$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

3 stars
2303 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
563 reviews
Amazing

Best hotel in the area. Great rooms, awesome service and staff. The mango margaritas by the pool... See full review

  • ial86
  • Jul 12, 2014
Wonderful California Suite

Wonderful location, excellent amenities. The hotel exceeded our expectations. Humphreys Half Moon... See full review

  • Shesh 87
  • Jun 27, 2014
Easy access to San Diego attractions from Shelter Island location

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites is situated on Shelter Island, between San Diego Bay and America's Cup Harbor. The hotel is close to many of San Diego's tourist attractions and minutes from the airport. The hotel's Shelter Island location makes it equally suitable for business conferences, family vacations or weddings. The tropical island setting showcases the recently renovated suites and rooms on offer from Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites. Many rooms feature views of the marina or the city. Humphrey's Restaurant offers guests fine international cuisine along with superb views of San Diego Bay and the Marina.

Reasons to stay
  • Humphreys Concerts by the Bay – open air concerts between May and October
  • Close to SeaWorld and San Diego Zoo
  • Pool bar, spa and fitness center
Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites offers 182 rooms, including 54 suites that boast incredible views of the nearby marina and San Diego Bay. Decor is Mediterranean in style and each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, mini refrigerator, microwave and in-room safe. All suites include private patios or balconies. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access.

Things to do nearby
    • Seaport Village  (5.0 mi/8.0 km)
    • SeaWorld  (5.0 mi/8.0 km)
    • Mission Beach  (6.0 mi/10.0 km)
    • San Diego Zoo  (8.2 mi/10.0 km)
Policies and fees
  • Parking is available for $10.00 per night
Starting July 1, Humphrey's will be implementing a passport fee of $9.95 per room/night that includes:
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Free business center services including Boarding Pass Printing
  • Free two-hour bike rentals
  • Free entrance to our Backstage Live Music Lounge
  • Free dining offers in our restaurant, lounge and pool bar
  • Additional discounted selections at our restaurant, lounge and pool bar
  • Discounts and special offers to local attractions and businesses. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7174 -117.2244
Area served
San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport
Area description
Located minutes from Sea World, San Diego Zoo and downtown San Diego.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Tropical View Guestroom
Newly renovated Tropical View Guest Rooms offer all of the luxurious amenities and features of our Premier Guest Rooms and more. These beautiful rooms overlook tropical pool and gardens. First floor rooms offer direct access to our private pool and tropical gardens through furnished patios. One king or two queen beds.
Premier Guestroom
Premiere category showcases all new furniture including headboards, wood bed frames and crisp new duvet covers, plush pillows and cozy throw blankets, with one king or two queen size beds. They all offer a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker plus a 42" flat screen LCD TV.
Luxury Junior Suite
To indulge in a bit more space in lavish style, consider our newly renovated Luxury Junior Suites. These unique and accommodating suites are perfect for up to 4 people. Relax, unpack and make yourself at home in 450 square feet of living space that features a furnished patio/balcony, a king bed, sleeper sofa in the sitting area, mini refrigerator and microwave.
Garden View Suite
Our newly appointed View Suites offer over 700 square feet of living space, comfortably accommodating up to six people. Each suite comes equipped with a kitchen and separate living room with sleeper sofa. The private bedroom includes a generous dressing area, two queen beds and a list of luxurious amenities. Marina View Suites overlook our private marina and are just steps away from the water, while our Garden View Suites are surrounded by swaying palms and lush, tropical gardens.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Sea World: 3.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Sea World: 3.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.1 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.8 mi
  • Legoland: 28.9 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121.6 mi

Dining

Humphrey's Restaurant
Humphreys by the Bay waterfront restaurant is consistently rated among the best in San Diego. Our chef presents Modern Global Cuisine at it's finest. The extensive wine list has received the Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator for three consecutive years. Your dining experience is perfected by the breathtaking views of the sailboats anchored in the marina, sunsets and city lights sparkling across San Diego Bay. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. 6:30am to 9pm Sun-Thurs and 6:30am to 10pm Fri & Sat. Humphreys award-winning Sunday Brunch Buffet is every Sunday from 10am to 2pm.
Humphrey's Backstage Live
After dinner, enjoy a nightcap or take a spin around the dance floor at Humphreys Backstage Live, voted "Best place to dance in San Diego". Every night features exciting live music with San Diego's hottest bands. Happy Hour 5pm to 7pm daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (563)

Ratings and reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
563 out of 563
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ksumama
fishers, indiana
Mar 23, 2011

mixed results

we were "double upgraded" to a junior suite recently remodeled. There are only 2 floors, so the view of the harbor was somewhat marred by the parking lot. Room was bright clean and modern. Weird layout, bed is in corner as you walk in the room, then living area is open and large with small balcony but comfortable. A/C was out for 4 hours, asked to be moved but no other "nice" rooms were available. Threw a bit of a hissy fit, they did give us a $150 credit at the restaurant. Room was a value at $107 but not a bargain. At breakfast on Sunday morning, we forgot about the time change and arrived at 10:05...they initially refused to seat us because they wanted to set up for their large champagne brunch that started at 11:30. A raised eyebrow got them to change their minds, but there was some "huffy attitudes" from the dining room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Winnipeg, Canada
Mar 8, 2011

Some good- some bad

Hotel room was just ok. The hairdryer kept shorting out and the pocket door to the bathroom kept getting stuck. The location was lovely. We didn't have a lot of time to enjoy the beautiful setting, but it truly was a great setting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Hotel was close to the SD zoo, so very convenient (about 10 min drive).

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MommyAquino
Milwaukee, WI
May 28, 2014

Great location-can get loud

I wouldn't recommend for families since it does get loud at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wanderlust729
Denver, Colorado
May 8, 2012

Uncomfortable Beds

When I booked my stay here I was really excited about the tropical feel of the hotel and pool but in the end it wasn't really worth staying here. I felt like I was getting a deal through this site but the weather in San Diego was terrible so we didn't get to use the pool, which is what I was most excited about. On top of that the beds were so uncomfortable (stiff as a board) I could not sleep. I asked about moving rooms but was told they all had the same mattresses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

This hotel is less than a five minute drive from the airport, very convenient

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kk35042
sweet home alabama
Oct 4, 2012

Good value - LOVED the free bicycle rentals

This is an older motel / inn with very nice tropical gardens. Lots of amenities you would not expect like the free bike rentals and lobby computers to print your boarding pass. Beds were comfortable, bathroom looked to be newly renovated. There was some dust on the ceiling fan above the bed and the tile needed to be scrubbed in the bath. We didn't get a chance to eat at the motel restaurant but ate at Brigantine's 2 times, and it was excellent. It's nice to walk to dinner and they have a great happy hour. Try their fish taco!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bloop7
Minneapolis
Mar 16, 2014

Should be an easy 4 with some small improvements

Spent a week there, just arrived back home yesterday. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would return. The pool area was great, the room was spotless and the staff we interacted with was nice. The bed was comfortable, but the room was small and bathroom was tiny. There was a desk, but no desk chair. There were 2 very small sitting chairs in the room and a small patio with 2 chairs. Rooms could use updating, but not bad. We normally visit the hotel restaurant and use room service quite a bit. But we only did one of each here. The room service was rediculously expensive the restaurant was a bit overpriced too. Room service charged $11 for a hot dog and $20 for a burger before tip. We probably would have used room service 5 or 6 times if it was reasonable. Parking is $10/day which seems reasonable. Overall, we enjoyed our stay. Location is great. If the price was right, we would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
April supersaver
Puyallup,WA
Sep 13, 2012

September 2012 stay

We loved the lush court yard and pool. The rooms are well appointed and very clean. The location was excellent. We did try the hotel restaraunt and it was very nice and the food was great as well. My only one complaint was that the room above us flooded a bathtub and a tide of water poured down into our room. The cleaning crew told us we could move but the actual staff up front gave us no discount on our room. We had a wet floor and walls to deal with for 2 days. I did not move because we needed a room next to my sister. I wish that they had been more aware of the situation and had a remedy to suit us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are great places to eat nearby and places to walk and enjoy the waterfront. Excellent location.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Megaroli
NJ
Sep 4, 2011

It has potential.

This hotel is beautiful on the outside but It could be so much better in the inside if they would take care of the minor details. It looks like It is a work in progress for an upgrade of a 1970s hotel, the bathroom doors looked they have about 6 coats of paint over them, the shower head pipe cover was not attached to the wall and the sink stand looked like it had been carved with an ax to make room for the drain pipes and you could also hear your neighbors above you. On the other hand the bedding was nicely done, the room had what it seemed to be a brand new flat screen tv and the exposed beams on the ceiling gave it a certain character. Another thing, they will charge you $10 a day for parking which to me makes the whole thing sounds like a cheap place to stay at but again the place looks very charming with its Hawaiian atmosphere and beautiful garden. The pool was not bad either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

You have to visit the Gaslamp Quarters. Incredible amount of restaurants to go and it is close to Petco Park. You can't go wrong.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Teddy boo
Minnesota
Mar 25, 2013

This room could be beautiful.

The carpet is disgusting. The lamps and lampshades haven't been cleaned in a long time. This room could be great--change the carpet and clean it up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Beautiful walk on the new Marina walk to Pizza Nova. It's definitely not just pizza. Try their chicken Marsala and desserts.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles
May 24, 2011

Should have been told more

We walk into the hotel and another customer was having issue's with the manager. I asked if we would have a view of the ocean, the desk clerk could not answer and would not answer. I ask, do I have a view of the parking lot? She answered yes[...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top