$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 23, 2014 Check-out: Sep 24, 2014

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

3 stars
2303 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
432 reviews
Incredible getaway

From the moment we arrived at the hotel it was a very special experience. The staff was very... See full review

  • Bearra
  • Sep 17, 2014
The Perfect Stay in San Diego!

I absolutely love Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites! The rooms are very clean. The landscaping is... See full review

  • TrudyElaine
  • Sep 10, 2014
Easy access to San Diego attractions from Shelter Island location

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites is situated on Shelter Island, between San Diego Bay and America's Cup Harbor. The hotel is close to many of San Diego's tourist attractions and minutes from the airport. The hotel's Shelter Island location makes it equally suitable for business conferences, family vacations or weddings. The tropical island setting showcases the recently renovated suites and rooms on offer from Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites. Many rooms feature views of the marina or the city. Humphrey's Restaurant offers guests fine international cuisine along with superb views of San Diego Bay and the Marina.The property also provides parking at additional cost.

Reasons to stay
  • Humphreys Concerts by the Bay - open air concerts between May and October
  • Close to SeaWorld and San Diego Zoo
  • Pool bar, spa and fitness center
Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites offers 182 rooms, including 54 suites that boast incredible views of the nearby marina and San Diego Bay. Decor is Mediterranean in style and each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, mini refrigerator, microwave and in-room safe. All suites include private patios or balconies. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access.

Things to do nearby
    • Seaport Village  (5.0 mi/8.0 km)
    • SeaWorld  (5.0 mi/8.0 km)
    • Mission Beach  (6.0 mi/10.0 km)
    • San Diego Zoo  (8.2 mi/10.0 km)
Policies and fees
  • Parking is available for $14 USD per night.
Starting July 1, Humphrey's will be implementing a passport fee of $9.95 USD per room/night that includes:
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Free business center services including Boarding Pass Printing
  • Free two-hour bike rentals
  • Free entrance to our Backstage Live Music Lounge
  • Free dining offers in our restaurant, lounge and pool bar
  • Additional discounted selections at our restaurant, lounge and pool bar
  • Discounts and special offers to local attractions and businesses. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7174 -117.2244
Area served
San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport
Area description
Located minutes from Sea World, San Diego Zoo and downtown San Diego.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Tropical View Guestroom
Newly renovated Tropical View Guest Rooms offer all of the luxurious amenities and features of our Premier Guest Rooms and more. These beautiful rooms overlook tropical pool and gardens. First floor rooms offer direct access to our private pool and tropical gardens through furnished patios. One king or two queen beds.
Premier Guestroom
Premiere category showcases all new furniture including headboards, wood bed frames and crisp new duvet covers, plush pillows and cozy throw blankets, with one king or two queen size beds. They all offer a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker plus a 42" flat screen LCD TV.
Luxury Junior Suite
To indulge in a bit more space in lavish style, consider our newly renovated Luxury Junior Suites. These unique and accommodating suites are perfect for up to 4 people. Relax, unpack and make yourself at home in 450 square feet of living space that features a furnished patio/balcony, a king bed, sleeper sofa in the sitting area, mini refrigerator and microwave.
Garden View Suite
Our newly appointed View Suites offer over 700 square feet of living space, comfortably accommodating up to six people. Each suite comes equipped with a kitchen and separate living room with sleeper sofa. The private bedroom includes a generous dressing area, two queen beds and a list of luxurious amenities. Marina View Suites overlook our private marina and are just steps away from the water, while our Garden View Suites are surrounded by swaying palms and lush, tropical gardens.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Sea World: 3.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Sea World: 3.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.1 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.8 mi
  • Legoland: 28.9 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121.6 mi

Dining

Humphrey's Restaurant
Humphreys by the Bay waterfront restaurant is consistently rated among the best in San Diego. Our chef presents Modern Global Cuisine at it's finest. The extensive wine list has received the Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator for three consecutive years. Your dining experience is perfected by the breathtaking views of the sailboats anchored in the marina, sunsets and city lights sparkling across San Diego Bay. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. 6:30am to 9pm Sun-Thurs and 6:30am to 10pm Fri & Sat. Humphreys award-winning Sunday Brunch Buffet is every Sunday from 10am to 2pm.
Humphrey's Backstage Live
After dinner, enjoy a nightcap or take a spin around the dance floor at Humphreys Backstage Live, voted "Best place to dance in San Diego". Every night features exciting live music with San Diego's hottest bands. Happy Hour 5pm to 7pm daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (432)

Ratings and reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
432 out of 432
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Centro 518
Marin County, CA
Mar 28, 2013

Awesome vacation

this was the most relaxing visit ever, the grounds were tropical bliss and the staff was amazing from the front desk to the back off the house

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Oscar's Mexican Seafood in La jolla...smoked fish tacos for $3.50...the best ever!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sacramento Grandma
Sacramento
Nov 24, 2009

Perfect!

This hotel was great! I was visiting my daughter so was out of the hotel part of the time, but when I was there it was quiet, restful and very relaxing. The area is great for long walks along the marina or shore and the gardens are wonderful to meander in. The pool was exquisite, warm and clean. I wanted to spend one afternoon reading in the gardens, but the music was distracting, even though it was soft and of the relaxing type.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Great room service as well as restaurant. I had one of the best pizzas ever!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Monterey, CA
Oct 12, 2009

Just what I needed!

Everything at the hotel was excellent! Friendly, helpful staff especially the concierge. I was looking for a weekend getaway to relax with my boyfriend and we were in a great location for that. The hotel is near a marina, not near a lot of bars so it was quiet at night, the grounds were gorgeous with small waterfalls and tropical plants and even some parrots! Would highly recomment for families and couples alike.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mavisf
Clovis, CA
Jun 14, 2013

Above & Beyond Expectations

We usually choose a simple, inexpensive, clean place to crash for each night. We rarely use any ammenities... that was not the case here...We were skeptical to choose this facility, but is was central to ALL the locations we wanted to visit..... Legoland, Sea World, Harbor Cruises, Balboa Park, Old town, etc.... our longest drive was Legoland, about 20 minutesaway, all by freeway. Absolutely everything else was within a 10 minute or less drive. (And alot of walkiking ammenities... a free fishing pier within a 1/2 mile, nice quite harbor beaches to play in the sun, and a CONCERT venue right on the premises. Cindi Lauper was playing the night we left ... we missed boo hoo (would have been fun to listen to while enjoying the wondeful pool, with a bar available every night and jacuzzi.) We were given a complimentary upgrade that exceeded any expectataions... we stayed in a small apartment, overlooking the pool... my Grandson LOVED!!! Two Queen beds in a seperate room, 2 closets in the hallway, the bathroom with double sinks and large shower and bath in the hall way, a dinette with Full refrigerator, stovetop and microwave AND a seperate FAMILY room with TV. seating... lots of room!!...AND we were upstairs with a balcony that could be entered from the Family room or bed room. Our 2nd day, my husband was experiencing sever lower back pain, we went to the front office for directions to the nearest emergency room, and they referred us to a doctor on call.the Dr did an over the phone diagnosis, billed our insurance, and called in a couple of prescriptions... we thought for certain our stay was done. Within 6 hours, everthing was right as rain!!! Thank-you Hotel staff for a job well done.!!! The Grounds and rooms were well kept. The service excellent.... Definately a top choice if we ever get back to the San Diego area again!!! Thank-you for a wonderful visit!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

San Diego has a "Go San Diego Card" for a reasonable fee that can be purchased for 3 to 7 days fhat allows entry to most major attractions. If you plan to visit many of the major attractions, this speeds entry and can save some money, BUT Plan wisley, because a visit to a major attration every day can be grueling!!! A down day or two to start and/or end your trip may be most rewarding.... my Grandson was exhausted (8 years old after 3 days) One of the Things my Grandson had the most fun with were the "squished penny" souvenirs. Really... fro 10 dollars in quarters and 10 pennies, they can get 20 souvenirs from all over town!!! They get to choose the style they want... put the money in and pump the crank to make that penny appear!!!! What a blast he had!!!! AND THEY TAKE UP ALMOST NO ROOM

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Randall and Nicole Evans
Glen Burnie
Aug 31, 2014

Best Trip Ever!!!

This was Hands Down the best stay ever!!! We will definitely be back and will continue to use you guys to book our trip again!!! It was also the best deal ever, so if we could get the same deal next year we will most definitely use you!!! $593 A PERSON IS AWESOME!!!! The 2nd plane home was really old and landed really bad, but hey who is complaining at least we made it home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit all beaches, absolutely amazing view and go skydiving!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tennisgirl12
BC, Canada
Jan 9, 2014

You will love it

First time in SD, and this hotel was just perfect.Just min.away from airport with free shuttle it is on Shelter Island ,very quiet and great views onto Marina.Rooms have fridge,coffeemaker and microwave and Ralphs is 5 min drive on Rosecrans where you can buy food. Rosecrans is a main Rd that gets you everywhere.Restaurant is very good too and the entertainment as well. Gardens and Pool /Hot Tub beautiful .Beds are comfortable and so are the different pillows from hard to soft. The only recommendation we had is that they go a bit greener with washing towels as they wash everything after one use.They did tell me though that they recycle and lights are on timers. Mexican restaurant 5 min walk up the road is good.The location was the best part though , took only 15 min drive to sea world, 29 min to the zoo, 15 min to old town,20 min to Coronado island,45 min to Safari park (a MUST)but do rent a car as you would waste too much time with public transportation and it is cheaper.One week cost us 160,00 incl.gas 1/2 tank).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Great location and quiet

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
P. Gold
Business
Eugene, OR, USA
Apr 1, 2012

Perfect alternative to conference hotel

I felt sorry for my colleagues stuck in the sterile Sheraton hotels on Harbor Island for our professional meeting. Just 4 miles away, Shelter Island felt like another world. Not quite the South Pacific, but the palms trees clicking in the breeze as I sat on my lanai made it seem close. Great food, great staff, fabulous views. My two suggestions: Brighter lights in the hall closet area and don't forget the dust bunnies in the corners.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Take advantage of the complimentary bikes!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
azpirate
arizona
May 2, 2013

Annaversary getaway

In a word, GREAT. We were only a short drive from everything that we wanted to see, Ocean beach, Midway, Harbor tour, and we found great food both at the restaurant and in the area. The hotel was wonderful with a very nice room, friendly/helpful staff, and fantastic views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pizza Nova, its very close and the food is excellant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lancaster, PA
Jan 3, 2010

A nice vacation...

My Parents and I went to San Diego to visit another family member. The Hotel was VERY close to the airport and had a beautiful view of the bay. If you love sailboats-STAY HERE. There was a nice running path, relaxing hot tub, and great muffin shop down the street. When we had a problem with out first room (we had requested a pool/garden view) they moved as soon as we ask and had a good explanation for not putting us there in the first place (the room we were originally placed was new renovated and they thought we would want that). The Staff was friendly and the rooms were very clean. My family and I would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

This hotel is about 10-20 minutes from all San Diego attractions. Sea World, Zoo, Museums, Airport, USS Midway, Downtown, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy in San Diego
Spokane
May 2, 2013

Love Humphrey's Half Moon!

This was our 2nd stay. Love the beautiful, quiet, peaceful, tropical environment. Wouldn't stay anywhere else. Staff is amazing, happy and helpful! Some of the rooms are a little dated but I think they're working on that. Next year, we're bringing our 4 kids and staying in a suite!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

No car necessary, the bus is close and takes you anywhere for $7.00 per day!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search