgraded to any breakfast. They applied the $9.25 voucher to any breakfast where we often had pancakes, raisin bread french toast, omelettes, oatmeal with fruit, often times with no additional price!The hotel bar also had a Happy Hour which had half off drinks and appetizers with live muscic. Some night there was a cover charge but we did not attend those.We also saw the stage/concert schedule and could not believe what artists will be coming to the hotel! Top names young and old. That would be awesome!Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The free breakfast was awesome! Trade in for your choice of food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sacramento Grandma
Business
Sacramento
Nov 24, 2009

Perfect!

This hotel was great! I was visiting my daughter so was out of the hotel part of the time, but when I was there it was quiet, restful and very relaxing. The area is great for long walks along the marina or shore and the gardens are wonderful to meander in. The pool was exquisite, warm and clean. I wanted to spend one afternoon reading in the gardens, but the music was distracting, even though it was soft and of the relaxing type.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great room service as well as restaurant. I had one of the best pizzas ever!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lancaster, PA
Jan 3, 2010

A nice vacation...

My Parents and I went to San Diego to visit another family member. The Hotel was VERY close to the airport and had a beautiful view of the bay. If you love sailboats-STAY HERE. There was a nice running path, relaxing hot tub, and great muffin shop down the street. When we had a problem with out first room (we had requested a pool/garden view) they moved as soon as we ask and had a good explanation for not putting us there in the first place (the room we were originally placed was new renovated and they thought we would want that). The Staff was friendly and the rooms were very clean. My family and I would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

This hotel is about 10-20 minutes from all San Diego attractions. Sea World, Zoo, Museums, Airport, USS Midway, Downtown, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reno, NV
Apr 17, 2010

Stay in San Diego

Great pool, great location, great price, great time!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 12, 2008

Watch out for the upgrade

What can be better than an ocean view room on San Diego harbor from the midst of one of the greatest marina areas on the California coast? A suprise? upgrade with a great view of the harbor and downtown San Diego!! It was also right outside the outdoor rock concert arena which is a feature of this property. Turned out OK though, bands were done by 10PM and the doors were somewhat soundproof...Just turn the TV up, or the CPAP machine on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norwalk
Oct 19, 2008

Wonderful Vacation!

We stayed here in October which is considered the off season for tourists and it made the stay very quiet. It was our 37th Wedding anniversary and I wanted it to be special. When we got there, we got a suite facing the marina with a full kitchen and a beautiful view. The room actually had a sliding door that closed the bedroom off from the living room which was nice because my husband goes to bed early and gets up early. Everything was clean including the grounds and the staff was wonderful. We enjoyed breakfast stitting by a window by the marina. Food was good, not great. I fell in love with this place and want to make it an anniversary tradition to return every year. There are many things to do in San Diego which made it a very fun trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

They have a bar on the premises with a live band in the evening and they also have a entertainment area where they hold live concerts during the summer months.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Marble Falls, *
Jul 27, 2008

Great place to stay

Humphrey's Half Moon Inn & Suites was an amazing place to stay. The pool area is huge, hot tub was nice too. Our room was facing towards the interior of the building, so we had a little porch area that was nice to go out and sit on and take in the view. They have a concert area very close by too, so at any given night, there's likely a concert going on that you can attend (not for free mind you, but the acts they have playing there are usually big names, so you dont mind paying). I talked to a worker who said that some people complain about the noise, but I had no problem with it- you can hear a slight noise from your room, but its not enough to keep you up at niight. Plus, the shows are done before it gets to be the wee hours of night, so I didnt understand that complaint at all. There's a putting area that I didnt a chance to try out but it looked like fun. It's about 20 minutes from the Convention Center too, if you're coming down for the San Diego Comic Con, like I was, so thats a huge bonus too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There's a very nice restauraunt too. It's a bit up there in price, but worth every penny- the food was amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MarcyFairn
Business
San Diego, California
May 22, 2014

Perfect stay

Friendly staff. Everything was perfect. No complaints

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top