$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

3 stars
2303 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
563 reviews
Amazing

Best hotel in the area. Great rooms, awesome service and staff. The mango margaritas by the pool... See full review

  • ial86
  • Jul 12, 2014
Wonderful California Suite

Wonderful location, excellent amenities. The hotel exceeded our expectations. Humphreys Half Moon... See full review

  • Shesh 87
  • Jun 27, 2014
Easy access to San Diego attractions from Shelter Island location

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites is situated on Shelter Island, between San Diego Bay and America's Cup Harbor. The hotel is close to many of San Diego's tourist attractions and minutes from the airport. The hotel's Shelter Island location makes it equally suitable for business conferences, family vacations or weddings. The tropical island setting showcases the recently renovated suites and rooms on offer from Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites. Many rooms feature views of the marina or the city. Humphrey's Restaurant offers guests fine international cuisine along with superb views of San Diego Bay and the Marina.

Reasons to stay
  • Humphreys Concerts by the Bay – open air concerts between May and October
  • Close to SeaWorld and San Diego Zoo
  • Pool bar, spa and fitness center
Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites offers 182 rooms, including 54 suites that boast incredible views of the nearby marina and San Diego Bay. Decor is Mediterranean in style and each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, mini refrigerator, microwave and in-room safe. All suites include private patios or balconies. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access.

Things to do nearby
    • Seaport Village  (5.0 mi/8.0 km)
    • SeaWorld  (5.0 mi/8.0 km)
    • Mission Beach  (6.0 mi/10.0 km)
    • San Diego Zoo  (8.2 mi/10.0 km)
Policies and fees
  • Parking is available for $10.00 per night
Starting July 1, Humphrey's will be implementing a passport fee of $9.95 per room/night that includes:
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Free business center services including Boarding Pass Printing
  • Free two-hour bike rentals
  • Free entrance to our Backstage Live Music Lounge
  • Free dining offers in our restaurant, lounge and pool bar
  • Additional discounted selections at our restaurant, lounge and pool bar
  • Discounts and special offers to local attractions and businesses. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7174 -117.2244
Area served
San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport
Area description
Located minutes from Sea World, San Diego Zoo and downtown San Diego.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Tropical View Guestroom
Newly renovated Tropical View Guest Rooms offer all of the luxurious amenities and features of our Premier Guest Rooms and more. These beautiful rooms overlook tropical pool and gardens. First floor rooms offer direct access to our private pool and tropical gardens through furnished patios. One king or two queen beds.
Premier Guestroom
Premiere category showcases all new furniture including headboards, wood bed frames and crisp new duvet covers, plush pillows and cozy throw blankets, with one king or two queen size beds. They all offer a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker plus a 42" flat screen LCD TV.
Luxury Junior Suite
To indulge in a bit more space in lavish style, consider our newly renovated Luxury Junior Suites. These unique and accommodating suites are perfect for up to 4 people. Relax, unpack and make yourself at home in 450 square feet of living space that features a furnished patio/balcony, a king bed, sleeper sofa in the sitting area, mini refrigerator and microwave.
Garden View Suite
Our newly appointed View Suites offer over 700 square feet of living space, comfortably accommodating up to six people. Each suite comes equipped with a kitchen and separate living room with sleeper sofa. The private bedroom includes a generous dressing area, two queen beds and a list of luxurious amenities. Marina View Suites overlook our private marina and are just steps away from the water, while our Garden View Suites are surrounded by swaying palms and lush, tropical gardens.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Sea World: 3.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Sea World: 3.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.1 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.8 mi
  • Legoland: 28.9 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121.6 mi

Dining

Humphrey's Restaurant
Humphreys by the Bay waterfront restaurant is consistently rated among the best in San Diego. Our chef presents Modern Global Cuisine at it's finest. The extensive wine list has received the Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator for three consecutive years. Your dining experience is perfected by the breathtaking views of the sailboats anchored in the marina, sunsets and city lights sparkling across San Diego Bay. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. 6:30am to 9pm Sun-Thurs and 6:30am to 10pm Fri & Sat. Humphreys award-winning Sunday Brunch Buffet is every Sunday from 10am to 2pm.
Humphrey's Backstage Live
After dinner, enjoy a nightcap or take a spin around the dance floor at Humphreys Backstage Live, voted "Best place to dance in San Diego". Every night features exciting live music with San Diego's hottest bands. Happy Hour 5pm to 7pm daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (563)

Ratings and reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
563 out of 563
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mike just hanging out
Phoenix
Oct 23, 2012

Wonderful Escape

Truly a great place to stay. My room was exactly what I expected; updated, clean, with all the extras. The property is beautifully maintained. Lots of attention to landscape, you walk into a beautiful hidden tropical garden. Good location just minutes from everything San Diego has to offer. Close to Sea World, the zoo, the harbor. Check out some of the cool local places on and off the island most within walking distance. Humphrey's has a great rep for music, the backstage lounge is not to be missed for live music in the evenings. The staff could not be better. Definite 5 star rating for staff at back stage. The staff's dedication to guests is most impressive. Major kudos to all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

After checking out Humphryes great eats and music take a short walk to Harbor Town Pub if your there on a weekend for football and hang with the locals.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zoigurl
Glendora, ca
Aug 26, 2010

Excellent overnighter :)

Booked room because we had tickets to concert. Humphreys gave us suite with view of the show. Was excellent all around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Great show and great hotel.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Coventry, RI
Feb 3, 2011

Wonderful place to stay

We were in San Diego visiting family/vacation. This hotel was wonderful! It was very clean, quiet, the staff was friendly and very accommodating to all of our needs. We stayed in a newly renovated room which was beautiful! The grounds were beautiful. No concerts were scheduled at their outdoor theater while we were there, so that might change the noise level when they have them. The restaurant food was excellent, their staff was very friendly. It was a relaxing place to dine. The hotel is centrally located to all attractions, easy access to the airport etc. The only thing we had a problem with is parking. If an event was happening at their restaurant/bar, customers parked in the hotel guest parking areas. We had to walk a bit of a distance on those nights to get to our room. People who worked on the boats in the marina behind the hotel had access to our parking spaces as well. They waived our parking fee, but if I had to pay for it I would not have been happy. That was the only negative part of our stay there. We agreed that we would most definitely stay there on our next vacation to San Diego and highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't book this hotel through a travel plan without checking the hotel's website first. They run specials to area attractions etc. if you book direct with them,which is what I would do next time. We asked if they would give us the same discounts to local attractions, but they wouldn't unless we had made our reservations direct with them.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MarcyFairn
San Diego, California
May 22, 2014

Perfect stay

Friendly staff. Everything was perfect. No complaints

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Smilin Dave
Chicago
Jul 28, 2012

Charming place, perfect location

Perfect base for a family trip to San Diego. The zoo, Seaworld, La Jolla, Midway, Cabrillo, Coronado, downtown; most are within 10-15 minutes (closer to 30 for La Jolla or Coronado) and yet on Shelter Island you feel like you're a million miles from it all. The hotel is a little dated, but impeccably clean and it really reminds you of an old school tropical resort. It costed very little to upgrade to a Marina View Suite and it was a very spacious room with a separate bedroom so the teenagers could sleep in while mom and dad enjoy the morning. The pool is open until 11pm which is great, but another reason to get a marina view iso pool view if you like a little more seclusion and privacy. The pool is huge and beautiful (although at night or early in the am when it gets cooler, you would like the water a couple clicks warmer) and there are pretty places to walk around shelter island. Last night, we floated in the pool and listened to Sheryl Crow playing a concert 100 feet away; very nice! Brunch at their restaurant, while pricey, was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a good breakfast on the cheap ('cause there is more than enough to spend $ on in San Diego...) walk back on Shelter Island Drive to Marvelous Muffins. The muffins and donuts are good, and the spinach/cheese or ham/cheese croissants are really great.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mustang, OK
Jul 14, 2009

What a fabulous place

The pool was like a tropical rain forest. This hotel was so nice. I was skeptical because I had never been to San Diego before and I am scared to get away from the big hotel chains but I read the reviews and it was a very pleasant good experience for our children and 75+ year old in-laws. The parking was a bit pricey but not any different than anywhere in california.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Papa B
Greenville, SC, USA
Sep 13, 2011

Exotic feel getaway

The SD Bay was only steps away. We loved just enjoying the evenings walking by the bay and taking in the beautiful scenery of downtown SD. The entertainment on Friday night is wonderful. We didn't need to buy tickets, we just sat in the chairs outside our room and enjoyed the music. One night SD had a black out and the hotel staff provided peanut butter and jelly sandwiches and drinks by the pool. A generator might be good to have on hand to preserve food in case this happens again and lasts longer than one night. We would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting SD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the trolley the first day. You learn a lot about SD in a day. It helps you plan out what you may want to do in the time you have there.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
AZ
Aug 18, 2010

Excellent place, seafood abounds

Stayed for a concert, which was the best concert experience I've yet to have. The seating was great, no long ticket lines, great open air venue. The room was quiet and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Papa B
Greenville, SC, USA
Sep 13, 2011

Exotic feel getaway

The SD Bay was only steps away. We loved just enjoying the evenings walking by the bay and taking in the beautiful scenery of downtown SD. The entertainment on Friday night is wonderful. We didn't need to buy tickets, we just sat in the chairs outside our room and enjoyed the music. One night SD had a black out and the hotel staff provided peanut butter and jelly sandwiches and drinks by the pool. A generator might be good to have on hand to preserve food in case this happens again and lasts longer than one night. We would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting SD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the trolley the first day. You learn a lot about SD in a day. It helps you plan out what you may want to do in the time you have there.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Glocester, RI
Jul 27, 2010

Fantastic Place

We were only there for 1 night but the view was beautiful and the cleanliness of the room was fantastic. I wish we had more time to enjoy this place. I would definitely return here for a future trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Twiglet26
New York, New York
Aug 1, 2012

San Diego is my sweetheart <3

This visit was my very first one for San Diego and I have to say....I am in love! How could I not be after staying on Shelter Island at the Humphreys Moon Inn & Suites....what a beautiful hotel! What a perfect & gorgeous location in San Diego! I felt like I was back in Hawaii! My room was pristine and soooo comfortable. I even had a view of the downtown San Diego skyline! Where else could I listen to a live Yanni concert whilst sitting in the hot tub drinking a cocktail! PERFECTION! All of the staff I came in contact with were super nice and very helpful....I will definitely be back to this romantic place next trip! Thank you Humphreys!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't miss out on the happy hour in the Humphreys music lounge at sunset! It overlooks the gorgeous San Diego harbor!

Back to menu Return to top