$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 8, 2015 Check-out: Mar 9, 2015

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

3 stars
View map of 2303 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
464 reviews
Best hotel ever!

This was by far the nicest place we have ever stayed and we will return. See full review

  • Oceanlover12
  • Feb 20, 2015
great family get a way

Hotel staff were great the room was very comfortable and clean. The beds were so comfortable it was... See full review

  • Robert C.
  • Feb 12, 2015
Nestled in lush tropical gardens on Shelter Island, overlooking San Diego Bay and a private marina you feel like you are in paradise. This quaint hotel offers all the amenities of a luxury resort with a gourmet restaurant, nightly entertainment and happy hour, spa services and an exercise facility. The spacious 182 rooms and suites welcome you with muted Mediterranean decor, and display a large array of amenities. Complimentary shuttle is available for arriving and departing guests only to the airport, Amtrak, and San Diego Cruise Ship Terminal. Shuttle service is limted, based on availability,and is subject to change.

Parking is available at a charge of $14/night.

Passport Fee $9.95 per room/night includes: FREE High Speed Wireless Internet FREE Airport, Amtrak & Cruise Terminal Transfers FREE Business Center including Boarding Pass Printing FREE Two Hour Bike Rentals FREE Entrance to our Backstage Live Music Lounge FREE Dining offers in our Restaurant, Lounge and Pool Bar Additional Discounted selections at our Restaurant, Lounge and Pool Bar Discounts and Special Offers to local attractions and businesses

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Tropical View Guestroom
Newly renovated Tropical View Guest Rooms offer all of the luxurious amenities and features of our Premier Guest Rooms and more. These beautiful rooms overlook tropical pool and gardens. First floor rooms offer direct access to our private pool and tropical gardens through furnished patios. One king or two queen beds.
Premier Guestroom
Premiere category showcases all new furniture including headboards, wood bed frames and crisp new duvet covers, plush pillows and cozy throw blankets, with one king or two queen size beds. They all offer a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker plus a 42" flat screen LCD TV.
Luxury Junior Suite
To indulge in a bit more space in lavish style, consider our newly renovated Luxury Junior Suites. These unique and accommodating suites are perfect for up to 4 people. Relax, unpack and make yourself at home in 450 square feet of living space that features a furnished patio/balcony, a king bed, sleeper sofa in the sitting area, mini refrigerator and microwave.
Garden View Suite
Our newly appointed View Suites offer over 700 square feet of living space, comfortably accommodating up to six people. Each suite comes equipped with a kitchen and separate living room with sleeper sofa. The private bedroom includes a generous dressing area, two queen beds and a list of luxurious amenities. Marina View Suites overlook our private marina and are just steps away from the water, while our Garden View Suites are surrounded by swaying palms and lush, tropical gardens.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.1 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.8 mi
  • Legoland: 28.9 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121.6 mi

Dining

Humphrey's Restaurant
Humphreys by the Bay waterfront restaurant is consistently rated among the best in San Diego. Our chef presents Modern Global Cuisine at it's finest. The extensive wine list has received the Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator for three consecutive years. Your dining experience is perfected by the breathtaking views of the sailboats anchored in the marina, sunsets and city lights sparkling across San Diego Bay. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. 6:30am to 9pm Sun-Thurs and 6:30am to 10pm Fri & Sat. Humphreys award-winning Sunday Brunch Buffet is every Sunday from 10am to 2pm.
Humphrey's Backstage Live
After dinner, enjoy a nightcap or take a spin around the dance floor at Humphreys Backstage Live, voted "Best place to dance in San Diego". Every night features exciting live music with San Diego's hottest bands. Happy Hour 5pm to 7pm daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (464)

Ratings and reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
464 out of 464
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bjoyful21
Knoxville, TN
Nov 10, 2012

Fantastic place to stay!

My husband and I stayed at Humphreys for four nights and loved every minute of it. We had two meals at their adjoining restaurant, and the food was incredible. A little pricey, but worth it. Humphreys also has a stage with many seasonal concerts. We had considered buying tickets to see NeedToBreathe and ended up deciding against is... which was fine, since we could hear the concert from our room! That was money saved! We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rollerbabe
Business
Bloomington, Calif
Sep 4, 2009

Nice place will go back

Front desk was very helpful with directions. Very friendly ready to help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Everything is close. Seaport Village Gas Lamp Old Town great location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wichita, KS
Sep 10, 2009

Not bad

This was a mixed experience. With us they stood by their 4:00 check in time; they would not let us check in an hour and a half earlier. We upgraded to a room with a garden/pool view and it really wasn't worth the money for that. Our first room had a tub that wouldn't drain. It was on the side of the hotel where the concert was being held and it was LOUD. Not a bad idea if you were there for the concert; but we were not. They did move us to a different room on the other side of the hotel because of the tub and we could not hear concert at all. So if you are not going for the concert; request the other side of the hotel. Our new room was COMPLTELY upgraded and modernized. There is a HUGE difference between an updated room and the original room that we were in. Parking was also an issue; however we found if you complain enough about something they will respond. I am sure we were not their favorite guests; however when you pointed out a concern...they responded very well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Request a room away from the concert if you are not there for the concert. I am putting my satisfaction survey at mostly 3's. If it is an upgraded room the score would be high. The original room the score would be low.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
FONTANA, cA
Sep 13, 2009

Nice place for the price

THe hotel was very nice. Grounds were kept up very well and the location was nice. The room was a good size and well kept except for the extensive stains on the carpeting when we first walked in. Also, we were not aware of the parking fee until we arrived.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Yuma AZ
Feb 13, 2010

Loved the view

We loved the location, we could walk to lots of restaurants and to the park across the street. Our room however faced the parking lot and was very noisy all night long. That said we would stay there again and just ask for a room on the side facing Point Loma.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brigantine Restaurant, Great service and awesome food. They have specials on Tues. (Fish Tacos) Wine Wednesday where the wine is all 1/2 price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mother of 1 princess
Business
San Francisco, Ca
Jul 21, 2014

Mother Daughter Vacation

Hotel room was clean, could use a little sprucing up but the location was beautiful. Staff was cordial, food was good. Nice location, close to amusement parks, great seafood spot. Try Mitch's Seafood on the Marina was so good. Overall not bad stay too pricey, but alot of that had to do with the time we stayed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mitch's Seafood

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Angie Familia Feliz
Business
San Diego, California
Aug 2, 2014

Will stay there again

Rooms were clean and beds were very comfortable. The pool was extremely nice. Will definitely stay there again. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PDXStew
Business
Vancouver, WA
Aug 14, 2014

Not for young families

Humphrey's has a lot going for it, but an equally large number of things going against it. My wife and I just spent a week there with our little boy celebrating his 1st birthday. The positives of Humphrey's are, first and foremost, the location. Right on Shelter Island, awesome views of several marinas and downtown San Diego are literally a one minute walk away. I spent tons of time just sitting on a park bench watching people load and unload their boats, which was surprisingly fun and relaxing...and sometimes funny. A great pool on site, surrounded by palm trees and vegetation...very nice if you don't prefer the beach. Now the negative. Humphrey's has a large marina amphitheater that does concerts and shows almost every night of the year. While this could be a great selling feature to a certain crowd, it's far less than ideal when you have a toddler that goes to sleep by 7:30. The concerts usually start by 8 pm and believe me, you know when they start. I literally lied in bed humming along to "Sweet Home Alabama" while Lynyrd Skynyrd performed 30 yards from my door. Our boy woke up several times during the concerts and we tried our best to drown out the noise with the air conditioner. As for the room itself, it was way overdue for some TLC. The carpet had numerous stains, and the bathroom was almost comical how badly it had been let go. Several granite tiles in the shower were cracked and pulling away from the wall by at least a 1/4". All the chrome fixtures were badly faded and gross. The wallpaper in the bathroom was separating from the wall and peeling up in the corners. All the finishing touches in a hotel that tend to make them nice, had been been badly neglected. The staff was also very ordinary (particularly the house keeping and maintenance crew whom I always greeted with a "hello" and was always ignored). All in all, this place may work for a young couple for a weekend but I will not be returning with my family...too many other options that better cater to young families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Sit and watch the boats load/unload from the marina. Saw many seals swimming right among the boats.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yokad
Business
Japan
Nov 14, 2014

Cost effective.

South side rooms are very close to parking area and pavement. Other than that very affordable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
retleader
Business
Pasadena, CA
Nov 18, 2014

Not amazing, but not bad either

We went on this trip for a getaway and I wasn't impressed with the rooms, but the location had good things within walking distance and a nice decor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
clongz
Business
San Jose
Nov 25, 2014

Decent overall

Good resort style near the waterfront. Overall slightly pricey for what you get and a lot of added fees (parking, resort fee, etc.). There was a really long wait for check-in at the reception but maybe it was just that particular day. We received a single king bed instead of the 2 queens we originally booked, so we have to get back in line at the counter to get that rectified. Overall very nice resort but maybe try somewhere more affordable if you are not using the resort facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Supanee House of Thai

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top