$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

3 stars
View map of 2303 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
449 out of 449
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mike just hanging out
Phoenix
Oct 23, 2012

Wonderful Escape

Truly a great place to stay. My room was exactly what I expected; updated, clean, with all the extras. The property is beautifully maintained. Lots of attention to landscape, you walk into a beautiful hidden tropical garden. Good location just minutes from everything San Diego has to offer. Close to Sea World, the zoo, the harbor. Check out some of the cool local places on and off the island most within walking distance. Humphrey's has a great rep for music, the backstage lounge is not to be missed for live music in the evenings. The staff could not be better. Definite 5 star rating for staff at back stage. The staff's dedication to guests is most impressive. Major kudos to all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

After checking out Humphryes great eats and music take a short walk to Harbor Town Pub if your there on a weekend for football and hang with the locals.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Coventry, RI
Feb 3, 2011

Wonderful place to stay

We were in San Diego visiting family/vacation. This hotel was wonderful! It was very clean, quiet, the staff was friendly and very accommodating to all of our needs. We stayed in a newly renovated room which was beautiful! The grounds were beautiful. No concerts were scheduled at their outdoor theater while we were there, so that might change the noise level when they have them. The restaurant food was excellent, their staff was very friendly. It was a relaxing place to dine. The hotel is centrally located to all attractions, easy access to the airport etc. The only thing we had a problem with is parking. If an event was happening at their restaurant/bar, customers parked in the hotel guest parking areas. We had to walk a bit of a distance on those nights to get to our room. People who worked on the boats in the marina behind the hotel had access to our parking spaces as well. They waived our parking fee, but if I had to pay for it I would not have been happy. That was the only negative part of our stay there. We agreed that we would most definitely stay there on our next vacation to San Diego and highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't book this hotel through a travel plan without checking the hotel's website first. They run specials to area attractions etc. if you book direct with them,which is what I would do next time. We asked if they would give us the same discounts to local attractions, but they wouldn't unless we had made our reservations direct with them.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pietopper
Business
Sarasota, FL
May 25, 2011

Half Moon Inn Rocks!

Lovely gardens, fun atmosphere, concerts right on the premises (the Moody Blues were playing!), next to the yacht basin. Spacious rooms, all the amenities, stunning pool and a fabulous breakfast. I was happy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntington Beach, CA
May 4, 2011

Great Spot!!

lovely location on the harbor and jungle type feeling with all the beautiful landscaping of flowers, plants, and trees.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

don't miss their great happy hour

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jan 4, 2009

Very relaxing

Humphreys Half Moon Inn was a very comfortable and the staff was really pleasant. The rooms were really nice and comfortable. I enjoyed the fact that they had the restaraunt and the lounge, I was simply there for pleasure and I really didnt have to leave, everything I needed was right there on the property. The beds were extremly comfortable and the rooms are a nice size, I didnt feel congested. Also, the view was beautiful. We were right across from the water and we could see the cruise ships coming and going. Great for pictures. I would recommend this hotel to a friend and I would definetely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

a few blocks away from the hotel is several dining facilites

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
May 7, 2009

Humphrey's is a great place to stay!

This hotel is very unique. It has a feel of a polynesian resort with beautiful vegetation everywhere and very well kept grounds. There were small ponds of koi fish and parrots and weekend nights are filled with music coming from the stage. Humphrey's also has a beautiful view of the san diego skyline and is found right on the ocean and a large running/walking path. The rooms were very clean and modern. The only part that I didnt like was that you had to pay for parking which is pretty lame seeing as you are already paying to stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mae
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jul 2, 2009

Fantastic family getaway

We only stayed here one night. We were in town for Drill Instructor Graduation at MCRD in San Diego and were only ten minutes away. Great hotel! Great location! The grounds and views were beautiful from everywhere. There were many activities for my other teenage children to do, from the pool and hot tub and fitness room to croquet, ping pong, and a putting green. There was a concert of Emmie Lou Harris that could be heard nicely from the pool area. They offered room service and have a nice lounge with more live entertainment after 9:30pm. Clean comfortable rooms. Can't wait to go back and stay longer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Golfing Pair
Business
Buffalo, NY
Apr 24, 2011

Very Enjoyable!

Checked in on Sat afternoon but the hotel didn't have any rooms fopr the free upgrade by [...]. They said to check back in the morning. We did and the hotel graciously upgraded to a tropical room...same room just with a pool and garden view instead of the parking lot.Room had been recently upgraded with bathroom redone. With the king bed there was plenty of room and a nice big LG Plasma TV where we watched the Sabres win a playoff game.We found the location to be awesome for golfing, getting on the interstate, walking to Starbucks in the mornings, and also for driving 5 minutes to downtown and the Gaslamp quarter. We also walked around the area each morning which was enjoyable right down on the waterfront near the yacht clubs. Many people were out walking their dogs and also enjoyable the mornings.We also through [...]received free Continental breakfast which each morning we upgraded to any breakfast. They applied the $9.25 voucher to any breakfast where we often had pancakes, raisin bread french toast, omelettes, oatmeal with fruit, often times with no additional price!The hotel bar also had a Happy Hour which had half off drinks and appetizers with live muscic. Some night there was a cover charge but we did not attend those.We also saw the stage/concert schedule and could not believe what artists will be coming to the hotel! Top names young and old. That would be awesome!Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The free breakfast was awesome! Trade in for your choice of food!

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sacramento Grandma
Business
Sacramento
Nov 24, 2009

Perfect!

This hotel was great! I was visiting my daughter so was out of the hotel part of the time, but when I was there it was quiet, restful and very relaxing. The area is great for long walks along the marina or shore and the gardens are wonderful to meander in. The pool was exquisite, warm and clean. I wanted to spend one afternoon reading in the gardens, but the music was distracting, even though it was soft and of the relaxing type.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great room service as well as restaurant. I had one of the best pizzas ever!

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lancaster, PA
Jan 3, 2010

A nice vacation...

My Parents and I went to San Diego to visit another family member. The Hotel was VERY close to the airport and had a beautiful view of the bay. If you love sailboats-STAY HERE. There was a nice running path, relaxing hot tub, and great muffin shop down the street. When we had a problem with out first room (we had requested a pool/garden view) they moved as soon as we ask and had a good explanation for not putting us there in the first place (the room we were originally placed was new renovated and they thought we would want that). The Staff was friendly and the rooms were very clean. My family and I would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

This hotel is about 10-20 minutes from all San Diego attractions. Sea World, Zoo, Museums, Airport, USS Midway, Downtown, etc.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reno, NV
Apr 17, 2010

Stay in San Diego

Great pool, great location, great price, great time!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top