$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 5, 2014 Check-out: Nov 6, 2014

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

3 stars
2303 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
437 reviews
Beautiful !!!!!!

What a wonderful experience! The staff went above and beyond, the tropical room was fabulous, right... See full review

  • Oceanlover12
  • Sep 20, 2014
Incredible getaway

From the moment we arrived at the hotel it was a very special experience. The staff was very... See full review

  • Bearra
  • Sep 17, 2014
Easy access to San Diego attractions from Shelter Island location

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites is situated on Shelter Island, between San Diego Bay and America's Cup Harbor. The hotel is close to many of San Diego's tourist attractions and minutes from the airport. The hotel's Shelter Island location makes it equally suitable for business conferences, family vacations or weddings. The tropical island setting showcases the recently renovated suites and rooms on offer from Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites. Many rooms feature views of the marina or the city. Humphrey's Restaurant offers guests fine international cuisine along with superb views of San Diego Bay and the Marina.The property also provides parking at additional cost.

Reasons to stay
  • Humphreys Concerts by the Bay - open air concerts between May and October
  • Close to SeaWorld and San Diego Zoo
  • Pool bar, spa and fitness center
Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites offers 182 rooms, including 54 suites that boast incredible views of the nearby marina and San Diego Bay. Decor is Mediterranean in style and each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, mini refrigerator, microwave and in-room safe. All suites include private patios or balconies. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access.

Things to do nearby
    • Seaport Village  (5.0 mi/8.0 km)
    • SeaWorld  (5.0 mi/8.0 km)
    • Mission Beach  (6.0 mi/10.0 km)
    • San Diego Zoo  (8.2 mi/10.0 km)
Policies and fees
  • Parking is available for $14 USD per night.
Starting July 1, Humphrey's will be implementing a passport fee of $9.95 USD per room/night that includes:
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Free business center services including Boarding Pass Printing
  • Free two-hour bike rentals
  • Free entrance to our Backstage Live Music Lounge
  • Free dining offers in our restaurant, lounge and pool bar
  • Additional discounted selections at our restaurant, lounge and pool bar
  • Discounts and special offers to local attractions and businesses. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7174 -117.2244
Area served
San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport
Area description
Located minutes from Sea World, San Diego Zoo and downtown San Diego.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Tropical View Guestroom
Newly renovated Tropical View Guest Rooms offer all of the luxurious amenities and features of our Premier Guest Rooms and more. These beautiful rooms overlook tropical pool and gardens. First floor rooms offer direct access to our private pool and tropical gardens through furnished patios. One king or two queen beds.
Premier Guestroom
Premiere category showcases all new furniture including headboards, wood bed frames and crisp new duvet covers, plush pillows and cozy throw blankets, with one king or two queen size beds. They all offer a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker plus a 42" flat screen LCD TV.
Luxury Junior Suite
To indulge in a bit more space in lavish style, consider our newly renovated Luxury Junior Suites. These unique and accommodating suites are perfect for up to 4 people. Relax, unpack and make yourself at home in 450 square feet of living space that features a furnished patio/balcony, a king bed, sleeper sofa in the sitting area, mini refrigerator and microwave.
Garden View Suite
Our newly appointed View Suites offer over 700 square feet of living space, comfortably accommodating up to six people. Each suite comes equipped with a kitchen and separate living room with sleeper sofa. The private bedroom includes a generous dressing area, two queen beds and a list of luxurious amenities. Marina View Suites overlook our private marina and are just steps away from the water, while our Garden View Suites are surrounded by swaying palms and lush, tropical gardens.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Sea World: 3.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Sea World: 3.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.1 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.8 mi
  • Legoland: 28.9 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121.6 mi

Dining

Humphrey's Restaurant
Humphreys by the Bay waterfront restaurant is consistently rated among the best in San Diego. Our chef presents Modern Global Cuisine at it's finest. The extensive wine list has received the Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator for three consecutive years. Your dining experience is perfected by the breathtaking views of the sailboats anchored in the marina, sunsets and city lights sparkling across San Diego Bay. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. 6:30am to 9pm Sun-Thurs and 6:30am to 10pm Fri & Sat. Humphreys award-winning Sunday Brunch Buffet is every Sunday from 10am to 2pm.
Humphrey's Backstage Live
After dinner, enjoy a nightcap or take a spin around the dance floor at Humphreys Backstage Live, voted "Best place to dance in San Diego". Every night features exciting live music with San Diego's hottest bands. Happy Hour 5pm to 7pm daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (437)

Ratings and reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
437 out of 437
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ShutBug
Business
San Diego, Californai
Nov 25, 2013

Not worth it

For the price, and even after a discount from Ore Bitz, it's not worth it. At best the room I stayed in was a glorified motel room (little emphasis on glorified). Pictures and reviews were misleading. The room had an unpleasant odor, the shower's water pressure and temperature would fluctuate, the heater dribbled out look warm air and the sheets didn't seem completely clean. The bed was somewhat comfortable and it is in a great location. The staff was nice too, removing the $10/day parking fee after I explained my stay. Would not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Island Prime Restaurant-Great service, great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Willy Jason
Business
Greenwich CT
Nov 19, 2013

Super

For the Money a true Value. More life a 4 to 4.5 start property. Go! And Have fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DVandJG
Business
Palm Desert CA
Nov 17, 2013

Great Location - Great Staff!

I always have to call ahead and ask for specific requests. I am unable to navigate stairs or difficult landscapes. I called a week ahead of time and told them my problem. They pulled up my reservation and noted my request. Well, when I got there I was really surprised...I was steps away from the lobby, my car and all amenities - What a surprise!!! They listened and came through with shinning colors! Bravo and thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GretaGB
Business
Las Vegas
Nov 16, 2013

Wonderful staff

Our trip was for my mother-in-laws 75th birthday. She wanted to go to the zoo. After a full day at the zoo, she was completely exhausted. When we checked in, Brian was great in offering a wheelchair assist to get her to her room. The staff also brought in a shower chair for her. Brian also offered to bring the wheelchair to her to assist in her getting to and from Humphreys restaurant. (She didn't need it but the offer was greatly appreciated!) The attention to a guests comfort and needs was wonderful. Thank you for all you did to help in making her day great!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gidi2
Business
Mansfield, TX
Oct 20, 2013

Amazing Location

The grounds are lush and gorgeous...I really felt like I was on vacation in the tropics. The staff were very friendly and helpful. And you couldn't ask for a better location. Everything was easy to get to and there were even a lot of places within walking distance. I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay there again myself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
McGregor808
Business
Hawaii
Oct 14, 2013

Nice property, great rooms, good restaurant.

Quiet, tropical location close to the airport. A slice of Hawaii in San Diego. Only downside: lots of rooms, so the potential for disturbance is high. Had kids playing Marco Polo (loudly) in the pool until 11PM - couple fighting in the parking lot upon arrival (manager called the police - it was that bad). Room was awesome, rate was great, just a big property catering to cost-conscious clientele.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LinnyJo
Business
Washington
Oct 3, 2013

Honeymoon at Humphreys

My new husband and I had a perfect honeymoon at this beautiful resort. A bottle of champagne was waiting for us. Ideal in location, everything we wanted to do was easy to find and drive to. Friendly staff, service and room cleaning perfect. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is because at the end of our stay and at check out we were told that there was an additional daily parking fee of almost $10 per day. This was not mentioned at reservation or at check in. They waived it but beware of this. Other then that it was absolutely an excellent place to stay and we will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Buy zoo tickets at hotel and not at the zoo.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CONSRAF
Business
Los Angeles
Oct 3, 2013

Relaxing

This was a very relaxing and beautiful stay for my husband and I, reasonable price, and serene environment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LB Wahine
Business
Long Beach, CA
Oct 2, 2013

Nice View

The restaurant was over priced for the food received but the room was very nice, quiet and great view of the bay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr.Will
Business
Cincinnati
Sep 30, 2013

On the water at a bungalo in San Diego

If you want to be on the water and hear good music in San Diego, this is the place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Live music in their Back Stage on the grounds.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top